124 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Widescreen Thread V2.0, All widescreen discussions here

Phoenixwunin
post May 27 2007, 07:57 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 27 2007, 06:56 PM)
Why not make a bigger jump by going towards 22". I dont see alot of price difference between 20" and 22"..
too big lar 22"... afraid I wouldn't be able to fully utilize my gc to play games later on due to increased resolution... sweat.gif

Eh... wait a minute... 20" and 22" are using the same resolution rite?? Is that mean there is no performance hit in-game between 20" and 22"??
akachester
post May 27 2007, 08:01 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Yes, both of them uses the same native resolution.
Phoenixwunin
post May 27 2007, 08:04 PM

841 posts

akachester
post May 27 2007, 08:07 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 27 2007, 08:04 PM)
So no performance hit lar rite?? Like that better I take 22" lorr... icon_idea.gif

But if that is my choice...guess I'll have to save up a little bit more... sweat.gif RM1000+ is kinda off my budget for now. Only have RM800 in pocket for new LCD.
Thanks for the advice... notworthy.gif
LOL..the 22" Dell LCD is going on promotion now for only RM899. You are off by RM99 for now.Save more..Do check out their website..
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 27 2007, 08:09 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Yea, no diffs in resolution for 20" and 22"..

But for those "picky" ppl, it might annoyed them since 20" and 22" has same resolution, meaning 22" pixels will look "bigger"... meaning not as sharp as 20" due screen size, if u know what i mean.. sweat.gif

Juz my 0.01sen tongue.gif

Cheers blush.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 27 2007, 08:09 PM
Phoenixwunin
post May 27 2007, 08:18 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 27 2007, 08:07 PM)
LOL..the 22" Dell LCD is going on promotion now for only RM899. You are off by RM99 for now.Save more..Do check out their website..
Ahha... I have posted several question regarding the offer here in both Widescreen and LCD thread... but no one answered. So I guess it is either 1) No one knows the answer... 2) The LCD is actually a bad choice tongue.gif

Why dun I ask again here..:

Dell LCD Offer

Based on the website... there are two model that gets my attention:

DELL E207WFP 20" Entry Widescreen - RM799

and,

DELL E228WFP 22" Entry Widescreen - RM899

1. Is this both model a good choice. After wandering in the land of Google a few days... I found out both are TN panels. Unfortunately I know nothing of this TN, I-PVS and whatever panel. Anyone can enlighten me?? Is this a good buy??

2. How to buy online without credit card arr??? sweat.gif Can do online transfer through maybank2u arr?? Anyone did it before??

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ May 27 2007, 08:09 PM)
Yea, no diffs in resolution for 20" and 22"..

But for those "picky" ppl, it might annoyed them since 20" and 22" has same resolution, meaning 22" pixels will look "bigger"... meaning not as sharp as 20" due screen size, if u know what i mean.. sweat.gif

Juz my 0.01sen tongue.gif

Cheers blush.gif
Ahha.. this is definitely the thing I have been wondering too... so 22" isn't as sharp as 20"?? Anyone with 22" LCD wide can clarify this to me?? rclxub.gif
akachester
post May 27 2007, 09:15 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, i just purchased it and arrives last thursday. Too bad its in my hometown or else i could test it for you..(wait, i got no GC to test as well..LOL)..Anyway, comments from my cousin was (yes, we bought 2 together), the LCD is great. Nice vibrant color and a great shock to jump from a 17" CRT. Color might not be as good as those on the Samsung but it is a worthit buy for RM899. And we got a free webcam as well..LOL..

If i were you, and i could afford another RM100, just go and get the 22". I dont think you will regret anyway...
nicholas_1213
post May 27 2007, 09:23 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

Hemm regarding the 22" isn't as sharp as 20".. just imagine like that.. same amount of pixel in 20" and 22", which one will look nicer?

erm.. or imagine like this.. u put the same amount of sand in 2 plates, one is bigger and one is smaller.. for the smaller plate one, the distance between the sand will be closer than the bigger plate one rite? i imagine like that lo.. but not sure whether it's the same story for 20" and 22" with same rev.. tongue.gif

Added on May 27, 2007, 9:25 pmoh.. or maybe the pixel is 'bigger' in 22" and smaller in 20".. so smaller pixel, for the edge it'll look sharper ( since 1 pixel only displace 1 colour).. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nicholas_1213: May 27 2007, 09:25 PM
kingmaker_20
post May 27 2007, 09:40 PM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 27 2007, 08:04 PM)
So no performance hit lar rite?? Like that better I take 22" lorr... icon_idea.gif

But if that is my choice...guess I'll have to save up a little bit more... sweat.gif RM1000+ is kinda off my budget for now. Only have RM800 in pocket for new LCD.
Thanks for the advice... notworthy.gif
Yup,save up more till RM1k ++ and go for 22".Suggest you to get the samsung 226BW. brows.gif
s[H]sIkuA
post May 27 2007, 10:00 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

