> Military Thread V26

KLthinker91
post May 22 2019, 07:20 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 22 2019, 05:30 AM)
No. I am talking about the 2 large USVs carried by the MRCV. The MRCC can carry more depending on its final capacity.

Haha  Care to show me even phalanx engaging an artillery shell? Yes, it can be used against the USV. But thats difficult to detect when said USV is launching missiles 10 to 30 km away. In the context of our region, you may not be able to distinguish them or see them amongst the clutter of maritime shipping..rcs smaller than a sampan.

I do know not how you can equate a 57mm shell with a atgm even if the atgm even as you say it will punch holes snd thats it...id like to see the size of tbat hole esp when it can tear apart smaller ships e.g. fast attack crafts.

Sure naval ships have damage mitigation measures . But how many ships can carry on the fight with that kind of damage to its super-structure? Id said this numerous times in my preceding posts. You only need a mission kill.

Im pretty sure say..a Lekui class will limp back to port with that kind of hit. Kedah? Not a chance..It will sink or scuttle anything else.

Modern atgms can in fact be configured to selectively hit specific parts of the ship..optical guided. How it is linked to onboard USV systems and the nnothership..im not privy/sure.
I made a mistake; a 57mm shell is comparable to an ATGM in terms of explosive weight, but I'm revising that thought as that might be more applicable to smaller ATGMs like 1st-gen Metis.

The Spike NLOS might be more comparable with a 76mm shell or a Hellfire missile. Still, although Hellfires can destroy small boats it still doesn't kill ships.

Phalanx is used on land to shoot down mortar bombs, artillery shells, and large rockets. A large artillery shell is about the size of a Spike missile body not counting the fins, so it would probably be engageable by Phalanx. I'd guess that RAM could do it too, because the fins are quite a large target.

INS Hanit survived a hit from a real antiship missile, a C-802, and managed to return to port. It's about the size of a Kedah class.

A good hit might cause some fatalities, maybe knock down a radar, but the warhead is so small that it probably won't do much more than that. Again, you're depending mainly on luck.

I dunno, a helicopter-sized UAV might be more useful. It can give better surveillance from the air, and it could carry a larger missile.
TSMKLMS
post May 22 2019, 10:15 AM

Greek navy takes initial reactivated P-3B

17 May, 2019 SOURCE: FlightGlobal.com BY: Dominic Perry London

Greece has received its first revived Lockheed Martin P-3B Orion as part of a “rebirth” of the country’s maritime patrol capability as it brings stored aircraft back to service.

Following work performed by Hellenic Aerospace Industries (HAI), the initial aircraft, described as an “interim” step, was presented to Greece’s navy on 17 May.

An additional four aircraft are scheduled to be modernised under the effort, which includes a mid-life upgrade to extend the service life of the turboprop type by 15,000h and the installation of new mission equipment.

Link to news: Greek navy takes initial reactivated P-3B

Boeing kicks off design work for EA-18G upgrade

09 May, 2019 SOURCE: FlightGlobal.com BY: Garrett Reim Washington DC

Boeing has started design work to upgrade the US Navy’s (USN) fleet of EA-18G Growler electronic warfare aircraft.

The upgraded aircraft will be designated Growler Block II and include features already on the F/A-18E/F Super Hornet, such as the advanced cockpit system and conformal fuel tanks. It will include improved sensors and an upgraded electronic attack package.

In particular, the Growler Block II would have the computer power necessary to manage Loyal Wingman unmanned air vehicles (UAVs) that are being considered by the US Department of Defense as a means to cheaply expand US military’s fleet of combat aircraft.

Link to news: Boeing kicks off design work for EA-18G upgrade
azriel
post May 22 2019, 01:22 PM

Mat Sabu warns against speculating on Mindef helicopter purchase

May 20th, 2019 (Updated May 20th, 2019)

Defence Minister Mohamad Sabu has warned against speculating on matters affecting his ministry, such as the purchase of helicopters.

Mohamad said in a statement today that such speculation could hamper ongoing probes by the Governance, Procurement and Finance Investigating Committee (JKSTUPKK).

"As with the JKSTUPKK findings on the ‘land swap’ issue that came before, the Defence Ministry will table the matter in the cabinet before lodging a report to authorities such as the MACC and police for further action.

"Therefore, unrelated parties should not speculate on any issue investigated by the JKSTUPKK such as the purchase of helicopters, because this would affect the investigation process," he said.

Earlier today, Free Malaysia Today reported that military helicopters worth RM300 million purchased during the previous BN-led administration have yet to be delivered to the armed forces.

