11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

honsiong
post Feb 19 2019, 07:35 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 19 2019, 07:26 AM)
NYSE holiday?
Wondering the same.
honsiong
post Feb 19 2019, 04:35 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(skl097 @ Feb 19 2019, 12:03 PM)
join SA last week on 36% risk index...
Mari lai YOLO YOLO together!
honsiong
post Feb 19 2019, 10:38 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Feb 19 2019, 09:19 PM)
what question is everyone talking about?

cant recall any extensive requirements, can do 36% just fine
You answered the questions that allow stashaway to give you free ticket to max risks.

Contohnya: you got finance background, or you say you traded EPF before. These will give you free pass to high risk settings without doing the quiz.
honsiong
post Feb 20 2019, 05:04 PM

3,182 posts

Argh pls undo the redesign. And just gimme proper interbank deposit like SG one.
honsiong
post Feb 20 2019, 07:42 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 20 2019, 07:26 PM)
tuan tuan and puan puan, my friend told me stashaway charge per annum below 0.1%..... betul kah?
Your friend name Wei Tu Lo. It’s 0.8% + every ETF charge their own fee also.

Despite that, they do charge lower than typical bank mutual funds.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Feb 20 2019, 07:42 PM
honsiong
post Feb 20 2019, 11:42 PM

3,182 posts

Autowealth requires your own Saxo account. The investor takes on trading fee directly, and no fractional shares either.
honsiong
post Feb 21 2019, 10:29 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 21 2019, 10:28 AM)
This is the disadvantage of AW.
Malaysian need at least 10k myr to begin with.
And yea. Fees 0.5 is not only the fees it seems.

All in all, both AW and SA have high charges as well.

But in SA we have exposure to AAXJ GLD CWB and REITS. While AW don't have.

I myself actually hope SA can lower down to .5 in future.
If you invest enough it will be 0.5%, but by then you can run your private hedge fund ady.

honsiong
post Feb 21 2019, 10:42 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(ahpooki @ Feb 21 2019, 10:33 AM)
i'm up 5.4% over 3 months (on stashaway)....not bad !!
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 21 2019, 10:34 AM)
You haven't made -10% in 1 month before rite....
Bitch pls I got -23% just a while ago.
honsiong
post Feb 21 2019, 10:58 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Feb 21 2019, 10:50 AM)
Yeah the only reason why alot of people use SA is because of the convenience and the reasonable forex rates they offer. 0.8% fees still acceptable for a more exposed portfolio. What is expensive i think is the unit trust Annual charges which close to 2%

3rd month with SA and up 12.7%

*still with free promotion till august thanks to a few LYN members!
Exactly, StashAway + the underlying ETF charges is still cheaper than mutual funds. I don't think SA is overcharging given that they are operating in markets way smaller than the one Wealthfront & Betterment are in.
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 10:15 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(wira4ce @ Feb 22 2019, 08:06 AM)
Anyone got return from investment? What is the minimum amount? Interested, but by looking at https://www.stashaway.my/pricing , look like rm 50k is the minimum.
QUOTE(preducer @ Feb 22 2019, 08:26 AM)
It says first 50k, not min 50k, u can put as low as rm1
To get min monthly dividend of USD0.01 from those gov bonds, put RM500 min.
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 10:53 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(singaporeproton @ Feb 22 2019, 10:47 AM)
As a good Malaysia citizen, paying tax is definitely a duty wink.gif

Anyone know how or what do we file tax for investment we do/have in Statshaway?
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 22 2019, 10:51 AM)
I hope you are serious...because Dividend returns are already taxed by Uncle Sam @ 30%, calculated directly before you see them into your account, and capital gains are not taxed in Malaysia and US as of 2019....

Of course, you can declare your income voluntarily in your tax filing, for example if your salary income is RM100k for 2018, and you feel you made another RM100k from Stashaway in 2018, you can just put there RM200k as income.
You get back the 30% from the treasuries except CWB.
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 10:58 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 22 2019, 10:57 AM)
how to get back 30%? what is CWB?
Just wait, every year Q4 they will claim ur withholding taxes back. CWB is convertible bond fund.
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 11:29 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 22 2019, 11:06 AM)
https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/06...residenttax.asp

Are you sure bro?

Per above link and my few years of humble experience Malaysian's considered as non-resident alients cannot claim back the 30% withholding tax for dividends. If we do get it back then legally speaking, yes we have to declare that as our Dividend income in annual tax filing and subject to the applicable rates.

Some countries with tax treaty with US, yes but not Malaysia.
I have been using StashAway since 2017. The withholding tax refund is done by Saxo on behalf of StashAway and thus us.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Feb 22 2019, 11:30 AM
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 11:34 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 22 2019, 11:06 AM)
https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/06...residenttax.asp

Are you sure bro?

Per above link and my few years of humble experience Malaysian's considered as non-resident alients cannot claim back the 30% withholding tax for dividends. If we do get it back then legally speaking, yes we have to declare that as our Dividend income in annual tax filing and subject to the applicable rates.

Some countries with tax treaty with US, yes but not Malaysia.
We have talked about this before: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91377771
honsiong
post Feb 22 2019, 04:07 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(takeshi99 @ Feb 22 2019, 02:58 PM)
Yes, i understand that but i realised that today i gotten 10% profit but tomorrow it went down to 3% only so i dont really get that 10% profit actually. correct me if im wrong. thks
If you submit withdrawal now, it will still take days to sell. StashAway is meant for long term investment, not for short term one.
honsiong
post Feb 23 2019, 11:04 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(singaporeproton @ Feb 23 2019, 05:17 PM)
If I am not mistaken, we still need to declare the dividend - after we got back the 30 %.

Hope sifu here can share whether they declare it or not.  brows.gif
No lah no need. If need StashAway will say something dy.
honsiong
post Mar 1 2019, 03:59 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 1 2019, 12:45 PM)
Wish to lump sump 5000.00 MYR but I choose to DCA it in 20 business day.

But.....

Their deposit is so slow.... end up 1 week only FX 2 to 3 times....

Making my daily DCA not effective.... doh.gif
Yea dony bother with that in Malaysia
honsiong
post Mar 4 2019, 02:01 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 4 2019, 01:36 PM)
this return thingy is before fee or after fee?
After.
honsiong
post Mar 4 2019, 06:21 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 4 2019, 06:11 PM)
Then, SA got add value to investor? sad.gif
I am ikan bilis, I don’t have enough capital to buy whole shares of those ETFs and cannot justify the brokerage fees, hence StashAway.
honsiong
post Mar 5 2019, 12:26 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(justckl @ Mar 5 2019, 12:11 PM)
I was at their talk and Q&A at Menara Maxis yesterday.
Not to judge too early but their speakers did not give me enough confidence.

How does everyone feel with their track record so far?
Its a very young company just only started in SG a year plus ago & just only operating officially Oct 2018 in Malaysia
Who are the speakers, Michele and Freddie?

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0516sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:28 AM