LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship Thread V2, USA GP Live on RTM

young_soul
post Jun 12 2007, 06:05 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

Interview with Jarno Truli
"Shocked and Relieved after Kubica crash"

Toyota's Jarno Trulli was better placed than most to witness the true severity of Robert Kubica's accident in Montreal - it was his car that Kubica ran into, triggering the crash. Trulli discusses his feelings on the incident, his difficult Canadian weekend and his prospects for Indianapolis...

Q: Drama in Montreal from first to last. What can you say?
Jarno Trulli: Before anything, I just want to say how delighted I am that Robert Kubica is not badly injured after the accident on lap 27, when we were racing closely. I was shocked about the violence of the accident and very concerned because I had no information.

Q: What happened?
JT: I was struggling with tyre graining and lack of grip. Robert was quicker and I gave him the left-hand side of the track. The last time I saw him in my mirrors he was on that side, then I just got hit at the back and I have no idea what happened. I saw the medical car out for a long period and I was very concerned.

Q: What about your own race?
JT: I was battling for points in the early stages and then after Robert's accident I had a flat tyre and had to make a pit stop. I don't know if it was because of contact or because of debris. After that it was a confusing race and I was at the back. I had to make another stop later on and when I came back out I just lost concentration and drove straight into the wall at Turn 1 with 12 laps to go. Honestly, I was really glad that it was all over. It doesn't really matter how it went for me, all that matters is that nobody was seriously injured.

Q: How big a concern were the two suspension failures you had on Friday?
JT: The team analysed the data and it looked like a mixture of circumstances which made the upright fail over a particular kerb at Turn Eight. There was no clear explanation because the component was exactly the same as last year and the kerb is exactly the same too. There is something different in the suspension geometry and that's why we completely changed the characteristics of the set-up to try to help the situation.

Q: Did it affect your confidence?
JT: When you want to be quick you don't pay too much attention to what might happen and so I was more concentrated on getting the best out of myself and the car in qualifying rather than thinking about Friday. Obviously, when I went out on Saturday morning I was a bit cautious and I was concentrating hard in Turn 8, but more on not hitting the kerb rather than being quick. We are drivers and once we close the visor we focus on our job.

Q: Was a top-10 qualifying position better than you expected?
JT: I would say it was unexpected. We lost most of Friday practice yesterday and Saturday morning was pretty poor because the track conditions were bad. We went into qualifying with a lot to discover, we had to change the car set-up to overcome the mechanical problem and we also had to avoid the kerb. So 10th was a great result. I was more than satisfied!

Q: Have you ever suffered a double component break before?
JT: No, it's the first time for me and also for the team, which has never had these kind of problems. The first time I hit the kerb I called on the radio and told the team to bring Ralf in as well until we investigated the issue.

Q: Were there any positive points about your trip to Canada?
JT: As I said, I think it is a tremendous positive that on Sunday night Robert Kubica had been examined at hospital in Montreal and was okay and able to talk and tell jokes to the people from his team who visited him. It says a lot about the strength of today's cars and the positive progress that has been made with safety, but it also proves that what we do has dangers and that we can never be complacent. It is never nice to see something like that and the most important thing about the whole weekend is that he was okay. Everything else was pretty much insignificant but, away from the track, it was fun to entertain the British press at one of Montreal's nicest restaurants on Thursday evening and give them an opportunity to sample the famous Trulli wine! It was all from my own vineyards and they seemed to approve. Unfortunately I couldn't join in and had to stick to water! But the overriding feeling from the weekend is not about light-hearted matters, it is one of relief.

Added on June 12, 2007, 6:11 pmwhat the hell happened here? shocking.gif
taken during Friday practice...look like the wheel exploded upon impact. I don't wanna be anywhere near the cockpit when that happens sweat.gif

This post has been edited by young_soul: Jun 12 2007, 06:13 PM

SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 12 2007, 06:26 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

I hope Kubica won't felt phobia when it comes to overtaking.
It's that manouver that caused the horrible crash last Sunday.
A little touch at high speed is all it needed sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jun 12 2007, 06:33 PM
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 12 2007, 06:35 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Definately you are underestimating a racing driver
karhoe
post Jun 12 2007, 08:14 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 12 2007, 04:36 PM)
Nope, where is it?
Today the star sports section.

Also I realized something, my school subscribed the star, and when I read it yesterday ( monday ), it only showed qualifying result, which means it did not cover the race report.

