20 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 >Bottom

Home Networking Maximum WiFi Speeds, ... or why my wifi so slow?

Khan92
post Oct 9 2023, 12:43 AM

To live is to die
552 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 8 2023, 08:05 PM)
Don't even talk about overall.

There's nothing the free D-Link AX3000 is better than TP-Link Archer AX73.

The AX73 is better at the CPU performance, Wi-Fi range, Wi-Fi performance, features.
I see, for mesh network can 2 units of Ax73 being connected?
blacktubi
post Oct 9 2023, 08:51 AM

-
8,388 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Oct 9 2023, 12:43 AM)
I see, for mesh network can 2 units of Ax73 being connected?
Only V2 hardware version support EasyMesh
Khan92
post Oct 9 2023, 12:17 PM

To live is to die
552 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 9 2023, 08:51 AM)
Only V2 hardware version support EasyMesh
V2? Basically the router name got V2 word on the box right?
blacktubi
post Oct 9 2023, 01:04 PM

-
8,388 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Oct 9 2023, 12:17 PM)
V2? Basically the router name got V2 word on the box right?
Check hardware version on the serial number barcode area
BuKeYi
post Oct 9 2023, 05:12 PM

Dame Dame
909 posts

Hi, would like to ask
For 3 floor landed, which mesh is suitable? My internet speed is 300mbps only

Currently using Maxis wifi 6 router, 2nd floor still ok. 3rd floor quite weak.
Any sifu got good recommendation?
Lurker
post Oct 21 2023, 08:53 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Hi, I am looking to reset my ac86u router as I have forgotten the login

wps+power button

aside from that, do i need to prepare the unifi login as well?

shinjite
post Oct 21 2023, 10:38 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 21 2023, 08:53 PM)
Hi, I am looking to reset my ac86u router as I have forgotten the login

wps+power button

aside from that, do i need to prepare the unifi login as well?
Yup, prepare the unifi login credentials and remember to set IPTV profile to unifi home/business. If you're not using Unifi's hypptv in LAN 4, use unifi business to utilise all LAN ports. Then the rest you can configure yourself.

This post has been edited by shinjite: Oct 21 2023, 10:38 PM
Lurker
post Oct 21 2023, 11:23 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 21 2023, 10:38 PM)
Yup, prepare the unifi login credentials and remember to set IPTV profile to unifi home/business. If you're not using Unifi's hypptv in LAN 4, use unifi business to utilise all LAN ports. Then the rest you can configure yourself.
Yup, that was what prompted me to go into the router settings in the first place sweat.gif laugh.gif
TheReckless
post Feb 21 2024, 01:56 PM

255 posts

Hi everyone, need your help/suggestion on this matter. I'm currently using Maxis Home Fibre @ 300Mbps for awhile already, the router/modem is on the 2nd floor while I'm using PC with some brandless said 5ghz supported dual-antenna USB Wifi adapter on ground floor, here I face two problems :

1. I was able to connect to 5Ghz full bar. The speed is superb but sometimes its often to disconnect then reconnect and makes it very hard to download very heavy files (like games)
2. Around decade ago, I use unifi (forgot the details) and was given a Powerlink adapter for ethernet, I'm still using the adapter for my PC but it has very sluggish speed but stable. I check the cable used is cat5e

My question will be :

1. For wifi, if I were to change better branded wifi USB adapter (was eyeing TP-Link TX20U Plus) can this actually fix the disconnect issue?
2. For Ethernet, does getting a better Powerlink adapter can give a better speed?

Here's some references using fast.com :

PRSXFENG
post Feb 21 2024, 02:04 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(TheReckless @ Feb 21 2024, 01:56 PM)
Hi everyone, need your help/suggestion on this matter. I'm currently using Maxis Home Fibre @ 300Mbps for awhile already, the router/modem is on the 2nd floor while I'm using PC with some brandless said 5ghz supported dual-antenna USB Wifi adapter on ground floor, here I face two problems :

1. I was able to connect to 5Ghz full bar. The speed is superb but sometimes its often to disconnect then reconnect and makes it very hard to download very heavy files (like games)
2. Around decade ago, I use unifi (forgot the details) and was given a Powerlink adapter for ethernet, I'm still using the adapter for my PC but it has very sluggish speed but stable. I check the cable used is cat5e

My question will be :

1. For wifi, if I were to change better branded wifi USB adapter (was eyeing TP-Link TX20U Plus) can this actually fix the disconnect issue?
2. For Ethernet, does getting a better Powerlink adapter can give a better speed?
Here's some references using fast.com :

