wongmunkeong
post Jun 9 2020, 02:50 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 9 2020, 02:23 PM)
very practical approach.
i have come across plenty of people declaring that they would need no less than rm20mil or more for FIRE.
and if simply based on your 4% approach, i was thinking what the hell does someone needs to spend RM66.7k per month on????  hmm.gif

and life is always unexpected. one can plan all they want but somehow may end up a complete opposite to the plans.

so while FIRE is important, one must also know how to live their present life imho.
thanks for your kind words bro.

maybe those needing RM20M or more for FIRE is looking at FATFIRE instead of norm or leanfire heheh - ya, some variations flying about.

Also, some really young FIRE may want to use a 3% approach based on some stats i read as the 4% was for the previous traditional retiree in US 60s+/-. Still.. RM20M+ *3%pa/12months = RM50Kpm+ spending.. that's a lot of "happiness" there - may be too stressful for some to spend that much laugh.gif

yeah, the presence is a present - need to be "in the now" too to enjoy the presents biggrin.gif .
In my simplistic execution - 1/3 to pay for the past (debts, transgressions, paybacks), 1/3 for the present + 1/3 for the future hehe - ie. 1/3 debt repayment and gifting, 1/3 spending, 1/3 stockpiling and investing for future

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 9 2020, 02:55 PM
SUSBora Prisoner
post Jun 9 2020, 02:51 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 9 2020, 02:23 PM)

i have come across plenty of people declaring that they would need no less than rm20mil or more for FIRE.
and if simply based on your 4% approach, i was thinking what the hell does someone needs to spend RM66.7k per month on????  hmm.gif

why not?

different people have different needs.

Some need 100m to FI/RE, some need 1m.

who are we to judge

icemanfx
post Jun 9 2020, 04:07 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jun 9 2020, 02:51 PM)
why not?

different people have different needs.

Some need 100m to FI/RE, some need 1m.

who are we to judge
To realize $20m fi/re, one need to has or could has >$500k p.a regular income and has >$10m net worth.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 9 2020, 04:07 PM
SUSBora Prisoner
post Jun 9 2020, 04:29 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 9 2020, 04:07 PM)
To realize $20m fi/re, one need to has or could has >$500k p.a regular income and has >$10m net worth.
yeah, and for someone like @hksgmy that number is too low

hksgmy
post Jun 11 2020, 09:46 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jun 9 2020, 04:29 PM)
yeah, and for someone like @hksgmy that number is too low
Well, it’s is/was my concern - even if it’s somewhat irrational. As I’ve said so before, our wealth and assets came about from the more than generous remunerative packages that came with our professional careers - and weaning ourselves off that will be difficult to accept, at least initially. We’ve worked hard for what we have all our lives. There are others who’ve achieved a far greater rate of return on their investments, and at times, reading their achievements make us wonder and worry that we’ve underperformed.

But, talking it out loud and vocalizing my concerns, and listening and reading the feedback and opinions have helped assuage those concerns to a great degree.

It won’t be easy, since I intend to retire next year, but with any luck, it won’t all be a rough ride.

Peace.
guy3288
post Jun 12 2020, 12:01 AM

5,875 posts

if one has huge income and savings there is nothing to worry about investment returns no matter how low, even 1% return on 100M is already $83+k passive income a month...just how much do we need we cant bring to next world
hksgmy
post Jun 12 2020, 05:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 12 2020, 12:01 AM)
if one has huge income and savings there is  nothing to worry about investment returns no matter how low, even 1% return on 100M is already $83+k passive income a month...just how much do we need we cant bring to next world
This (and many articles like it) is one of the reasons for my concerns, irrational or otherwise: RICH BUT NOT RICH ENOUGH ARTICLE

Having said that, you’ve made some very valid observations - and we could always liquidate our properties to free up more cash should that is required. No drawers to stash the cash in the coffins, like you said.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 12 2020, 08:25 AM
mmweric
post Jun 12 2020, 04:11 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 12 2020, 12:01 AM)
if one has huge income and savings there is  nothing to worry about investment returns no matter how low, even 1% return on 100M is already $83+k passive income a month...just how much do we need we cant bring to next world
Well most people who have loads of money like 100M would at least like their net investable assets to be same year after year after taking into account inflation. So a minimum return of at least 1% above inflation rate would still be required
icemanfx
post Jun 13 2020, 06:07 PM

21,456 posts

Thanks to @stoolpresidente #DDTG community, I have earned enough $$$ to retire at 27. Thank you Dave. I am forever loyal to you and the trading community that you built #retailbros #straightwinners
https://twitter.com/cowabungabrew/status/1271508413017731075
https://twitter.com/stoolpresidente

