All the USV need to do is do a mission kill...esp w r t to a critical ship system..see what damage a minior collision can do a AB destroyer forcing it to back to port. And we are talking about an anti tank round here.
Military Thread V26
May 20 2019, 10:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
0 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
All the USV need to do is do a mission kill...esp w r t to a critical ship system..see what damage a minior collision can do a AB destroyer forcing it to back to port. And we are talking about an anti tank round here.
May 20 2019, 06:33 PM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Excerpts.
QUOTE To pacify Trump, Indonesia seeks American arms Jakarta is weighing big-ticket US weapons purchases to rebalance trade relations and maintain privileged access to US markets ByJOHN MCBETH, JAKARTA Indonesia is quietly talking to the United States about the purchase of 32 new Lockheed Martin F-16 Viper jets and six C-130J cargo aircraft in what may partly be an effort to remove the country from any possible sanctions as the US-China trade war returns to a boil. Well-placed Washington sources speculate that the Indonesians are seeking to protect their Generalized Scheme of Preferences (GSP) access, as well as to ward off possible US congressional retaliation against friendly countries that have recently purchased Russian military hardware. Indonesia does not appear to be prominent on US President Donald Trump’s radar. But a US$12.6 billion bilateral trade imbalance and a rising trend of protectionism in Washington could change that, despite Indonesia just reporting its largest monthly trade deficit since 2013. QUOTE Although Indonesia already has a squadron of twin-engine Sukhoi Su-27/30 jets, the subsequent lifting of the embargo has seen the delivery in the last two years of 24 refurbished US-made F-16s and eight Boeing AH-64E Apache attack helicopters worth an estimated $1.4 billion. Indonesia’s intended purchases, including the $1.1 billion Su-35 deal, fit with an ambitious air force modernization plan, announced in June 2018, to bring its force level up to eight fighter squadrons and six refreshed transport squadrons by 2024. It currently has six fighter squadrons spread across Java, Sumatra, Kalimantan and Sulawesi, with an inventory that includes 25 F-16C/Ds, 16 Su-27/30s and 24 British Aerospace BAE Hawk 200s. Government sources say the C-130 workhorses are a higher priority than the costly, state-of-the-art Vipers because of the steady depletion of its current 18-strong fleet, invaluable in flying troops and relief supplies to remote parts of the archipelago. Apart from its normal transport role, the Super Hercules C-130 can also be quickly configured for prolonged maritime surveillance duties with belly-mounted radar and roll-on, roll-off sensor stations in place of cargo. The Indonesians have yet to publicly announce their interest in the F-16V, which was first demonstrated at the Singapore Air Show in 2012 and only went into service with Taiwan’s Air Force this year. Developed to inter-operate with Lockheed’s fifth-generation F-35 and F-22 fighters, the latest F-16 variant can be deployed against enemy air defenses and also in air-to-air, air-to-ground and deep interdiction and maritime missions. Full article: https://www.asiatimes.com/2019/05/article/t...-american-arms/ This post has been edited by azriel: May 20 2019, 06:47 PM |
May 20 2019, 07:06 PM
227 posts Joined: Feb 2019 From: Cherasboy |
QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 20 2019, 10:48 AM) All the USV need to do is do a mission kill...esp w r t to a critical ship system..see what damage a minior collision can do a AB destroyer forcing it to back to port. And we are talking about an anti tank round here. Warhead too small to do much, same criticism for the Hellfire missileThe Fitz wasn't hit by a "minor" collision by the way, it was a very serious one Thing about the USV is how far can it really see, being a small surface vessel? And how many can the ship carry? |
May 21 2019, 07:09 AM
QUOTE India Agrees To Acquire Palm Oil, MiG-29 From Malaysia To Secure Tejas Deal by Swarajya Staff May 20 2019, 10:35 am, India is among the five contenders competing for the Royal Malaysian Air Force’s (RMAF) intended purchase of 30 light combat aircraft over the next 10 years. New Delhi has put forth its indigenously developed Tejas fighter jet for the RM (Malaysian Ringgit) 36 billion (~ $8.7 billion) deal. Other aircraft that are on offer are believed to be the F-50 of Korea Aerospace Industries (South Korea), YAK-130 by Irkut Aerospace (Russia), JF-17 Thunder (Pakistan) and Alenia Aermacchi M-346 Master (Italy), reports Free Malaysia Today. According to the report, the political consideration will be the main factor behind Malaysia’s purchase of the aircraft. Despite heavy lobbying from Pakistan, Malaysia is unlikely to buy the JF-17 as the Kuala Lumpur reportedly intends to link the deal to purchases of palm oil. India, which is one of the largest buyer of Malaysian palm oil, could easily meet the country’s demand. Besides, New Delhi, in a bid to boost its chances for the deal, has also offered to buy the retired MiG-29 jets from Malaysia. Read more: https://swarajyamag.com/insta/india-agrees-...cure-tejas-deal This post has been edited by azriel: May 21 2019, 07:09 AM |
