[wta] RHB bank full flexi house loan, how flexi is RHB full flexi house loan

TShayview
post Sep 17 2018, 04:38 PM, updated 7y ago

18 posts

Hi All
icon_question.gif

Currently, I am taking RHB full flexi housing loan,
my house loan account is linked to my RHB saving account.

To pay from my RHB saving account, it has two payment methods, hmm.gif
"principle prepayment" and "regular installment"

From main office banker descriptions,
"principle prepayment" is reducing the principle, even you put money in "principle prepayment"
you are still required to pay "regular installment" every month.

From my agent descriptions, I am taking full flexi house loan, I should use "principle prepayment" to pay the installment.
short summary - "principle prepayment" can be used as "regular installment", and
if I pay to "principle prepayment" before the due date, I can enjoy the interest reduction. icon_rolleyes.gif

from example, my loan is 500k, monthly installment is 3k,
if i paid 10 days earlier before due date, i am charged with 497k (500k - 3k) interest only for that 10 days,
when is the due date for payment, the 3k will be removed from "principle prepayment" and used as "regular installment".

I am confused rclxub.gif with two statements now bangwall.gif ,
hope someone who is taking rhb bank house loan can help notworthy.gif on this.

dejiar
post Sep 17 2018, 08:39 PM

487 posts

Actually i am quite confuse also.
My monthly repayment is 2350
than i put in 12k (forget the amount d).
For the whole year, i still pay 2350, than suddeblly become 2300 d, not sure why. also, the money u pay is by rm1k. so if yiu pay rm500, it does not count, only multiple of 1k will count.

Never try to withdraw, so not sure what happen now
roy_zu
post Sep 17 2018, 08:52 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

In a very simple term, if you put 50k in your saving account, you will save the interest for that 50k. You then can continue pay the regular installment monthly into the same account.

If you decided to leave the 50k there and let the bank deduct monthly, the interest free amount will be reduced on monthly basis based on the remaining amount in the savings account.

Let's say, you have full 500k cash and transfer to your saving account. The bank will deduct the same amount monthly but the whole amount will be used to deduct the principal. It means, you might finish the loan in 13+ years instead of 30/35 years.
roy_zu
post Sep 17 2018, 08:55 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

Why full flexi loan is better for those have extra cash to spare is, the amount will help to reduce the interest and at the same time, you can still withdraw during emergency. Downside, you might need to pay additional RM10 (not sure about different banks) as fees.

Some might just take semi flexi and park the cash somewhere which give better return.
ngph988
post Sep 18 2018, 12:09 PM

982 posts

But RHB is the only bank offering full flexi loan without any RM 10 monthly maintenance fee tongue.gif
fun_feng
post Sep 18 2018, 01:57 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(ngph988 @ Sep 18 2018, 12:09 PM)
But RHB is the only bank offering full flexi loan without any RM 10 monthly maintenance fee  tongue.gif
But it is capped??

Nowadays many flexi loan are capped at 70%.. meaning u will be charged interest on 30% loan no matter what
ngph988
post Sep 18 2018, 03:42 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Sep 18 2018, 01:57 PM)
But it is capped??

Nowadays many flexi loan are capped at 70%.. meaning u will be charged interest on 30% loan no matter what
Nope, as I know PBB, CIMB got capping on interests saving. RHB is quite flexible, only thing is you need to move your capital from CASA to loan account in order to reduce your interests (via online banking)
TShayview
post Sep 18 2018, 10:01 PM

18 posts

Hi GUYS

thank for helping.
I ask this question again in RHB facebook,
and one banker contacted me. The statement from banker is tallied with my house agent descriptions.

For full flexi house loan, I should use "principle prepayment" to pay the installment.
short summary - "principle prepayment" can be used as "regular installment", and
if I pay to "principle prepayment" before the due date, I can enjoy the interest reduction.

once the due date is meet, the installment amount will be deducted from "principle prepayment" and used as "regular installment"

thank all.

vetkin_gray
post Oct 16 2018, 02:47 PM

766 posts

So does that mean, before you place excess money into the principle you pay monthly rm2000 (example), now you are paying less than rm200 monthly now?

QUOTE(hayview @ Sep 18 2018, 10:01 PM)
Hi GUYS

thank for helping.
and one banker contacted me. The statement from banker is tallied with my house agent descriptions.

For full flexi house loan, I should use "principle prepayment" to pay the installment.
if I pay to "principle prepayment" before the due date, I can enjoy the interest reduction.

once the due date is meet, the installment amount will be deducted from "principle prepayment" and used as "regular installment"

thank all.
TShayview
post Oct 21 2018, 08:17 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Oct 16 2018, 02:47 PM)
So does that mean, before you place excess money into the principle you pay monthly rm2000 (example), now you are paying less than rm200 monthly now?
yes, you are right.

if my monthly installment is 2k. And i pay 1k at principle prepayment before the due date.
when the due date come, I only have to pay another 1k to regular installment.
vetkin_gray
post Oct 21 2018, 08:36 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Oct 21 2018, 08:17 PM)
yes, you are right.

