99 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

tippman
post Sep 10 2018, 08:15 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 07:59 PM)
Oh....I now know you don't understand what a "hypothesis" means....

Before my hypothesis raise your blood pressure further, do google and understand what a hypothesis mean  biggrin.gif
You can have your own hypothesis but I don’t think it is right to call those who want to retire earlly selfish like you said you are not anyone to judge whether people are selfish or not.

Your hypothesis is a guess so what make you think you have the right to said people is selfish?
tippman
post Sep 10 2018, 08:18 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 07:59 PM)
Oh....I now know you don't understand what a "hypothesis" means....

Before my hypothesis raise your blood pressure further, do google and understand what a hypothesis mean  biggrin.gif
Again you are assuming and you make your judgement based on your so call hypothesis.

Are you saying no one can chose not to agree with your hypothesis? You mean everyone in this thread hve to agree to your hypothesis?
Showtime747
post Sep 10 2018, 08:22 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 10 2018, 08:15 PM)
You can have your own hypothesis but I don’t think it is right to call those who want to retire earlly selfish like you said you are not anyone to judge whether people are selfish or not.

Your hypothesis is a guess so what make you think you have the right to said people is selfish?
You still don't understand what a hypothesis means.

I think out of everyone who reply to my comments, only you take a hypothesis so personal and bring out the "right" issue biggrin.gif

All other forummers are cool with my hyphothesis and we discussed the hypothesis in a calm and matured manner.
Showtime747
post Sep 10 2018, 08:25 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 10 2018, 08:18 PM)
Again you are assuming and you make your judgement based on your so call hypothesis.

Are you saying no one can chose not to agree with your hypothesis? You mean everyone in this thread hve to agree to your hypothesis?
You start to sound immature....

I am not pointing a gun to anyone to agree with me. And I have in the beginning already highlighted it was a "hypothesis"

Of course anyone can disagree with me. Many do openly disagree with me if you read their comments doh.gif
tippman
post Sep 10 2018, 08:25 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 07:57 PM)
My hypothesis has already clearly stated and answered your question.
AS I said, googled Japan population aging problem.
Looks like you don't understan what "hypothesis" means. Yes, you are right, it is a guess  biggrin.gif  
I never used the word "useless". I used the word "selfish" for people who retire early, according to my hypothesis

Jack Ma retires close to official retirement age. So he is not selfish
Read back my hypothesis. My hypothesis has already clearly stated and answered your question.
It's an analogy for my hypothesis. According to my hypothesis, yes, smoking in public is selfish, even if the area legally permits smoking. Same goes for RE, there is no law to say it is illegal
I am seriously think you don’t understand what is the meaning of aging population and person who chose to retire early.

My question to you is are you saying a person who choose to retire early it mean he don’t contribute to the economy via money multiplier effect?

You are fixated to you so called hypothesis but when one ask you to provide some facts to back up your hypothesis and yet you choose not to answer.

Hypothesis is a guess so do not called people who chose to retire early selfish based on your so called guess.

You can put your guesses in the thread but please try to refrain imposing your ideology of selfish to everyone.

This post has been edited by tippman: Sep 10 2018, 08:30 PM
Showtime747
post Sep 10 2018, 08:27 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 10 2018, 08:25 PM)
I am seriously think you don’t understand what is the meaning of aging population and person who chose to retire early.

My question to you is are you saying a person who choose to retire early it mean he don’t contribute to the economy via money multiplier effect?

You are fixated to you so called hypothesis but when one ask you to provide some facts to back up your hypothesis and yet you choose not to answer.

Hypothesis is a guess so do not called people who chose to retire early selfish based on your so called guess.

You can put your guesses in the thread but please try to refrain imposing your ideology of selfish to everyone.
All I can say is doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
tippman
post Sep 10 2018, 08:29 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 08:25 PM)
You start to sound immature....

I am not pointing a gun to anyone to agree with me. And I have in the beginning already highlighted it was a "hypothesis"

Of course anyone can disagree with me. Many do openly disagree with me if you read their comments  doh.gif
I do read their comment and I am merely replying to your so call hypothesis.