The report quoted unnamed sources who claimed that financial irregularities had also been found in the deal to purchase six MD530G ‘Little Bird’ light attack helicopters from US aerospace company MD Helicopters (formerly McDonnell Douglas Helicopter Systems). 

https://m.malaysiakini.com/news/476828

azriel
post May 22 2019, 06:12 PM

RMAF chief rubbishes report on procurement package for 30 jets

By Adrian David - May 22, 2019 @ 7:56am

KUALA LUMPUR: “IT is a ridiculous figure!” That was the first reaction from the Royal Malaysian Air Force’s (RMAF) top general when asked about the purported RM36 billion procurement package for 30 light combat jets.

Calling it far-fetched, RMAF chief General Tan Sri Affendi Buang denied a foreign media report that the air force would conclude the deal by year-end.

He said there was no such plan to conclude negotiations on the light combat jets by such a time frame.

The New Straits Times learnt the Defence Ministry was looking at a procurement package of possibly up to only RM7 billion, in view of economic constraints.

Affendi said RMAF, via the ministry, was studying the options offered by manufacturers.

“We need adequate time to carry out a detailed study and come up with a comprehensive package before deciding on which type of aircraft we are interested in.

“As the end-user, it is pertinent to make purchases that suit our planning, specifications, training and operational needs,” he told NST.

He added that this was part of RMAF’s Capability Development 2055 (CAP 55) transformation plan on new procurement, enhancement and upgrading of assets.

“CAP 55’s focus is to ensure that RMAF stays relevant by shaping its war-fighting capability to ensure threats are deterred and contained.

“It takes into account the type of system platforms RMAF should possess by the year 2055.”

Read more: https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2019/05/...package-30-jets

This post has been edited by azriel: May 22 2019, 06:13 PM
Mai189
post May 22 2019, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 22 2019, 07:20 AM)
I made a mistake; a 57mm shell is comparable to an ATGM in terms of explosive weight, but I'm revising that thought as that might be more applicable to smaller ATGMs like 1st-gen Metis.

The Spike NLOS might be more comparable with a 76mm shell or a Hellfire missile. Still, although Hellfires can destroy small boats it still doesn't kill ships.

Phalanx is used on land to shoot down mortar bombs, artillery shells, and large rockets. A large artillery shell is about the size of a Spike missile body not counting the fins, so it would probably be engageable by Phalanx. I'd guess that RAM could do it too, because the fins are quite a large target.

INS Hanit survived a hit from a real antiship missile, a C-802, and managed to return to port. It's about the size of a Kedah class.

A good hit might cause some fatalities, maybe knock down a radar, but the warhead is so small that it probably won't do much more than that. Again, you're depending mainly on luck.

I dunno, a helicopter-sized UAV might be more useful. It can give better surveillance from the air, and it could carry a larger missile.
Excellent example. The INS Hanit survived given where the warhead landed. The ensuing fires crippled the propulsion system on board the ship, etc. Did not I not prove my point? I said that all that is needed is a mission kill. The INS Hanit has to go back to port and not continue fighting. In a real war scenario, it becomes a sitting duck and unable to fulfil whatever mission that was given to it.

I'm also of the view that a warhead of an anti-tank missile is probably more penetrative.

Here is a real case study of how a Kornet ATGM completely destroyed a 26m naval/coast guard vessel. How does a gaping 26-30m firey inferno looks for a naval ship? Still can fight? It may well sink a Kedah or Lekiu class ship. How about 2 ATGMS? How about 4 ATGMS?

http://www.navyrecognition.com/index.php/n...ornet-atgm.html
KLthinker91
post May 22 2019, 08:40 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 22 2019, 08:12 PM)
Excellent example. The INS Hanit survived given where the warhead landed. The ensuing fires crippled the propulsion system on board the ship, etc. Did not I not prove my point? I said that all that is needed is a mission kill. The INS Hanit has to go back to port and not continue fighting. In a real war scenario, it becomes a sitting duck and unable to fulfil whatever mission that was given to it.

I'm also of the view that a warhead of an anti-tank missile is probably more penetrative.

Here is a real case study of how a Kornet ATGM completely destroyed a 26m naval/coast guard vessel. How does a gaping 26-30m firey inferno looks for a naval ship? Still can fight? It may well sink a Kedah or Lekiu class ship. How about 2 ATGMS? How about 4 ATGMS?

The difference is that the missile which hit Hanit was about 20 times larger than an ATGM. 3 times faster as well which affects interception and hit probability and kinetic energy.

And a Kedah class OPV is about 3 times longer than a boat of that size, taller too, again affecting the chance of hitting something. Vulnerable systems are more spread out and it has more damage control capability.

Sure you MIGHT be able to hit something if you're very very lucky. And then again, you might not.

