12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 02:52 PM)
How is hdr with qn85c?

Have any bad blooming?

Got light leakage?

Dirty screen?
Refer my review below @ post #623

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 15 2023, 07:50 PM)
A quick review / feedback of my 65" QN85C after I've been using it for a week. Decided to do this since the model is the only Neo QLED miniled model to have 65 inch and above unless u decide to go for QN95C. (QN90C only have 43 and 50"). U can skip to bottom if TLDR

Some context, this is my first TV purchase for my new house. Never had any ownership experience with any brands or models before, but did a lot of study and research online and based on that Samsung was not my first choice initially (no Dolby Vision, Tizen OS etc). I've always been a fan of Sony and naturally wanted their TV as well based on mostly good feedback and reviews.

So how did I end up with Samsung? Initially I set my eyes on OLED (LG or Sony), but after careful consideration regarding budget and taking into account my usage, I decided to skip OLED and go for miniLED instead. However when it comes to miniLED the choice is very limited in our market. Long story short I decided the QN85C would be the best compromise when it comes to image quality and features for my budget (wanted QN95B but couldnt find one for my budget range)

Summary of pros and cons. Usage is mostly youtube and netflix

Pros
- Very slim and nice design, especially if you are wall mounting

- Almost complete feature set for a mid-high end TV including  4x 48gbps HDMI 2.1 (no other brands except LG provide this)

- Overall image quality is very good after playing around with the settings. It also gets bright enough during HDR scenes (~1200 nits). There's also very minimal blooming during dark scenes when I set local dimming to High (there's low and standard setting). 720 dimming zones + miniLED really helps. I can probably say there is almost no blooming (OLED like) unless i go and look for it. I use local dimming high for HDR content and local dimming standard for SDR.

- The sound quality from the TV speakers is OK, I would say above average after changing some settings. Definitely good enough for most users. One advantage for Samsung TVs is you get Q Symphony when u pair the TV with one of their good soundbars like Q990B/C which I plan to do in the near future.

Cons
- The Tizen OS. Its not as bad as I would expect actually. Like most complaints are regarding the usability, but I got used to it very fast and the 2023 version have a few improvements like the quick settings menu. Still once a while I get some lag or stuttering while navigating the menu and settings, also the available apps are not as much as Google TV for sure. The biggest issue was on the first day where my wifi would disconnect randomly and refuse to connect back eventhough my wifi is fine, only after i reset the network settings then it would work, but it would still disconnect after a few hours or next day. Googled and found out that its a common Samsung TV issued. Did a fix and now its no longer disconnecting so all good there, but I imagine this would put a lot of people off who just got their new TV.

- No Dolby Vision. I just included this here because it is what it is. But to be honest for me.... I dont think it matters nor you can tell the difference unless you are very used to Dolby Vision content until you can tell the difference or you have another similar range TV for comparison side by side. The image quality itself even without Dolby Vision already looks very good in HDR. Maybe its not accurate but who cares unless you do, then you are probably better off with Sony

- Content upscaling, motion handling may not be as good as Sony. Again I dont have a Sony to compare or owned a Sony before to know, but some 1080p or 720p videos from Youtube look exactly the same (as in you can tell its lower resolution). I'm not sure how well Sony does in this regard.

- Reflection handling is quite bad. This is probably the biggest con for me. My TV is near the sliding door to the balcony, and during day time the reflection is pretty bad especially during dark scenes. Fortunately for HDR it gets bright enough to overcome the reflection but you still can see reflections during dark scenes. If u plan to get this TV, make sure its not near any window or door openings for optimal viewing.

Conclusion I am very satisfied with the TV for the price (got it for 7.5k including wall bracket and installation). There's no better choice for miniLED in this price tbh unless u can find a new QN95B or go for Sony X90L/X90K but those are not miniLED. My heart is still with Sony though biggrin.gif my next TV will most probably be Sony, hopefully can afford their QD OLED or miniLED by that time
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 13 2023, 03:40 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 13 2023, 03:46 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 03:44 PM)
But currently s90C same price as qn85c

Which one will you choose?
I'll go for QN95C maybe. I feel I still prefer miniLED for the time being

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 13 2023, 03:46 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 13 2023, 04:01 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 03:46 PM)
You praise Sony X90L so much why you didn't go for 65" X90L?