if my monthly installment is 2k. And i pay 1k at principle prepayment before the due date.
What if you paid rm 50k into your principal? After due date will you be paying the same installment amount as previously?
TShayview
post Oct 26 2018, 04:57 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Oct 21 2018, 08:36 PM)
What if you paid rm 50k into your principal? After due date will you be paying the same installment amount as previously?
sorry for late reply, i seldom on lowyat forum.
i cannot be sure, but i guess it will be less as my loan is less now.
roy_zu
post Nov 2 2018, 01:40 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Bibimbapi @ Nov 2 2018, 12:05 PM)
I am having my house loan with rhb. Understand that I would not be able to withdraw the amount which I have paid in excess during construction period

I am wondering if there is any way to check the amount that I have paid in excessed or I will have to wait till the day the loan is fully disbursed to developer before I can see the allowed withdrawal amount
You are correct. Additional money paid during construction period not withdrawable. From the online banking, the excess amount will be used to reduce the principal, so it's better to call the bank and check how much excess amount you have.
roy_zu
post Nov 2 2018, 03:04 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Bibimbapi @ Nov 2 2018, 01:56 PM)
So the excess amount which I have paid should kept under loan account instead of savings account to reduce principal? If I keep it in CASA it wont reduce principal and there will be no reduction in interest right?
Yes, if the excess amount in CASA, than it won't help you to reduce the interest. But you can withdraw anytime you like. This is my understanding from SA.
So, I just pay the actual monthly installment and not excess. Will wait for loan to be fully disburse and than only transfer to that account.
roy_zu
post Nov 2 2018, 08:27 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Bibimbapi @ Nov 2 2018, 03:52 PM)
My original repayment terms is 420 terms. Due to the project is still under construction it was extended to 450 terms. If I wish to start paying for my monthly installment instead of just paying progressive interest, it can be done right?

Guess I have to clarify with rhb bank. My mortgage agent no longer working in rhb 🤔🤔
Actually no point paying extra during construction period. It will not help to reduce the principal amount (this is what i was told). Yes, better check with the bank directly.
fllee520
post Nov 22 2018, 11:49 PM

38 posts

Hi all,

Highjack this topic abit.. I saw a RHB term and condition have an early settlement fee calculation. [(a-b)/100]*c*(d/365)

A=current board interest
B=discounted interest
C=loan amount
D=days of contract with bank

How does this calculation work. I'm confusing. Hope any experience guy give some guidance.

One point Below the highlighted blue

CL

Bobdog86
post Nov 27 2018, 11:23 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Oct 21 2018, 08:17 PM)
yes, you are right.

if i choose to pay 1k principal prepayment option. my regular installment does not decrease by 1k.
pls advice.

any idea how and where can i redraw the excess payment made via rhb online banking?
TShayview
post Dec 5 2018, 08:38 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Bobdog86 @ Nov 27 2018, 11:23 PM)
if i choose to pay 1k principal prepayment option. my regular installment does not decrease by 1k.
pls advice.

any idea how and where can i redraw the excess payment made via rhb online banking?

if I not mistaken, if you still paying 1k for your regular installment, I think the bank will auto deduct 1k from your principle prepayment.

for taking the money out through online, i cant remember the details, i think you need to go to bank to setup something first.
GGSC27
post Jan 10 2019, 12:27 AM

170 posts

ok long story short

loan of 500k, with month installment let say 2.5k

if i have excess money of let say 50k, would it be better to park in flexi loan or fd?

any sifu can advise
cybpsych
post Jan 10 2019, 07:17 AM

---------------------
65,354 posts

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Jan 10 2019, 12:27 AM)
ok long story short

loan of 500k, with month installment let say 2.5k

if i have excess money of let say 50k, would it be better to park in flexi loan or fd?

any sifu can advise
this topic has been discussed many times

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4642958
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4603917
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4460266
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4229620

GGSC27
post Jan 10 2019, 11:55 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 10 2019, 07:17 AM)
kinda too hard to understand...tot can hav a layman term one
Jie
post Jan 14 2019, 04:12 PM

60 posts

Hi guys, seek your opinion and advice.

I got offer from Public bank and RHB so far trying to decide between this two.

1.) PBB Semi flexi 1st yr 4.35% subsequently 4.45% (semi flexi can reduce principle by any amount and min mrta only 6k)

2.) RHB full flexi 4.45% (* downside is need to reduce principle need to pay into loan account multiples of rm1000 and min mrta is higher at 9.7k)

what is your advice and which would you choose? Is it worth to pay higher for the mrta and the multiples of 1k to offset principle for full flexi?

thanks in advance !
skl097
post Jan 14 2019, 04:20 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Jie @ Jan 14 2019, 04:12 PM)
Hi guys, seek your opinion and advice.

I got offer from Public bank and RHB so far trying to decide between this two.

1.) PBB Semi flexi 1st yr 4.35% subsequently 4.45% (semi flexi can reduce principle by any amount and min mrta only 6k)

2.) RHB full flexi 4.45% (* downside is need to reduce principle need to pay into loan account multiples of rm1000 and min mrta is higher at 9.7k)

what is your advice and which would you choose? Is it worth to pay higher for the mrta and the multiples of 1k to offset principle for full flexi?

thanks in advance !
i tot RHB only offer MLTA?
Jie
post Jan 14 2019, 04:46 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(skl097 @ Jan 14 2019, 04:20 PM)
i tot RHB only offer MLTA?
No, they offer MRTA
skl097
post Jan 14 2019, 06:05 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Jie @ Jan 14 2019, 04:46 PM)
No, they offer MRTA
is it? my banker told me only MLTA... feel like being cheat...
Jie
post Jan 15 2019, 12:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(skl097 @ Jan 14 2019, 06:05 PM)
is it? my banker told me only MLTA... feel like being cheat...
Oh, what was your loan amount and how much for the MLTA?