I do believed your hypothesis is quite immature as well
tippman
post Sep 10 2018, 08:34 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 08:27 PM)
All I can say is  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Just like you said, you expect people not to agree with your hypothesis and I do believed you can accept my comment about why I am not agreeing with your hypothesis
Showtime747
post Sep 10 2018, 08:44 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Sep 10 2018, 04:12 PM)
I don't think that there are jobs that people can remain passionate about their whole life. Certainly, not enough people are having such jobs. I don't think such "dream jobs" exist often enough. I also think FI is definitely a good thing. However, I dun think RE is necessarily a bad thing. In fact, personally to me, RE is a good thing. If one needs to stay in a job to kill time or to remain "productive" in the eyes of society, that in itself is quite pathetic. Of course, if one personally derives lots of pleasure in continuing to work even after achieving FI, then, by all means, go ahead. But there is no one size fits all..
It is sad that not everyone can be passionate about their job. But if we are flexible, maybe we can find jobs which are at least "not dragging their feet".

I think job satisfaction sums everything up about and ideal job.

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Sep 10 2018, 08:51 PM
Showtime747
post Sep 10 2018, 08:49 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(sky18 @ Sep 10 2018, 04:55 PM)
LOL.... I originally intent to 'inspire' our extreme frugal young friends.

After all, it's kinda like we can't says certain religion is bad... the core problem is ppl take it to extreme with their bias belief.

FI/RE just another lifestyle system within capitalism. Cant simply judge such capitalism lifestyle is pure good or absolute bad.

Impremenant, its not realistic to expect human mind stay same as one perspectives get evolves. And its natural progression ppl opt for FI/RE due to its more accessible now.
Bro ramjade has his own way of life biggrin.gif

His choice which I guess is due to upbringing, and I respect that. I for one, can't live like him...

For any investment, if you want to know how to minimise the cost, he is the best person to ask. And he is always willing to share thumbup.gif
sky18
post Sep 10 2018, 09:16 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 10 2018, 08:34 PM)
Just like you said, you expect people not to agree with your hypothesis and I do believed you can accept my comment about why I am not agreeing with your hypothesis
Be cool. Everyone have their own perspective. U can't forced other take yours as good. brows.gif

I'm on the "support" clan but still respect Showtime747 views which generally "bias" against FI/RE. smile.gif

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 10 2018, 08:49 PM)
Bro ramjade has his own way of life  biggrin.gif

His choice which I guess is due to upbringing, and I respect that. I for one, can't live like him...

For any investment, if you want to know how to minimise the cost, he is the best person to ask. And he is always willing to share  thumbup.gif
He is a potential youngster to become millionaire / multi-millionaire by 40. Just wish him all the best as his "extreme" would probably harder for him get into relationship nowaday.

ChessRook
post Sep 11 2018, 01:59 PM

375 posts

This FiRe is very personal. Depends on how one defines Fi and Re, each could end up a different and yet still reasonable answer.

For myself, I have two daughters, and a wife who likes to spend. So i have much given up on the Re part. I am planning to retire at about 67-70 depending on the financial and medical situation of the family. I am very happy with my job and i am not sure what I want to do full time. Maybe volunteering? Or scale back my current job into part time? All these questions can only be answered by myself.

For Fi, I have paid all my debts and have some money for emergency funds and long term investments. Does this meet the definition of FI? I still need to work to support my 3 dependents. If i am only single, i can Re pretty much in 4-5 more years of working.

I believe the FiRe question depends on the situation, priority and personal choices. Not many people can do FiRe nor should they.
tippman
post Sep 11 2018, 02:02 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Sep 11 2018, 01:59 PM)
This FiRe is very personal. Depends on how one defines Fi and Re, each could end up a different and yet still reasonable answer.

For myself, I have two daughters, and a wife who likes to spend. So i have much given up on the Re part. I am planning to retire at about 67-70 depending on the financial and medical situation of the family. I am very happy with my job and i am not sure what I want to do full time. Maybe volunteering? Or scale back my current job into part time? All these questions can only be answered by myself.

