Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V34, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!
JohnLai
Sep 16 2018, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(Berserker @ Sep 16 2018, 10:56 PM) My plan is 100mbps+ultimate. No STD20. Hope the charges is temporary applied until Turbo has been activated. Seems like Sabah/Sarawak is yet to get mass Turbo upgrade for major town areas unlike West M'sia at this moment. Cause majority of Sabah + Sarawak subscribers are slated for phase 2.
JohnLai
Sep 16 2018, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(shahie @ Sep 16 2018, 11:05 PM) if they temporary lower down yours to Rm139, than you can't push them to bring you to 800mbps than. better they stick you to what you pay now so that you can every day or every week chase them for the turbo. lol....btw, i'm from miri and got turbo-ed on last 2 days for 300mbps, after making about 4 complaints + visiting Tm to change the plan. No time to go TMPoint.........
JohnLai
Sep 16 2018, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(daidzz @ Sep 16 2018, 11:25 PM) At this point would it make sense to stay on the RM300+ 100mbps and wait for the 800 turbo or move to the RM129, 100mbps plan and then upgrade again? A little stuck here, as there is so little transparency about the phases Well......rubbing in some salt on wound, plus garlic, add some more cheese  .......you should checked Turbo eligibility site non-stop until you got a result when it was available for the two days last time.
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(coolgoh98 @ Sep 17 2018, 10:51 AM) Any sifu can help me, I know some internet knowledge, but i dont think it is applicable for my situation. I have BTW huawei hg8240w, Tplink, C1200 and turbo to 500 Mbps however my speed test result really like shit. Note: I disconnect all wifi and speedtest with 1m cat5e cable at port 1 on the C1200. The speedtest result is show below: What should I do test improve the speed test result, should I update any firmware? I did 10 min cold restart for a few time. Now asking on twitter to reset my connection. Hmmm  .......before that....could you restart the router until it is assigned with different public IPv4 range? 42.189.X.X range is the 'cursed' IP range with a lot of routing issue.
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(coolgoh98 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:05 AM) icic dont know that ip rage is curesd. BTW got another 42.189.250.119 ip .... >.< No chance of getting different IP range? How about speedtest result from http://speed.time.com.my/ and http://maxis.speedtestcustom.com/ ? Do both have same low 20-30Mbps download speed and full 100Mbps upload?
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(coolgoh98 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:11 AM) yeah both having the same result. Btw is that any quick way to change ip address, I remember during streamyx time , i can just click disconnect then reconnect again in the router page. C1200 boot time is killing me Login into the router. Advanced, network, internet, disconnect and connect? --->Still need 1 minute to do so though. As blacktubi said, please follow his instruction too. Oh, don't forget to check HG8240W LAN port speed as well. There are many users have HG8240W LAN port misconfigured at 100Mbps instead of 1Gbps by TM.
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(coolgoh98 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:28 AM) Noted, i think i will write a python script to help me do that. Btw BTU can be connect via 192.168.0.1 too with static ip address from PC ? I assume it like other router Just plug a cable from your laptop to the BTU port 1 for checking the Link Speed. Need to eliminate possible issue one by one......
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(coolgoh98 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:43 AM) i think i found the problem, it stuck at 100 mbps when i check status of my lan on PC. Any why we can diy, or i need to call tm ? Wait wait.....what the problem? You mean BTU HG8240W Lan port link at 100Mbps instead of 1Gbps when connected to your PC LAN port? (Note: Your PC LAN does support 1Gbps.....doesn't it?) If this is the case ----> Call TM. Can't DIY.
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 17 2018, 11:59 AM) Seriously? So, what is the best speed you can get from it when connected to your DIR 842?
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(Doraku @ Sep 17 2018, 12:08 PM) Ok now dont complain is you didnt get 500++mbps on 802.11ac  Actually he bought the wrong one......he bought the NANO version instead of http://www.legitreviews.com/asus-usb-ac53-...r-review_2226/3And I thought....he will buy the standard Asus USB-AC53....but hey......not my fault.... QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:32 PM) It's supposed to get 400+ Mbps through dir824 with ac53? My tabs3 only get about 230mbps Mestilah....your tab3 only has 1x1:1 configuration. Check the tab3 link speed, probably it is 433Mbps. Thus your effective speed is about 260Mbps.....so 230Mbps is quite good. EDIT: AC53 max 300Mbps effective, deal with it. This post has been edited by JohnLai: Sep 17 2018, 12:37 PM
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:39 PM) Yet to test, still at setia city mall, why? This one not good? Oi...I already told ya....USB-AC53 can only reach 300Mbps effective max. Since the NANO antenna is quite small........you shouldn't really expect that 300Mbps effective if there is no clear line of sight from the adapter to the router.....
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Doraku @ Sep 17 2018, 12:46 PM) I thought he say, he going to buy that dlink bola ping pong wifi adapter?(DWA192)  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Seriously, I have no idea what he want. If he want to get that 400Mbps effective speed out of 867Mbps link speed from DIR 842, he should get asus USB-AC56 instead of ac53....Geez......
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:51 PM) Thudermatch don't have much selection here. Look at this review graph from PCWORLD:
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(Apeiron @ Sep 17 2018, 02:01 PM) TM set DIR-842, after update to Latest Retail FW, can it update back to Ori Tm FW Ver3.01? No idea, I don't have DIR-842. I only have C1200 and DIR850L. QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 17 2018, 03:23 PM) Can you provide the text printed on the cable itself?  Also, 30 metres for RM13 looks almost like it's a copper-clad cable  Confirms that one is copper-clad aluminium cable. The price is way too cheap.
JohnLai
Sep 17 2018, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Sep 17 2018, 11:33 PM) There is some cases wireless can hit faster speed than Lan cable. It's either setting issue or cable issue or other factor need to do further test. So....let assume he refers to subpar LAN cable......