The options for RHB are GRTA/MRTA/ODLA/CLTA: according to LO
skl097
post Jan 15 2019, 12:17 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Jie @ Jan 15 2019, 12:01 PM)
Oh, what was your loan amount and how much for the MLTA?

The options for RHB are GRTA/MRTA/ODLA/CLTA: according to LO
around 580k
chilskater
post Jan 17 2019, 09:06 PM

1,124 posts

MRTA and MLTA no need to buy, just buy insurance that can cover ur housing loan...but a bit mahal...when it is matured, u get the money and coverage ..just buy for MRTA & MLTA for 5-10 years, the bank will offered cheap rates when it is about to expire, instead ofone lumpsum 35 years
Ganandran
post Apr 24 2019, 11:40 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jan 17 2019, 09:06 PM)
MRTA and MLTA no need to buy, just buy insurance that can cover ur housing loan...but a bit mahal...when it is matured, u get the money and coverage ..just buy for MRTA & MLTA for 5-10 years, the bank will offered cheap rates when it is about to expire, instead ofone lumpsum 35 years
u mean buy from insurance agent or bank? First time house buyer.
Below is the offer given by bank. Can advise?

RHB Loan Approved

Total Loan amount: RM439,773.00
Loan margin: 90%
Loan tenure: 35yrs
Interest rate: 4.55%
Monthly installment: RM2,095

* loan amount including MLTA, cover 350k for 33 years

For the MLTA. It’s included in the loan, no upfront payment. It’s rm21,273 for the coverage, if divided into 33 years, per month it’s only RM53. Monthly payment RM53, to cover 350k. Usually outside won’t be able to find this rate

This post has been edited by Ganandran: Apr 24 2019, 01:28 PM
eric.tangps
post Apr 25 2019, 09:51 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(Ganandran @ Apr 24 2019, 11:40 AM)
u mean buy from insurance agent or bank? First time house buyer.
Below is the offer given by bank. Can advise?
RHB Loan Approved

Total Loan amount: RM439,773.00
Loan margin: 90%
Loan tenure: 35yrs
Interest rate: 4.55%
Monthly installment: RM2,095

* loan amount including MLTA, cover 350k for 33 years

For the MLTA. It’s included in the loan, no upfront payment. It’s rm21,273 for the coverage, if divided into 33 years, per month it’s only RM53. Monthly payment RM53, to cover 350k. Usually outside won’t be able to find this rate
Don’t think that is MLTA, most probably be MRTA. It will be on reducing scale, do check up with Banker the coverage period and amount. Do buy as close as possible to the 35 years tenure if you don’t plan to fork out MLTA monthly premium.
chilskater
post May 5 2019, 02:14 PM

1,124 posts

buy from agents...dont put MLTA or MRTA, rugi bayar interest.. cover 350k only?if got extra money, buy insurance coverage bigger than ur house vàlue..the bank officer just wanna scared u when u didnt buy MRTA/MLTA from them...
luffytaro
post Jun 5 2019, 02:39 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ May 5 2019, 02:14 PM)
buy from agents...dont put MLTA or MRTA, rugi bayar interest.. cover 350k only?if got extra money, buy insurance coverage bigger than ur house vàlue..the bank officer just wanna scared u when u didnt buy MRTA/MLTA from them...
Can you advise which insurance company can offer coverage that cheaper and have good coverage. For RHB MLTA, they use third party insurance company too. not insured by themselves.
chilskater
post Jun 5 2019, 08:59 PM

1,124 posts

Prudential...u have to ask banyak2 company...
kooujy
post Jun 27 2019, 03:36 PM

i got this reply from RHB banker

TShayview
post Aug 26 2019, 10:05 AM

18 posts

Hi

Just an update, even you are paying extra to principle prepayment, the principle is reduced and interest is reduced.

but you are still required to pay the same amount every month, because there is not recalculation.

just called to bank officer to confirm.

unknown_2
post Aug 26 2019, 02:47 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Aug 26 2019, 10:05 AM)
Hi

Just an update, even you are paying extra to principle prepayment, the principle is reduced and interest is reduced.

but you are still required to pay the same amount every month, because there is not recalculation.

izzit a new rules or wat?
i remember last year, once i 4got to pay the regular installment.
i called & ask if there's any penalty.
the CS told me that they bank edi auto deduct from my "advanced payments".
i've nvr make any advanced regular payment, but i did put som in principle.
TShayview
post Aug 27 2019, 07:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Aug 26 2019, 02:47 PM)
i also not sure it is new rule or what,
but the full flexi loan wasnt really that flexi.

there is no online statement,
so you wouldnt know how much you owe, or how much they charged based on current principle.
even want to see the loan statement, also need go to local office and apply to check.
so many things are hindered from us.

davidletterboyz
post Sep 8 2019, 05:53 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Aug 27 2019, 07:06 PM)
i also not sure it is new rule or what,
but the full flexi loan wasnt really that flexi.

there is no online statement,
so you wouldnt know how much you owe, or how much they charged based on current principle.
even want to see the loan statement, also need go to local office and apply to check.
so many things are hindered from us.
That's the thing. I noticed it's a very not reliable customer support in a way that they cannot tell us anything because "every calculation is done by backend system". ranting.gif
TShayview
post Sep 9 2019, 10:42 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 8 2019, 05:53 PM)
That's the thing. I noticed it's a very not reliable customer support in a way that they cannot tell us anything because "every calculation is done by backend system".  ranting.gif
yup, they are making everything hard for us and not cheap for us also.

