16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

kentcp
post May 20 2009, 10:28 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ May 20 2009, 10:03 AM)
Wow...i feel so flattered. I only know, soon i will be lenglui when i complete my treatment. hehehe... i think i still have around 11mths to go? Yesterday, Dr How say that i'm less gummy now...hehehe
Tha's good news to you:) Okie la.. need to pack up my stuff -- Bali trip today ! Catch up on next week.. cau..
kentcp
post May 27 2009, 05:26 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(mrchildren @ May 26 2009, 10:19 PM)
hi, i went for my first orthodontic appointment today to quote for the price for Damon 3. The doctor charges 6.5k for a duration of 2-3 years. And i was told that i may need to extract 4 teeth (2 upper and 2 lower) and also one of my wisdom teeth. I'm quite skeptical as no one has mentioned about having to extract so many teeth. Btw, my case is not very serious, so i don't know if she's doing the right thing. Is the price a bit too high? Like white tulip said, hers was only 6.5 for In-ovation C. Please advise. Thanks.
Mine is Damon 3MX, cost me RM5.6k only at Bangsar How's Orthodontics & Dental Surgery.

6.5k can get transparent type (eg. InOvation C) like what Teddy using now. So, i feel like the Dr already over charge you. Why not consult other doctor to get more quote?

As per mentioned on my previous thread, you may consider below as guidance to install braces:

1) Are you looking for less pain, highest efficiency ? yes - Damon 3MX (~5.8k or less) / Damon Q (Latest, prices unknown)

2) Are you looking for less pain, high efficiency, with transparent ? yes - InOvation C (~6.5k)

3) If above Q1 and Q2 is no, then you are looking for transditional type which is painful, take more than 2.5 years & above to complete with average result. prices ~2k can get.

4) Is the orthodontist having high experience in this field ?

5) Is the orthodontist certified from the well known Uni, also certified by the product company?

Hope help. smile.gif
kentcp
post May 28 2009, 01:13 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(dupicalz @ May 28 2009, 12:26 AM)
mine was 4k ler....tat was like 2 years  ago... got until 2k tat low meh... hmm.gif
In my memory, got someone told me ~2k lo.. not meh ? May be i am really old lioa..bad memory tongue.gif
kentcp
post May 28 2009, 02:40 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ysbabe @ May 28 2009, 04:29 AM)
hi kentcp,

i'm new to this and I am planning to put braces. Am in my thirties and want something less visible and not so torturing (haha).

i noticed that u highly recommend Dr How. See, I am not a very kan-cheong person in terms of braces (haha). Don't mind slower progress but less pain and torture, so I've been hearing that Dr How is known for speeding up the process by fixing stop bites, teeth spacers, power chains, screws etc etc, which sounds like real torture to me. I just want normal ortho help to straighten my teeth, if with all these extra help, it take less than 2 years to complete, I wouldn't mind waiting another 1/2 year to go without the extra gadgets added. Do you think Dr How will accommodate this?

My assumption is most of Dr How's patients are either in their teens or early twenties, so they are rather comfortable with quicker results, never minds the pain, but since I am already in my mid thirties, I don't mind waiting extra half a year or so, if it's less painful smile.gif

What do you think? Or have you heard of other good orthodontists out there?

Hi Ysbabe, i remember i saw your post in this thread before ? wink.gif

Anyway, your question been answered by teddy. Those "add-ins" like "screw" can faster the process but it also make the result even better.

Of course, Dr How did asked for my permission before place the screw. (as it addition cost also ma) I can opt to proceed or not to proceed. After thinking, i decided to go for it. First, it will bring a better result than just braces for my case. Secondly, the process of alignment can improved.

