4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V14 (Group)

desmond2020
post Aug 9 2018, 09:31 AM

906 posts

Draw near to me, hear this: from the beginning I have not spoken in secret, from the time it came to be I have been there." And now the Lord God has sent me, and his Spirit.
Isaiah 48:16 ESV
https://bible.com/bible/59/isa.48.16.ESV
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 12:03 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 11:54 AM)
Or maybe I made a mistake?

I checked in John 14:28,
You heard me say, 'I am going away and I am coming back to you.' If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.

That must mean Jesus was STILL at a lesser status prior to His ascension to Heaven.

But Son most definitely not equal (in status) to Father as the above verse suggested. And that disproves the trinity again when one of its tenet is Co-Equal.
Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it. For since the message declared by angels proved to be reliable, and every transgression or disobedience received a just retribution, how shall we escape if we neglect such a great salvation? It was declared at first by the Lord, and it was attested to us by those who heard, while God also bore witness by signs and wonders and various miracles and by gifts of the Holy Spirit distributed according to his will. For it was not to angels that God subjected the world to come, of which we are speaking. It has been testified somewhere, "What is man, that you are mindful of him, or the son of man, that you care for him? You made him for a little while lower than the angels; you have crowned him with glory and honor, putting everything in subjection under his feet." Now in putting everything in subjection to him, he left nothing outside his control. At present, we do not yet see everything in subjection to him. But we see him who for a little while was made lower than the angels, namely Jesus, crowned with glory and honor because of the suffering of death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. For it was fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering. For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one source. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers, saying, "I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise." And again, "I will put my trust in him." And again, "Behold, I and the children God has given me." Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery. For surely it is not angels that he helps, but he helps the offspring of Abraham. Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.
Hebrews 2:1‭-‬18 ESV
https://bible.com/bible/59/heb.2.1-18.ESV
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 12:06 PM

906 posts

and also

So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
Philippians 2:1‭-‬11 ESV
https://bible.com/bible/59/php.2.1-11.ESV
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 12:52 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 12:24 PM)
And all that you bolded out just explained that through Jesus Christ you and I will know and understand fully the characters of God, the goodness of Him, and so we can love with Him intimately.

God is Lord.
Jesus is Lord.
God and Jesus is the same one Lord.
which is trinity

there is only one God

the father is God

the son is God

holy spirit is God

father is not son

son is not holy spirit

holy spirit is not father

in summary, dont try to define God because human generally become lunatic in trying to do so.

and 1+1+1=1 is not logic right? absolutely it is not logic and it is a biblical truth

This post has been edited by desmond2020: Aug 10 2018, 12:53 PM
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 01:03 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 12:59 PM)
YOU are the one defining God through your trinity heresy.
I keep on adhering to what the Bible says, that God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob is ONE god.
YOU are the one who change the word ONE into UNION.
YOU are accusing who except yourself? YOU are condemning yourself by changing that word ONE into UNION.
whistling.gif
correction

there is no union, there is only one true God

you point being?
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 01:13 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 01:10 PM)
So you don't even understand trinity. But absurdily want to believe in that.

My point is your religion IS your idol. Your church IS your idol. You rather believe in the doctrines of men rather than trusting the Lord alone.
some people know that they dont know what they dont know

some people dont know that they dont know what they dont know

which is you?

This post has been edited by desmond2020: Aug 10 2018, 01:18 PM
desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 01:19 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 01:16 PM)
Huh?

Okay enough with your craps. UW is right. I don't think you are saved yet. Go and repent NOW.

Bye.
oh that prosperity and health preacher?

I dont need his approval

desmond2020
post Aug 10 2018, 01:30 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Haledoch @ Aug 10 2018, 01:26 PM)
But I can see your characters. Easily short fused one. Is that part of the fruit of Christ? I am sorry if I hurt you. Fact is I am also not immune to mistake. I know that and I am not forcing my belief in you or anyone. I hope I just planted enough seeds of doubt in you, so one day you can study it yourself.
whatever that float your boat
desmond2020
post Aug 28 2018, 12:55 PM

906 posts

Wow

That escalate quickly

desmond2020
post Aug 28 2018, 03:13 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Aug 28 2018, 02:33 PM)
So according to you, Jesus is not God before His Resurrection, only human? Amazing...
If says Jesus is both 100% man and 100% God, he will say not logic

According to him, any illogic thing is not biblical

Well
desmond2020
post Sep 4 2018, 02:45 PM

906 posts

Oh, still trying to define God according to human philosophy

I am amazed

This post has been edited by desmond2020: Sep 4 2018, 02:45 PM
desmond2020
post Nov 14 2018, 09:15 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 14 2018, 04:01 PM)
It's quite strange that many go by proverbial slogan of salvation(justification) by faith ALONE or sola fide.
Yet James says....even devils have faith!  laugh.gif
17 Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone.
18 Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.
19 Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.
20 But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead?
21 Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar?
22 Seest thou how faith wrought with his works, and by works was faith made perfect?
23 And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.
24 Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only.