"
Should you wish to request for your Housing Loan statement, it is subjected to fee of RM5 per page for additional loan statement.

Should you wish to request the statement, you may forward us the duly signed request letter stating the fee is agreeable and all of borrower signatures are required on the change of address request letter if the account is under a joint account.

We appreciate your understanding, as proper verifications are required in order not to compromise on customer's security and to ensure that customer's confidential information is not divulged to third parties and this could not be done through e-mail.
"
davidletterboyz
post Sep 10 2019, 12:23 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Sep 9 2019, 10:42 AM)
yup, they are making everything hard for us and not cheap for us also.
"
Should you wish to request for your Housing Loan statement, it is subjected to fee of RM5 per page for additional loan statement.

Should you wish to request the statement, you may forward us the duly signed request letter stating the fee is agreeable and all of borrower signatures are required on the change of address request letter if the account is under a joint account.

We appreciate your understanding, as proper verifications are required in order not to compromise on customer's security and to ensure that customer's confidential information is not divulged to third parties and this could not be done through e-mail.
"
Yours is what bank and plan?
TShayview
post Sep 10 2019, 01:01 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 10 2019, 12:23 AM)
Yours is what bank and plan?
rhb bank, full flexi.
davidletterboyz
post Sep 17 2019, 02:57 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Sep 10 2019, 01:01 PM)
rhb bank, full flexi.
How does RHB Full flexi work? Can reduce principal more than 70%?
edwinliong
post Oct 6 2019, 11:24 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Aug 26 2019, 03:47 PM)
Bro, if you forgot to pay the regular installment, they will auto deduct from your current acc, please double check.
And, any payment made to "principle" is not withdraw-able anymore.
unknown_2
post Oct 7 2019, 12:01 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(edwinliong @ Oct 6 2019, 11:24 PM)
Bro, if you forgot to pay the regular installment, they will auto deduct from your current acc, please double check.
And, any payment made to "principle" is not withdraw-able anymore.
i'm pretty sure it dint deduct from my current account, cuz i dint use the account besides for loan.
so i'll always leave just RM10 in it, & transfer money in when i wanna do payment.
darkhunter16
post Oct 26 2019, 12:11 AM

128 posts

How to do the redrawal from the full flexi loan using online banking?

This post has been edited by darkhunter16: Oct 26 2019, 12:12 AM
TShayview
post Oct 28 2019, 09:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(darkhunter16 @ Oct 26 2019, 12:11 AM)
How to do the redrawal from the full flexi loan using online banking?
if i not mistaken, need to go to bank to withdraw.
toos99
post Oct 28 2019, 03:46 PM

156 posts

Also, under RHB, every year I see an additional 1K++ being added into the loan, which shows up as FEES ASSESSMENT.

Anyone knows what's this about? This RHB sends you no sh*t whatsoever. It's like a self service sandwich joint this bank.

This post has been edited by toos99: Nov 11 2019, 12:43 AM
toos99
post Oct 28 2019, 04:12 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Aug 26 2019, 10:05 AM)
Hi

Wish to confirm that this is correct. Had a long, arduous journey to get this info previously. The monthly installment changes only when there is a major shift ie BLR rates. Else, even if you throw in big amount of cash, EPF, etc, monthly installments remain as is. The only variable that changes here is the duration of the loan.

Although, you could request to have it revised but I don’t know the procedure.
darkhunter16
post Oct 30 2019, 09:41 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Oct 28 2019, 04:12 PM)
Wish to confirm that this is correct. Had a long, arduous journey to get this info previously. The monthly installment changes only when there is a major shift ie BLR rates. Else, even if you throw in big amount of cash, EPF, etc, monthly installments remain as is. The only variable that changes here is the duration of the loan.

Although, you could request to have it revised but I don’t know the procedure.
After performing principal repayment, if still paying the same amount, does it mean we pay more to the principal instead of interest? I. E. Further reducing the principal
darkhunter16
post Oct 30 2019, 09:42 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Oct 28 2019, 09:29 AM)
if i not mistaken, need to go to bank to withdraw.
Any branch can also do this? Any charge?
TShayview
post Oct 30 2019, 10:46 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Oct 28 2019, 03:46 PM)
Also, under RHB, every year I see an additional 1K++ being added into the loan, which shows up as FEES ASSESSMENT.

Anyone knows what's this about? This RHB sends you no sh*t whatsoever. No statement, not even a yearly one. It's like a self service sandwich joint this bank.
really??,
can you share your statement with your personal info blur out?
TShayview
post Oct 30 2019, 10:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(darkhunter16 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:42 AM)
Any branch can also do this? Any charge?
i think need to be the bank that handle your loan.
toos99
post Oct 31 2019, 12:47 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(darkhunter16 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:41 AM)
After performing principal repayment, if still paying the same amount, does it mean we pay more to the principal instead of interest? I. E. Further reducing the principal
It must be. As interest is calculated based on principle owed.
toos99
post Oct 31 2019, 12:50 AM

156 posts

This post has been edited by toos99: Nov 4 2019, 06:46 PM
toos99
post Nov 3 2019, 11:21 PM

156 posts

...!!!

