Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

voncrane
post Jul 20 2018, 02:05 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jul 20 2018, 02:01 PM)
Thanks guys for your kind inputs as well, Congrats Duckies long overdue for a better page in lyn. My car lies at home most of the time but recently I have been using it quite frequently. Can't take the skytint anymore, any suggestions? I'm sure its discussed many times but i'l like to ask the new owners as prices vary time to location.
So far, my only complaint would be the front windscreen.. As i got Magnetic shades everywhere else and these do a good job in conjunction with the "shitint".. How about Canny Cool?? Good reviews, fair pricing and 7 years warranty.. I almost went with them.. But can't modify yet till the saga is over..
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 02:06 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 20 2018, 02:05 PM)
So far, my only complaint would be the front windscreen.. As i got Magnetic shades everywhere else and these do a good job in conjunction with the "shitint".. How about Canny Cool?? Good reviews, fair pricing and 7 years warranty.. I almost went with them.. But can't modify yet till the saga is over..
I already added Canny Cool. Cheap and nice but the guys who did the installation is not for the faint of heart...they are fast and rough sweat.gif Might damage ur car a bit in process sweat.gif
voncrane
post Jul 20 2018, 02:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:06 PM)
I already added Canny Cool. Cheap and nice but the guys who did the installation is not for the faint of heart...they are fast and rough sweat.gif Might damage ur car a bit in process sweat.gif
Ah, I expected as much.. Seen such handling before.. Hence my reluctance to put the car through such till m main issue is resolved. Lest they use that as an excuse not to deal, especially if some damage done. So how much did you eventually pay for just the front and 15 years warranty? That's a first.. sweat.gif .. Specs changed from our previous discussion? Really significant results compared to previous tint during midday hot sun?

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 20 2018, 02:12 PM
nebula87
post Jul 20 2018, 02:13 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 20 2018, 02:02 PM)
Yasss!.. I use those lists too.. With Google Maps/Waze.. Can plot along route, if to pump before, during or after a long distance drive.. Either works..  thumbup.gif
I see..Are Google Maps and waze able to search Euro 5 diesel petrol station? brows.gif That would be better...

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:03 PM)
It'll up to how much budget are you gonna allocate.

I am on a tight budget so I added an extra layer of Canny Cool tint on the front windscreen. Cheap and good and come with 15 years warranty. The rear and side tint so far still acceptable to me.

If you have the budget can always replace everything with V-Kool, 3M, Raytech and Huper Optik. Huper Optik should be cheaper among all. Should cost about 1.5-2.5k depending on tint specs.
But if one day you plan to remove Canny Cool tint, will that affect the first layer?

And i read from the first page, we can have another 2mil tint only to meet the total 6mil limitation.
Wonder will my local tint shop understand what is 2mil or not.. biggrin.gif
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 02:15 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 20 2018, 02:11 PM)
Ah, I expected as much.. Seen such handling before.. Hence my reluctance to put the car through such till m main issue is resolved. Lest they use that as an excuse not to deal, especially if some damage done. So how much did you eventually pay for just the front and 15 years warranty? That's a first..  sweat.gif .. Specs changed from our previous discussion? Really significant results compared to previous tint during midday hot sun?
Same specs and price as we discussed before. I was told the TSER is around 60% (biar betul) and it cost 300 for front windscreen.

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 20 2018, 02:13 PM)
I see..Are Google Maps and waze able to search Euro 5 diesel petrol station?  brows.gif  That would be better...
But if one day you plan to remove Canny Cool tint, will that affect the first layer?

And i read from the first page, we can have another 2mil tint only to meet the total 6mil limitation.
Wonder will my local tint shop understand what is 2mil or not..  biggrin.gif
Future if you wanna remove, you have to remove both layers. Not a big deal for me since skytint is bullshits already.

Solar film tint usually is only 2 mil. Only security tint is thick. By right, front and rear windscreen are not supposed to have security tint so that you can break them during emergency like your car fell into the river.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Jul 20 2018, 02:21 PM
nebula87
post Jul 20 2018, 02:21 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:15 PM)
Solar film tint usually is only 2 mil. Only security tint is thicken. By right, front and rear windscreen are not supposed to have security tint so that you can break them during emergency like your car fell into the river.
Ok Noted. And i find that the skytint is quite thick also right? but not a security tint right?
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 02:22 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 20 2018, 02:21 PM)
Ok Noted. And i find that the skytint is quite thick also right? but not a security tint right?
4mil if not mistaken

Bigblock
post Jul 20 2018, 02:42 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:03 PM)
It'll up to how much budget are you gonna allocate.

I am on a tight budget so I added an extra layer of Canny Cool tint on the front windscreen. Cheap and good and come with 15 years warranty. The rear and side tint so far still acceptable to me.

If you have the budget can always replace everything with V-Kool, 3M, Raytech and Huper Optik. Huper Optik should be cheaper among all. Should cost about 1.5-2.5k depending on tint specs.
Never tried HO. Might think it over Raytech or HO...