No worry, let the experienced Dr to consult you. he know the best way to bring the best result. Of course, you still have right not to follow but don't blame him on the end of outcome ya.. wink.gif

Regarding the pain, just refer to the teddy's note. she told you about our experience. Pain is a sure..but just few day. No worry. we are here to encourge and support each other smile.gif
kentcp
post May 28 2009, 09:56 PM

37 posts

Added on May 28, 2009, 6:53 pm
this fella forever go vacation one...can see him either lying on the beach or climbing the mountain...tonnes of activities...tongue.gif

[/quote]

hahaha.. must enjoy life fullest ma.. 上山下海 all must try ! wink.gif Join my activity la.. I will post the event at FB. smile.gif

Added on May 28, 2009, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(mrchildren @ May 28 2009, 08:56 PM)
That's so much cheaper than the orthodontist in Kepong that i went to. I'm still deciding whether to go for Damon or Inovation-C. As a matter of fact, I don't like the metal as much because it is pretty visible. Is Inovation-C much better in terms of aesthetics in comparison to damon? But i heard ceramic brackets tend to break easier and slightly more painful. Is that true? Kentcp, what is the duration for your braces? And did you need any teeth extraction?
As i was extracted 2 teeth on upper right side during kids time... during this bracing process, i no need to extract any teeth for upper and lower teeth. I installed on Jan 2008, Dr said i should able to remove around aug time. Now, every teeth is straight , just doing some minor fine adjustment.

Yup, Inovation-C much better in terms of aesthetics in comparison to damon because it is transparent ceramic while Damon is using titanuim material. To me, i can accept damon because it is smaller than transditional braces. also, the material also look good (silver shine). Anyhow, Damon Q is even smaller.. technology..

This post has been edited by kentcp: May 28 2009, 10:04 PM
kentcp
post May 30 2009, 04:45 PM

37 posts

Check this out for Damon, In-Ovation C, 3M Clarity & others photo

http://www.suttonortho.co.uk/private.htm
kentcp
post Jun 1 2009, 01:16 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(mrchildren @ Jun 1 2009, 12:33 PM)
I just made an appointment with Dr How for this week. The nurse said that i have to get 3 xray films on the first consultation. Is that true kentcp? How much do i need to pay?
Hi, you may refer to pages 1 for the breakdown of pricing smile.gif The consultant fee will waived if you decided to proceed at their place.

and yes, Doc need to view your teeth condition via the X-ray, so that he can advice you correctly. Example, some people have hidden teeth inside the gum, etc. The procedure will different. Let the expert Doc to advice you.

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 1 2009, 01:20 PM
kentcp
post Jun 8 2009, 05:31 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 8 2009, 04:13 PM)
hi kentcp,

After reading the recommendation from most of you here, I went to Dr. How for consultation last week. He quoted me RM6k for metal Damon 3, without extraction (excluding x-ray, mold, pic). This is slightly more expensive than the price you listed here. Do you think I still can nego with him?

Another question is, although he said my case does not need extraction, I wonder if he will tell me that I need to extract some of my teeth half-way through the process. I really hope that my problem can be solve without any extraction and as soon as possible. I cannot make up my mind whether to go for it or not. My problem is 2 of my upper and 1 lower gigi taring is not align because not enough space. It's actually not very obvious even when I smile. I'm not sure if it worth the price, time and pain. Any advice?

Thank you.

Thank you.
Hi Karyn, you can nego with Dr. How about the prices. You can quote my name, said that I mentioned is about 5.x K in the internet, that's why attract you to visit him, blah blah... I am not sure if recent any raise of material pricing but i believe you can nego to bring the prices down.

Regarding extraction, it is quite hard for us to judge if you require extraction or not. You need to consult Dr. How, as he is the expert and based on the X-ray, he can see more clearly. Sometime, he will try not extract the teeth and install the braces. after few month, to evaluate the condition, then only advice you if require any extraction. If you still insist no extraction, he will explain to you that the result may not perfect without extraction. Anyhow, it is case by case depend on the person teeth condition.

My suggestion, trust the Dr, he will advice you the best way Then you make the decision based on his advice. smile.gif If your teeth is not serious, the whole process will be very fast. May be about a year can be done.

kentcp
post Jun 9 2009, 03:54 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 8 2009, 09:25 PM)
Thanks a lot for the advice. Hope he will be willing to reduce the price. By the way, you suggested me to quote your name, do you mind telling me your name? I guess I cannot quote your forum username right?

