11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

honsiong
post Jan 17 2019, 06:45 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 17 2019, 06:27 PM)
i've sold off everything & move away from Stashaway. Dont make sense to always -ve. Invest in funding societies better rather than see -ve everyday with current US market.
If you see what happened with MoolahSense, and their absurd 1/3 reported default rate, you probably will think twice what you just said.

StashAway may be -ve bcoz of market conditions, but unlike Funding Societies, you are super unlikely to have your principal wiped out.

When recession hits, defaults happen, or funding societies due diligence team slips up a bit, you wanna recover capital also much much more difficult than stashaway or normal ETFs.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Jan 17 2019, 06:46 PM
honsiong
post Jan 17 2019, 08:26 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 17 2019, 08:19 PM)
If i transfer the money at morning 18-1-2019, will them buy the etf at the 18-1-2019 too?
Yes. As long as its on day when market opens.
honsiong
post Jan 17 2019, 08:46 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 17 2019, 08:40 PM)
I thought they need to take 1 business day to convert the RM to USD?
Don't know about Malaysia account. If I deposit SGD into it by before 11AM, by next day the securities done deal already.
honsiong
post Jan 17 2019, 10:38 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 17 2019, 10:13 PM)
hmm any idea why gold is in more aggressive port?
At first there was no gold at all in all portfolios, but yea I don't like the presence of gold, they are the least productive asset vs bonds and equities, and they are supposed to be protective. dry.gif
honsiong
post Jan 18 2019, 02:58 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(B500 @ Jan 18 2019, 02:25 PM)
Is there a way to be able to print out SA statement? Can't seem to save it on our device, much less print it out..
Use desktop version, can download PDF.
honsiong
post Jan 18 2019, 07:01 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 18 2019, 06:57 PM)
your lost is mainly from bonds.
He is about to earn all those back from fundingsocieties, fundaztic.
honsiong
post Jan 18 2019, 11:45 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 18 2019, 11:23 PM)
Exchange rate is okay actually, because think about it, you are earning in RM, a portion should be in USD so it will be hedge.. because technically, USD is the safest currency, much more compared to RM. If RM strengthen, you are earning in RM anyways and all malaysians will rejoice. Let me ask you, which would you rather, USD keep increasing or MYR keep increasing...

So in long term investing, it is a good hedge as well
Can’t reason with a fella thinking P2P Lending is inherently safer than ETFs.
honsiong
post Jan 19 2019, 11:54 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Jan 19 2019, 10:44 AM)
I bet they get a tiny spread from the conversion
I doubt so, their 0.8% is considerably higher than other robos in Singapore, and US one like Betterment.
honsiong
post Jan 22 2019, 07:14 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 22 2019, 05:37 PM)
Just check mine, yes, updated to 21Jan haha.

But no movement.

Pretty sure FX change on new deposited (last Thursday) will be on 4.13 tomorrow sob sob.
QUOTE(preducer @ Jan 22 2019, 05:40 PM)
My deposit aldy in last friday but today only showing as in progress, havent converted yet. Today aldy 2nd business day
Martin Luther King day no trading.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 04:17 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 26 2019, 02:20 PM)
but eat 0.8% p.a. wor.... worth it?
Typical mutual funds sold by local banks charge 1.5% p.a. StashAway actual cost is 0.8% p.a. + 0.3% - 0.5% p.a.by underlying ETF fund managers.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 05:18 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 26 2019, 04:50 PM)
And add additional sales charge
Straight lose 5% to front load fee, suddenly StashAway looks like a good deal.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 05:21 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 26 2019, 05:20 PM)
SA is indeed a very good platform.

but for us MYR people not that good lo...
Use StashAway to hedge against MYR. If SA's currency impact is +ve, your Ringgit is losing value.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 06:06 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 26 2019, 05:27 PM)
lol...betul juga...

itu -0.5% what lai de? dividend?
QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 26 2019, 05:42 PM)
No, 0.3 and 0.5 he meant is the expense ratio of the underlying ETF. For example, SPY expense ratio is 0.09 % per annum . Charged by SPDR which is the ETF provider
Yea, my expense ratio range was confusing. BTW a lot of them are far lower than 0.3%, those bond funds charge only 0.15%, which is far lower than those index funds you find in Singapore market.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 09:14 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 26 2019, 07:30 PM)
it's a blade with 2 sharp end lor...

BTW hor.... now only I realize US rally time is the time US government shut down.....
Take this chance to hedge against MYR. I am OK with losing $ on my home currency as long as I know if one of the currencies become venezuelan money, I still have half my asset worth something.

Also they said ady, the underlying securities in these USD-denominated ETFs can be Asia, Europe, etc. So even though they are priced in USD and traded on US exchanges, you are kinda protected from greenback shitting itself. Just don't pick the highest risk.

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 26 2019, 07:51 PM)
Even currency conversion correct? So technically i deposit on sat or sun it makes no difference then.
Deposit on Monday morning, it will buy the securities around midnight when NY opens.
honsiong
post Jan 26 2019, 11:09 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 26 2019, 10:28 PM)
Deposit on Monday morning would still need atleast one day for them to receive the money since they only allow IBG no? Then on tuesday receive and convert to USD; then only during wednesday buy the ETF. This is my understanding?

So I guess if I deposit on lets say Sunday, they would receive the money on monday itself? (Im talking about deposit before conversion, because depositing with IBG still works on weekends?) So basically deposting on Friday after 5, Saturday, or Sunday will make no difference, as all 3 will be processed in same timing?
QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 26 2019, 10:31 PM)
Or maybe I understand what you are saying. If on Monday morning I deposit, by Tuesday they would receive, convert, and buy ETFs (three at same day)? Because its only Tuesday in Malaysia we can see it being bought because in US its Monday where the market opens.
OK I use their Singapore account mostly, and probably got differences with how the Malaysia side works.
honsiong
post Jan 27 2019, 10:09 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2019, 08:48 AM)
Where to see the current regime is on which area?
They should publish this
QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jan 27 2019, 09:36 AM)
Meaning?
Just asked on whatsapp, you can see some macroenomonic blogs like Fat Pitch
honsiong
post Jan 27 2019, 11:06 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2019, 10:37 AM)
This is too slow and not efficient
Hope new comer will beat them on this
They are not really challenged by other robos in Singapore either. Besides SG account usually can finish the whole loop in 1 day, I think the MY account will catch up soon.
honsiong
post Jan 27 2019, 02:57 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2019, 01:53 PM)
that the problem when we let them dominate the space.
we need challenger to challenge them so that at the end consumer will be the one benefited
I don't understand, they didn't dominate, the existing banks with their hefty sales charges and management fee are the one bullying us.

StashAway's platform fee and underlying ETF fees COMBINED are still lower than whatever shit CIMB, Public Mutual dan bank lain2 charge.

We definitely want competition in fintech space for sure, but no one, not BNM, not securities commission, is stopping anyone from creating a competitor to fight them.

honsiong
post Jan 28 2019, 10:29 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(jay @ Jan 28 2019, 10:04 PM)
What is the performance of StashAway so far? >10% p.a ?
It's no p.a., they use modified dietz formula. BTW -7% since Jul 2017 on maximum risk.
honsiong
post Jan 31 2019, 10:35 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 31 2019, 10:26 AM)
Just increased my risk from 14% to 18% as per recommended by StashAway.
Come YOLO and put 36%

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:47 AM