Compare this against say an armed helicopter or couple of armed UAVs which could carry more powerful and longer ranged missiles, see further and be more versatile in capability?

End of the day, are two remote speedboats which carry ATGMs worth the exchange for, eg, an S-70 Seahawk like the Formidables carry?

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: May 22 2019, 08:51 PM
LTZ
post May 22 2019, 08:45 PM

36 posts

Today got 50 Thai Navy cadets came to my place... I was tasked to deliver a brief to them about Malaysia subs... u know what, being cadets are always cadets.... I just finished my corporate video & half of them already slept. And I was surprised also, they spend 8 years of training before commissioning as officers.
Mai189
post May 22 2019, 08:57 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 22 2019, 08:40 PM)
The difference is that the missile which hit Hanit was about 20 times larger than an ATGM. 3 times faster as well which affects interception and hit probability and kinetic energy.

And a Kedah class OPV is about 3 times bigger than a boat of that size.

Sure you MIGHT be able to hit something if you're very very lucky. And then again, you might not.

Compare this against say an armed helicopter or couple of armed UAVs which could carry more powerful and longer ranged missiles, see further and be more versatile in capability?

End of the day, are two remote speedboats which carry ATGMs worth the exchange for, eg, an S-70 Seahawk like the Formidables carry?
So what if the kedah class is 3 times larger? Can it continue the fight with that kind of blast? I do not knoe how many times i need to iterate this - the objective is to achive a mission kill. If the kedah sinks, it is an added bonus.

And why wont hard to detect 2 USVs not worth an exchange with a large ship? They are supposrd to shoot and scoot! An S-70 may have an higher larger rcs let alone the possible loss of lives. And why cant an S-70 not work with the USVs to take out a target? I know this may seem distant in RMN but many navies in the world are networked for a fight.
zacky chan
post May 22 2019, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(LTZ @ May 22 2019, 08:45 PM)
Today got 50 Thai Navy cadets came to my place... I was tasked to deliver a brief to them about Malaysia subs... u know what, being cadets are always cadets.... I just finished my corporate video & half of them already slept. And I was surprised also, they spend 8 years of training before commissioning as officers.
they tired maybe...come a long way from tomyam land... laugh.gif

their will get next sub from china right??so they visit here only or will try some of our sub training?
LTZ
post May 22 2019, 09:33 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ May 22 2019, 09:31 PM)
they tired maybe...come a long way from tomyam land...  laugh.gif

their will get next sub from china right??so they visit here only or will try some of our sub training?
Its just cadet SEA tour.... being a cadet, just like me before.... even during push up or standing also can sleep
atreyuangel
post May 22 2019, 11:26 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ May 22 2019, 08:45 PM)
apa lagi side roll, front roll sama back roll bejemaah laa
KLthinker91
post May 22 2019, 11:37 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 22 2019, 08:57 PM)
So what if the kedah class is 3 times larger?
Vulnerable areas are more spread out, the ship might be less structurally affected, damage control capability would be much higher. So you might be able to hit something if you're very very lucky. And then again, you might not. You might damage something critical beyond repair, and then again, you might not.

Can it continue the fight with that kind of blast?
It might, because as I say again, the blast from an ATGM is quite small. There's a good reason why you don't see antiship missiles of this size other than the LCS's Hellfire.

I do not knoe how many times i need to iterate this - the objective is to achive a mission kill. If the kedah sinks, it is an added bonus.

Better to achieve a total kill than settle for a mission kill.

And why wont hard to detect 2 USVs not worth an exchange with a large ship?
Read properly, I'm talking about bringing 2 USVs to the fight versus bringing a helicopter.

An S-70 may have an higher larger rcs let alone the possible loss of lives.

However an S-70 is more capable, can accomplish many other missions such as ASW and transport and aerial surveillance, isn't potentially affected by jamming, has much more range, and can carry much larger missiles or torpedoes to achieve a total kill.

And why cant an S-70 not work with the USVs to take out a target? I know this may seem distant in RMN but many navies in the world are networked for a fight.
Because the Vanguard 130 only has room for a helicopter hanger OR a USV hangar, it can't carry both.
LTZ
post May 23 2019, 12:31 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ May 22 2019, 11:26 PM)
apa lagi side roll, front roll sama back roll bejemaah laa
Geng2 tomoi tu
atreyuangel
post May 23 2019, 01:44 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ May 23 2019, 12:31 AM)
Geng2 tomoi tu
kadet jaa
kita suruh roll deme roll la

pastu lain la cerite kekeke laugh.gif
MilitaryMadness
post May 23 2019, 07:46 AM

1,302 posts

For those concerned, for all it's size the penetration point (i.e the hole) for an ATGM the size of a Hellfire missile is about 20-30mm only.