Besides, I saw some other equipments mentioned here, like bite stopper, screws, retainer. Are the cost of those included in the RM5.6k or will be charged separately?
My name is Kenny. Even you quote Kent, Dr. also know already. tongue.gif

Well, there will no additional charge for bite stoper, "rubber band". But screws (mini implant) is addition cost (if you require, depend on your condition). Retainer, i'm not sure.

Added on June 9, 2009, 3:57 pm[quote=mrchildren,Jun 8 2009, 09:34 PM]
And the day after, I had a friend who came to visit me from Borneo, and i had to bring her around town for decent food. We ended up having spareribs yee mee, braised koey teow with asparagus as side dish.. My friend was totally stunned to see how well i managed my food on the 3rd day of braces..hehe So i went to the gym again today and guess what? I gained back my 1kg! Haha I'm doing quite good i think smile.gif Kentcp, i'm sure you can maintain your weight too..

Wow.. good to hear that you able to gain back your 1KG.. may be i should review my daily meal..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 9 2009, 03:57 PM
kentcp
post Jun 10 2009, 10:44 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 9 2009, 09:58 PM)
Thanks, Kenny.

By the way, I've another concern. From what I understand, self-ligating system doesn't require teeth extraction in most cases because it has the capability to expand/widen the arch. Hence, I wonder if this will change the structure of your face? Will it make your face wider/fatter?
Yes, definitely the braces will improve our face profile, no matter is side view or front view. You will notice on the improvement for sure. Expecially, if you agree with doctor to use your photo as teaching material, he will take more photo on you. Front view, 45 degree view, & side view on almost every 1 or 2 visits. From there, you will notice the changed. smile.gif
kentcp
post Jun 12 2009, 04:46 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Jun 12 2009, 04:39 PM)
hi all, i've posted here before for advice but i dont think so any1 remembers me. I'm going to have my very first ever consultation next week and i'm a bit nervous. lol . i know usually the first consultation is just to examine the condition of the teeth, x ray etc but i still feel very nervous sad.gif
Hi there.. no worry. Nothing to nervious smile.gif You just make a right move..
kentcp
post Jun 21 2009, 03:19 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jun 21 2009, 02:32 PM)
Anyone here know wuts the diff between Damon 3 and Damon MX?
One of the bracket of my upper teeth tertanggal today... doh.gif  So i called up my ortho and she told me that my lower teeth is using Damon MX whereby upper one is using Damon 3... She said Damon 3 easily tertanggal so she will replace me the bracket with Damon mx...
Extract from internet info:

"Since the introduction of the Damon System, Ormco has continually set the standard for self ligation efficiency and quality. With the all-new, all-metal Damon 3MX, and the new and improved Damon 3, Ormco has elevated self-ligation to an even higher level. Loaded with advanced features that ensure reliability, ease of use and patient comfort, the Damon System is your solution for extraordinary results."

Understand that the latest is calld Damon Q. http://www.ormco.com/index/damon-products-damonq-2

Ormco is keep improving their product to next level..

Added on June 21, 2009, 3:21 pmNot understand why some guys like to pretend as a gals?

Added on June 21, 2009, 3:23 pm
QUOTE(jocsp @ Jun 21 2009, 03:12 PM)
hi nikki,

yup i have the dental wax but then im afraid i will accidentally swallow it when i'm eating or drinking something..

am using the self-ligating one which i think it's also known as the damon one rite..

also, i'm feeling the pain already which i guess my teeth is starting to move rite? i can hardly eat anything sad.gif

by the way, the whole process costs me about RM5600 inclusive of tooth extraction and xray..not sure if the retainer is included or not..

is the price reasonable? didn't really do much research on the price though..
Regarding the prices, it is reasnable prices. See pages 1 for some info. No worry on the dental wax, it is non-toxic and can be eat..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 21 2009, 03:23 PM
kentcp
post Jun 21 2009, 09:37 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jun 21 2009, 08:30 PM)
Kentcp, that means damon mx is more canggih than damon 3?
According to the revolution, it should be..

By the way, do you notice any different for your upper and lower braces ? Mind to take photo and share out ? Is MX slightly smaller?
kentcp
post Jun 22 2009, 10:16 PM

37 posts

[quote=leng_leng,Jun 21 2009, 11:20 PM]yup got abit diff... here's the pic...

and this is the pic b4 braces...damn scary!