This post has been edited by toos99: Feb 17 2021, 02:28 AM
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 8 2019, 04:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Nov 3 2019, 11:21 PM)
here you go

[attachmentid=10346138]
Isn't this minus not addition?

From what I understand fee assessment is the adjustment they make due to changes in interest rate. Call RHB and ask?
SUSMNet
post Nov 9 2019, 10:41 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Oct 28 2019, 03:46 PM)

Anyone knows what's this about? This RHB sends you no sh*t whatsoever. No statement, not even a yearly one. It's like a self service sandwich joint this bank.
When is it charged?
toos99
post Nov 9 2019, 11:44 PM

156 posts

This post has been edited by toos99: Apr 3 2022, 03:58 AM
toos99
post Nov 9 2019, 11:45 PM

156 posts

SUSMNet
post Nov 10 2019, 09:35 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Nov 9 2019, 11:45 PM)
Yearly in Oct. can’t remember exact date but it comes every year sharp.

I’m just wondering if it’s the insurance for the house as the amount is the same always.
ur house is still under con or completed?
what is ur rhb loan type name?
toos99
post Nov 11 2019, 12:42 AM

156 posts

darkhunter16
post Jan 17 2020, 11:06 AM

128 posts

After paying monthly principle prepayment for RHB flexi loan, when the interest reduction will take into effect?

Calculated daily, monthly or annually Or only when they revise the interest rates?
coolwave81
post Apr 15 2020, 03:05 AM

QUOTE(toos99 @ Nov 9 2019, 11:45 PM)
Yearly in Oct. can’t remember exact date but it comes every year sharp.

I’m just wondering if it’s the insurance for the house as the amount is the same always.
I supposed it is fire insurance which is required to purchase every year.
If you do not get fire insurance from other companies, the bank itself will buy on-behalf and charge under your Loan.
I noticed this too first 2 yrs, and since then i bought from other insurance company, I need to issue the cover sheet to proof I purchase one and email to their customer service.
Since then I do not see any reduction anymore.
So if you have additional money in the loan, i believe it will minus off, otherwise it will increase your principal (i think).

Anyhow, I'm also confuse with the option "Advance Payment vs Prepayment Principal" for Semi Flexi.
I see some say it reduces the principals but why 2 options?
Advance Payment - reduces principal and can redraw money out through counter/write-in?
Prepayment Principal- reduces principal but cannot redraw money at all?

Anyone knows?

This post has been edited by coolwave81: Apr 15 2020, 03:13 AM
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 16 2020, 02:21 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(coolwave81 @ Apr 15 2020, 03:05 AM)
I supposed it is fire insurance which is required to purchase every year.
If you do not get fire insurance from other companies, the bank itself will buy on-behalf and charge under your Loan.
I noticed this too first 2 yrs, and since then i bought from other insurance company, I need to issue the cover sheet to proof I purchase one and email to their customer service.
Since then I do not see any reduction anymore.
So if you have additional money in the loan, i believe it will minus off, otherwise it will increase your principal (i think).

Anyhow, I'm also confuse with the option "Advance Payment vs Prepayment Principal" for Semi Flexi.
I see some say it reduces the principals but why 2 options?
Advance Payment - reduces principal and can redraw money out through counter/write-in?
Prepayment Principal- reduces principal but cannot redraw money at all?

Anyone knows?
One is your usual monthly loan mortgage payment, the other is to pay down specifically your principal.

One is a must pay every month, another is optional.
tky1993
post Nov 7 2020, 08:38 AM

544 posts

Hi. How can I withdraw the excessed amount which I have paid during construction period? The loan is fully disbursed, I can't find any way to redraw the amount from the site.
Knight_2008
post Nov 7 2020, 10:06 PM

1,270 posts

Any idea if we withdraw EPF to help prepay loan, when we need the money can we withdraw it back from the RHB housing loan?
AnasM
post Nov 8 2020, 11:07 AM

569 posts

QUOTE(Knight_2008 @ Nov 7 2020, 10:06 PM)
Any idea if we withdraw EPF to help prepay loan, when we need the money can we withdraw it back from the RHB housing loan?
yes can
babygrand123
post Apr 15 2021, 08:54 AM

672 posts

Recently i signed RHB full flexi housing loan and the officer told me that i need to go to rhb bank open a saving account with rhb within 2 week

Is there any better convenient way to open saving acc via online ? Not sure why officer never open saving acc together after i signed on the full flexi loan
waitiong
post Sep 4 2021, 04:39 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(tky1993 @ Nov 7 2020, 09:38 AM)
Hi. How can I withdraw the excessed amount which I have paid during construction period? The loan is fully disbursed, I can't find any way to redraw the amount from the site.
prepay during cons period, as i know cant withdraw as banker said, it will use to off set interest, only release full amount, any prepay only can withdraw under withdraw bucket
waitiong
post Sep 4 2021, 04:41 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(Knight_2008 @ Nov 7 2020, 11:06 PM)
paid to loan account, then it will show at loan redrawal, u can transfer out to rhb saving
den
post Nov 28 2021, 08:56 PM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