For Fi, I have paid all my debts and have some money for emergency funds and long term investments. Does this meet the definition of FI? I still need to work to support my 3 dependents. If i am only single, i can Re pretty much in 4-5 more years of working.

I believe the FiRe question depends on the situation, priority and personal choices. Not many people can do FiRe nor should they.
Nice to have all the debts pay off. Does your company allow you to continue working after retirement age? (60 for Malaysia) I assume you are working in Malaysia.

ChessRook
post Sep 11 2018, 02:05 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 11 2018, 02:02 PM)
Nice to have all the debts pay off. Does your company allow you to continue working after retirement age? (60 for Malaysia) I assume you are working in Malaysia.
It is by contract for 1-3 years. Contract renewal subject to performance whatever that means
tippman
post Sep 11 2018, 02:21 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Sep 11 2018, 02:05 PM)
It is by contract for 1-3 years. Contract renewal subject to performance whatever that means
Thanks for the update.
cherroy
post Sep 11 2018, 04:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Sep 11 2018, 01:59 PM)

FI /= debt paid off.

FI = There is stream of passive income that can sustain your monthly/yearly expenses.
Showtime747
post Sep 11 2018, 07:46 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(sky18 @ Sep 10 2018, 09:16 PM)

I'm on the "support" clan but still respect Showtime747 views which generally "bias" against FI/RE. smile.gif

Oh.....I support FI, but not RE.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Sep 11 2018, 09:27 PM
tippman
post Sep 11 2018, 08:10 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 11 2018, 07:46 PM)
Oh.....I support FI, but not RE.... biggrin.gif

I think the main reasons people set their mind to RE is plain simple --> they don't like their job.

There are many studies on the reasons, like :
https://www.forbes.com/sites/lizryan/2016/1...s/#1ad0cbb21ed9
Some are personal problems
https://www.2knowmyself.com/Why_some_people...nt_like_to_work
Many who set an early retirement target can relate one of more of the above to their job environment/personalities ?

At 40 years old, a worker is at his prime. He makes the most money at this age. He should be a senior already and well respected by the subordinates. He can contribute back to the company/society/economy/country. So much he can do.

Those who said after RE they have more time for family/charity/health/thing I like to do, are just giving excuses for failure in good time management. Those 4 things cannot be neglected at any age. They should learn how to improve on their time management instead.
Like some one quoted he work 12 hrs a days and how can he managed his time for other stuff?

Can you show me your opinion if a person who would want to do volunteer work I.e working in animal shelter or old folks home, how much time he/she should have for his volunteer work? If he volunteer as a cook in orphanages Home and do you think, the employer can allow him to go off to cook every day before finishing work?

If a person is a volunteer rescue worker, can you tell me can the employer allow him to be absent from works for more than a month if there is some major disasters?

I think this thread is for people who share ideas on how to be Financial independent/freedom and if they want they can choose to retire early and if you are so dead against it then you might want to start off another thread on why people don’t like to work.

Do you think everyone is lucky enough to find a job that he/she is passionate about?

Showtime747
post Sep 11 2018, 09:41 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 11 2018, 08:10 PM)

I think this thread is for people who share ideas on how to be Financial independent/freedom and if they want they can choose to retire early and if you are so dead against it then you might want to start off another thread on why people don’t like to work.

If you cannot accept alternative opinion, and respect the opinion of others, it may be better you don't join any forum discussion.

By your logic, every thread in LYN forum must not be disputed. Those with alternative opinion have to take the trouble to open another thread

So far, only you are so fired up towards my opinion. Other readers seems ok and I enjoyed the matured discussion with them.

Ok ok.....to reduce your blood pressure, I put spoiler hope that would be of help to you biggrin.gif
coca^cola
post Sep 11 2018, 09:44 PM

327 posts

Sorry

This post has been edited by coca^cola: Sep 11 2018, 09:47 PM

99 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:27 PM