20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

inferno_17_85
post Apr 10 2019, 11:41 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 10 2019, 10:33 PM)
U use 2 litre concentrated proton coolant?
No. Think it's GEP Red Coolant. Toyota OEM. 2 bottles. I either use that, or Nissan Green Coolant ever since I serviced my car ok out of service centre. My theory is at least I can comfirm via colour that old coolant was flushed out before new one goes in.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 10 2019, 10:36 PM)
U flush the whole system ?  hmm.gif
Only change coolant when i change timing belt. Some more last change i change water pump and thermostat also. So yes. I flushed.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 10 2019, 11:13 PM)
The coolant gt fake one or not ? haha , just curious. I dont want to change at proton sc as the cost is expensive. Last time i bought 1litre concentrated coolant from proton sc cost me rm35, whereas i saw online only sell rm25 doh.gif
Er this one I'm not sure leh... In our mechanic we trust.

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Apr 10 2019, 11:09 PM)
which section of aeon got distilled water?
The shelf where you can get mineral water.

Distillation is penyulingan in Bahasa Malaysia. So any brand of air suling also will do. Zordaq JB asked me to get battery water, which also is distilled water. But i went to AEON nearby since I was buying groceries together.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 10 2019, 11:44 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Apr 10 2019, 06:16 PM)
Ya, I also think so.
May be do the manifold together... cool2.gif
Got mood only do lo... Not something urgent.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 12 2019, 12:08 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 11 2019, 11:47 AM)
Changed 2 hose, top up 1 bottle coolant, 2 bottle of distilled water, cost me rm140 inclusive of labour...
Looks ok with 2 hose changed. Proton edar?

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Apr 12 2019, 11:47 AM)
Ya, you r right.
Just accelerate pedal till end, got 'pecah' sound, haha~ brows.gif
Hahaha... Not really, usually when wife complain then need to change already.

On the side note, i pulled out my MAP sensor and cleaned it yesterday with isopropyl alcohol wipes, and soft used toothbrush with alcohol dabbed. Idling was quieter and less knocking when my bad habit of lugging the engine kicks in.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 13 2019, 11:06 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Apr 13 2019, 12:05 AM)
honestly havent seen 1 bottle before.. only saw mineral water.. haha
Hahaha... Need to look closely. For example Spritzer Green is Mineral Water, Spritzer Blue is distilled water.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 13 2019, 07:17 AM)
ya, i gt all the 3 hose changed at protom edar. The top radiator hose was changed about 3 months ago at proton edar too. A few days ago, i just gt the other 2 hose changed. For the jerking problem , i was told that it's the petrol problem . Although i am using 97 most of the time, the car 's still jerking under low speed.  hmm.gif Already didnt clean the throttle body and resetting the ECU, but problem persists
Can try MAP sensor cleaning. But don't think related to car jerking in low speed. It's more like TCU software control setting. I know CVT TCU Update from Proton time to time improves transmission behaviour in cars like Prevé.

Persona AT got such updates?

inferno_17_85
post Apr 19 2019, 09:17 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 18 2019, 08:25 PM)
Today my persona wouldnt start, no cranking sound at all. eventually the foreman just took out the battery and reconnect it. According to him , either ECU gt problem or the chipset in the key is faulty . Just curious, the ECU will 'kong' so easily ?
Same to me. But my problem still comes back time to time even after ECU change. So don't bother about it. Just standby a spanner in car to disconnect negative terminal of battery and connect it back again is this happen.

I notice mine occurs mostly after heavy rain. Probably something to do with wiring system.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 19 2019, 10:15 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Apr 19 2019, 09:23 AM)
I agreed, maybe you should check the starter. Previously i have the same problem as well, suspected my battery and after further checking on the starter and alternator it actually the starter fault.

First time change the starter
May i know how your mechanic confirm it's fault of starter?

Because in my scenario it's immobilizer activated. How i crank also no sound.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 19 2019, 07:28 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 19 2019, 05:13 PM)
How much did the ecu cost? Mine occurred in the hot afternoon. The car suddenly can not start for the first time after years.
400+. But no point. Nothing solved after ECU change. For me u change because proton centre told me my knock sensor code could be also ECU problem. Never went back to that proton edar again.

Anyway I suspect battery getting weak and that somehow triggered the issue. Incidence was a lot less after I change battery. How old is your car battery?

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 19 2019, 05:16 PM)
This is a secondhand car, when I gt the car, the key ady gt problem. Sometimes, when I press the button hard. I still cannot open the door. Before the car was unable to start, I didn't drop the key. Maybe I placed it in my tight pocket that caused the problem?
It's the sponge that pressing on unlock button getting flattened by long term pressing it. Try open it up, add some paper bits in between your button overlay and the button on the chip.