I am asking because I plan to get X90L or qn85c

I am skeptical with Sony X90L because it's not mini led
You answered it, its not mini led. Blooming wise it definitely won't win QN85C but for what it is its actually very good. And also support for Dolby Vision but its not a main concern to me since I'm not used to Dolby Vision in the first place

And finally is the pricing. During my time X90L is more expensive than QN85C

I would say they are both still pretty on par when it comes to image quality. Just need to see what you're looking for. X90L 88 dimming zones definitely won't win over the 720 zones of the QN85C no matter how good is the algorithm.

This is obvious when you compare the contrast ratio from the 2 reviews below. QN85C 87391 : 1 vs X90L 42222 : 1. QN85C have more than double the contrast ratio

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/x90l-x90cl

Note that this QN85C review is for ADS panel. Ours is VA panel which in theory should have much higher native contrast
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/qn85c-qn85cd-qled

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 13 2023, 04:15 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 13 2023, 04:26 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 04:19 PM)
Ok I am convinced to get 85" QN85C now. Thanks bro
Survey around if u can find QN95C for similar pricing first
ZeneticX
post Nov 13 2023, 04:33 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 04:29 PM)
I cannot find 85" QN95C.

Did you see any?
Not sure if still available

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.S1rl4

How much is your budget anyway? 85 inch is a must?,
ZeneticX
post Nov 13 2023, 04:46 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 13 2023, 04:44 PM)
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.S1I6O

Same shop buy selling q70c same price as qn95c

Price increase a lot??? 😭😭😭
QN95C had a very huge price drop recently. Apparently Samsung Msia is discontinuing it. So better check with sellers if stock is still available or if its display unit
ZeneticX
post Nov 15 2023, 05:27 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Nov 15 2023, 11:28 AM)
Lazada seller “my home” doesn’t want to honour 65” S90C 6.9k pricing and cancelled my order. mad.gif  sad.gif  ranting.gif
QUOTE(Zhao @ Nov 15 2023, 12:00 PM)
Same here, was called to change my order of rm 6.28k 65qn95c. Changed to 75u7k with small topup though😑
Typical Lazada and Shopee sellers. When no stock unable to fulfil they will just cancel it. Especially if the price is too good

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 15 2023, 05:30 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 16 2023, 07:23 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(cloudeen @ Nov 16 2023, 02:44 PM)
Interesting. I bought the s90c 77" at rm12085. Will check the power on time after i set it up tonight.
follow steps below to check panel display time

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 29 2023, 04:23 PM)
How to access Samsung service menu for those with the latest smart remote. No need use the old remote. (do at your own risk) -

i) Download SmartThings and link your TV to it
ii) Bring up the app remote
iii) Turn on your TV. Make sure the audio output is set to TV speaker, and make sure you're at the Live TV page. (I tried at the Home page and it doesn't work)
iv) On the app remote hit Mute > 1 > 1 > 9 > OK
v) This will bring u to the hospitality menu. Once here hit 1 > 2 > 3 > 4. And this will finally bring u to the service menu

You can check your panel display time from svc - info

Reason I do this because I realised from the SmartThings app it actually shows your panel display time as well, but not sure how accurate is this. After checking the service menu i can confirm the value is the same

ZeneticX
post Nov 17 2023, 05:34 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(cloudeen @ Nov 17 2023, 10:51 AM)
I agree on the OS part, samsung really loses in the UI department. I was shocked yesterday that i need to point the remote at the tv for it to work. Also there is not pointer (i think, may be wrong) like on LG?