QUOTE(waitiong @ Sep 4 2021, 04:39 PM)
prepay during cons period, as i know cant withdraw as banker said, it will use to off set interest, only release full amount, any prepay only can withdraw under withdraw bucket
if i prepay during cons period. eg. 100k.
After full disbursement, then i can start withdrawing portion of this 100k?
waitiong
post Dec 9 2021, 11:56 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(den @ Nov 28 2021, 09:56 PM)
if i prepay during cons period. eg. 100k.
After full disbursement, then i can start withdrawing portion of this 100k?
During Con period it cant, it does nothing and it will just use all to settle ur interest. you better pump in 100k after ur loan full release, becoz it can use to offset interest and you can withdraw it out. anything u see inside withdrwal bucket on your account only can taken out. i been try during con period put extra, it wont reflect, it will just hold in system and deduct the interest charge during con period

This post has been edited by waitiong: Dec 9 2021, 12:00 PM
ykh
post Apr 1 2022, 10:11 PM

83 posts

Hi, previously I have transferred some money into my RHB loan account via RHB Now to reduce interest.
But now I can't seem to withdraw it through RHB Now. Can anyone help me?
KageBunshi
post Apr 2 2022, 12:24 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(ykh @ Apr 1 2022, 10:11 PM)
Hi, previously I have transferred some money into my RHB loan account via RHB Now to reduce interest.
But now I can't seem to withdraw it through RHB Now. Can anyone help me?
Apps function very limited, maybe cant do it.
Able to do it via website
go Menu> Fund transfer > Own Account > Loand Redrawal
normalize
post Apr 11 2022, 02:20 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(hayview @ Sep 18 2018, 10:01 PM)
Hi GUYS

thank for helping.

thank all.
Hi, I am in the similar situation- Islamic FullFlexy house Loan with RHB. My first payment due this May 5. Previously they have asked me to open RHB savings for the purpose of Loan disbursement. And I believe they will auto deduct my monthly payment from this accounts. I have some cash now and would like to use it to take advantage of interest (reduction?). My question is do I just transfer the cash into the savings account and that is it? or do I need to inform the bank of my intention to use it as principle prepayment? I am afraid if I bank in the cash (lets say 50K), the bank might think i would like to pay 50k for the next monthly payment. Thanks in advance guys.
MUM
post Apr 11 2022, 08:27 PM

14,951 posts

FAQs on Prepayment Charges On Housing Loan
https://www.abm.org.my/faqs-loans-and-lending

cybpsych
post May 12 2022, 08:07 AM

---------------------
65,354 posts

Maybank, RHB Banking Group to increase BR, BLR by 25bps | The Edge Markets

Maybank said it will revise upwards its rate effective May 13, while RHB will be doing so on May 18, according to their respective statements.

Maybank noted its BR will be raised from 1.75% per annum (p.a.) to 2% p.a. while its BLR will be revised from 5.4% p.a to 5.65% p.a.

Similarly, Maybank's Islamic BR and base financing rate (BFR) will be increased by 25bps from 1.75% p.a. to 2% p.a. and from 5.4% p.a. to 5.65% p.a. respectively.

Meanwhile, RHB Bank Bhd, RHB Islamic Bank Bhd and RHB Investment Bank Bhd will increase BR from 2.5% p.a. to 2.75% p.a., and will also revise the BLR and BFR from 5.45% to 5.7% per annum, respectively.

CIMB increases rates by 25bps effective May 18 | The Edge Markets

KUALA LUMPUR (May 12): CIMB Bank Bhd and CIMB Islamic Bank Bhd will effect a corresponding 25-basis-point (bps) increase in their base rate and fixed deposit/fixed return income account-i board rates effective May 18.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: May 12 2022, 12:24 PM
boonboon
post Jul 29 2022, 09:31 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(KageBunshi @ Apr 2 2022, 12:24 AM)
Apps function very limited, maybe cant do it.
Able to do it via website
go Menu> Fund transfer > Own Account > Loand Redrawal
How to find it in new RHB website?
lkwah86
post Aug 18 2022, 01:08 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(boonboon @ Jul 29 2022, 09:31 PM)
How to find it in new RHB website?
only in old website, new website not supported yet
DC87
post Sep 5 2022, 09:15 AM

25 posts

anyone can advise if previously i have put in amount into principal prepayment but would like to know how much balance in it
roy_zu
post Sep 5 2022, 10:38 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(DC87 @ Sep 5 2022, 09:15 AM)
anyone can advise if previously i have put in amount into principal prepayment but would like to know how much balance in it
Can view from loan redrawal or from the mobile app
Sonnet Porky
post Sep 15 2022, 09:38 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Sep 5 2022, 10:38 PM)
Can view from loan redrawal or from the mobile app
Available on the new website as well, for the old website, you need click withdrawal to view the available amount.
ttyyoop2003 P
post Nov 29 2022, 03:34 PM

Probation

hi, have anyone received the revision of monthly instalment letter from RHB (1/11/2022)?

I plan is full-flexi and understood from letter and the RHB counter person, RHB going to change the plan? Now the instalment amount only based on the Loan balance exclude the redrawal amount, if u going to reduce the monthly instalment amount you need to pay out your redrawal amount otherwise its only auto deduct the monthly amount from ur redrawal amount.
means redrawal amount cannot reduce the monthly instalment amount already (no interest), only can pay out or let it auto deduct.

correct me if im wrong.

