QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jul 16 2019, 11:31 AM)
About RM37 from proton parts centre. But seems that Bosch one from Lazada can be even cheaper.This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Jul 16 2019, 12:11 PM
-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.
Jul 16 2019, 12:08 PM
14 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jul 17 2019, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jul 16 2019, 08:09 PM) 195/60/R15QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Jul 17 2019, 02:27 PM) Ok this one will be long. My 2009 Persona started giving me problems a week ago. It went into safe mode (CEL came on and cannot drive more than 30km/h) I switched off and started it back up, it became ok again. After googling most people say that it's the O2 sensor so I ordered online and waited. Throughout the week that happened again a few times but went away after I restarted. Today I have the O2 sensor already and wanted to change during my service but the car went totally dead on the road. Refused to be restarted. Towed to the SC and they plugged their pdt, but no response from the ECU. After a while they eventually told me I have a dead ECU, a new one is RM1k. Saw a few second hand ones online for about RM500 to 700. I don't know if I should repair it or not. I don't recall the ECU got wet or anything under there. I am puzzled as to why it got damaged. Sorry to heard that. How about used ECU from half cut shop? Something to note before you decide to fix outside of SC. If after order new ECU for you and changes the ECU doesn't revive your car, Proton SC cannot hardsell you the ECU they ordered for you. So expensive part change like that I think it's worth dealing with SC. Above of your ECU is where your air conditioner colling coil is located, might be there leaking? I have a OBD reader with Torque app for CEL code check. Might be good for you to keep one for future use. Just in case you decided to replace ECU. By the way persona O2 sensor is the one with green cable sheath.. Spare part shop gave me black colour sheath Gen2.. Ended up money wasted. This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Jul 17 2019, 06:33 PM |
Jul 17 2019, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Jul 17 2019, 06:34 PM) Yea. I decided to get a used ECU. RM450. But the car is stuck at the SC so I will just pay them labour charges to replace the ECU. Now waiting for the ECU to arrive How about the reason your previous ECU went bad? Any idea? Might be useful for us to know so can avoid same predicament as yours. |
Jul 20 2019, 01:32 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jul 19 2019, 08:02 PM) Is someone can share something for me? Same. The firewall insulation will get wet.If we pour water onto the windscreen, did you check which way all the water go? My believe is the water should go into the hole that drain all the water behind the fender. My test this evening, some of the water overflowing between the plates of fender and body, making it enter the engine compartment excessively, just on top of the absorber mounting, both side. Checked my friend's persona also like that. Now we are wondering if that normal which I don't think so. I am afraid under the heavy rain, the water will flow into some wiring parts and moving parts such as pulleys and belt. |
Jul 23 2019, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jul 23 2019, 01:38 PM) Just drove to and fro Melaka and Perlis, about 630km a way and speed was at mostly on 110kmj to 120, 130 to 140 for a short period when overtaking the vehicles only. Petrol is roughly about RM80 a way in real consumption from point to destination point. FC showed 7.1ltr/100km. Not bad bro with the speeding.... On lethargic day if i drive on highway with 100 constant i can get below 7L/100km.Means that IAFM only impacts city driving. |
Aug 2 2019, 08:15 AM
QUOTE(wklow28 @ Aug 1 2019, 10:11 AM) If you check previous version of this forum, it is this normal for persona after aggressive driving, for example genting trip. It's a mechanism to prevent engine overheat... I got that after aggressive drive as well. If this fan after kill engine worries you, try let the car idle a while with air cond off after your spirited drive, switch off only you noticed fan stops blowing. It helps me to some extend. But if this happens too often despite sedated driving then get it checked ba... Sometimes it's just as simple as thermostat or radiator cap only.QUOTE(tiptop3999 @ Aug 1 2019, 05:27 PM) My car is 5 yrs old. The power streering fluid has never been chnaged. Should I change it ? Mileage is 65000km now. Should I gt the timing belt change as well ? I change it everytime together with brake fluid and transmission fluid requires change. Power steering rack very expensive to change. And no one repairs the oil seal anymore.For timing belt, in service schedule got mentioned 80,000km or certain duration. But sometimes people extend it punya.. Just check with your mechanic and his/her view should be ok, IMHO. This post has been edited by inferno_17_85: Aug 2 2019, 08:16 AM |
Aug 7 2019, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 7 2019, 09:00 AM) I found there're 2 variant of Proton thermostat... 78'c and 82'c, which one you using now? 4'c temp difference got huge effect or not? Looks like Persona Elegance punya is 82°C version.Actually I'm surveying low temp thermostat, but very rare for campro engine. Wira Mitsubishi got a lot low temp thermostat selling in market. https://protonperoduaparts.com.my/en/coolin...n-original.html |
Aug 13 2019, 10:56 PM
Try ask for timing belt cover of Campro CFE engine, Parts number PW811685. The seal of it is made of rubber, instead of sponge of our original timing belt cover. Price is a few ringgit dearer than our original cover. But hey, seems that you can get aftermarket silicon based seal on lazada.