If you hardly drop your keys, mostly the immobilizer chip is not damaged. Original immobilizer chip of Persona is plastic type, not glass tube type. Even drop also won't be so easy to spoil.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Apr 19 2019, 07:29 PM
inferno_17_85
post Apr 20 2019, 01:22 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 19 2019, 08:44 PM)
Car battery was 1.5 yr old. Just checked 2 weeks ago, the battery health is still strong as told by mechanic in proton sc
You try observe see see to compare now and in future after battery change. Everytime this happens just disconnect negative end of battery and solve it. Not a big problem. Persona owners typically have good hands on skills.

inferno_17_85
post Apr 22 2019, 09:25 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(dragonteoh @ Apr 21 2019, 09:52 PM)
Hi guys,

anybody know this rubber hose name ?

is it call Air Intake Hose ?

mine unit got one part was starting crack (the area which connect another hose to engine, that L shape area start got cracking line on the base rubber)

How much will it cost for ori part ?
(for the moment i use heat glue gun to glue that area)

Search for PW895056. If you're in KL maybe you can buy it in COSE.

inferno_17_85
post Apr 22 2019, 09:33 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(bismaximus @ Apr 21 2019, 11:24 PM)
Anyone with an owners manual....what does 4 blinks (red LED) mean?
Also lately my car also hard to start at times 1 click and nothing, seems to be a contact issue with the battery (I realized my battery bracket missing, where to get one eh?)..or can it be starter?..usually after couple of times will start or if I wiggle the battery it will work.
Can refer to post #608 by ZenGTMM

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1924195/+600

Anyway it sounds to me your LED blinking is due to intermittent connect disconnect of your battery due to loss of bracket. You might want to fix that first.
inferno_17_85
post Apr 22 2019, 09:37 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Apr 22 2019, 04:55 PM)
hi guys, long post below, but I really wanna salvage my first car

-Persona H Line, 2010

Bought in October 2010 - my father's gift to me (hence the reason why I wanna do up the car good and rock it on)

A little background on me

- freshie
- started working last June 2018
- taking bus to work, RM0.80 one way so yea you guys get the gist of me not driving daily

so here goes

2 years after i got the car, 2012 i got into an accident, was in shop for 4 months (from here the steering rack was leaking)

here's when the ordeal all began

my 8055 says, B is good, but he also told me to visit SC straight

here's another part

so with all that being said, i would like to know hints to my myriad of problems and hassle, all due because of me getting involved in that accident ><

i remember workshop A saying to change my fuel pump (something2 behind the passenger seat), workshop B after checking my battery said the biggest problem could be there's current leak somewhere

tldr below

i'll update with receipts on the services done on my car later when i'm home

i'm sorry if my timeline sucks guys, please help me out in salvaging my first car

TY all for your time

really appreciate it

i will answer any queries as best as i can

notworthy.gif
Sorry answer before i jumped into suggesting solution.

How bad you really want to salvage this car? Willing to rebuilt from ground zero? Or like me decided to ditch my father's iswara when repairing cost exceeded cost of servicing new car loan?

Another aspect is you're fresh grad, instead of dumping your blood sweat money into, i quote Scotty Kilmer, endless money pit, I'm sure there's better place to utilise your money right?

So please tell me how bad you want to salvage it?
inferno_17_85
post Apr 23 2019, 10:18 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Apr 23 2019, 09:14 AM)
hi good morning

thank you for taking the time to reply my post

well, i guess i'm willing to do it up if it's less than 10k

and yes, there's always the thoughts of saving my cash to dump into FD, i can say i can save 2.5k every month +- so yea, the FD money is lucrative

a chat with my 8055 today morning is to go to B and pay them labor cost for them to list down everything that's wrong with my car and see the quote ><
Hmm, while this is not a forum for life advice, let's structure your problem from technical aspect.

1) Difficulty to start problem: To me this seems o be like electrical wiring problem after your engine overheat repair. You need to check on grounding and see if they put back the wiring system like grounding to before overheating. If you use reconditioned alternator and starter, it could be poor condition of those part, try use new one for those part if you can. By the way, if your mechanic requires "change this and change that" to diagnose your problem, you probably need a new mechanic.

2) Air conditioning: This is straight forward. It's wear and tear since this current set served you 9 years. Mine was damaged at 6 years mark, broken pump pulley. You can repair according, but parts of the system will take turn to break down since they're that ancient; pump, condenser, cooling coil, fan etc... Try to use new parts rather than refurbished part of its within your financial means.

3) Looks, exterior and accessory like doors and power windows: these are not expensive fix compared to the others can get them fixed in accessory shop and body paint shop.