May 21 2019, 07:24 AM
11 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(azriel @ May 21 2019, 07:09 AM) RM (Malaysian Ringgit) 36 billion (~ $8.7 billion) deal for 30 light combat aircraft ???? just how expensive is this tejas??it feel funny |
May 21 2019, 07:50 AM
QUOTE(zacky chan @ May 21 2019, 07:24 AM) RM (Malaysian Ringgit) 36 billion (~ $8.7 billion) deal for 30 light combat aircraft ???? Iinm i don't think its the Tejas price offering but budget for Malaysian light combat aircraft deal.just how expensive is this tejas??it feel funny A more detail article by The Strait Times including budget and local agents representing each aircrafts: https://www.pressreader.com/singapore/the-s...281736975912510 This post has been edited by azriel: May 21 2019, 08:01 AM |
May 21 2019, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(azriel @ May 21 2019, 07:50 AM) Iinm i don't think its the Tejas price offering but budget for Malaysian light combat aircraft deal. LCA only???huh..... A more detail article by The Strait Times including budget and local agents representing each aircrafts: https://www.pressreader.com/singapore/the-s...281736975912510 better wait since that is too much i think...i mean,its US 9 billion |
May 21 2019, 10:21 AM
397 posts Joined: Jan 2016 From: Hong Kong |
May 21 2019, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 21 2019, 10:21 AM) huh....i thought gempita priced at RM8 billion f22 even friendly US allied also cant get but for 8.7 billion USD can get F35(34 block 4)+4 MQ-9B SkyGuardian based on Belgium deal with few billion left |
May 21 2019, 03:20 PM
397 posts Joined: Jan 2016 From: Hong Kong |
QUOTE(zacky chan @ May 21 2019, 02:03 PM) huh....i thought gempita priced at RM8 billion check out the per vehicle px vs others within the same categoryf22 even friendly US allied also cant get but for 8.7 billion USD can get F35(34 block 4)+4 MQ-9B SkyGuardian based on Belgium deal with few billion left few bill left? lol... nothing will be left, lame excuse that it is package which includes yada yada yada that's why it is so high... while the middleman laugh all the way to the bank with his Mongolian mistress |
May 21 2019, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ May 21 2019, 03:20 PM) check out the per vehicle px vs others within the same category i talk before about RM (Malaysian Ringgit) 36 billion (~ $8.7 billion) deal for 30 light combat aircraft and you said "hehehe, as expensive as gempita..."...so that is what i replied...the deal about 257 AV8 does not cost 8.7 billion USD iinm...few bill left? lol... nothing will be left, lame excuse that it is package which includes yada yada yada that's why it is so high... while the middleman laugh all the way to the bank with his Mongolian mistress about the cost,better let SPRM and mindef investigate...no matter what we said here,the papers and evidence at them...we can only speculate... |
May 21 2019, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 20 2019, 07:06 PM) Warhead too small to do much, same criticism for the Hellfire missile Why cant a spike or hell fire designed to take out MBTs cause a similar degree of damage? As shared, they do not need to sink a ship but damage it enough so as to kill the mission. Well timed shots at key locations e.g. bridge, sensors, engines etc.can terminate the mission or even leave the ship vulnerable to more attacks.The Fitz wasn't hit by a "minor" collision by the way, it was a very serious one Thing about the USV is how far can it really see, being a small surface vessel? And how many can the ship carry? If spikes and hell fires are already popping attack boats <30m in size, I dont see how such missiles are not a significant threat to naval warships esp.when carried by small and stealthy USVs. Navies already consider rpgs a grave threat. A marine spike nlos can be fired 25-30 km away. To my mind, the future main threat to a naval ship lies not in SSMs but Uav or USV swarms that are hard to detect from far and hard to knock out when close or at least before they shoot their warload at a naval ship. The USVs carried by the MRCV are at least 16 metres (Venus USV) at least with high sea states and much bigger than a littoral USV like the Protector class - at least 4 Spikes. This post has been edited by Mai189: May 21 2019, 08:12 PM |
May 21 2019, 08:11 PM
239 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
QUOTE(azriel @ May 21 2019, 07:50 AM) Iinm i don't think its the Tejas price offering but budget for Malaysian light combat aircraft deal. That is stupid redicilous price for shitty light combat aircraftA more detail article by The Strait Times including budget and local agents representing each aircrafts: https://www.pressreader.com/singapore/the-s...281736975912510 |
