Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)
Zot
Jul 31 2019, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 31 2019, 02:40 PM) No wave and no pin its quite safe lah. unless that person use it on overseas websites. People will just copy your signature (need skill). Got pin is safer but wave is different thing. Controlled by max limit. For old card with no safety feature, they just duplicate the card and transfer all the info on card (magnetic strip). Then they can put own signature and will look like rightfully owner of the card. The system will pass because not flagged.
WaCKy-Angel
Jul 31 2019, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2019, 02:48 PM) People will just copy your signature (need skill). Got pin is safer but wave is different thing. Controlled by max limit. For old card with no safety feature, they just duplicate the card and transfer all the info on card (magnetic strip). Then they can put own signature and will look like rightfully owner of the card. The system will pass because not flagged. Signature still accept meh? Anyway these kind of fraud not everyone has the know how lah. so its still relatively safe This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jul 31 2019, 02:51 PM
Zot
Jul 31 2019, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 31 2019, 02:50 PM) Signature still accept meh? Anyway these kind of fraud not everyone has the know how lah. so its still relatively safe Signature no more acceptable in Malaysia I believe.
cklimm
Jul 31 2019, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 31 2019, 02:39 PM) U may try to kelentong by saying your card spoilt. Some CS will just issue u new card without asking u to return the card to branch. Otherwise your only choice is to pay, or wait for your card expiry and issue new card  I tried, they tell me to rub the chip with eraser, if fail, bring it to the nearest branch
cklimm
Jul 31 2019, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2019, 02:48 PM) People will just copy your signature (need skill). Got pin is safer but wave is different thing. Controlled by max limit. For old card with no safety feature, they just duplicate the card and transfer all the info on card (magnetic strip). Then they can put own signature and will look like rightfully owner of the card. The system will pass because not flagged. QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 31 2019, 02:50 PM) Signature still accept meh? Anyway these kind of fraud not everyone has the know how lah. so its still relatively safe Well, they can apply for auto debit to pay insurance or TNB lah, but then i will receive all the emails with policy number and stuffs
Zot
Jul 31 2019, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jul 31 2019, 02:57 PM) Well, they can apply for auto debit to pay insurance or TNB lah, but then i will receive all the emails with policy number and stuffs I did not know that now RM50 is imposed on lost card I only lost once long time ago and get replacement sent the next day
SUSDezs
Jul 31 2019, 03:26 PM
Hmm curious - was checking back some transactions and I got some foreign promo cashback on my Amex, but the only thing I've done so far is Agoda. Does this mean that any Agoda transaction is actually in foreign funds, being converted to MYR every time? Should make me eligible for other cards foreign spend cashback too
MeToo
Jul 31 2019, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2019, 03:00 PM) I did not know that now RM50 is imposed on lost card I only lost once long time ago and get replacement sent the next day Correct. I have many card replacement, some ask me activate I say lost they resend new. Some I really lost it, they resend new. Some I say the card peeling very ugly, and the 3 digit faded, they resend new. From various bank, never mentioned charges.
#Victor
Jul 31 2019, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Dezs @ Jul 31 2019, 03:26 PM) Hmm curious - was checking back some transactions and I got some foreign promo cashback on my Amex, but the only thing I've done so far is Agoda. Does this mean that any Agoda transaction is actually in foreign funds, being converted to MYR every time? Should make me eligible for other cards foreign spend cashback too  check the description in ur statement whether MY or other country code then it might fall under overseas transaction.
SUSDezs
Jul 31 2019, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 31 2019, 03:29 PM) check the description in ur statement whether MY or other country code then it might fall under overseas transaction. Hmm it says GB, so kinda confirms it as overseas... Does this mean it would appear the same to all other banks/cards? Assuming the same payment gateway? Must as well grab some since im booking out a few trips soon.
