FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

SUSyklooi
post Jul 4 2018, 11:31 AM

8,188 posts

I achieved FI b4 40 yrs old....
During that time, i planned to open a barber shop....watch astro daily in the shop...chats with friends when they visited me during my barbershop openning hours.....i don't really needed the earning from the barber shop.....bcos i had passive income arranged.
Well that was the plan, then as faith or some called it, prelife planned journies.....i met a girl, went out for few dates......liked itthen continued a few more dates.....as times goes by......got married, got dependents, got new properties, got many more liabilities.......
Now, still have to work ......
My moral of the story is....yes, we can plan, but in the end it is someone higher up there are the arranger of life's journeys.
Who would have known GE14 changed the lives of many FIRE peoples.....

SUSyklooi
post Jul 4 2018, 01:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 4 2018, 12:35 PM)
Thank you for sharing this.

like people said "Fail to plan is planning for failure".

So I guess it is better to have a plan and work with that plan and adjust accordingly.

Anything beyond our control we cannot do anything.

Also, in planning always factored in contingency or safety margin to cover as best as we can things that we not expected.
what ever it is,....have a little plan, NOT overly focused on THE Plan...
else, one may missed the meaning of being alive in this world.

Plan is a must, just don't overly focused on it.....

wise words to ponder about indeed...
QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 4 2018, 09:49 AM)
"You dun want to save up sex for when u r old."..Warran Buffett.
QUOTE(howszat @ Jul 3 2018, 11:08 PM)
My post was making the point about "balance". I guess you are too inflexible to understand what "balance" means
i liked this.....
“Suppose your monthly income is only 2,000, you can live well.
I can help you put money into five sets of funds.
The first $600, second $400, third $300, fourth $200, fifth $500.”
for more,..read this...
Asia’s Richest Man “Li Ka-Shing” Shares Advice For Young Entrepreneurs
https://addicted2success.com/success-advice...-entrepreneurs/

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 4 2018, 01:37 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 15 2018, 12:19 PM

8,188 posts

confused.gif
mid 20's
started to work 5 years ago in KL after graduating from over seas (only do partime there)
no $$ helps from FAMA
70~80% of income used for investment

invested in properties, from just 3 years ago

have not let go of any properties yet. (so no flipping here)

having a 7 digit net worth....yes net worth

I think it is ok to get loans for the 1st one and 2 properties, assuming the pay is used to sustain the repayment of your first 1 & 2nd properties.
assuming again 10% down payment (100k for 1 million property)

the rental yield of these 2 properties must be definitely very good and stable to be able to get sustained income to get another property ...

thus whatever earned from the 2 properties will be use to get the 3rd property (30% downpayment at 300K for the 1 million property)

then, the rental yield of these 3 properties must be definitely very good and stable to be able to get sustained income to get another properties ...

it is amazing, how much money can be made (7 digits net worth) in 3 years

you hit the jack pot....repeat the cycles few times,, one can buy a village.

thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif

Ramjade....can try follow this?... since you're having some attributes similarity...young, frugal and money saving smart...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 15 2018, 01:51 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 17 2018, 09:00 AM

8,188 posts

I will make a gross assumption here....
this 80/20 rules will has great variance in the income grade.
those in the 3 digit income upon graduation
those in the 4 digit income upon graduation
those in the 5 digit income upon graduation
those that are not graduated
those that has great and financially sound parents,
those that are not so educated, experienced, exposed,
etc, etc...

my assumption, is also,,,,for those with 5 digit income, .....the chance of making a 1 million networth after a few years of working will definitedly be a lot higher than those at lower grade.

thus, we are all different and hopefully these posts, will just be a morning easy reads and be forgotten later in the day. For those shared posts, may not will fit with our current situation, our philosophy, our risk appetite, financial mishaps learnt, etc, etc and it will just be a good read to me....and definitely this is not a place for me to follow these posts as a guide/reference/point to start the FI/RE journey or what ever they are called.

Thus, not need to be envy, jealous, trying to emulate, etc, etc.....for one man's meat, maybe another man's poison.

a friend of mine shared this in my whatsapp this morning....

