Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)
ClarenceT
Sep 7 2018, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(hitch80 @ Sep 7 2018, 10:59 AM) you can earn by doing BT?? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3918057ask those sifu... My calculation, BT amount RM1800, 3% p.a. FD/CASA, interest earned. 1 1800.00 0.03 4.50 2 1650.00 0.03 4.13 3 1500.00 0.03 3.75 4 1350.00 0.03 3.38 5 1200.00 0.03 3.00 6 1050.00 0.03 2.63 7 900.00 0.03 2.25 8 750.00 0.03 1.88 9 600.00 0.03 1.50 10 450.00 0.03 1.13 11 300.00 0.03 0.75 12 150.00 0.03 0.38 29.25
ClarenceT
Sep 7 2018, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 7 2018, 11:26 AM) Do 5-6k is do. Do 50-60k also do. Why not max it? No fun playing BT, just want to cover my "investment" RM75/year.
ClarenceT
Sep 15 2018, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 15 2018, 03:54 PM) Hey guys, just want to ask about maybank2 cards. Just received my dual card today. Based on the website, it says that the only Amex Card has 5 percent cashback while the master or visa doesn’t have. However many places do not accept amex. Just wondering if the master or Visa card has 5% cashback on weekends too? No rebate for M2 Visa/MC, max 1 treatpoint worth 0.2%. It is just a backup in case Amex is not accepted by the merchant.
ClarenceT
Sep 15 2018, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 15 2018, 04:11 PM) Just one day after receiving the cards So far non merchants I been to accept them. Where are you guys spending lol https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3532126
ClarenceT
Sep 15 2018, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 15 2018, 05:50 PM) Wow good tips my friend Many thanks Just want to ask if top up touch n go or any other e wallet entitled for 5% cashback? Yes, if Amex is accepted.
ClarenceT
Sep 17 2018, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(+ @ Sep 17 2018, 09:01 PM) after reading some of the info here on LYN, a deduction of 200 when pumping petrol, and only return back few days later is a deal breaker for me liao  No different from using credit card, as Credit limit RM200 is earmarked for a few days till posting.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 19 2018, 10:49 AM) More or less same here. So it was after I got rejected that I found out about this credit rating thingy and having no rating is bad. You probably get the best rating when you're 80% drowned in debts but able to service them on time. Recently, some casual talks with a bank officer reveals that they don't need any supporting docs if I have MYR1m worth of deposits with them. Not maybank2me though. Minus the goodies, Direct Access was the "best", but I guess you guys missed the boat. Was just talking to my classmate about it the other day. The father of "free for life" cards, I think. RM1m deposit -> interest >RM36k/year, so not limited to 2 CC issuers.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 21 2018, 09:01 AM) Isn't the limit based on income, not interest earned? Interest earned is still an income, not taxable for personal.
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 21 2018, 10:20 AM) Banks will request payslip/EPF. From which of those will your interest earned show up? Some people get FIRE-d before retirement age and live on Passive Income. Some passive income are not subject to income tax and not in Form B/BE. It is not difficult to prove >RM36k FD interest/year. FIRE: Financial Independence, Retire Early This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Sep 21 2018, 11:10 AM
ClarenceT
Sep 21 2018, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 21 2018, 10:59 AM) Man, you're really GOOD with numbers. I just thought they pluck a big fat figure from the sky. No, his response was for my statement that 1 bank I spoke to say they don't need any docs if I have MYR1m deposit with them. But yeah, somehow, I feel banks don't recognize income from FD. Like I say to myself - they look at credit rating, not debit rating  Some people who manages their finance well won't be in debt and don't buy houses, so they have minimal credit rating. I only have credit card bill that rarely goes above 1k. And not to say I manage my finance well. I just buy what I need and not what I want. I'm a cheapskate. There are 2 categories. If you need to apply for a CC, Credit rating is very crucial. If you get a CC "by invitation", they offer based on the assets that you are having.
