Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

woodentiger86
post Aug 13 2020, 09:28 AM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Aug 12 2020, 10:08 PM)
Any idea whether the installation of dash cam, be it by DIY or accessories shop will void the 5 year warranty?
By right if it's DIY and via the cigarette port, it's plug & play and usually won't be considered tampering with the car's electronics.

However, if it's hardwired installation, i.e, going thru the car's fuse box to draw the power, again, the SC MAY not honor the warranty if anything were to happen to the car's electronics.

Having said that, I have seen many marques, not only Mazda having their dashcams installed at places like Sicurez for brands like Thinkware etc and so far, have not heard any issues or complaints.

Myself have a Thinkware installed on my Myvi via hard-wiring and so far, touch wood, no issues.

I am also planning to install the Thinkware dashcams on my wife's ride.

This post has been edited by woodentiger86: Aug 13 2020, 09:29 AM
tonytyk
post Aug 13 2020, 02:10 PM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 13 2020, 09:28 AM)
By right if it's DIY and via the cigarette port, it's plug & play and usually won't be considered tampering with the car's electronics.

However, if it's hardwired installation, i.e, going thru the car's fuse box to draw the power, again, the SC MAY not honor the warranty if anything were to happen to the car's electronics.

Having said that, I have seen many marques, not only Mazda having their dashcams installed at places like Sicurez for brands like Thinkware etc and so far, have not heard any issues or complaints.

Myself have a Thinkware installed on my Myvi via hard-wiring and so far, touch wood, no issues.

I am also planning to install the Thinkware dashcams on my wife's ride.
Just wonder whether anyone get official response from mazda/dealer that the dashcam installation (Plug & play via cigarette lighter port or fuse box Tapping & no wire cutting) would not affect the warranty.
woodentiger86
post Aug 13 2020, 02:17 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Aug 13 2020, 02:10 PM)
Just wonder whether anyone get official response from mazda/dealer that the dashcam installation (Plug & play via cigarette lighter port or fuse box Tapping & no wire cutting) would not affect the warranty.
This one, highly unlikely bro.

I doubt any official dealers may give a written/formal reply that any P&P nor Hard Wired products will not affect warranty, irregardless of marque.

Anyways, from my experience [Perodua side] - I have noticed highly modded Myvis still sent for servicing at SC and somehow no issues it seems, even those with aftermarket rims or changes to exterior like DRLs etc. SC will find all sorts of reasons not to honor warranty in the event anything were to happen as they may conveniently pinpoint it to any external items added to the car - like pedal lock, auto fold mirrors etc. I have heard from an acquaintance that he was unable to get his Myvi's boot locking mechanism replaced cos they said he installed aftermarket door lock module...

So I asked him, door lock and boot lid are two different things and yet the SC doesn't wanna replace it under warranty... sweat.gif

Best to be careful.

See if the safety & assurance of having a dashcam installed outweights the 'potential' likelihood of voiding the warranty of the electronics...

This post has been edited by woodentiger86: Aug 13 2020, 02:18 PM
PJS
post Aug 13 2020, 11:03 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 11 2020, 03:09 PM)
Take 3.6k rebates, 5 years warranty.
If gearbox alone died in 6th year, 3 6k not gonna be enough for the repairs. Not sure about others, but if it's really 6 years warranty with 6 years free service vs 3.6k rebate, I'd take peace of mind for 6 years.
What?UPro?
post Aug 13 2020, 11:17 PM

148 posts

Hi guys, its been awhile since i last posted/commented on LYN forum. I am happy to announce I have officially bought a 2.5 GLS!!!!
ayamxxx
post Aug 14 2020, 07:52 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(PJS @ Aug 13 2020, 11:03 PM)
If gearbox alone died in 6th year, 3 6k not gonna be enough for the repairs. Not sure about others, but if it's really 6 years warranty with 6 years free service vs 3.6k rebate, I'd take peace of mind for 6 years.
It will not died if u change the gb oil during 50k km interval. Why on earth bermaz/mazda opted with this seal for life gb oil. Saw plenty of cx5 owner take own initiative by changing gb oil outside as sc not having this.

Their mileage already more than 150k km still ok with those 50k km gb oil change interval.

Likewise, saw also plenty of cx5 had gb k.o usually above 100k km and follow the seal for life gb oil on cx5 fb club.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Aug 14 2020, 10:53 AM
woodentiger86
post Aug 14 2020, 09:52 AM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(What?UPro? @ Aug 13 2020, 11:17 PM)
Hi guys, its been awhile since i last posted/commented on LYN forum. I am happy to announce I have officially bought a 2.5 GLS!!!!
Congrats bro!