Edit:
4) Power steering rack: Don't think there's anything you can do about it other than change it, or just keep topping up power steering oil. No one repairs power steering to satisfactory state anymore these days.
End of edit

To be honest since you drive so little, is probably not worth the money and trouble to keep and maintain a car unless it's sentimental thingy; but then sentimental car either cost you some serious money, or serious DIY effort.

Edit 2: By the way what's 8055? No offence but I really don't know.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Apr 23 2019, 10:23 AM
inferno_17_85
post Apr 29 2019, 11:38 AM

14 posts

Guys, on the car jerking at low speed, i found mine almost gone when i replaced my cracked ignition coil with silicon boot. Even though the original part is not expensive, i had enough discovering them cracked and replacing them during every spark plug change. Now trying with aftermarket silicon ignition coil boots.

For those who complained of low speed jerking, do you have ignition coil with cracked tips?

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Apr 29 2019, 11:40 AM
inferno_17_85
post Apr 29 2019, 02:29 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 29 2019, 02:19 PM)
The foreman at proton sc checked my ignition coil twice. He said none of them are cracked. He suspect the petrol quality that causing the problem. But I have been using ron97 quite frequently...  rclxub.gif Can you show the photo where is the silicon boot ?
I got this photo from Lazada.

Am troubleshooting my knock sensor failure code by replacing worn out parts one by one. Sigh. This reduced jerking is accident findings.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 29 2019, 02:17 PM)
May i know how to clean up the engine bay / undercarriage properly without damaging the electronics of the car ? Which part need to cover during washing ?
Usually car wash shop will cover your fuse box and battery. But do make a point to ask them to cover wiring trunk near above transmission as my wiring was wet before and it gave me problem.

If your leak is quite serious, you can clean the floor of your car park lot and observe any oil dripping. Another lazy people's way of cleaning oil strain I'll use is wet wipes. Just wipe away enough of stain for you to observe future leak. I really don't dare to do engine wash since my wiring problem few years ago.

This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Apr 29 2019, 02:34 PM

inferno_17_85
post Apr 29 2019, 02:38 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Apr 29 2019, 02:32 PM)
Is this the so called coil plug? I rmb it was Rm100 per piece, right for original parts? Why is it so cheap?
The RM100 is entire ignition coil. This is only the lower part.
inferno_17_85
post May 2 2019, 04:12 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ May 1 2019, 12:20 AM)
The oil symbol appear at dashboard during cornering only, why?  :confused:
Bro you need to check on your oil pressure sensor and oil pump. No check engine light?
inferno_17_85
post May 7 2019, 01:10 PM

14 posts

Outstation fellow like me feel so outcasted LOL
inferno_17_85
post May 7 2019, 08:00 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 7 2019, 05:15 PM)
so i buka the fan blower, wash the fan fins. buka the mesh filter and brush with toothbrush.
now ac fan blower is stronger, morning feels cold with compressor on-off in healthy interval. but comes noon fetching people will still feel the coldness inadequate. 1 thing i observed is when the car stop in traffic, ac will not cold. when start jalan the ac will be colder. i don't think is radiator fan as the radiator fan noise is still loud and audible. so was it compressor weaken?
Sounds like your condenser not dissipating heat as good as before already. I heard from mechanic if your air cond turns cold when you spray water on condenser unit, it's the condenser problem.

Anyway on servocing air-conditioning system it's controversial.. Some advocate service it with a certain mileage or time frame. Some others said that it's a closed system thus do not need service until it malfunction. I don't really know which one is the correct way of doing it.
inferno_17_85
post May 9 2019, 09:54 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ May 9 2019, 08:43 AM)
you should start learn about aircond servicing.

from source below, you will learn that aircond servicing is not just cleaning only, but also replacing parts, such as receiver drier and expansion valve.

yes, it's a closed system, so meaning if aircond not cold, it means gas leaking somewhere. no need ask topup gas because already leaking what for topup.
why need service? because inside airocnd got oil for compressor to work smoothly. when you neglect service, oil become bad, and make it clogged then it tends to leak. worse it you will forcing the compressor to work harder until one day it will be rosaked. see video understand more. i ask you simple question, why you change engine oil, power steering oil, brake oil, radiator coolant, gearbox fluid etc when you say it's a closed system? hope i make you clarify about it.

Source

p/s: i am noob non-car guy but i already experienced repairing my aircond, so gain extra jibai noob knowledge about aircond servicing.

my other source is LYN member @cheelam who got car aircond service

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2152035
Yeah it makes sense... Might need to go to my air cond guy soon.
inferno_17_85
post May 14 2019, 05:19 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ May 14 2019, 05:01 PM)
4 Litres of engine oil becomes 1 litre plus left over only... cry.gif
5W-30 full synthetic oil really can't use in our hot country here?  hmm.gif
Not the weather. It's either your engine consume oil already, or campro not for this viscosity.

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1073sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:39 PM