#Victor
Jul 31 2019, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(Dezs @ Jul 31 2019, 03:36 PM) Hmm it says GB, so kinda confirms it as overseas... Does this mean it would appear the same to all other banks/cards? Assuming the same payment gateway? Must as well grab some since im booking out a few trips soon. yea, GB is definitely overseas transaction (UK). did u get charged in foreign currency or they already converted to ringgit?
SUSDezs
Jul 31 2019, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 31 2019, 04:01 PM) yea, GB is definitely overseas transaction (UK). did u get charged in foreign currency or they already converted to ringgit? I believe Agoda secretly does this behind our backs as the hotel rates fluctuate almost like water - > but my interface of course only sees in RM. The statement shows RM too, though stated GB - does it show differently like a converted rate if it charged in pounds > MYR? The last time i used my CC in SG did not show the conversion rate as well, just a MYR charge from SG. Funny thing is the roundtrip has been cheaper compared to any direct buys from the hotel. Only 1 5-star hotel offered competitive rates on a direct basis. So I'm still sticking with Agoda for now.
#Victor
Jul 31 2019, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(Dezs @ Jul 31 2019, 04:04 PM) I believe Agoda secretly does this behind our backs as the hotel rates fluctuate almost like water - > but my interface of course only sees in RM. The statement shows RM too, though stated GB - does it show differently like a converted rate if it charged in pounds > MYR? The last time i used my CC in SG did not show the conversion rate as well, just a MYR charge from SG. Funny thing is the roundtrip hasĀ been cheaper compared to any direct buys from the hotel. Only 1 5-star hotel offered competitive rates on a direct basis. So I'm still sticking with Agoda for now. i think u can switch, if u want to charged in their currency. like Airbnb, u can actually select the display currency, not sure if Agoda can do that too. Added on u can select ur preferred currency in Agoda, but not sure whether they will follow ur chosen currency during payment. This post has been edited by #Victor: Jul 31 2019, 04:19 PM
SUSDezs
Jul 31 2019, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 31 2019, 04:17 PM) i think u can switch, if u want to charged in their currency. like Airbnb, u can actually select the display currency, not sure if Agoda can do that too. Probably just an interface thing to display in currency of choice? I guess the reality is the same right - assuming the charges come from a 'GB' gateway. I guess I'll try out a bit and see if it works on my other CCs. Anyway thanks for the tips -
jkngo2003
Jul 31 2019, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(klsooo @ Jul 31 2019, 01:59 PM) Reload to boost and grabpay and managed to get 1x TP for AMEX I reload to grab pay and I get 5x point for amex yesterday. For boost, I think should be zero point. Anyone reload grabpay and get 5 times point?
cybpsych
Jul 31 2019, 08:16 PM
ericlaiys
Jul 31 2019, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Jul 31 2019, 07:06 PM) I reload to grab pay and I get 5x point for amex yesterday. For boost, I think should be zero point. Anyone reload grabpay and get 5 times point? can we check daily transaction TP?
yruns1
Jul 31 2019, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Jul 31 2019, 07:06 PM) I reload to grab pay and I get 5x point for amex yesterday. For boost, I think should be zero point. Anyone reload grabpay and get 5 times point? I did a test to reload RM10 to Grab Wallet from my AMEX Platinum CC as advised by our sifu and can confirm that 50 points has been credited to my TP. Very easy to verify as the Grab topup of RM10 is the only transaction done
skty
Jul 31 2019, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(yruns1 @ Jul 31 2019, 11:33 PM) I did a test to reload RM10 to Grab Wallet from my AMEX Platinum CC as advised by our sifu and can confirm that 50 points has been credited to my TP. Very easy to verify as the Grab topup of RM10 is the only transaction done thank you for sharing
MGM
Aug 1 2019, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Jul 31 2019, 07:06 PM) I reload to grab pay and I get 5x point for amex yesterday. For boost, I think should be zero point. Anyone reload grabpay and get 5 times point? Does that imply the same transaction on weekend gives 5% CB?