AVFAN
post May 24 2019, 10:30 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(franlow @ May 24 2019, 10:19 AM)
Hi all,

What is the best video player to playback 4K HDR files. I am currently using MX player but have been noticing that some fast scene are pixelated. Thought that it was a HDMI cable fault then went on to replace a few however the issue still persist hence, confirmed that it is not a HDMI cable issue.
u missed the elephant in the room?! biggrin.gif

himedia boxes incl q5/q10pro, unlike others, come with own native player.

u can use media center or file manager to get to your files to play back.

it will auto framerate switch, e.g. if yr setting is 1080p 60hz, it will auto go to 1080p 24hz if the video is such.

however, it doesn't auto switch resolution - that u have to set manually.

the native player is the powerful one with many features/options for video and audio to play with, incl 4k, hdr, bdmv menu.

mx, vlc and others can't do that.

the price of this box is higher than others becos of this native player and its capabilities.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 24 2019, 10:35 AM
franlow
post May 24 2019, 10:55 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 24 2019, 10:30 AM)

it will auto framerate switch, e.g. if yr setting is 1080p 60hz, it will auto go to 1080p 24hz if the video is such.

the native player is the powerful one with many features/options for video and audio to play with, incl 4k, hdr, bdmv menu.

the price of this box is higher than others becos of this native player and its capabilities.
Wow...….how dumb of me. having owned 2 himedia player, I didn't even try our the native player as I have been a fan of the MX player hahaha

Thanks Sifu…..will certainly give it a go.
AVFAN
post May 24 2019, 10:57 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(franlow @ May 24 2019, 10:55 AM)
Wow...….how dumb of me. having owned 2 himedia player, I didn't even try our the native player as I have been a fan of the MX player hahaha

Thanks Sifu…..will certainly give it a go.
mx pro is quite alright.

it can do 4k, even hdr.

but when u compare the picture quality with native player, u see the diff.
anfieldude
post May 24 2019, 01:50 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 24 2019, 10:30 AM)

If u use the autoframe rate/res patch, it will change frame rate and resolution depending on source framerate/resolution.
AVFAN
post May 24 2019, 01:56 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 24 2019, 01:50 PM)
If u use the autoframe rate/res patch, it will change frame rate and resolution depending on source framerate/resolution.
yes, i remember u introduced this customized feature to me.
good it still works for you.

it worked for a while, then it failed to worked, not using anymore.
futeko users also reported same problems i faced, say this auto res feature will not get into official firmware.

anfieldude
post May 24 2019, 03:02 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 24 2019, 01:56 PM)
yes, i remember u introduced this customized feature to me.
good it still works for you.

it worked for a while, then it failed to worked, not using anymore.
futeko users also reported same problems i faced, say this auto res feature will not get into official firmware.
It happened to me as well. I found that it was mainly a setting u need to get right in the video settings in the advanced settings. Then it remains without turning off.

I reset the patch when it happened once and it has worked well since.
AVFAN
post May 24 2019, 04:37 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 24 2019, 03:02 PM)
It happened to me as well. I found that  it was mainly a setting u need to get right in the video settings in the advanced settings. Then it remains without turning off.

ah, good point...

possible after installing the patch, i mucked around with chroma settings.

likely 444 10 bit is the correct one, others may not work with diff res/diff hz.

will try again, thanks.
AVFAN
post May 25 2019, 01:18 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 24 2019, 03:02 PM)
It happened to me as well. I found that  it was mainly a setting u need to get right in the video settings in the advanced settings. Then it remains without turning off.

got it working again! rclxms.gif

not sure if it is due to newer firmware 2.1. or chroma ycbcr 444 10 bit setting... but autoFMTswitch_1.3.9.1 patch is working good now, see auto change 720-1080-2160.

anyone interested to have auto resolution switching (sometimes called 'source direct') as well as auto framerate switching, please read and follow instructions from here:
https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=1043.0

basically, it is a patch file u can install to get:

auto framerate switching
1080p:
25/50 --> 50Hz
30/60 --> 60Hz
23.976 --> 23.97Hz
24 --> 24Hz
29.970 --> 59.940Hz
59.940 --> 59.940Hz

3840x2160:
25/50 --> 50Hz
30/60 --> 60Hz
23.976 --> 23.97Hz
24 --> 24Hz
29.970 --> 29.97Hz
59.940 --> 60Hz

4096x2160:
25/50 --> 50Hz
30/60 --> 60Hz
23.976 --> 24Hz
24 --> 24Hz
29.970 --> 60Hz
59.940 --> 60Hz

auto resolution switching
2160px --> 3840x2160p
1080px --> 1920x1080p
720px/23.976/24 --> 1920x1080p
720px/50/60 --> 1280x720p

AVFAN
post Jun 7 2019, 11:39 AM

24,449 posts

q10pro, q5pro, q30.... firmware 2.1.4 is out.

but v slow downloading... better wait till tmr.

