FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

rapple
post Jul 4 2018, 01:05 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 4 2018, 12:39 PM)
Exactly!
You know, you don't need to reply individually every single post. You can multi quote.

I don't see myself retiring unless I'm force to retired.

My aim is to quit my job and work on my freelance.

For now my job salary ratio to my freelance income is 1 : 0.75, my aim is to reach 1 : 3 before i can really commit quitting my work.

Still long way to go.

rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 09:58 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Sometimes I found it funny, property investor took the latest value of the property price and then valued that property at that price, just to make their own net worth higher.

It's like people who keep stocks but valued their stock at selling price instead of the cost price.

Sorry, it looks unrealistic. There's no actual gain but a number for boasting only.

This post has been edited by rapple: Jul 17 2018, 09:58 AM
rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 12:19 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Jul 17 2018, 10:57 AM)
that's very impressive, mind sharing what you do as a freelance?
Accounting.

Very tedious work.

A few Sdn Bhd clients vouchers and invoices filing makes me wanna puke..

rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 01:37 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 17 2018, 12:49 PM)
I find your thinking funny. If net worth is not valued at market price, then at what price? Cost price? Lol. Guess Warren Buffett is just a millionaire.
I wouldn't valued my properties at market price.

When you valued your property at market price, then the return from your rental income will drop unless he can raised the rental as he wish. He claims his average rental yield at 6%. Is the 6% yield on his property is based on market price or cost price?

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 17 2018, 12:56 PM)
But your accounting freelance is basically trading your extra time for money no? Your time is 24 hours a day only. So there's some sorta limit (aka not so scale-able), unless your increase your earning per hour rates. How practical is it to achieve 1:3 day job to freelance income ratio?

Take it with a pinch of salt, but from my observation....accountants or whoever working in the finance department can climb up quite obviously. The CFO from my last MNC company climbed his way through from a normal exec from the Big 4. I noticed the same trend for those working in the accounts department in each of my previous employment. The key difference is, the one that tends to climb up very quickly exhibits very obvious leadership characteristics on top of being good at their work.

What I'm suggesting is, increasing your daytime job income via self-improvement should be the better path instead of increasing freelance income as the opportunity is much better no? If you suck at your daytime job, chances of you suck at your freelance is kinda likely too no? Both daytime job & freelance is basically trading your time for income.

IMO, the function of freelance is to gain extra pocket money or something to keep your mind active when you retire at 60.
A small Company where I work, I only have 1 account to work on. I will let you guess, how much time I need to finish one month of accounting work?

Company that has less than 1m revenue per year and requires monthly accounts, I can charge at least 300 per month. My time cost is probably less than 3 hours/month.

Now, you know my average fees / hour, do you still think 1:3 ratio is not achievable given the time i have at work and after work.

Edit: The only thing I need more, is the connections. As accounting work is all confidential, I can't go sell my service because I'm unknown to them. Most of my clients is recommended by friends or clients.

This post has been edited by rapple: Jul 17 2018, 01:51 PM
rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 02:39 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 17 2018, 02:07 PM)
Calculation of net worth should be at market price, whether we are talking about property or stocks. If you personally want to value at cost price, of course you can, but  u can't say u feel funny because others value at market price. Those who value their net worth at market price are free to apply a 10% or more discount to whatever net worth to derive their own conservative net worth. I personally will value stocks at market price and properties at average of last few transacted price. I dun apply discounts to this figure .

For both stock and properties , there are market yields and yield on cost depending on what base u choose for your denominator. In any case , yields have no relevance in the calculation of net worth. Net worth is new worth. Yield on net worth is another thing.
You are right that yield will not shown in any net worth statement but it still comes from the properties.

How can you valued your properties at market price and have your yield based on the cost price. Isn't this misleading on the yield?

Are you going to calculate your dividends received against the current stock market value also?

rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 03:09 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 17 2018, 03:04 PM)
Yes,
Stock, reit also the same, and should be judged based on its current yield based on current price.

eg.
Bought a stock at 1.00, now is 2.00, it gives dividend 10 cents pa.
It should be viewed as 5% yield, instead 10%.