"We sacrifice our time on relationship/health to make wealth, then we scarifice our wealth to get back our families/friends/health".

thus no need to fights in support or oppose to these posts......we are all different in many ways...... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jul 17 2018, 09:12 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jul 17 2018, 09:10 AM)
That is why we need to FIREarly! So that we have time to spend our wealth on enjoying life instead of paying for medicals.
need FIRE to be able to afford insurance premium?
if that is what you meant

SUSyklooi
post Jul 17 2018, 09:23 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Jul 17 2018, 09:16 AM)
Nah, I mean don't wait until no time/health to spend your wealth.
As for me, I will always have insurance to cover me up in case of any unwanted circumstance.
It's like protecting my wealth.
rclxms.gif good for you
thus, your circumstances may not be applicable to some too.
some may be too overly focused on meeting their preset saving goals thus maybe lead them to neglect or taking chances of possiblity of medical situations (may or may not happens) (young vs old chances)

thus i said earlier.....no need to fights in support or oppose to these posts......we are all different in many ways.

SUSyklooi
post Aug 12 2018, 12:14 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sky18 @ Aug 12 2018, 11:25 AM)
Agreed. After all, "what is enough" & contentment is very subjective to a person; Eg: Birkin bag is basic need for Rosmah but Bata slippers is enough for TunM.

I'm doing a lots of study on contentment, mindfulness as well lately and found following pretty insightful too.
> https://beherenownetwork.com/category/joseph-goldstein/  (series of podcast, [as a freethinker, take away the religion elements] it's good to learn his views and interprete the life)
> https://www.thesimpledollar.com/the-wisdom-...final-thoughts/
thumbup.gif that is very true. notworthy.gif

I had a close friend told me once,.....it is not a good holistic feeling to have in life, when one has reached a stage in which, one felt not much joy in having some extra money given to him.....
for he will just put it into his saving/investment vehicle....they just keep on adding up.
for he had preplanned and arranged most of the needs in advance.

he continue to reflect in comparison to the time when we felt so much joy when his boss suddenly gives him some extra pocket money as bonus.

thus will contentment rob something of one's joy in a way? (ex: the joy of having some windfall in comparison to others?)

yeah,...I had reached that stage too.....a small % in relation to my friend I guess, for a times,.....when I saw 10 cents on the road,.....I just pointed to the next guy and tell him to pick it up.
yeah,....i guess i kind of understand how my friend felt.....at that in that time.

SUSyklooi
post Aug 17 2018, 09:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 17 2018, 09:12 AM)
Yup yup.
Bottom line - borrow money when available & cheap, coz when kaka happens & financial institutions turns off the flow, it's expensive / hard to get when U want or need it for investments, biz cash flow, etc.

Just personal thoughts/practices ya - no gospel truths, PERSONAL finance is personal after all  notworthy.gif
thumbup.gif that is very true (from what I saw and heard too)
if wanted to use collateral at time of business cashflow crisis.....
they don't really interested in how much machinery assets you have or how much they are valued now.
they will "MOST prefer" to be shown how much your business property or building valued

that bottom line of your is thumbup.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 23 2018, 12:21 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 23 2018, 11:37 AM)
thks for the info...
hmm.gif in this case,...it costed about 1/2 days wage to wash a car in M'sia, where else it just cost 1 hour's wage in Australia...
WOW...more expensive in Malaysia than in Australia to wash a car.....
luckily, i think water in malaysia are cheaper, thus many car DIY in Malaysia
SUSyklooi
post Dec 18 2018, 11:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Dec 18 2018, 11:10 PM)
Hi guys!

Been working towards FI/RE since 2 years ago, and I managed to achieve my personal target of 100k of net worth before turning 26 just a couple of weeks ago.

My method is mainly:
1. Have a monthly budget on how much to spend for bills, food, groceries, etc.
2. Invest about 1/3 of my income to either ASB, TH.

Since I have achieved my personal milestones, I am thinking to step up my game to increase my net worth in a higher rate by creating additional income stream and/or investing in the stock market. I am getting married at the end of next year and probably wouldn't be able to save/invest much for a period of time afterwards.

I've been investing in the stock market a little bit since last year but couldn't really have a consistent return, I need to learn more. Anyway, do you guys have some ideas on a simple additional income stream or investment ideas that I could look into?