Luther had a hard time with the above. For simple reason. He did not understand what a Jew meant by faith (AMAN)

Hebrew faith is not a mental discourse. Unfortunately, the Greek word for faith(pistis) does not describe the Hebrew understanding of faith.
For Greeks, its more of a mental ascension. 
Here we see James describing the real Jewish understanding of faith.
Jewish faith contains both pistis and ergon works.

Faith demands works of obedience. 
Therefore, we see the faith works in many of the examples in scriptures

eg Abraham, who was 100 years young performing sexual intercourse with Sarah to fulfil the promise that God gave him

16 Therefore it is of faith, that it might be by grace; to the end the promise might be sure to all the seed; not to that only which is of the law, but to that also which is of the faith of Abraham; who is the father of us all,
17 (As it is written, I have made thee a father of many nations,) before him whom he believed, even God, who quickeneth the dead, and calleth those things which be not as though they were.
18 Who against hope believed in hope, that he might become the father of many nations, according to that which was spoken, So shall thy seed be.
19 And being not weak in faith, he considered not his own body now dead, when he was about an hundred years old, neither yet the deadness of Sarah's womb:
20 He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God;
21 And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform.
22 And therefore it was imputed to him for righteousness.

Therefore,

Ye see then how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only
It depends on how they define faith. Some is seems to define it as mere intellectual acknowledgement of Jesus as saviour WITHOUT repentance and regeneration

True faith 100% will produce good work. As Paul said Christian is reborn being created for good work
desmond2020
post Jan 30 2019, 09:57 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jan 29 2019, 03:52 PM)
Maybe I add a bit more.

Both men were used by God, but both had a tragic ending. It is a lesson we must draw from spiritually.

1) The old prophet was a prophet who was once used by God; however, God could not use him any longer. In our experience, some spiritual condition of many believers are the same as their condition let say, ten years ago. They have not made any spiritual progress before the Lord. They speak what they do not understand. Even as they are speaking, they do not understand what they are saying.

2) The old prophet did not see any sin in the worship at Bethel. In Bethel, Jeroboam sacrificed to the calves he made, appointed priests of the lowest people, who were not of the sons of Levi, made offerings upon the altar, and burned incense on the days and months that he had devised of his own heart (1 Kings 12:28-33). All these things offended the Lord. Jeroboam was afraid that the people would offer sacrifices in Jerusalem. Therefore, he set up another place of worship outside Jerusalem. This causes a division among God's people. This proves that something was wrong with him [the old prophet] for not saying anything as he should be as prophet.

3) But what was tragic was not just the condition of the old prophet but the damage the man of God suffered under the old prophet! The man of God disobeyed the Lord's charge because of the word of the old prophet. Once a servant of the Lord has received a clear commandment from the Lord, he should never listen to an old prophet whose word does not match the Lord's charge.

This is same, for example, in Paul's charge to the Galatian believers was along the same principle. "If even we or an angel out of heaven should announce to you a gospel beyond that which we have announced to you, let him be accursed" (Gal. 1:8). The gospel which Paul preached was not according to man but according to the revelation of Jesus Christ (vv. 11-12). But there was another group of people who tried to change the gospel of Christ.

4) When they were sitting together at the feast, the word of the Lord came to the old prophet. Does this mean that he had become spiritual again? No. God was dealing with the man of God who had disobeyed His word. He no longer had any demand on the old prophet; God already had put him aside..

Today, we may suffer spiritual death [instead of the physical death in the Old Testament] in our serving God but that is because God still cares and has demands on us. If nothing happens, it is already Very SERIOUS. God has put us aside for a while.