I would recommend a proper pcie wifi card using Intel AX200 chip (most wifi6 pcie cards)
it will be better than usb

as for ethernet, powerline is kind of a dead tech, running a normal ethernet cable is better
or other tech like mesh wifi
TheReckless
post Feb 21 2024, 02:15 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 21 2024, 02:04 PM)
I would recommend a proper pcie wifi card using Intel AX200 chip (most wifi6 pcie cards)
it will be better than usb

as for ethernet, powerline is kind of a dead tech, running a normal ethernet cable is better
or other tech like mesh wifi
The wifi connected is based on the one that Maxis gives, it does state like Wifi 6 Mesh thingy. So if that's the case, the issue is my USB wifi 5 adapter then. So will there be any difference if I were to get a branded USB wifi 6 adapter? I did consider wifi card but its going to cost alot as my 8yo PC is using ITX mobo which only has 1 pcie slot for graphic card.

This post has been edited by TheReckless: Feb 21 2024, 03:32 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Feb 21 2024, 06:33 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,128 posts

QUOTE(TheReckless @ Feb 21 2024, 02:15 PM)
The wifi connected is based on the one that Maxis gives, it does state like Wifi 6 Mesh thingy. So if that's the case, the issue is my USB wifi 5 adapter then. So will there be any difference if I were to get a branded USB wifi 6 adapter? I did consider wifi card but its going to cost alot as my 8yo PC is using ITX mobo which only has 1 pcie slot for graphic card.
if u don't have extra pcie slot, and u don't want the usb adapter that can't stand the heavy load, u can get an asus router to setup as media bridge mode to connect to your pc ethernet port.
jiaen0509
post Apr 9 2024, 02:36 PM

3,305 posts

Device: iPhone 15 Pro Max
Package: Unifi 1 Gbps With ZTE ONU (So won’t exceed 940mbps)

Main Router at Living Room:
Asus RT-AX82U - Wi-Fi 5Ghz

Mesh at Dry Kitchen
Asus TUF-AX5400 - Wi-Fi 5Ghz

Supposed the 1gbps can run up to 1030mbps. But I use back the old modem since my devices all 1gbps port. But the max speed I can get is around 940mbps which is sufficient for me.
westlife
post Jul 7 2024, 03:13 AM

14,227 posts

which model of wifi 6 and 7 model will be sufficient to cover a 882 sq ft two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms apartment unit?

just want to go for a minimum model that can do the job.

blacktubi
post Jul 11 2024, 09:37 PM

-
8,388 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 7 2024, 03:13 AM)
which model of wifi 6 and 7 model will be sufficient to cover a 882 sq ft two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms apartment unit?

TUF-AX4200 should be sufficient
dev/numb
post Sep 13 2024, 03:43 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 7 2024, 03:13 AM)

Just FYI, Asus official store on Shopee gives much lower prices than this during their date.month sales, no need to trade in anything also. On 9.9 I saw the TUF AX-6000 for around RM650, if memory serves.
westlife
post Nov 4 2024, 12:51 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 13 2024, 03:43 PM)
Just FYI, Asus official store on Shopee gives much lower prices than this during their date.month sales, no need to trade in anything also. On 9.9 I saw the TUF AX-6000 for around RM650, if memory serves.
i had been camping for quite a while including 10.10 but never see any good deal... cry.gif
FusionXY
post Nov 4 2024, 01:57 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 4 2024, 12:51 AM)
i had been camping for quite a while including 10.10 but never see any good deal... cry.gif
Wait 11.11 sales.
You won't regret.
babylon52281
post Mar 23 2025, 09:27 AM

2,654 posts

Want to ask; is WIFI7 receiver compatible with WIFI 6E broadcaster as in both will able connect in 6GHZ band?

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Mar 23 2025, 09:28 AM
eclectice
post Nov 2 2025, 06:54 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Mar 23 2025, 09:27 AM)
Want to ask; is WIFI7 receiver compatible with WIFI 6E broadcaster as in both will able connect in 6GHZ band?
YES, COMPATIBLE.

Wi-Fi 7 Client + Wi-Fi 6E AP = 6 GHz Works.

1. Security is Key:
* **Must** use **WPA3** on the 6 GHz band.
* WPA2 will FAIL to connect in 6 GHz.

2. Performance Limit:
* The connection speed will be limited to **Wi-Fi 6E** standard.
* No Wi-Fi 7 features (like 320 MHz channels).

That's all you need to know, bro. Just set WPA3.

20 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.0154sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:02 PM