HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia V2, New upgrade is out

AVFAN
post Jul 3 2019, 10:39 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Jul 2 2019, 05:26 PM)
Is there a function/app I can use to make the screen doing something like a screensaver after a certain period of time?

I saw the HDMI Suspend function but it doesn't seem to be working.

If I fell asleep, after a movie finishes, im concerned about led burning.

Any help appreciated.
there is no screen saver feature for native player or homescreen.

kodi player has screen dimmer.
sadaniel
post Jul 4 2019, 02:34 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 3 2019, 10:39 AM)
there is no screen saver feature for native player or homescreen.

kodi player has screen dimmer.
I tried to avoid kodi as much as I can, I guess eventually I'm forced to love it. Thanks mate.
AVFAN
post Jul 4 2019, 11:34 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Jul 4 2019, 02:34 AM)
I tried to avoid kodi as much as I can, I guess eventually I'm forced to love it. Thanks mate.
the solution for u is to use wrapper on kodi.

when the video starts to playback, it be wrapped to native player.

in native player, u go to menu, play settings and select single play.

when the play is done, it will stop, revert to kodi which has a screen dimmer u can set.

that way, u get to use the better features of the native player and kodi screen dimmer.

note that if u do not use wrapper, kodi player cannot give u HD audio; best u get is transcoded DD only.

that has been the case for a long time and unlikely to change.
AVFAN
post Jul 13 2019, 09:29 PM

24,449 posts

astro go users...

after weeks of beta testing, there is a new app version floating around...

NEW astrogo apk is 2.192.5/AC19.2.5/041de2b
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/astro-malaysi...d-apk-download/

currently in playstore, u can download and install old v8.2.6, works fine.

i had updated to the new version directly on playstore - this was only for half a day after which it was halted and reverted to v8.2.6.

the new version has a different UI and seems to give marginally better PQ, to my eyes.

v8.2.6 is likely to keep going for a while until they force the new one, i.e. shut down v8.2.6.

until then, u can sideload the new version (it works fine) or keep going with v8.2.6.

sadaniel
post Jul 15 2019, 06:34 AM

520 posts

Any thoughts on custom firmware? Is it any better then original? The best custom firmware?
AVFAN
post Jul 15 2019, 11:19 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Jul 15 2019, 06:34 AM)
Any thoughts on custom firmware? Is it any better then original? The best custom firmware?
there is customized firmware available in futeko.com.
there is also customized AndroidTV firmware there.

afaik, customized will give dts (not dtshdma) with kodi for local playback.
but if u are using native player, that is moot.

AndroidTV will give the usual ATV UI but will be a little restrictive on apps installation.
It was useful in the past as that allows Astrogo and Playtv@unifi to work.
But is not necessary now since current original firmware works very nicely for those apps.

anfieldude
post Jul 16 2019, 01:59 PM

3,858 posts

To all those who have had ARC break when the HiMedia or any other media player is used in chain, do try the Lindy CEC-less HDMI adapter. This goes at the display/soundbar side and not at the source side. The pin that does CEC is disabled/removed and thus does not break the ARC back to the soundbar/AVR.

Lindy CEC-less HDMI adapter

It also passes 4K HDR as passthru so no impact to display signal as far as my testing goes.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jul 16 2019, 02:00 PM
cyrobytes
post Jul 16 2019, 11:16 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 16 2019, 01:59 PM)
To all those who have had ARC break when the HiMedia or any other media player is used in chain, do try the Lindy CEC-less HDMI adapter. This goes at the display/soundbar side and not at the source side. The pin that does CEC is disabled/removed and thus does not break the ARC back to the soundbar/AVR.

Lindy CEC-less HDMI adapter

It also passes 4K HDR as passthru so no impact to display signal as far as my testing goes.
i put similar product (Taobao) on my Q10 Pro and i am ok with it. biggrin.gif
anfieldude
post Jul 17 2019, 06:32 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Jul 16 2019, 11:16 PM)
i put similar product (Taobao) on my Q10 Pro and i am ok with it.  biggrin.gif
Can u add a link, would help especially if it's cheaper...
cyrobytes
post Jul 17 2019, 09:22 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 17 2019, 06:32 AM)
Can u add a link, would help especially if it's cheaper...
Here the link:

Taobao
jeromelee1
post Jul 18 2019, 02:39 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 31 2018, 10:35 PM)
nice of u to start V2! rclxms.gif

himedia V1:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1849024/+3500
for new box buyers... himedia has no new model coming as far as i know.

most popular current models are still q10pro and Q5pro.
hi All

I am new to this android tv box. My main requirement is to use the box for playing external usb hard disk on those downloaded movie and etc.

I do not go online that much. Any himedia model to recommend?

AVFAN
post Jul 18 2019, 02:59 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jeromelee1 @ Jul 18 2019, 02:39 PM)
hi All

I am new to this android tv box. My main requirement is to use the box for playing external usb hard disk on those downloaded movie and etc.

