13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

JohnLai
post Sep 7 2018, 10:26 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Sep 7 2018, 10:17 PM)
Is this feature only available with the tri-band ASUS routers, or the lower end (dual band) ones also?
How am I suppose to know? laugh.gif Normally band steering is a 'feature' reserved for high and mid range.

Low end = not even a nibble.

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Sep 7 2018, 10:20 PM)
there are already people getting turbo upgrade in Sarawak, I rmb it was in Miri & Kuching, someone posted earlier in this thread
One post from Kuching and one post from Miri. hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 8 2018, 12:15 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(phhweittt @ Sep 7 2018, 10:54 PM)
Where exactly? Which part of miri & which part pf kuching?
No idea, people who posted it didn't mention exact location other than those divisions.
JohnLai
post Sep 8 2018, 08:22 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Sep 8 2018, 08:21 PM)
currently paying RM 139 for 30mbps, bonanza campaign. feels like upgrading to the new 100mbps package @ rm 129, but already received the email i'm eligible for turbo.

only rm 10 difference = 100mbps vs 300mbps.  flex.gif

guess i'll just wait.

although the discount only applies for 2 years, but i think further down the road there should be new plan with cheaper price.
Actually that RM139 ain't permanent. Bonanza campaign = 2 years later, price reverts to RM199.
JohnLai
post Sep 9 2018, 09:03 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 9 2018, 08:33 PM)
SilentVampire You may want to add this  icon_idea.gif

Certain routers may have significantly reduced network speeds (especially turbo speeds) when QoS (quality of service) is enabled in the router.  You may need to turn QoS off in some routers if it is unable to deliver the turbo speeds icon_idea.gif

Also you may need to check whether the hardware acceleration option is enabled in the router icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 9 2018, 08:59 PM)
Most routers including asus are unable to sustain speeds above anywhere between 200-600mbps with qos. Unless its those 'gaming' routers with qos for gaming latency.

So many diff names for the same thing..
NAT Boost
Hardware acceleration
Fasttrack
SilentVampire wrote he doesn't wanna get too technical about those stuff when I asked last time laugh.gif

The simplest solution = IPv6....but some websites ipv6 configuration and TM ipv6 routing..... sweat.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 9 2018, 10:23 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Wah....so many from Peninsula area got turbo-ed.

Only around 5 turbo reports from Sabah and Sarawak. shakehead.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 9 2018, 11:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 9 2018, 11:03 PM)
Not much info. 1Gbps will be the next upgrade after Turbo smile.gif
Any info on discount implementation and so called rebate from the MSAP reduction? hmm.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 9 2018, 11:20 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Sep 9 2018, 11:17 PM)
Well, really random indeed then. Thought there might be some pattern so it'll not be such a long wait for some.
I am telling you TM just follow the list as shown in Turbo Eligibility Check site before.
If you are is second phase which is next year like both of my account, good luck.

The proof = no one with confirmed Phase 2 got turbo-ed yet. Those who were able to check and eligible for phase 1 = Turbo time.
JohnLai
post Sep 9 2018, 11:48 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Sep 9 2018, 11:42 PM)
I didn't manage to check as I was away. So didn't even know which phase I'm supposed to be in.

Anyway, serious Overkill.. going to see what plans TM will eventually announce then maybe downgrade.
My condolences console.gif

I have the option to downgrade now as I know my turbo phase will be next year for sure. puke.gif

Fark.......but since I got two accounts RM179 50Mbps.....that turbo 500Mbps is really worth of one's money. Sigh...decision time sucks. dry.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 10 2018, 10:40 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 10 2018, 10:06 AM)
good news, miri first.... 9 sept onwards..maybe kuching and sibu later...
How do you know Miri is the first?

If you quote about manjung....manjung is at Perak.... laugh.gif
JohnLai
post Sep 10 2018, 08:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hannchua @ Sep 10 2018, 08:44 PM)
Those who managed to get a reduced price for the same internet speed, i.e. RM119, RM129, RM159 for 100Mbps pre-TURBO, were you guys still under contract? Need to renew contract? Will it actually affect my TURBO eligibility? I'm going to highlight my loyalty and never late payment to TM, hope it will work... If I were to magically not get TURBO-ed, I guess I can apply for 1Gbps next year. No point paying so much more now...
Hahahaha..... biggrin.gif
Best joke I read for today.

You have better chance threatening to change ISP than using those pathetic reasons.
JohnLai
post Sep 10 2018, 09:02 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hannchua @ Sep 10 2018, 08:56 PM)
HAHAHAHAHA  tongue.gif Glad I made you laugh icon_rolleyes.gif I do sometimes wonder whether I'm too kind to people... Are you speaking from experience? You got the price reduction this way?  hmm.gif Anyway, any idea for the other questions I really need answers to?  blink.gif
Mine? = MCMC report for 'unfair' billing caused by 2 different overlapping hypptv pack. (Jumbo + Ruby = bankrupt lah aku)

Meanwhile, for other users in this forum, they mentioned TM tends to offer discount (RM10) after informing TM about their intention to terminate. NOTE: not all got the discount offer, but most DID.