Acer 22" the cheapest 22" currently =)

nicholas_1213
post May 27 2007, 10:40 PM

1,140 posts

hey, have another noob question.. what is the difference between dynamic contrast and normal contrast? bcos i saw some specification such as samsung 226BW, the contrast ratio is 2000 : 1 (DC), but for those acer LCD such as Acer AL2216W, the contrast is 700:1.
gtoforce
post May 27 2007, 10:43 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

bro
let me correct that
samsung is 3000:1
others are still 700:1 - acer,benq and lg
i dunno what its for but i heard the higher the contrast ratio, the better the colours are...
Phoenixwunin
post May 27 2007, 10:43 PM

841 posts

Hmm hmm.gif

Guys... when will the offer in Dell website ended?? For both 20" and 22"... both are promotional prices right?? When will it end?? Can't seem to find the date on the website sweat.gif
nicholas_1213
post May 27 2007, 10:54 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 27 2007, 10:43 PM)
bro
let me correct that
i dunno what its for but i heard the higher the contrast ratio, the better the colours are...
Oh thanks for the correction... yeah i know that higher contrast ratio produce better colours, but what is the difference between the dynamic contrast with the normal contrast le??
s[H]sIkuA
post May 27 2007, 11:21 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 27 2007, 10:43 PM)
bro
let me correct that
The real contrast for Samsung 226 is 1000:1
The 3000 rating is in Dynamic Contrast , which they actually rate it higher than normal Contrast , example all LG lcd uses Dynamic Contrast to rate like the 20",22" and 24"

From Wiki
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Contrast_ratio
It is also common to market only the dynamic contrast ratio capability of a display (when it is better than its static contrast ratio), which should not be directly compared to the static contrast ratio. A plasma display with a static 5000:1 contrast ratio will show superior contrast to an LCD display with 5000:1 dynamic and 1000:1 static contrast ratio when the input signal contains full range of brightnesses from 0 to 100% simultaneously. However they will be on par when input signal ranges only from 0 to 20% brightness.

HMMaster
post May 27 2007, 11:57 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 27 2007, 08:18 PM)
Ahha... I have posted several question regarding the offer here in both Widescreen and LCD thread... but no one answered. So I guess it is either 1) No one knows the answer... 2) The LCD is actually a bad choice tongue.gif

Why dun I ask again here..:

Dell LCD Offer

Based on the website... there are two model that gets my attention:

DELL E207WFP 20" Entry Widescreen - RM799

and,

DELL E228WFP 22" Entry Widescreen - RM899
1. Is this both model a good choice. After wandering in the land of Google a few days... I found out both are TN panels. Unfortunately I know nothing of this TN, I-PVS and whatever panel. Anyone can enlighten me?? Is this a good buy??

2. How to buy online without credit card arr??? sweat.gif Can do online transfer through maybank2u arr?? Anyone did it before??

1. If you can google for the panel of the lcd, why not just google for the comparison for ips and tn panel?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TFT_LCD#Types
http://www.pchardwarehelp.com/guides/lcd-panel-types.php (easy to understand)

2. iirc, dell accept bank draft (?) they'll come to your home and collect it. better call dell and ask them about it. smile.gif
Phoenixwunin
post May 28 2007, 01:27 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ May 27 2007, 11:57 PM)
1. If you can google for the panel of the lcd, why not just google for the comparison for ips and tn panel?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TFT_LCD#Types
http://www.pchardwarehelp.com/guides/lcd-panel-types.php (easy to understand)

2. iirc, dell accept bank draft (?) they'll come to your home and collect it. better call dell and ask them about it. smile.gif
Ah... thank you a lot for the guide on lcd type. I tried to google but most of the result is forums with lots of people arguing between TN and S-IPS sweat.gif

Well.. for now I'll just take the cheapest I can take (you get what you paid for)..

A friend of mine says that online transfer is possible... I think I'll better call them like you suggest and ask them further bout it... hmm.gif
Polaris
post May 28 2007, 09:03 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

A lot of videos files, dvd included look real crappy on widescreens that's 24 inches because the limited "width x height" is stretched far beyond what it was originally intended for.

So until everything gets encoded in HD, what's a good workaround to make viewing these legacy video files more bearable?
akachester
post May 28 2007, 09:07 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

How to check the panel of the LCD?I have yet to check mine though..

Dell accepts bank draft for sure.Just call up their customer service and check with them..
s[H]sIkuA
post May 28 2007, 09:32 AM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ May 28 2007, 09:03 AM)
A lot of videos files, dvd included look real crappy on widescreens that's 24 inches because the limited "width x height" is stretched far beyond what it was originally intended for.

So until everything gets encoded in HD, what's a good workaround to make viewing these legacy video files more bearable?
View those files in original resolution ?
Lol

124 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:01 AM