I do not go online that much. Any himedia model to recommend?
Q10pro.

Best choice.
sadaniel
post Jul 19 2019, 05:56 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2019, 09:29 PM)
astro go users...

after weeks of beta testing, there is a new app version floating around...

NEW astrogo apk is 2.192.5/AC19.2.5/041de2b
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/astro-malaysi...d-apk-download/

currently in playstore, u can download and install old v8.2.6, works fine.

i had updated to the new version directly on playstore - this was only for half a day after which it was halted and reverted to v8.2.6.

the new version has a different UI and seems to give marginally better PQ, to my eyes.

v8.2.6 is likely to keep going for a while until they force the new one, i.e. shut down v8.2.6.

until then, u can sideload the new version (it works fine) or keep going with v8.2.6.
I can't get the official version from playstore to work. It installs but when I try to run it froze on the startup screen. I tried several times its just not stable. Anyone got it working perfectly?
AVFAN
post Jul 19 2019, 09:30 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Jul 19 2019, 05:56 AM)
I can't get the official version from playstore to work. It installs but when I try to run it froze on the startup screen. I tried several times its just not stable. Anyone got it working perfectly?
It works, i just reinstalled from playstore to test it.

When the log in page comes on, look for a message at the bottom "forgotten your id?"
If u see it, u can log in with valid id, pw.
If u dun, exit, go to apps, restart the app.

This new version has a good feature... u can set up favorites.
New version also offers more channels than old v8.2.6... if yr id is valid.
A few more in the 3xx section, incl new 300 IQIYI.
jeromelee1
post Jul 19 2019, 11:21 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 18 2019, 02:59 PM)
Q10pro.

Best choice.
Thank you bro AVfan
AVFAN
post Jul 19 2019, 11:24 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jeromelee1 @ Jul 19 2019, 11:21 AM)
Thank you bro AVfan
if your primary use is local playback, Q10pro is great for you - video and audio.

1gb, 20gb or 90gb files, it will do very nicely with native player.
jeromelee1
post Jul 19 2019, 11:26 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 19 2019, 11:24 AM)
if your primary use is local playback, Q10pro is great for you - video and audio.

1gb, 20gb or 90gb files, it will do very nicely with native player.
I also considering mibox S malaysia (official). I just need a budget player who can play most of the file including H.265 file.

My old trusty ac ryan media player is working fine but the product is EOL and no more firmware update to H.265...my wife is using most of the time.

AVFAN
post Jul 19 2019, 12:05 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jeromelee1 @ Jul 19 2019, 11:26 AM)
I also considering mibox S malaysia (official). I just need a budget player who can play most of the file including H.265 file.

My old trusty ac ryan media player is working fine but the product is EOL and no more firmware update to H.265...my wife is using most of the time.
i am ex-AC Ryan user too, but moved on to other boxes a few years ago.

mibox S is a good choice if u need a box to do Netflix HD and your TV doesn't hv Netflix.

for playback, there are a thousand boxes u can buy in the rm100-300 range, e.g.:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+300
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4044338/+1180
all these low price boxes can playback simple small videos.
some very smooth, some a little less so; depends on the file type.
some can do surround 5.1 audio, some can only do 2.0 stereo.
the reason for such differences is that pure media players like ac ryan and WDLive have gone extinct.
the new wave is OTT online streaming, hence the many many boxes.
the focus is not on playback but online streaming; focus is not on audio but video.
only the more costly boxes can do both streaming and playback well, video and audio.

no need to spend RM500-600 if u just need a simple box media player.
but if u r planning to move up to bigger n better ones incl BDMV's and lossless audio, u will need something like Q10pro.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 19 2019, 01:27 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 22 2019, 10:45 AM

24,449 posts

futeko is reporting a new himedia model coming soon, the Q100, 21 August 2019.

from the info available, Q100 appears to be an upgrade from Q30 (2 years old) but a downgrade from Q10pro (3 yrs old).

it uses Hi3798MV200 chipset like the Q30 but may be new revision but is unlike the Hi3798CV200 in Q10pro.

it has 2+32 GB, an internal HDD bay for up to 12TB.

besides the same Imprex2 engine it also has a HiVXE image processor.

has the std audio passthru for lossless audio dtshdma, ddtrued; unclear about dtsx, atmos.

playback menu may be limited to just BD lite w/o the full BD menu.

gigabit ethernet port but only N wifi.

for what it is likely capable or incapable compared to Q10pro, i hope the local price will be <rm500.

i will be interested!

https://www.futeko.com/products/MP102.php
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2019, 10:30 AM

24,449 posts

new Q100... just a bit of news...

available in moscow now.

from futeko, available 30 aug.
TOTAL FORMAT SUPPORT Video including UHD 4K, HDR10, BT.2020, H.265, HDR>SDR. Audio including ATMOS, DTS:X, SACD, DSD, DFF, DSF, APE and FLAC.
https://www.futeko.com/products/MP102.php

44 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:06 PM