I guess the new mandatory 30 days early termination* notice purpose is to provide TM marketing team sufficient time to offer better 'promotion' or incentive for these subscribers. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 10 2018, 09:03 PM
JohnLai
post Sep 10 2018, 09:29 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hannchua @ Sep 10 2018, 09:15 PM)
Erm.... How long did it take for your complaint to take effect? Were you halfway through your 2-year contract or it has ended?  hmm.gif
Second account was 3 months into 2 years contract.

-.- Took total 6 months to get my free 30--->50Mbps upgrade + removal of extra hypptv pack + rebate.
JohnLai
post Sep 10 2018, 11:42 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Sep 10 2018, 11:37 PM)
Turbo got activated last Monday (3/9) and I'm happy as can be (600++dl, 200++ul)

Facing a minor issue tho, when I'm downloading direct from router at max speed , there seems to be green artifacts/screen tearing on Unifi/IPTV. Remember those days when it starts to rain and astro has those jittery pictures? Well yeah that's what i'm seeing.

Double checked the connections in case there are loose connectors but nope. Problem goes away when I remove the LAN cable connected to my comp direct from router.

Is it possible that @ ~800 mbps, the bandwidth to my BTU is soo saturated that IPTV is competing with my internet? Anyone who already got 800mbps upgrade having the same issue? Fyi I have the Huawei HG8240 BTU and the D-Link DIR-850L router with CAT 6 for all connections.
-.- Your hypptv LAN cable is unshielded. Don't let other LAN cables mingled/tangled together.
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 12:23 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Sep 11 2018, 12:17 AM)

I swapped the all the cables out to Cat 6 Amp NetConnect cables so I think it ought to be shielded... maybe?

Hmm....maybe fake cable? hmm.gif
If you re-arrange all LAN cables not to be tangled or touched each other and the green line + pixelation don't happen......maybe those cables are fake.....
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 12:42 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 12:30 AM)
How you calculate?

Speedtest now shows 71.52
- After i use 40Mhz
- adapter use 20/40Mhz

both shows 300MBps on wifiInfoView and adapter properties
In addition to fruitie explanation, you actually get your 300Mbps speed (in PHY layer).

Do you know what is Forward Error Correction code, frame retransmission, QAM etc?

Those 300Mbps also carries additional redundant stuff. Think of it as overhead.

The effective speed is much lower than that.

The PHY link might be 300Mbps, but it is MAC layer is the most important as it contains 'actual' data. (MAC layer also has its own overhead)

Read yourself
http://www.rfwireless-world.com/Terminology/PHY-vs-MAC.html

Thus, you will get effective 60% of 300Mbps for actual usable data after deducting overhead which is around 180Mbps....that is bottlenecked by your WAN port 100Mbps.
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 12:51 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 12:44 AM)
lol... i am not that network savvy... so i would get more confused.. the terms and all that... haha.. If explained in simpler, maybe i can understand ...

Forgive me... T_T rclxub.gif
.........Just think of Wifi protocol having extra step/component/data to ensure data transmission is correctly received by both transceivers and your actual wifi 'usable' bandwidth is way lesser than advertised.

Did I forgot to mention your WAN 100Mbps port also has its own overhead? The effective bandwidth available for 100Mbps Fast Ethernet port is 95 - 97 Mbps........
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 12:58 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 12:56 AM)
and that means .... 480MBps? rclxub.gif
Nope, it means you are only getting 48Mbps out of turbo 500Mbps. (bit)
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 01:08 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 01:03 AM)
Hmm... my unifi portal shows 500Mbps...

Test using Speedtest app on phone shows 40.4Mbps...

Router is RT-N12HP-B1 (300Mbps) .... which means?
Did you disable 'co-existence' option at your asus RT-N12HP? I think the option is labelled as 'Enhanced interference management'.

Using that router, you should get 95 - 97 Mbps on Wifi (clear line of sight) due to your 100Mbps WAN port limitation.
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 01:20 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 01:16 AM)
I have the RGX4400 , is that the same 10/100 BaseT For Wan?

Wan is the one connect from modem to router?
Same problem = RGX4400 has 10/100 BaseT for WAN and all of its LAN ports.

edit: Not sure on this.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 11 2018, 01:22 AM
JohnLai
post Sep 11 2018, 01:32 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 11 2018, 01:26 AM)
tested using RGX 4400 on 2.4Ghz...

My package was 500Mbps.... i am getting less?
How come your speedtest (RGX4400) result look as if it is connected to Wifi 802.11n at single stream 20Mhz channel width with PHY link of 65Mbps (Effective speed of 39Mbps or lesser)

Are you sure RGX4400 wifi correctly setup? sweat.gif

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2203sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:34 PM