Its indeed sheet-tint

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Jul 20 2018, 02:46 PM
tehoice
post Jul 20 2018, 02:43 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 20 2018, 01:19 PM)
You mirror my mind..  smile.gif
Thanks for initiating V1..  notworthy.gif
Dah.. Duckies stepped up.. Follow je..  laugh.gif
Paint Protection Film is more of wrapping (think tinting material) versus some chemical agent bonding, which is coating.. Different. PPF more durable and long lasting.. IF done right.

Claim ongoing.. Gone higher up and as such.. Don't think it wise that I be discussing much on it publicly.. Well, until the whole thing is over and verdict given.. Safer this way..  smile.gif
Thanks..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
yeah, sorry, mine's a coating. for that kind of pricing that i'm paying, way cheaper than those ceramic pro coating, etc.

more than happy to have just that coating biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Jul 20 2018, 02:45 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 20 2018, 02:13 PM)
I see..Are Google Maps and waze able to search Euro 5 diesel petrol station?  brows.gif  That would be better...

Wonder will my local tint shop understand what is 2mil or not..  biggrin.gif
I've had some luck searching the terms Euro 5 into both apps.. Thing is not all of the compatible stations are have such in their titles.. So i try that first, else.. just type in the station's proper name. Be good if the stations managers all edited their Maps names with Euro 5 included.. Much easier.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:15 PM)
Same specs and price as we discussed before. I was told the TSER is around 60% (biar betul) and it cost 300 for front windscreen.
Future if you wanna remove, you have to remove both layers. Not a big deal for me since skytint is bullshits already.

Solar film tint usually is only 2 mil. Only security tint is thick. By right, front and rear windscreen are not supposed to have security tint so that you can break them during emergency like your car fell into the river.
Ah.. same price and specs.. good.. Will use them when the time comes.. So double-layering on top of the skytint is no issue?

Yup, It's unwise to have security tint up on front and rears.. Even during a road accident, that extra time needed to fully break it can mean life or death. Well unless ofcourse, you are some taiko (or wannabe) who needs the extra security and darkness on all sides.. Having a regular crash is the least of your worries.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jul 20 2018, 02:21 PM)
Definitely.. None of the pre-installed tints are security tints.
tehoice
post Jul 20 2018, 02:48 PM

5,529 posts

speaking of which, have the get back to you guys on the saga yet? or still waiting?
it's been a month already o...

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:22 PM)
4mil if not mistaken
yeah it is 4mil. actually good enough for many in average day-to-day use lah imho.

security tint normally 6-8 mil. which i think 8mil can be overkill and may damage the power window motor in the long run.

yet, we have seen cases where people can smash the window with just 1-2 attempt(s). no point going for security tint (they can still break it through). so just solar tint will do the job ady.
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 02:59 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 20 2018, 02:48 PM)
yeah it is 4mil. actually good enough for many in average day-to-day use lah imho.

security tint normally 6-8 mil. which i think 8mil can be overkill and may damage the power window motor in the long run.

yet, we have seen cases where people can smash the window with just 1-2 attempt(s). no point going for security tint (they can still break it through). so just solar tint will do the job ady.
The front windscreen skytint cannot make it. When I drive my car outside the sun shines so brightly til it blinds me even when I am wearing sunglasses. Also the sun light is hot enough to burn my balls. Can't tahan after 2 weeks, terus add on another layer.
Toshiakiz
post Jul 20 2018, 03:05 PM

89 posts

Hi all in V2 xD
kyoshooo
post Jul 20 2018, 03:19 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 01:52 PM)
Okay, got it. Updated the first page.
Hi Duckies. my ride Snow white 2.2D
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 03:24 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(kyoshooo @ Jul 20 2018, 03:19 PM)
Hi Duckies. my ride Snow white 2.2D
Added to the owner list.
ericme
post Jul 20 2018, 04:15 PM

54 posts

good.. new room, new chapter.
tehoice
post Jul 20 2018, 04:59 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 20 2018, 02:59 PM)
The front windscreen skytint cannot make it. When I drive my car outside the sun shines so brightly til it blinds me even when I am wearing sunglasses. Also the sun light is hot enough to burn my balls. Can't tahan after 2 weeks, terus add on another layer.
haha maybe i seldom drive that car. so don't get the pinch.

slightly off track questions, does mazda force all buyers to have this skytint by default for all mazda cars? or is it optional for other variants?
lyc1982
post Jul 20 2018, 05:00 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

whoa..only photo of the current cx-5 ?

no love for the 1st gen of cx-5...i am sad
lyc1982
post Jul 20 2018, 05:02 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 20 2018, 04:59 PM)

slightly off track questions, does mazda force all buyers to have this skytint by default for all mazda cars? or is it optional for other variants?
as far as i know for new cx-5 yea...optional means force
TSDuckies
post Jul 20 2018, 05:03 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 20 2018, 04:59 PM)

It's compulsory. It's ridiculous but this is money sucking Bermaz so no surprises.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jul 20 2018, 05:00 PM)
whoa..only photo of the current cx-5 ?

no love for the 1st gen of cx-5...i am sad
Sorry bro...since I joined in on the new CX-5 I have no knowledge of other gen's CX-5 sweat.gif sweat.gif

Maybe I should rename the thread to CX-5 gen 2 sweat.gif

485 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:40 PM