[/quote]

Leng leng, thanks. Not easy to notice from the photo.

By the way, your teeth already "nice" compare with before braces photo.. All already into correct position..

Added on June 22, 2009, 10:18 pm[quote=karynkhoo,Jun 22 2009, 10:36 AM]where did you do yours? RM5600 is considered quite cheap. how's orthodontic quoted me RM6000, excluding xray, mold and photos. i've made appointment with how's orthodontic tonight. if i can find a cheaper place before that, i might change my mind biggrin.gif

hope to get your reply soon.

thanks.

[/quote]

Using your bargain skill ya ~~

Added on June 22, 2009, 10:20 pm
Totally agree with you. And is irritating. brows.gif brows.gif

[/quote]

You know i means who ya.. smile.gif Tak boleh tahan..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 22 2009, 10:20 PM
kentcp
post Jun 23 2009, 05:26 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 23 2009, 11:13 AM)
I failed to bargain... Dr. How said RM5.6k for your case was introductory price and it was 2 yrs ago. Now it is RM6k already. 1 cent also cannot reduce. Anyway, I still decided to go for it. I got my upper set of teeth done last night. Now I'm officially in this Bracesians club already.

Btw, Kenny, Dr. How told me that you were interviewed by reporter and your case will be in newspaper soon. Mind to share with us what is it all about?

I also asked Dr. How about Daemon 3 and Daemon MX. I notice that he used these 2 terms interchangeably. Are they the same actually? At first he said he'll do Daemon MX for me. After a while, he said it's Daemon 3. Although the braces is already in my mouth, but I'm not sure whether it's 3 or MX. Sigh...

Besides, Dr. glued the braces at lower part of my teeth. This makes the braces visible even when i'm not smiling. Is this normal? Does anyone know the reason for this?

I was also told that it might be very painful and I might need painkiller. However, after 15 hours of having the braces on, I don't really feel painful. I only feel slightly pain when I try to bite. Is this normal?

p/s: who are the guy who pretend as girl you all are talking about? Just out of curiosity...
The reporter was asked about experience, reason why I wear braces, Any issue before braces, any issue after braces, etc lo.. I think she is Kuan Ming Chinese Newspaper reporter. I'm not sure when they will publish wor..

I am at How's klinik now. One of bracket is drop off..need to glue back. Later, if got chances, will as him about Damon 3 & mx..

No, Damon will not pain for 1st time. The wire is very thin for first time. For my case, 3rd day only start have feeling. You are right, you will feel the pain when only u bite somthing..

Regarding the backet placing on each teeth is different, depend on your teeth condition. Dr, glue it to make the teeth adjust it to correct position. After few month, he may remove the backet and glue it another position of the teeth. This is the way to tune the teeth in correct position.

Regarding the guy pretend as gals here, we don;t want to discuss much. As it's not related to this thread. smile.gif Just don't like this kind of people only. Feel not honesty as forumer..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 23 2009, 05:27 PM
kentcp
post Jun 23 2009, 07:37 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Jun 23 2009, 05:36 PM)
Sorry  but i am a girl pretending to be a guy too  sad.gif  not intentionally pretending but for a reason. Going to extract my teeth tomorrow. I'm kind of scared ler. I need to extract 4 tooth . 2 upper, 2 lower. Not sure how mny will kena extracted tomolo. tomolo will know  blink.gif
Gals pretend as gals, we can understand..may be to aviod annoying message, etc. But guys pretend as gals ? what is the point ?!

ok, ok, back this this thread topic. Snowy, dun worry much.. nowaday, extraction of teeth is simple, fast, no pain and fast recovery. You won't suffer much compare to the old time. If you want to have fast recovery, make sure you eat heathy food, maintain high immune body system lo..