And decision to sell or buy from now on, should be based on the 5%, as it is the real yield.

As if the share price goes up to 4.00, and still gives 10 cents pa.
One may consider to sell it, as it no longer a good yielding stock, as it is only 2.5% yield, no longer a 10% yield (syiok sendiri approach)
Sell at 4.00, put in FD 4%, you get 16 cents, instead of 10 cents dividend. So FD yield is better than stock yield already.

But if one uses 10% (syiok sendiri) approach, it is masking the real situation.
A so called 10% yield return (10 cents) worst than 4% FD (16 cents)
hmm.gif Really something that I've never think about.

I guess I have done too much DCA to lower cost instead of thinking of actual worth.
rapple
post Jul 17 2018, 04:25 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 17 2018, 03:29 PM)
RM300 per 3 hours, assuming you spend 3 hours each working day, that’s RM6k per month assuming you have roughly 20 clients. RM9k per month assuming you work 30 days for 30 different clients, right?

If you climb up the ladder, you could earn more than your freelance & network with higher profile people. The higher you go up, the higher level people you get to meet. Attend annual budget seminar = meet more high leveled people from your industry. Manage a whole department = network with other head of departments & more.

That’s why I was throwing some food for thoughts for you to reconsider growing your day job income instead of being too focused on your freelance. But don’t get me wrong, doing freelance is great too. Just that depending on what you’re planning to achieve at the end of your career, balance out between day job & freelance. 
The amazing wonders of having a more open mind; you’ll learn really fast from various different perspectives.
Honestly, what can i ask more when my boss gives me tons of free time with a good pay and I'm the only person in the office.

Corporate life is tough and I'm not really keen on it.

I have met different sets of people with different businesses background through my freelance work.

Then I'm also actually lucky that my wife boss (A Company Sec.) will introduce clients to me for accounting work and my friend who runs an auditing firm.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 17 2018, 03:38 PM)
Freelance is a good step ladder to become own boss.
Many become own boss through this way as well.

While too focus on freelance job may jeopardize one job career path (climb up the ladder within the company as employed)

No right or wrong in between, it is personal choice, as sometimes, climbing up the ladder involves a lot of office politics as well.
A lot of time, not the best or better person get promoted. I guess many get what I mean.

Not mean to encourage or discourage which way one should go.

Yes, an open mind indeed is essential in learning path in any financial planning/career.
Income will reach till a point where it won't increase anymore due to my non-flexible time and that's when I'll have to make a decision to commit to a full time freelancer or just be grateful for what I have at that time.

rapple
post Jul 18 2018, 08:52 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 17 2018, 05:15 PM)
Yes it's a great stepping stone indeed. Agree with you, the key is to find the balance between both that can help achieve their personal long term plan; whether to become a highly positioned person in the corporate world before retiring into a freelancer or to leave corporate world earlier & build own accounting firm. 
Seems like the opportunity presented at you now is gearing you towards existing corporate life earlier to pursue your own accounting firm  thumbup.gif
Opportunity comes & goes, capitalize on it while the window is still open.

Have you met or do you have client from the retail world?
When one window closes, another opens. I believe there's always opportunity around us, we just need to meet with the right people and a right timing.

Yes, I do have a few clients who is running retail businesses. They are running the business under sole-proprietorship, so their account is quite simple and lesser things to do compare to a Sdn Bhd. They don't use any invoicing software so the filing work it's just a nightmare.

Keeping track of cost for a retailer who sells lots of products, it'a challenge. I've thought about it, I think the best system should be those bar code system that supermarket uses but for a small SME to invest into those software it's a big investment. If you could code every single of them and then trace back using excel, I think it should do the trick.

rapple
post Jul 18 2018, 12:15 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 18 2018, 11:42 AM)
Don't use invoicing software? You're referring to softwares like Autocount, MYOB, Peachtree or cloud ones like Financio, Biztory & QuickBooks? Then each & every sale will have an physical invoice generated? Only half of my sales have invoices i.e. sale to other businesses (B2B). While my B2C sales don't have any physical invoices. So ideally even my B2C should have an invoice too for my own recording & filing?