Thanks! Keep the FI/RE lit.
thumbup.gif great to know that....
btw,...don't forget to spend some time to smell the flowers during your journey to FIRE.
at times, there are many things one may have missed during the course of reaching the FIRE goal....and those things may not be available anymore when FIRE... brows.gif

SUSyklooi
post Feb 13 2019, 01:50 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(BooYa @ Feb 13 2019, 01:22 AM)
Sorry guys, think I missed out some words. The correct question should be

(example SAVING rm100k nett monthly) means nett saving after all the expenses deduction
if ".....they would rather spend more time increasing their active to the next level?"....then it may not FIRE.....
for they maybe financial independent but no able to retire early......

bcos they will keep working/looking for ways to increase their "good" to haves.....
and these actions/activities may have prevented them from being able to retire early

RE is retire early.....

try to figure this out......think as,
what is the minimum amount of money does one need to achieves his/her dreams?
not
what is the amount of money does one need to achieves his/her dreams?

bcos I think the 2nd question got no limits, unless one really knows what he/she really dreamed about what he/she really wanted.

well, unless they have a large pool of money, which they can retire and spend that money on their retirement dreams and at the same time their retirement dreams consisted of activities of making more money with another pool of money that they have set up specifically just for that purpose.... thumbsup.gif
like some retail stock pundits in the securities office during trading days....
some are already retired and wealthy, they just spend their time there for the "environment"

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 13 2019, 02:28 AM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 10 2019, 09:59 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(driedfish @ Apr 10 2019, 09:56 AM)
so you want your wife pay and you fire?
while waiting for his answer,.....
i for one would like that to be, but too bad my spouse is not Ivanka
SUSyklooi
post Apr 10 2019, 10:04 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(driedfish @ Apr 10 2019, 10:00 AM)
if so what to do at home?

now i am on vss, too blardy boring
i would lurk around lyn and doing some of the things as suggested in here....
https://www.google.com/search?q=what+to+do+...chrome&ie=UTF-8
SUSyklooi
post Apr 13 2019, 07:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cherries @ Apr 13 2019, 06:40 PM)
Wow, so young already retired. Just wonder how much passive income can make u retired?
while waiting for his responses,.....
I had a different view on your question.....my would be...
"Wow, so young already retired. Just wonder how much minimum passive income can make u retired?
SUSyklooi
post Jul 26 2019, 08:33 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 26 2019, 05:10 AM)
Lifestyle costs for me is very important esp when you are only relying on passive income to live on. If we can lower our lifestyle costs, we can achieve Financial Independence at a much earlier age. Also, once you are used to an expensive lifestyle, it is very difficult to go back to a cheaper lifestyle. So the most important lesson in life is being frugal and thrifty - once you can achieve this, your FIRE aspirations will appear a lot sooner.
thumbup.gif
now R and E earlier by 3 yrs from plan
now are in the process of trying to reduce 10% off from the expenses of my household need to have needs so that they are in synn with my passive income.
and hopefully the expenses of my household good to have needs will be able to be continuously generated from my investment income.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 26 2019, 09:22 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 26 2019, 05:48 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jul 26 2019, 03:32 PM)
For those who RE what is your daily schedule like? How do you guys keep sharp mentally?
not sure about others....but as for me, still new in R, just entered 70 days to date.
currently trying to do things that I had been wanting to do since decades ago.....
2 things came into my mind
keeping myself fitter, by trying to reduce my decades old beer tummy.
had managed to reduce the 1 inch....hope to be able to reduce to desired level by end of the year.
then will try to learn Thai language. Had books, CDs, VCDs and etc since 15 yrs ago...just hope that i could convince myself to start next year. blush.gif

wish to know answers on your question from other veterans too. notworthy.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jul 26 2019, 10:56 PM

8,188 posts

I had them in property and some in UT & SSPN blush.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2019, 04:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(55665566 @ Aug 14 2019, 03:48 PM)
found out most of the examples presented here are from working overseas and coming back to Malaysia to retire. Guess retirement by base in Malaysia seems impossible?
hmm.gif I guess one must first know what is the MINMAL amount he/she needs to retire.
each individual need are not the same, as can be read from some examples posted......some needs to have FEW millions to feel that they will need to have a retirement.

what is your minimal amount need?

SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2019, 05:10 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 14 2019, 05:04 PM)
Problem is things are so unpredictable today,... yo may say you needed only so-much and so-much to retire,.. but when the time comes, and when the environment changes due to,.. say sudden surge of inflation, etc,... your calculations will be thrown out of whack...

Hence,... it is always safer to have more to retire with,...
Then, I guess, it will never be a good time to retire, for the unpredictable will also be there no matter how much one have?
diversified investment may crash, family member got kidnapped, siblings gambled away his savings needed your financial helps, business failed, etc, etc...

SUSyklooi
post Aug 14 2019, 05:27 PM

8,188 posts

Just how many % of our past n current retired population has more than A million myr in their bank to live for retirement?

0.0261sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:33 AM