Yapmy
post Dec 11 2022, 10:41 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

Yes I received the revision statement in Nov effective Dec which was a drastic increase of about RM1k per month almost equal to my original instalment when I signed up for the loan. Not sure how they calculated the amount.
roy_zu
post Dec 14 2022, 08:20 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Dec 11 2022, 10:41 PM)
Yes I received the revision statement in Nov effective Dec which was a drastic increase of about RM1k per month almost equal to my original instalment when I signed up for the loan. Not sure how they calculated the amount.
Based on original loan amount. No more based on remaining balance after minus the extra cash
Yapmy
post Dec 15 2022, 05:55 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Dec 14 2022, 08:20 PM)
Based on original loan amount. No more based on remaining balance after minus the extra cash
Ahh damn. In that case the only benefit in pumping cash is to save interest charges monthly only.

roy_zu
post Dec 15 2022, 09:11 PM

#TimeToLead
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Dec 15 2022, 05:55 PM)
Ahh damn. In that case the only benefit in pumping cash is to save interest charges monthly only.
Yes, but with monthly payment back to original amount, we can't top up close to ending balance also. For example, i have 50% of loan amount already pumped in. With the new payment amount, i will finish the loan in next 7 years.
cheekiat95
post Jan 6 2023, 03:51 PM

66 posts

So long story short.. before the loan amount is fully disbursed by the bank (during construction period), the only way to reduce the loan interest is by pumping money into the loan account (redrawal bucket). Any funds that were pumped into the redrawal bucket of loan account cannot be withdraw before the loan is fully disbursed.

bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
Rinth
post Jan 16 2023, 10:23 AM

1,263 posts

anyone know the new rhb online banking website have the loan redrawal function edi? Since the RHBnow gonna obsolete soon...
lkloon123
post Jan 16 2023, 11:09 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Jan 16 2023, 10:23 AM)
anyone know the new rhb online banking website have the loan redrawal function edi? Since the RHBnow gonna obsolete soon...
this function is yet port over to new website and they are closing old one sad.gif
Rinth
post Jan 17 2023, 11:43 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(lkloon123 @ Jan 16 2023, 11:09 PM)
this function is yet port over to new website and they are closing old one  sad.gif
yep, thats why asking.....later all funds stuck inside loan cannot take out via new website then GG
RAGALIA
post Feb 27 2023, 04:42 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Jan 17 2023, 11:43 AM)
yep, thats why asking.....later all funds stuck inside loan cannot take out via new website then GG
One more month until closing if the website announcement is accurate. Until now still no redrawal function in the new RHB website. rclxms.gif
Rinth
post Feb 27 2023, 05:51 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(RAGALIA @ Feb 27 2023, 04:42 PM)
One more month until closing if the website announcement is accurate. Until now still no redrawal function in the new RHB website.  rclxms.gif
auto full flexi become semi flexi whistling.gif
post Feb 28 2023, 03:42 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(cheekiat95 @ Jan 6 2023, 03:51 PM)
So long story short.. before the loan amount is fully disbursed by the bank (during construction period), the only way to reduce the loan interest is by pumping money into the loan account (redrawal bucket). Any funds that were pumped into the redrawal bucket of loan account cannot be withdraw before the loan is fully disbursed.

bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
i did the same mistake
maybe should add a no redrawal notification if pumping into non-fully disburse loan..

This post has been edited by 47100: Feb 28 2023, 03:43 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Mar 3 2023, 04:41 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Does anyone know how to set recurring payment for the new RHB website?

It's so shitty.
DC87
post Apr 25 2024, 11:35 AM

25 posts

i still not able to withdraw access payment paid to principal prepayment and no update of the amount. how u all solve it?
cybpsych
post Apr 25 2024, 01:37 PM

---------------------
65,354 posts

QUOTE(DC87 @ Apr 25 2024, 11:35 AM)
i still not able to withdraw access payment paid to principal prepayment and no update of the amount. how u all solve it?
why you never bother to call and ask the bank directly?

you sure paid to principal? usually advance/exess payment, you need to inform bank to deduct it from principal, else it'd be just float there as monthly installment.
DC87
post Apr 25 2024, 04:30 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 25 2024, 01:37 PM)
why you never bother to call and ask the bank directly?

you sure paid to principal? usually advance/exess payment, you need to inform bank to deduct it from principal, else it'd be just float there as monthly installment.
I tried asking branch but they couldnt really help me. untrained staff i guess just say RHB is like that. need to redraw from branch.

I thought principal prepayment is already to deduct from principal? still need to inform bank? then what is the purpose? might as well just pay under regular installment?
cybpsych
post Apr 25 2024, 04:50 PM

---------------------
65,354 posts

QUOTE(DC87 @ Apr 25 2024, 04:30 PM)
I tried asking branch but they couldnt really help me. untrained staff i guess just say RHB is like that. need to redraw from branch.

I thought principal prepayment is already to deduct from principal? still need to inform bank? then what is the purpose? might as well just pay under regular installment?
just call and ask bank
DC87
post Apr 26 2024, 02:05 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 25 2024, 04:50 PM)
just call and ask bank
Managed to speak to bank. need to go branch set standing instruction for auto deduct of monthly payment from saving account.