Yes I am facing a huge problem tracking my cost, especially to determine my COGS. My COGS fluctuates so regularly to the point that in my inventory, even for the same identical product, they has different COGS because they're bought at different periods. Is there any method to solve this challenge with MS Excel? Barcoding may solve this issue because each item details can be captured & tracked. But woah, the software alone will cost several thousand, the printer will cost several hundred & the stickers will cost few hundreds too. Then not to mention the labor cost to stick the barcode on all the products during inbound phase  rclxub.gif
Yes, no software at all. That's why filing those invoices back to sequence it's a nightmare. All books invoice starts with different numbering and to keep cost low they just purchase those cash book from stationary shops. puke.gif

For B2C you could just sum them up once a month and generate an invoice for your own keeping.

Use those colorful stickers that you can find on stationary shops. Not sure what those are called.

Then stick it on every single one of your products:-

Product A purchase on 23/01/2018 cost 60 - Code as A230120180060
Product B purchase on 23/01/2018 cost 70 - Code as B230120180070

When you sell, just key in the code then excel should be able to sort or show the things you need.

Any good stock control need time to implement and a trustworthy staff to manage it without that, the best software also can't help it.

I do have a excel template cater for this due to client requested a control and also me to do stock check mad.gif ranting.gif

Not sure if it will help you, but if you need the template I can send it to you.

rapple
post Jul 18 2018, 12:59 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 18 2018, 12:34 PM)
Ho mai gaddd.....that's basically a manual barcode method aka stone age barcoding  lol.gif
Only viable for those al-cheapo misers lol, this method will make accountant smile but retailer puke  puke.gif  Looks like for this issue, somebody have to puke - either the accountant or the retailer lol.gif
el-cheapo thumbup.gif "a cents to them it's as big as a tractor wheel"

Even though it's a very traditional way of doing it but it does serve it purpose.

1 of my client also uses stock cards, and they are a big group of companies.

They are super rich but they are always the last to go home from their office. notworthy.gif
rapple
post Jul 18 2018, 03:16 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Jul 18 2018, 02:01 PM)
Ok, I'll put more thoughts into it & see if can innovate something from there or not  flex.gif
If you're not a flipper, then find those places that you foresee people would prefer to rent than to buy. Then the rental market will increase & hopefully exceed the monthly installment. Yes it's mainly the market forces in action.
Hang on, I'm lost half way there cause I suck at accounting - need more layman terms lol.gif
Basically when I buy, I add in the actual cost incurred value into the inventory?
But when I sell, i minus off an average cost instead? If that's the case, the figures won't tally no even when I sell off the whole inventory? Cause a variable cost is added in while a fixed cost is minus-ed out.

Average cost would be easier to do.

FIFO gives a more accurate profit margin.

rapple
post Dec 20 2018, 10:43 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(tippman @ Dec 19 2018, 07:20 PM)
Can you enlighten us how does travelling can help a person accumulate income faster? How does a person can out do others in an interview by knowing other countries culture? May be applying as tour guide?

If you can spend few weeks in one country in one country that mean you are definitely don’t have any commitment to worry about.
As stated on his signature, GE Financial Planner and surely he's a successful one.

Probably hundreds of clients "investing monthly" in ILP GE and reaching yearly targets for free overseas trips.

What's there to worry about when most customer don't bother to read their policy. Just buy & forget.

Edit: I understand why people travel overseas to play golf but travelling overseas to justified the next promotion/increment seems odd.

This post has been edited by rapple: Dec 20 2018, 10:46 AM
rapple
post Sep 12 2019, 05:06 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(valerie.wen @ Sep 12 2019, 04:38 PM)
Because the rat race is MORE stressful than that.
Do what you love to do and you won't feel you are in any race.