It's your call. |
Aug 14 2019, 09:42 AM
Aug 16 2019, 06:10 PM
Sep 5 2019, 03:27 PM
Sep 10 2019, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(litlit @ Sep 10 2019, 03:40 AM) Hi old birds, I’m intend to buy a proton persona 2009 h-line from my friend, it has 140k+ mileage and it looks quite new from outside to inside as he seldom drive it. The IAFM is there to improve low speed fuel economy compared to non IAFM model. So if your IAFM valve spoil already, as in this case, it will not affect highway speed or FC but your city driving will be affected as per lower torque (pick up in my terms) per rpm.But there is rattling sound from engine when we open the hood. My friend said it was the IAFM Campro engine valve noise which is common and not an issue, after he consult a mechanic few years ago. He also said the max speed is 150kmh on highway only. He is a super slow driver so he didn’t care. As I confirmed to buy from him, just asking does anyone know what’s the issues and cost to solve it? Thanks Here is video for the sound. https://youtu.be/94HuzcwetQs New IAFM unit cost about 500++ in material alone currently. However you can bring it to shop like Zordaq (Google it up, they got a few shop throughout Malaysia) that can repair the loosen IAFM butterfly shaft for less than RM100. But then if the shaft of broken then there's no way to get it fixed without replacing it. |
Sep 27 2019, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 27 2019, 09:39 AM) Hi guys got some questions. Can ask your foreman to check front suspension link. Mine got that problem also until it was identified to be link worn out. Try to get genuine parts as OEM shown to ne to choose wasn't very stiff at joint there.I just replaced suspension parts(absorber, mounting) but my car still has clunking noise(dub dub dub sound) on the front when passing through rough road/uneven road/pot hole. What could it be? Tie rod? Ball joint? Bearing? Car on 230k km now. |
Oct 4 2019, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 27 2019, 02:37 PM) No idea cuz not my car. Just helping my friend. So next service I will nddd ask foreman to check tie rod, ball joint, lower arm and suspension link eh? Should change all? Agree to AnakMY bro, good foreman will settle it for you. Just note that for suspension thingy it's adviced to change in pair, even if only one of them worn out.QUOTE(Asurada @ Sep 27 2019, 03:21 PM) About tulang anjing it's not exactly expensive. Just the worksmanship expensive, so it's better to change both pair of long and short one shot. They'll last you long time one.QUOTE(litlit @ Oct 4 2019, 02:21 AM) Hi all, my car when free gear not moving I pedal gas, the engine got delay for a second before rpm go up, and when I let go the gas pedal, then engine also got delay (the rpm still up for a second before coming down). Probably you want to check your eThrottle see got connection problem or spoil or not...So I wash the throttle body, pedal gas is a lot better with nearly no delay, but let go gas pedal still the same has delay. Anyone know what’s wrong? Just wanna know before I send to workshop to check, thanks |
Oct 7 2019, 06:52 PM
Guys, anyone have idea on how to remove IAFM unit to access area below IAFM? I want to access knock sensor harness so i can replace it. Not really in good financial shape to pay mechanic to do it.
Oct 10 2019, 07:38 PM
Nov 5 2019, 09:49 PM
Nov 6 2019, 11:05 PM
Nov 19 2019, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(diversity @ Nov 18 2019, 10:03 AM) thanks, but I think it just prevents the car from dropping too much during compression stage. Wow that's very detailed debrief.. Thanks a lot for sharing.. Going to raise red flag next time if my coolant level drops. Try not to use pipe water to mix with your coolant. Only use distilled water. It'll keep your radiator and cooling system last longer.Worth trying tho, will give it a try next time Just to update everyone: Just spent around RM700 (RM140 top set+560 labour) for top overhaul of my Proton Persona. I had queried earlier on the reasoning why my coolant levels kept decreasing (every 2 weeks top up 1L, been doing that for years). Finally know its because of head gasket leak, it wasn't obvious as my engine oil color was still normal. But foreman said last time he guessed that the coolant was being sucked into exhaust but could not give a confirmation. He recommended me to just keep topping up water since its been ongoing for years. What caused the nail in the coffin was me flushing radiator/coolant (using radiator flush bought from auto shop). I guess when it cleared all the rust and stuffs, maybe a hole was opened bigger or something. Radiator coolant ran dry just after topping up and driving for 1 hour+, this time it seeped into my engine oil and it turned milky. Engine overheated and couldn't start engine afterwards, thank god it died infront of my trusty workshop if not more $$ spent on towing. Only 3 cylinders was working and it was misfiring like hell before it died. |
Dec 31 2019, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(mahcyen @ Dec 30 2019, 10:12 PM) Looks like we have a new Persona IAFM owner here! Welcome!QUOTE(h0riz0nLine @ Dec 31 2019, 01:10 AM) Hi. Just got my Persona maybe a couple of weeks ago. Starting to hear the whosh whosh sound when I'm driving. I would describe it as the sound when the window is slightly opened. Went to the service centre for the first service and told them about the issue. The service advisor told me that the sound problem had been fixed. However when I was driving just now I still heard the annoying sound! Should I go there tomorrow to ask them to replace the whole rubber thingy they claimed had been fixed? The 10 year old car I have been driving before never had this problem before. This is really unacceptable. Bro yours is new persona that based on Iriz? This is thread for Persona IAFM that's based on Gen2. |
| Change to: | 0.0637sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:35 PM |