Then they will set the redraw button and live update of additional amount in the housing loan.

chin5331
post Jun 29 2024, 10:21 AM

18 posts

Hello, I m having full flexi house loan with RHB bank, I m planing to put in 10k to the principal to deduct the interest, I can’t see online RHB on interest charge. on OCBC I can see it separate let say rm1000 instalment, it will show Rm800 is interest and RM200 pay to principal, but I can’t see it in RHB, is this need to go to branch to request detail stament? Or can do it online? Thanks for help.
lkloon123
post Jun 29 2024, 02:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(chin5331 @ Jun 29 2024, 10:21 AM)
Hello, I m having full flexi house loan with RHB bank, I m planing to put in 10k to the principal to deduct the interest, I can’t see online RHB on interest charge. on OCBC I can see it separate let say rm1000 instalment, it will show Rm800 is interest and RM200 pay to principal, but I can’t see it in RHB, is this need to go to branch to request detail stament? Or can do it online? Thanks for help.
from my own experience, you cant see it in the online banking apps and website
you only can see the interest charges details from yearly statements.

Paying principle do reduce the interest charges calculation and available for redrawal.
You will need to select Principal Prepayment when doing payment for this

This post has been edited by lkloon123: Jun 29 2024, 02:01 PM
LaiN87
post Sep 29 2024, 09:41 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

Hi, can someone help me please?

I am trying to "Princical Prepayment" and after 1 month of the value in there, my monthly payment still remain the same as though the principal prepayment is not calculated to reduce the monthly payment.

May I ask when will the monthly payment be recalculated?

I called RHB call center they say the monthly payment will stay the same only the interest at the end will be reduced. Which I understand as the loan tenure will be reduced? How come RHB flexi loan works differently from like CIMB that I have been using so far?

Thanks in advance.
adamhzm90
post Sep 29 2024, 10:38 AM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Sep 29 2024, 09:41 AM)
Hi, can someone help me please?

I am trying to "Princical Prepayment" and after 1 month of the value in there, my monthly payment still remain the same as though the principal prepayment is not calculated to reduce the monthly payment.

May I ask when will the monthly payment be recalculated?

I called RHB call center they say the monthly payment will stay the same only the interest at the end will be reduced. Which I understand as the loan tenure will be reduced? How come RHB flexi loan works differently from like CIMB that I have been using so far?

Thanks in advance.
For additional principal payment, your Monthly payment will be the same, just tenure will be shorter.

Cimb also like that. Unless you are paying for advance payment, which basically means you pay upfront so it offset the next payment. But no benefits to you there since the interest paid would be the same
LaiN87
post Sep 29 2024, 10:56 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Sep 29 2024, 10:38 AM)
For additional principal payment, your Monthly payment will be the same, just tenure will be shorter.

Cimb also like that. Unless you are paying for advance payment, which basically means you pay upfront so it offset the next payment. But no benefits to you there since the interest paid would be the same
Thanks for your reply.
My CIMB full flexi the loan monthly installment changes and recalculated every month.

Meaning the loan tenure for CIMB stays the same regardless how much money I have in my current account. Just the monthly installment reduce due to reduction of interest rate.

If this case this Flexi Loan by RHB is not flexi at all.
Ugh…

thecurious
post Sep 29 2024, 11:13 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Sep 29 2024, 10:56 AM)
Thanks for your reply.
My CIMB full flexi the loan monthly installment changes and recalculated every month.

Meaning the loan tenure for CIMB stays the same regardless how much money I have in my current account. Just the monthly installment reduce due to reduction of interest rate.

Ugh…
Isn't the current account for interest reduction?
thought that additional principal repayment should be made to the loan account instead of the current account?
LaiN87
post Sep 29 2024, 11:47 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Sep 29 2024, 11:13 AM)
Isn't the current account for interest reduction?
thought that additional principal repayment should be made to the loan account instead of the current account?
Current account yes for interest reduction. I use it for CIMB, monthly installment reduced. Loan tenure same.

No current account to tie with my RHB MY1 flexi loan.

For RHB, yes Principal prepayment is directly to loan account. Loan tenure will reduce and monthly installment maintain the same. No current account just a savings account where the money withdraw will go.

I hate this RHB product… I thought all flexi loans will be the same where tenure will not reduce.
adamhzm90
post Sep 29 2024, 01:41 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Sep 29 2024, 10:56 AM)
Thanks for your reply.

Ugh…
Suggest you to double confirm the cimb calculation because im also using cimb, and even additional principal payment made, it does not reflect any changes in my monthly due payment.
LaiN87
post Sep 29 2024, 07:51 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Sep 29 2024, 01:41 PM)
Suggest you to double confirm the cimb calculation because im also using cimb, and even additional principal payment made, it does not reflect any changes in my monthly due payment.
Confirmed.
Must make sure we are taking about the same product.

CIMB I am using full flexi with current account. Current account will offset the interest and my monthly installment will vary from month to month. This is confirmed. Already like this for 5 years.

Edit: Nvm... I just read the website and PDS again. Looks like I signed a product which I thought all "Flexi loan" will act the same way but in this case, it's only prepayment to reduce loan tenure. No other options available. Thanks everyone for the help.

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Sep 29 2024, 10:26 PM

0.0698sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:29 AM