But at my home, the same newspaper, every single page was the same, except for that particular section on F1, at home, they reported slightly further, seems like at publication time, kubica had crashed and that picture is featured in the newspaper and the report is different too which means they covered race day too compared to the star from my school on the same day which did not cover race day
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 12 2007, 09:46 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

ASTRO channel do showed latest news.
Spank ankle and concussion.
Concussion's pretty dangerous...especially when it comes to the brain.
We'll see if Kubica can race this sunday.
advanced
post Jun 12 2007, 10:15 PM

1,567 posts

kubica'siranian engineer are not welcomed to us http://www.duemotori.com/news/f1/13835_Rob...so_in_doubt.php
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 12 2007, 10:29 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(advanced @ Jun 12 2007, 10:15 PM)
kubica'siranian engineer are not welcomed to us http://www.duemotori.com/news/f1/13835_Rob...so_in_doubt.php
Typical U.S of A.
Paranoia whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jun 12 2007, 10:52 PM
PowerSlide
post Jun 12 2007, 11:09 PM

----------
6,035 posts

remarkable how lucky he is n how safe f1 car nowdays

its scary see the replay over n over again sweat.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 12 2007, 11:16 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jun 12 2007, 11:09 PM)
remarkable how lucky he is n how safe f1 car nowdays

its scary see the replay over n over again  sweat.gif
That makes two(2) of us.
I was so worried.
bysquashy
post Jun 12 2007, 11:26 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

BTW guys, was this the second safety car?

BuFung
post Jun 12 2007, 11:35 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 12 2007, 11:26 PM)
BTW guys, was this the second safety car?

what I remember in my mind is the 4 doors version.. front look very similar... smile.gif
car_o_scope
post Jun 12 2007, 11:36 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

It looks very similar to the one in the race. That was supposed to be a medical assistant or a race steward car..
TSlinkinstreet
post Jun 13 2007, 12:32 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

That was the circuit's clerk de course car. As Honda is the engine supplier for the CART series in the US, they use Honda in all the circuit. The safety car and the medical car are still Mercedes-Benz
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 13 2007, 12:33 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Isnt that the Honda Civic SI ?!
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 13 2007, 02:04 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

cruel_boy
post Jun 13 2007, 05:03 AM

BeyONd cRUelIty LieS sIVa
913 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 12 2007, 02:17 PM)
More him acknowledging that Lewis is his main rival rather than the two Ferraris this season.

QUOTE(amanda85)
but massa oso did not complaint anything....ferrari juz accept d fact

What's more to complain. The Ferrari was not at fault. It's the driver's responsibility to see the red light. Nothing the team can do as they don't know themselves wether the pit lane exit (not entry mind you) was open or closed.

Taken from F1 rulebook
- The pit lane exit will be closed when the Safety Car is near or approaching the pit lane
- The pitlane entry will be open during that time
- Cars that are following the safety car can pit at that time
- Cars already in the pit will have to wait until the pit lane exit is reopened again
but it is said that safty car wasnt approaching pit lane... safety car was nowhere near that part of the track at that time. i can still remember the commentator in tv2 said this.
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 13 2007, 09:26 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Alonso feels `uncomfortable` at McLaren
Tuesday 12th June 2007

World champion Fernando Alonso has "never felt totally comfortable" at McLaren since Lewis Hamilton was confirmed as his team-mate for the 2007 season.

Spanish racer Alonso joined McLaren from Renault after back-to-back drivers' championships but hinted he feels slightly sidelined by the arrival of a British driver at a British team.

Hamilton has so far outshone his team-mate, securing his first Formula One victory at the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal on Sunday and leading the drivers' championship by eight points in a sensational rookie season.

Alonso told Spanish radio station Cadena Ser: "Well, right from the start I've never felt totally comfortable.

"I have a British team-mate in a British team, and he's doing a great job and we know that all the support and help is going to him and I understood that from the beginning.

"But I'm not complaining. I've won two races out of six and I've finished on the podium four times and I have those 40 points that will allow me to fight for the title in the end."

Alonso is still convinced he can overhaul Hamilton and win a third straight drivers' crown.

"I'm calm, I'm fine, but I know there's a certain impatience to return to the top and dominate.

"But I'm second in the championship, I'm eight points behind. I would be worse if I were at Renault, or Honda or any other team.

"At the moment I am where I expected to be and with a clear chance of winning the title in Brazil, and not now, in the sixth race."

He also seemed to suggest that the British media were fickle and had over-reacted to Hamilton's success.

"I'm totally indifferent to that. Those are the same journalists and newspapers that, if the safety car had come out on lap 23 instead of lap 24 when Hamilton didn't have enough fuel for another lap, would not have been able to say anything.

"The Spanish press has more respect than the British press."

Source

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jun 13 2007, 09:30 AM
bysquashy
post Jun 13 2007, 09:48 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

Both are free to race and I'm Loving It!
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 13 2007, 10:01 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Awww Alonso starts to complain again... at his team again...

What's with his statement, what exactly is he trying to say?!

"The Spanish press has more respect than the British press."

"I have a British team-mate in a British team, and he's doing a great job and we know that all the support and help is going to him and I understood that from the beginning.

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 13 2007, 10:08 AM
cristiano7mu
post Jun 13 2007, 10:22 AM

2,588 posts

i think either one of them hamilton or alonso will leave nx season. only 6 race and last 2 race both of them are complaining.

looks like no team work eh?
juz my view.

86 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:47 AM