After the man of God was killed by the lion, the old prophet buried him in his own grave and charged his sons to bury him next to the man of God when he died. The old prophet believed that the word which the Lord charged the man of God to speak against the altar in Bethel and against all the houses of the high places which were in the cities of Samaria would surely come to pass. Yet he himself simply waited to die there! What a contradiction ... he is really old smile.gif
Well said
desmond2020
post Jan 31 2019, 05:55 PM

906 posts

You know penguins

The kjv underwent more than 10 revisions

I thought you cant improve what is perfect lol

desmond2020
post Feb 1 2019, 11:27 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 1 2019, 11:19 AM)
The "errors" are mostly spelling mistakes, printing errors and typos. Granted, the kjb in 1611 would be "harder" to read but then textual wise, it's still the same.
Ooch

Which means it is not perfect because plainly it is just a translation from Hebrew and Greek manuscript. Only the manuscript is inspired and perfect. KJV is just one of translation and there is nothing special with this particular translation
desmond2020
post Feb 1 2019, 02:56 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 1 2019, 02:26 PM)
Well problem is. There is never a single manuscript that is completed. So your idea that there is a perfect Hebrew and Greek manuscript is moot.

Do you even understand what is majority text and alexandrian text?

So are you also implying that the Bible is not the words of God since It is not perfect.

If that is what you think, dun lie to others that the Bible is the words of God then.

The thing is the KJB is not just translated from a single manuscript. The translators at the time for tasked with providing the best translation from various sources of manuscript and not just the Textus Receptus.

The thing is. If you do not even believe that God can produce a perfect Bible that we all can read, then how can you even believe in the resurrection? You see that is what faith is about. It is a belief in God's promises in the Bible even though we cannot imagine His promises in our mind. God promises time and time again to preserve His words. I believe his promises. Simple as that.

That's the thing. From a natural perspective, it's impossible to produce a perfect version. But then, God does not work in the natural realm.

But then people rather believe in nonsense like the modern day speaking in tongues and healings and vision then to believe that God can supernaturally preserve His words.

Just like Paul say if say the resurrection was not true, then all Christians are to be pitied. Similarly, if we do not believe that we have the perfect word of God, all of Christianity is invalidated.
There is few problem with your rethoric

First, the manuscript in Alexandrian and Byzantium is consistant with each other..meaning no theological different in both. While translation is not. Because it is impossible to have perfect translation. Unless you are saying KJV version is divinely translated. So no. A fat not. KJV is probably one of good English translation but definitely not a magically perfect work as suggested by you goodseft

There are definitely some equally good English translation bible out there

And those translation have been inspiring people to believe in God

So there is definitely nothing special about KJV translation

desmond2020
post Feb 1 2019, 04:43 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 1 2019, 03:57 PM)
Well. There are actually major theological changes. Did you even study the issue?

Well isn't that what I am implying. Is English comprehension so bad in Malaysia?

Well.  Good is not enough. There are also good Buddhist manuscripts. And also good Korans out there. They "inspire" ppl to believe as well.

The pitiful thing is.  Even the Muslims understand this issue. They understand that once their koran has mistakes,  their whole religion becomes invalidated. That is why they insist that their only true "perfect" source is the Arabian one.  It is clear how far "Christianity " had fallen. I am not implying the Islam is the truth but then it's amazing how close to the truth they are compared to most of you guys.

That's the thing. I think that's all for me.

BTW. Satan is an imitator and counterfeit of Christ. So it is only natural that his books/bible is similar. But then as I pointed out. There are major doctrinal differences.

As I have implied time and time again. Most of you guys will never learn. And even after you guys died.  You will not learn as well.
Well then

Again I need to stress the KJV only movement is pure BS

Nothing good come out insisting a "TRANSLATION" as perfect

Only maniac did this.
desmond2020
post Feb 12 2019, 12:30 PM

906 posts

Actually what is Catholic talk about when they said church for mother?
desmond2020
post Feb 12 2019, 07:24 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 12 2019, 05:59 PM)
Never heard of that expression before "Church for mother."

Oops looks like I've jumped the gun, based on a document dated in 1856 !!!

As men are slowly enlightened over the ages, now I am thinking should I write about this or let it belong to the period 1856 for good ?
Anyway I don't think anyone qualified to be called infallible other than Jesus Christ, be it mary or pope

desmond2020
post Feb 13 2019, 03:06 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Feb 13 2019, 02:23 PM)
That's a very serious accusation there.

Scripture is only one of the sources for Catholic teaching, alongside Tradition and the Magisterium, which have to be in harmony. As you should have known already, the "Scripture Alone" position is the cause of the multiple sects of Protestantism, because each person interprets Scripture "to their own destruction" (2 Pet 3:16).
The existence of different denomination other than Roman Catholic exist much earlier than protestant, in fact first and second century

Pope but which pope? Coptic pope or orthodox pope?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0833sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:45 PM