May 21 2019, 08:13 PM
239 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
What is this fucked up logic of needing so called middle man
May 21 2019, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(Raddus @ May 21 2019, 08:11 PM) QUOTE Belgium will pay EUR3.8 billion for 34 F-35A block 4 aircraft, two flight simulation centres, equipment and information and communications technology for operational and technical support, and pilot helmets. https://www.janes.com/article/84054/belgium...es-and-male-uas with 4 billion USD,we can get that much F35....then you search MQ-9B SkyGuardian by Belgium which around 600 million USD for 4 male UAV iinm... i think that 8 billion is the accumulation for all 3 main armed force in the KPP which will be shown by the end this year....maybe This post has been edited by zacky chan: May 21 2019, 08:37 PM |
May 21 2019, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(Raddus @ May 21 2019, 08:11 PM) I sincerely hope this is wrongor maybe the 9 billion includes, I dunno, lots of other things Dassault offered this same price to India for 36 Rafales, btw QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 21 2019, 08:09 PM) Why cant a spike or hell fire designed to take out MBTs cause a similar degree of damage? As shared, they do not need to sink a ship but damage it enough so as to kill the mission. Well timed shots at key locations e.g. bridge, sensors, engines etc.can terminate the mission or even leave the ship vulnerable to more attacks. With a warhead that small it would be relying on a lot of luck to hit something important.Something the size of a Kongsberg Penguin would be much more impressive. QUOTE If spikes and hell fires are already popping attack boats <30m in size, I dont see how such missiles are not a significant threat to naval warships esp.when carried by small and stealthy USVs. Navies already consider rpgs a grave threat. A marine spike nlos can be fired 25-30 km away. 30km is quite short in marine ranges. QUOTE To my mind, the future main threat to a naval ship lies not in SSMs but Uav or USV swarms that are hard to detect from far and hard to knock out when close or at least before they shoot their warload at a naval ship. 2 USVs isn't a "swarm"QUOTE The USVs carried by the MRCV are at least 16 metres (Venus USV) at least with high sea states and much bigger than a littoral USV like the Protector class - at least 4 Spikes. A UAV would be more useful for surveillance use.No, I really don't see this as a fantastic step up that can beat a similar-sized frigate equipped with capable AMS such as SeaRAM. |
May 21 2019, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 21 2019, 08:56 PM) I sincerely hope this is wrong How many ships in the region let alone the RMN are equipped with SeaRam? At any rate, I have never read RAM missile shooting down a missile as tiny as an atgm i.e. slightly larger than an artillery shell. Have you?or maybe the 9 billion includes, I dunno, lots of other things Dassault offered this same price to India for 36 Rafales, btw With a warhead that small it would be relying on a lot of luck to hit something important. Something the size of a Kongsberg Penguin would be much more impressive. 30km is quite short in marine ranges. 2 USVs isn't a "swarm" A UAV would be more useful for surveillance use. No, I really don't see this as a fantastic step up that can beat a similar-sized frigate equipped with capable AMS such as SeaRAM. In the first place, it will not be easy to locate a tiny stealthy USV esp. in congested waters amongst bigger ships. Have you even considered what a hole or ensuing damage an atgm can do to a thin hulled naval ship vis a vis a 60 plus ton tank that it will tear apart from within? Even <25 mm cannons can punch holes in the skin of most naval ships. How many naval warship are there in the region that can withstand the pummeling of more than even 1 atgm and still fight? I was referring to a future naval threat in fact even aerial threat in a generic sense when i referenced uav swarm. In fact, what is to stop a country with such tech from doing so since it can be very effective. Singapore, China and the US are pursuing long range persistent USVs that can stay in water for weeks. No. To ignore such assymeteric new threats to naval ships is foolhardy. Having such a capability from USVs is a means to an end but certainly deadly when used in the right context. . |