Which colour? thumbsup.gif
tonytyk
post Aug 14 2020, 10:27 AM

1,962 posts

QUOTE(PJS @ Aug 13 2020, 11:03 PM)
Not sure whether the gearbox is covered by the 6th year warranty, did you check?
melkishi81
post Aug 14 2020, 11:19 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(What?UPro? @ Aug 13 2020, 11:17 PM)
Yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!! Congratulations bro!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Please share with us the colour of your choice and your personal experience with your new ride biggrin.gif

Welcome to the club! thumbsup.gif

woodentiger86
post Aug 14 2020, 02:37 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(melkishi81 @ Aug 14 2020, 11:19 AM)
Yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!! Congratulations bro!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Please share with us the colour of your choice and your personal experience with your new ride  biggrin.gif

Welcome to the club!  thumbsup.gif
How's your detailing going along? Haha.

Managed to get any products? brows.gif
CKCX5 P
post Aug 14 2020, 04:58 PM

Probation

2.0GLS deep crystal blue reporting here biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
blurkia
post Aug 14 2020, 07:07 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 12 2020, 02:05 PM)
just removed all tint except rear window. apply new tint on top of skyting for rear
thanks.. i did remove the skytint.. felt it was better.. no more headache/nausea..
but still like got some "feeling" making me feel tired after driving.. is it because that it's naked now, too bright? bangwall.gif
melkishi81
post Aug 14 2020, 07:30 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Aug 14 2020, 02:37 PM)
How's your detailing going along? Haha.

Managed to get any products? brows.gif
Haha I’m just doing the normal stuff. I bought Meguiars product for leather, wheel cleaner, UV protection also the tyre shine product. My car shampoo is also Meguiars.

So far I’m consistent in washing the car once a week. And I do the detailing for leather, tyres and other surfaces once a fortnight.

I’m quite lucky since I’ve been transferred to a new office and they have multi-level parking lots.

Other than that, not much 😂😂 since I’ve done coating with Sierra Glow so, no polishing for me 😁

Hopefully I’ll stay diligent in taking care of my car hehe

melkishi81
post Aug 14 2020, 07:31 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(CKCX5 @ Aug 14 2020, 04:58 PM)
2.0GLS deep crystal blue reporting here biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Welcome to the club bro! 😁👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

I’m also a 2.0 High owner here, but mine's in Soul Red Crystal.

Hope to hear your experience with the car soon 🥰

hihihehe
post Aug 14 2020, 10:57 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(blurkia @ Aug 14 2020, 07:07 PM)
thanks.. i did remove the skytint.. felt it was better.. no more headache/nausea..
but still like got some "feeling" making me feel tired after driving.. is it because that it's naked now, too bright?  bangwall.gif
just put a branded tint
Axell
post Aug 14 2020, 11:26 PM

Looking for FL
920 posts

QUOTE(blurkia @ Aug 14 2020, 07:07 PM)
but still like got some "feeling" making me feel tired after driving.. is it because that it's naked now, too bright?  bangwall.gif
how can you tahan the heat without tint? 😅 full blast aircond?
blurkia
post Aug 15 2020, 10:54 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(Axell @ Aug 14 2020, 11:26 PM)
how can you tahan the heat without tint? 😅 full blast aircond?
I’m seldom out , only morning and evening haha
PJS
post Aug 15 2020, 12:11 PM

54 posts

I got my car in Mar 2020 before the 6 yr warranty promo, insurance rebate, SST waiver, lower interest rates and all that goodies started in May and June. My warranty was just upgraded for free so my Mazda Connect app shows 6 yrs 120k km warranty with 2 extra free maint vouchers. Haha

This post has been edited by PJS: Aug 15 2020, 12:36 PM
Axell
post Aug 15 2020, 02:27 PM

Looking for FL
920 posts

QUOTE(PJS @ Aug 15 2020, 12:11 PM)
I got my car in Mar 2020 before the 6 yr warranty promo, insurance rebate, SST waiver, lower interest rates and all that goodies started in May and June. My warranty was just upgraded for free so my Mazda Connect app shows 6 yrs 120k km warranty with 2 extra free maint vouchers. Haha
Great, I did checked with my SA for the free upgrade to 6 years warranty and actually that only applicable to Mar and Apr 2020. I got mine in Jul 2020 with 3.6k insurance rebate. 😅
melkishi81
post Aug 15 2020, 04:05 PM

61 posts

Aisey... then should be the same... I got mine registered at the end of June, definitely will miss out the 6 year warranty. On a second thought if Mazda did this because the March and April customers missed out on tax exemption, I find it a bit odd because this is a government's scheme. They should upgrade the warranty across the board.

486 Pages « < 299 300 301 302 303 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:14 PM