Firmware v2.1.4 Changelog:
1. NFS scan no results issue fixed
2. Some subtitle can't display issue fixed
3. Subtitle lack of characters issue fixed
4. Blu-ray BDMV video couldn't be played on kodi issue fixed
5. Kodi couldn't auto switch player in the wrapper under NFS Playback issue fixed
6. MK3D format video playback supported
7. Mouse operation supported on menu of local video player
8. ES browser supports play back of local video with external subtitles

https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=711.1200

cyrobytes
post Jun 7 2019, 11:53 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 7 2019, 11:39 AM)
q10pro, q5pro, q30.... firmware 2.1.4 is out.

but v slow downloading... better wait till tmr.
Thanks. Will update later.

Update: Installed. New music player interface and ASS subtitle previously having problem to display, now is fixed.

This post has been edited by cyrobytes: Jun 7 2019, 08:06 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 8 2019, 10:58 PM

24,449 posts

installed 2.1.4... some quick comments.

1. NFS scan no results issue fixed
can't say, no using nfs... but samba works fine as before.

2. Some subtitle can't display issue fixed
3. Subtitle lack of characters issue fixed
i dun have sub issues with previous versions, din notice any change... maybe it's meant for unique/special subs.

4. Blu-ray BDMV video couldn't be played on kodi issue fixed
5. Kodi couldn't auto switch player in the wrapper under NFS Playback issue fixed
wrapper now works fine with kodi, if u so prefer.

6. MK3D format video playback supported
no idea, no using this.

7. Mouse operation supported on menu of local video player
yes, u can bring up mouse with native player now.
strange u can't click on bar but need to drag...?

8. ES browser supports play back of local video with external subtitles
no idea, not usung that.

others:
.. audio player UI is nice!
.. native player online download subs option is back, works fine.

lwk523
post Jun 17 2019, 05:05 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

Any advice on Q5 Plus that I'm plan to get one in 618 ?

Thank you

AVFAN
post Jun 17 2019, 06:45 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Jun 17 2019, 05:05 PM)
Any advice on Q5 Plus that I'm plan to get one in 618 ?

Thank you
there is no himedia box model q5 plus.

phone, i think there is.
rx330
post Jun 18 2019, 12:39 PM

11,808 posts

weird, just found out my hi media is displaying only 1080p on my teebee

hahahaha

lwk523
post Jun 18 2019, 09:31 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 17 2019, 06:45 PM)
there is no himedia box model q5 plus.

phone, i think there is.
It is China set. Does himedia os can lag after one year ?

AVFAN
post Jun 18 2019, 09:46 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Jun 18 2019, 09:31 PM)
It is China set. Does himedia os can lag after one year ?
china models, i hv no idea.

from the specs, it seems to a variation of the Q5pro which is 3 years old.

i will not encourage u to buy it:

.. china models, u get no support and warranty locally or from int'l distributors like futeko UK.
.. china models do not have google, youtube, chrome - u hv to find yr own way to install them.
.. china models installed apps mostly work in china only, can't work outside.
.. 2+8gb is handicapped - u will run out of storage quickly.

if u r to buy, better buy current Q10pro locally which is in'tl version, 2+16 gb, android7, firmware updates still coming.

if u can wait, new model coming year end, i hear.

how do u plan to use the box if u buy one?

TSOPT
post Jun 23 2019, 09:57 AM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

I have issues playing some old SD files, displaying Video Problem message when using the Media Center to play some HDD files.

Something like this that was shared in the futeko forum.
https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?t...g23006#msg23006

If I were to use VLC player then the file has no issue in playing.

Is there a codec patch to resolve this issue? notworthy.gif

AVFAN
post Jun 23 2019, 10:38 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Jun 23 2019, 09:57 AM)
I have issues playing some old SD files, displaying Video Problem message when using the Media Center to play some HDD files.

Something like this that was shared in the futeko forum.
https://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?t...g23006#msg23006

If I were to use VLC player then the file has no issue in playing.

Is there a codec patch to resolve this issue?  notworthy.gif
yes, some old videos esp old DVD rips can't be played.

afaik, there is not patch for them.

easiest way is to use MX Pro; VLC can so too but will not give DD/DTS like MX.
TSOPT
post Jun 23 2019, 08:00 PM

Wee wang wang
2,064 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 23 2019, 10:38 AM)
yes, some old videos esp old DVD rips can't be played.

afaik, there is not patch for them.

easiest way is to use MX Pro; VLC can so too but will not give DD/DTS like MX.
That's what I thought too sad.gif

Thanks thumbsup.gif
sadaniel
post Jul 2 2019, 05:26 PM

520 posts

Is there a function/app I can use to make the screen doing something like a screensaver after a certain period of time?

I saw the HDMI Suspend function but it doesn't seem to be working.

If I fell asleep, after a movie finishes, im concerned about led burning.

Any help appreciated.

44 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:29 PM