Luckily for me that my work&business is stress free & no traffic jam in Ipoh but not as convenient as in KL and all the lifestyle/happenings can be had there.

Financial independent is easy to achieve when single but with 2 kids, probably after they finish their studies unsure.gif
rapple
post Nov 23 2019, 12:45 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Retiring early is on my mind when I just started work but after working for others for almost 14 years, I realized that retiring is not what I want. I dont mind working but I want my time to be flexible.

Decided to start my Company recently with existing 100k+ revenue per year. Once revenue double up and hired 2 staff than my mini wealth will be in full flow.

Client, staff or money will come and go but the business will always be there.

rapple
post Nov 23 2019, 02:16 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2019, 11:30 AM)
I like your spirit, bro,... what business are you in pls ?
Audit tax and account services

rapple
post Dec 5 2019, 12:48 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Dec 5 2019, 08:45 AM)
I have seen some of my my older friends retire relatively early. One at 42 and another 40. Then there is my own parents who retired at 60 and 55. From my observation my Dad was happy to retire. Most of the days he just woke up at 5am, go for roti canai or wantan mee, read all the newspapers until 10am. Then have his 2nd breakfast and then wash his 2 cars. After a late lunch he would bug my mum or brothers with incessant questioning until around 7pm. Light dinner then bed at 9pm. The next day the same. Occasional trips (5 times per year). He passed away  almost 4 years ago.

My mom retired at 60. Regretted it and went back to part time work a year later. Did part time for another 5 years. She is 78 now and is very active. Goes from her kids house to house visiting grandchildren. Travels every month, gardening  groups, walking groups etc. She still complaina she is bored.

Friend who retired at 40. Very active in church so now works at the church like a regular employee but no pay

Friend 42 helps with the kids at home coz wife wants to work. Tells me that its worse than working. LOL

So from everything I have observed...I am gonna continue working at least part time .
Taking care of kids is indeed more tiring than work.

I say previously in this thread I dont mind working and since it's my own firm so my time is more flexible and can work anywhere I want.

My goal is to create wealth which is equivalent to my business.
rapple
post Jun 14 2020, 09:52 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 14 2020, 09:23 AM)
I didn’t mean to dig up an old discussion, but in the interests of FairPlay and to show that there was no malicious intent in my initial declaration, I’ve included a snapshot of my latest (painful) tax returns for your perusal.
[attachmentid=10515501]

Hopefully this further clarifies and removes any co fusion or misunderstanding on my original post.
Trying to prove just make it more dubious on what you really say you have. But if you really want prove it then prove it with your payment to the IRB since you have no problem sharing something so personal here.

Given some of your /k replies I really wonder is it the same person.

rapple
post Jun 20 2020, 12:31 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Says a doctor who can earn thousand dollar an hour.

Anyone who has the ability to do the above, will have no problem settling any debt since money will never be an issue.

rapple
post Jun 20 2020, 01:10 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jun 20 2020, 12:34 PM)
cry.gif  blush.gif  He is blessed,
can't deny, but is mindset is good to follow..

Rich guys can splurge on big mansions, sports car, yatch, penthouses, fine dining, private planes.
But he is spending what is nessasry to bring the optimum "joy" and satisfaction to live comfortably and not in excess.
Save and prepare for future.  blush.gif  blush.gif
I have no disrespect and I understand everything he had now is all passion and hardwork.

I'm saying with that capability of income per hour it's not a difficult decision to make whether to invest or to pay off loans.

Most would just pay off loans and invest later on.

He can make a million in maybe less than a year time.

How many can do the same?

What is necessary is subjective..

rapple
post Jun 29 2020, 11:06 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jun 24 2020, 09:51 AM)
Alright thanks, I get it. It's YOUR OWN interpretation.

By the way, what do you call someone who has enough money that he never has to work again, but is not retired? You can't call him RE  smile.gif
He is Wealthy.

0.1121sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:17 AM