May 21 2019, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(Mai189 @ May 21 2019, 10:15 PM) How many ships in the region let alone the RMN are equipped with SeaRam? At any rate, I have never read RAM missile shooting down a missile as tiny as an atgm i.e. slightly larger than an artillery shell. Have you? Was thinking more about destroying the USV itself. RAM (at least, the later blocks) is well suited for anti-drone defence. For something that can destroy this size of missile, possibly Phalanx, certainly Oto Melara STRALES can.In the first place, it will not be easy to locate a tiny stealthy USV esp. in congested waters amongst bigger ships. Have you even considered what a hole or ensuing damage an atgm can do to a thin hulled naval ship vis a vis a 60 plus ton tank that it will tear apart from within? Even <25 mm cannons can punch holes in the skin of most naval ships. How many naval warship are there in the region that can withstand the pummeling of more than even 1 atgm and still fight? I was referring to a future naval threat in fact even aerial threat in a generic sense when i referenced uav swarm. In fact, what is to stop a country with such tech from doing so since it can be very effective. Singapore, China and the US are pursuing long range persistent USVs that can stay in water for weeks. No. To ignore such assymeteric new threats to naval ships is foolhardy. Having such a capability from USVs is a means to an end but certainly deadly when used in the right context. . A ship is not a tank. Even with a tank, what ATGMs want to achieve is a relatively small diameter penetration that destroys the equipment and kills the crew inside, also hopefully detonating ammunition. The compact nature of the tank amplifies the effect. A ship is very big, unlike a small and cramped tank, and there's plenty of places an ATGM can hit and not damage anything of serious consequence. So yes most of the time you will be punching holes and that's it. A Spike modded for naval use would almost certainly have a high-explosive frag warhead instead of an armour-piercing one. Even so, it's only equivalent to about a 57mm shell. It might damage some equipment but again, it's the luck of the draw. Ships have taken bigger hits and survived with only some degradation in combat ability. So yeah, a lot of naval warships in the region can withstand an ATGM hit and continue fighting. Well like I said, you are thinking hypothetically of a generic drone swarm whereas I am thinking of the Vanguard 130 and its two USVs. Ultimately I think UAVs would have been more useful. This post has been edited by KLthinker91: May 21 2019, 10:43 PM |
May 22 2019, 05:30 AM
QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ May 21 2019, 10:41 PM) Was thinking more about destroying the USV itself. RAM (at least, the later blocks) is well suited for anti-drone defence. For something that can destroy this size of missile, possibly Phalanx, certainly Oto Melara STRALES can. No. I am talking about the 2 large USVs carried by the MRCV. The MRCC can carry more depending on its final capacity.A ship is not a tank. Even with a tank, what ATGMs want to achieve is a relatively small diameter penetration that destroys the equipment and kills the crew inside, also hopefully detonating ammunition. The compact nature of the tank amplifies the effect. A ship is very big, unlike a small and cramped tank, and there's plenty of places an ATGM can hit and not damage anything of serious consequence. So yes most of the time you will be punching holes and that's it. A Spike modded for naval use would almost certainly have a high-explosive frag warhead instead of an armour-piercing one. Even so, it's only equivalent to about a 57mm shell. It might damage some equipment but again, it's the luck of the draw. Ships have taken bigger hits and survived with only some degradation in combat ability. So yeah, a lot of naval warships in the region can withstand an ATGM hit and continue fighting. Well like I said, you are thinking hypothetically of a generic drone swarm whereas I am thinking of the Vanguard 130 and its two USVs. Ultimately I think UAVs would have been more useful. Haha Care to show me even phalanx engaging an artillery shell? Yes, it can be used against the USV. But thats difficult to detect when said USV is launching missiles 10 to 30 km away. In the context of our region, you may not be able to distinguish them or see them amongst the clutter of maritime shipping..rcs smaller than a sampan. I do know not how you can equate a 57mm shell with a atgm even if the atgm even as you say it will punch holes snd thats it...id like to see the size of tbat hole esp when it can tear apart smaller ships e.g. fast attack crafts. Sure naval ships have damage mitigation measures . But how many ships can carry on the fight with that kind of damage to its super-structure? Id said this numerous times in my preceding posts. You only need a mission kill. Im pretty sure say..a Lekui class will limp back to port with that kind of hit. Kedah? Not a chance..It will sink or scuttle anything else. Modern atgms can in fact be configured to selectively hit specific parts of the ship..optical guided. How it is linked to onboard USV systems and the nnothership..im not privy/sure. |
May 22 2019, 05:52 AM
242 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
May 22 2019, 10:04 AM |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0188sec