Don;t worry, a lot bracians here had extracted the teeth, and i didn't see any complain from them. smile.gif

Added on June 23, 2009, 7:40 pmJust now got sales gals chating with doc. So, i don't have chance to ask the damon question.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 23 2009, 07:40 PM
kentcp
post Jun 24 2009, 08:43 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Jun 23 2009, 08:43 PM)
About extraction, my ortho does not provide this service so i have to extract at a dental clinic and my ortho said once i've extracted all the teeth i can start installing braces, as fast as the day after my extration . I was like wow! it must be very painful . it is like right after extraction today and tomolo install braces?! crazy.. rclxub.gif  but the ortho insists that it is not painful one wor and she said the braces wont affect the 'hole' of the extracted teeth.. but i have to make an appointment for installing braces within a week after teeth extraction else the process will be less effective d. So tomolo going to see how long will it take to extract all the required teeth.
Snowy, your doc is make sense.. you are usng self-ligating braces, right ? if so, it will not hurt on first 2 days..u will only have the feeling when u bite something or put pressure on your teeth. After extraction, immediate or within a week install the braces, i believe can close the gap more faster..as the hole still "soft".. May be you can ask the reason from Doc. smile.gif

if your doc is experienced doc, you have to trust the doc advices wor.. smile.gif If not, no point you select the doc, right..
kentcp
post Jun 24 2009, 03:52 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 24 2009, 03:03 PM)
Dr. How said that you are going to take off your braces soon. Congratulations! So when will that be? Can post some photos after it's done? As kind of encouragement and motivation for the rest of us here.

Now I'm beginning to feel the discomfort and inconvenience of having the braces on. Cannot chew at all and the end of the archwire is causing ulcer. I tried to apply the dental wax but it took me 15 mins this morning to stick it on. Now is only upper jaw, I cannot imagine how will it be like when my lower jaw is installed with braces as well. I wonder how so many ppl can manage to go through this type of misery...

My mom said I pay so much for misery...
Sure, i will share the photo once I remove the braces smile.gif I think u had saw some of my photo on pages 1, right? I also don't know when will de-braces yet.. may be Aug ?

At begin, you will have ulcer easily, because your teeth is tend outward, after the braces, the braces will touch on your lips for sure. Once you speak loudly or laugh, it will scratch your inner lips. I become less talk & laugh on initial phase.. Expecially, when our lips is dry, immedately will hurted and caused ulcer. Drink more plain water, don't let your body "heat up". After a month or two, the condition will better once teeth move in to nice position.
kentcp
post Jun 24 2009, 08:52 PM

37 posts

Ugly of Kenny - braces photo (Jan 2008 - Jun 2009)

Sex: Male

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 24 2009, 08:54 PM
kentcp
post Jun 25 2009, 07:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(karynkhoo @ Jun 25 2009, 01:56 AM)
OMG! Kenny, ur case really looks complicated. Now I understand why reporter interviews you. And the Aug 2008 photo looks really scary... Especially the screws... Your teeth looks perfect now! Dr. How did magic on your teeth. Really worth the cost and the pain! Congratulations!
Thanks, Karyn. Ya.. the nightmare is over tongue.gif I did feel sad during the time..thinking why i suffering a lot.. I'm glad that i make the right move, now my teeth is better biggrin.gif

Added on June 25, 2009, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(snowy_sharz @ Jun 25 2009, 08:57 AM)

Added on June 25, 2009, 9:01 am

I have a deep bite problem too sad.gif Hopefully i dun have to pasang all those scary stuffs ler.. scared ler
No worry, you can opt for no screw but.. if doc say, by install screw will resolve your deep bite problem shorthen the time by about 6 months & better results, will you consider it ? To me, yes lo.. so, i installed it. smile.gif Depend on ppl la..

Added on June 25, 2009, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jun 25 2009, 02:01 PM)
Yah... and what is the purpose of the zig zag thingy?
That one ah.. to pull my teeth up / down lo.. I will remove it when eating.. after eat, will put back.. troublesome but what to do smile.gif Want the process fast, must wear it 24 hours lo.. so, i don't how people look at me, as I know one day..my teeth may better than most people. Don't you notice lot of people teeth is not that nice? So, I try to use to it with those feeling given by other people..smile.gif Here got lots of bracesian who understand my feeling well ma.. that's y i always hang here..

This post has been edited by kentcp: Jun 25 2009, 07:33 PM

16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0651sec    0.31    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:01 AM