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 13 2020, 06:08 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2020, 10:57 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 13 2020, 06:07 PM)
Thanks to @stoolpresidente #DDTG community, I have earned enough $$$ to retire at 27. Thank you Dave. I am forever loyal to you and the trading community that you built #retailbros #straightwinners
https://twitter.com/cowabungabrew/status/1271508413017731075
https://twitter.com/stoolpresidente
Sounds like a scam?
Babablacksheep
post Jun 13 2020, 11:16 PM

852 posts

Met a friend working in HARTA glove as senior Manager (12 yrs)
Told me due to Esos, his stock value almost hit RM2million..

The peers who same batch with him all touching few millions ringgit value of stocks.

FIRE unexpectedly.
hksgmy
post Jun 13 2020, 11:44 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Babablacksheep @ Jun 13 2020, 11:16 PM)
Met a friend working in HARTA glove as senior Manager (12 yrs)
Told me due to Esos, his stock value almost hit RM2million..

The peers who same batch with him all touching few millions ringgit value of stocks.

FIRE unexpectedly.
All thanks to COVID19 eh? Always a silver lining behind any dark cloud.
icemanfx
post Jun 14 2020, 12:56 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 13 2020, 10:57 PM)
Sounds like a scam?
https://mobile.twitter.com/stoolpresidente/...350291653791747

https://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/barstoo...impression=true
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 12:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 14 2020, 12:56 AM)
Ah, erm, ok. Too sophisticated for me. Good luck to him and his followers though smile.gif - fortune favors the brave.
icemanfx
post Jun 14 2020, 01:48 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 14 2020, 12:59 AM)
Ah, erm, ok. Too sophisticated for me. Good luck to him and his followers though smile.gif - fortune favors the brave.
"Amateurs can get lucky, but only fools mistake that for wisdom.”
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 09:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Nov 25 2019, 05:18 PM)
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 25 2019, 06:21 PM)
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 26 2019, 10:33 PM)

I didn’t mean to dig up an old discussion, but in the interests of FairPlay and to show that there was no malicious intent in my initial declaration, I’ve included a snapshot of my latest (painful) tax returns for your perusal.

[attachmentid=10515501]

Hopefully this further clarifies and removes any co fusion or misunderstanding on my original post.
rapple
post Jun 14 2020, 09:52 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 14 2020, 09:23 AM)
I didn’t mean to dig up an old discussion, but in the interests of FairPlay and to show that there was no malicious intent in my initial declaration, I’ve included a snapshot of my latest (painful) tax returns for your perusal.
[attachmentid=10515501]

Hopefully this further clarifies and removes any co fusion or misunderstanding on my original post.
Trying to prove just make it more dubious on what you really say you have. But if you really want prove it then prove it with your payment to the IRB since you have no problem sharing something so personal here.

Given some of your /k replies I really wonder is it the same person.

SUSyklooi
post Jun 14 2020, 10:38 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jun 14 2020, 09:52 AM)
Trying to prove just make it more dubious on what you really say you have. But if you really want prove it then prove it with your payment to the IRB since you have no problem sharing something so personal here.

hmm.gif if after he did that (above), will someone else asked for proof that that income and payment details are really his/her and not of others? (like client, employer or family members, etc) hmm.gif

i remember once in one of the thread, there was one forummer mentioned "that could be photoshopped" when trying to dispute the data shown upon challenged

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 14 2020, 10:40 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 14 2020, 10:54 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 14 2020, 10:38 AM)
hmm.gif if after he did that (above), will someone else asked for proof that that income and payment details are really his/her and not of others? (like client, employer or family members, etc)  hmm.gif

i remember once in one of the thread, there was one forummer mentioned "that could be photoshopped" when trying to dispute the data shown upon challenged
yeah, pointless trying to play piano to cows nor ask for proof of such neh XD

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 14 2020, 10:55 AM
hksgmy
post Jun 14 2020, 11:01 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jun 14 2020, 09:52 AM)

Yes, indeed, it doesn’t end does it?

The Notice of Assessment is an interesting secured PDF form that cannot be altered, obviously - at least not by amateurs like me.

But, the above message wasn’t so much for you, as it was to close a side discussion with the other 3 whom I tagged. Still, I didn’t think it would cause even more suspicion and envy.

Perhaps it’s best to let sleeping dogs lie. I will delete my earlier post and let the discussion here continue without the unneeded distraction.

99 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:50 PM