ATGMs are all about the penetration ability, not the power of the blast itself to destroy its target.

Ironically, in a shaped charge warhead, the majority of the explosive power of the warhead will vent to the rear, with the explosion mostly used only to vaporise and 'push' the shaped charge's copper lining forward and turn it into a jet of superheated plasma. Thus the explosive power of the missile itself will actually only minimally affect the target, with only the plasma jet (probably no more than the size of a pencil) projecting forward, penetrating the metal armor like an overpowered blowtorch cutting through metal.

Also, most of the damage done to the interior of a vehicle penetrated by a shaped charge will come from the 'spalling', the spray of molten armor metal, melted by heat of the superheated plasma jet rather than the penetrating plasma jet itself. The plasma jet itself will dissipate quite rapidly after penetrating the armor.

This post has been edited by MilitaryMadness: May 23 2019, 07:49 AM
Fat & Fluffy
post May 23 2019, 09:18 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ May 23 2019, 09:46 AM)
Also, most of the damage done to the interior of a vehicle penetrated by a shaped charge will come from the 'spalling', the spray of molten armor metal, melted by heat of the superheated plasma jet rather than the penetrating plasma jet itself. The plasma jet itself will dissipate quite rapidly after penetrating the armor.

can pierce dual military hull? against corvette size vessel?
MilitaryMadness
post May 23 2019, 09:45 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 23 2019, 09:18 AM)
can pierce dual military hull? against corvette size vessel?
Of course can penetrate, but probably be a waste though. A shaped charge warhead is good for pinpoint armor penetration, but pretty useless for general demolition duty. That's why Anti-ship missiles use a HE-Frag warhead (usually with an incendiary casing sleeve) for the best results. The small size of a tank's interior causes the small impact of the plasma jet penetrator to do a lot of damage, but warships are large enough to absorb that kind of damage. Most of the damage done on a shaped charge warhead penetration is caused by the spalling of molten armor metal rather than the penetrator itself.

IMO, hitting a warship with a missile with a shaped charge (like an ATGM) will probably cause much, much smaller damage than a similar-sized missile with an HE-Frag warhead. In terms of damage, the impact from a ship's medium-caliber cannon is probably far more damaging to a warship than an ATGM.

Fat & Fluffy
post May 23 2019, 10:10 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ May 23 2019, 11:45 AM)
IMO, hitting a warship with a missile with a shaped charge (like an ATGM) will probably cause much, much smaller damage than a similar-sized missile with an HE-Frag warhead. In terms of damage, the impact from a ship's medium-caliber cannon is probably far more damaging to a warship than an ATGM.
also atgm is sub-sonic right? can be taken down by ciws? or too small signature?
MilitaryMadness
post May 23 2019, 10:34 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 23 2019, 10:10 AM)
also atgm is sub-sonic right? can be taken down by ciws? or too small signature?
Some ATGM are supersonic (I think Hellfire reach 1 mach+) but I think most problematic is most ATGM is either line of sight or at least need to be launched at a relatively short range so that the launcher's targeting laser is unaffected by the earth's curvature. In naval terms, 30 km is considered 'short-range' already and any attacker would already be inside a decent warship's defensive envelope.

MilitaryMadness
post May 23 2019, 03:26 PM

1,302 posts

Damen shipyards launches the first of two Pakistan Navy Corvettes in Galati, Romania

The first of two corvettes on order for the Pakistan Navy (PN) has been launched at the facilities of Dutch shipbuilder Damen in Galati, Romania.

The service announced on its Facebook page that the 2,300-ton vessel, which had been previously described as an offshore patrol vessel (OPV), entered the water on 17 May in a ceremony held at the shipyard in Romania and attended by PN Vice Admiral Abdul Aleem, among others.

The contract for the two vessels was signed in June 2017, with the first corvette expected to enter service by the end of 2019, and the second one set to be delivered by mid-2020, according to the navy.

Vice Adm Aleem was quoted as saying during the ceremony that these platforms "will act as force multipliers in enhancing [the] navy's capability of safeguarding maritime frontiers and will offer more flexibility in the conduct of [the] Pakistan Navy's initiative of independent Regional Maritime Security Patrols in the Indian Ocean Region".

The multirole corvettes have been previously described by the PN as "state-of-the-art vessels" especially suited for anti-surface, anti-air, and maritime security operations.

Each of them features a helicopter pad to facilitate search-and-rescue missions, as well as surveillance and intelligence-gathering operations. No further details were provided about the systems or weapons set to be fitted onto the class.

sos

Clearly OPVs, but still call them Corvettes? Whatever floats your boats la. laugh.gif

139 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0288sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:48 PM