ClarenceT
Sep 22 2018, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(kw @ Sep 21 2018, 11:09 PM) I'm in the dilemma of thinking to cancel my m2cards. I do love the Amex, but my another bundle master has 0 usage now, but will still need to pay 2xrm25 sst and there's no way to cancel 1 card only. Think I'll need to cancel both before being charged sst by Jan  look at something from a different angle... What you want is the weekend rebate (5%) only, right? 10k TP to redeem ST RM25. It is damned easy to spend RM2k-4k (other than Govt, Charity, Utilities, Insurance) in 12 months! Go for 0% 12-month BT RM2k, then put the fund in a high-yield CASA/FD and pay instalments monthly, you will earn more than RM25.
ClarenceT
Sep 22 2018, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(sarahlsy @ Sep 22 2018, 09:11 AM) Does anyone know if there is a cutoff time for it to be considered "weekend spend"? I used my card last Saturday 15/9, at around 1230AM. In my statement, it shows the transaction date as Friday! You don't get weekend rebate. The transaction date is Friday. Different time zone.
ClarenceT
Sep 22 2018, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Sep 22 2018, 03:45 PM) From experience, I think it follows the server that processes your payment. When I shopeed from shoppee, I was directed to a US payment gateway. True enough, the statement shows the day before although I paid at 1am+. Shopee SG @ Cybersource - Not US, should be London, but using Greenwich Mean Time, instead of British Summer Time (GMT+1 during late March - Late October). The best time to use M2 Amex is at Malaysia Time (GMT+8) Saturday 8pm to Sunday 8pm. The whole world is on either Sat or Sun.
ClarenceT
Sep 22 2018, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(engyr @ Sep 22 2018, 03:07 PM) Yes. I always do my online transaction after 4pm. quite safe, except Hawaii.
ClarenceT
Sep 23 2018, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(labtec @ Sep 23 2018, 11:34 AM) but if every month can get RM10 cash back still worth it. Assume not spending on electricity, govt, charity and insurance, You collected 10k treat point if spend RM2000 in a year, use TP to contra one RM25.
ClarenceT
Sep 24 2018, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(jason210 @ Sep 24 2018, 09:27 AM) still worth when redeem?? i cant find any other stuff can redeem,only voucher, u can buy everything u like. Redeem Card service tax 10k TP per card. or go to SenQ/Senheng buy some electrical items.
ClarenceT
Sep 30 2018, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(kart @ Sep 30 2018, 05:40 AM) Rebranding the card is totally unnecessary, and costs money to bank. We do not want that to happen, as it may impact the features of credit card. Most important of all, 5% weekend cashback and 5x everyday Treatpoints of Maybank 2 Card American Express must be retained, because that are the key features we all desire. Similar to Public Bank Quantum MasterCard and Quantum Visa credit card, Maybank can still offer both Maybank 2 Card American Express and Visa / MasterCard to any potential cardholder. However, the cardholders have the right to obtain 2 cards, or just Maybank 2 Card American Express only. M2 near 8 years old, already a mature and retiring item. The cards can be unbundled now, so no different from Maybank Amex Gold/Platinum card. 5%+5TP scheme will not last for too long.
ClarenceT
Sep 30 2018, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 30 2018, 08:16 AM) Need to wait how long before i need to call CS to remove the card from MB2U? My MBB cards cancelled in 2009 and Ikhwan cards cancelled in 2011 still in m2u. I asked m2u cs to clear them, but they requested me to visit a Maybank branch to remove them.
ClarenceT
Sep 30 2018, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(charlesj @ Sep 30 2018, 12:40 PM) Next question to surface will be whether allow to apply only the Amex The stand-alone Amex Gold/Platinum is already there, maybe discontinue new application for M2...
ClarenceT
Oct 1 2018, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 1 2018, 08:47 AM) u guys all cancelling and keep/apply Barcelona? I am not cancelling M2 Visa. Maybank had given me a credit for >10 years SST. I am still hoping for another 100% CB game. I just did a Balance Transfer >RM2000, the earning in 12 months already >RM25. Also the Treatpoints I am earning using M2 Amex, spending more than RM6000 in a year, enough to redeem 3 Maybank CCs.