Coming from LG CX, the samsung UI really felt decade behind.
to be fair.... the magic remote feature is unique to LG only

other TV OS like Google TV or even Apple TV still need remote to navigate

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 17 2023, 05:35 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 17 2023, 05:44 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(cloudeen @ Nov 17 2023, 05:38 PM)
Ah. never know its unique feature.
but i think my path of upgrading, if any, would be sony flagship oled 77 3 years later. which will likely to cost a fortune.
your S90C with 2nd gen panel is very good already. should be still good even 5 years later, assuming nothing bad happens to it. And you need to pray if anything were to happen its within the 2 years warranty period tongue.gif

just sit out, enjoy and wait for next gen tech to come along before upgrading

QD-OLED is the pinnacle now. next in line is microLED and who knows what the next 5 years will bring

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 17 2023, 05:46 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 17 2023, 08:43 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Nov 17 2023, 06:40 PM)
How's the S90C HDR brightness as compare to the CX besides the bigger size factor? I am currently still on 65 LG CX. So tempted each year to upgrade but yet to find any worthy upgrade except the LG G3 or the Sony A95L but still quite expensive now.
S90C HDR peak brightness can hit around 1000 nits

C3 if not mistaken only around 600 - 700 nits

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 17 2023, 08:44 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 17 2023, 09:29 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 17 2023, 09:21 PM)
i thought 77” is gen2 can hit 2000nits
for S95C due to heatsink

S90C without heatsink is around 1000 nits only
ZeneticX
post Nov 17 2023, 10:52 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Nov 17 2023, 10:46 PM)
yeah on paper, S90C is around 1000 nits and C3 at around slightly over 800 nits at 10% window based on Rtings value. Clearly, it has reached the 1000 nits milestone, good since most of the movies and contents are mastered at 1000 nits. I reckon tone map with that peak should be great. So it is quite future proof in that sense.

CX would be around ~700 nits if calibrated. So I am just curious to find out what the other forumer is experiencing jumping from CX to S90C.  tongue.gif

Cause for G3 is around 1300-1400 nits range. Almost twice the peak of CX if I were to upgrade.
If double the brightness is what you looking for, then G3, S95C and A95L are better choices
ZeneticX
post Nov 18 2023, 03:24 AM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(cloudeen @ Nov 18 2023, 01:16 AM)
Just finish watching hercules poirot 3 using plex app on the s90c.
(my source file is 18g in size, streamed from my main pc)

the image quality is extremely beautiful in HDR picture mode (peak brightness high, contrast enhancer off)
I find FMM is too dull/dark for my taste.
Similar result when i tried FMM on flinch on apple tv+.

I know the experts keep saying FMM is closest to creator intent etc etc.
But i really felt FMM doesnt unlock the full capability of the panel at all. HDR picture mode with contrast enhancer off is the way to go for now.

And during some quick camera pan shot, i noticed very obvious imperfection of the motion processing of samsung tv.
Immediately off the entire picture clarity function but then notice some jaggerness.
Look like i will have to manually tweak the picture clarity setting to find the sweat spot.
Cant remember i have such struggle when i was using LG CX.

I think samsung firmware/software/ui is really too unintuitive compare to LG.
For example it seems to me the picture mode wont stick (or i dunno how to do it intuitively) for different type of source.
I want the the picture mode to be set to eco mode (with manually lowered brightness) while my parent is watching the sdr tv show.
But it seems after watching HDR content (in hdr picture mode), switching back to tv, the picture mode no longer stick to the eco mode.
Too much time wasted in doing research to find out how to do these kind of small small setting.

Another annoyance is that my sonos beam 2, while putting on center, will block the tv's IR sensor.
I totally cannot understand why they didnt just put the sensor at edge of the TV??
I was forced to use the digital remote during the entire session just now. using it to slowing change setting for each picture mode is such pain in the ass (unlike LG magic remote, can adjust a slider very fast)

These minor inconveniences are slowly pushing me away towards sony flagship. Not sure i can tahan for 5 years or not.
You can follow this video for some settings, its for S95C but should apply to S90C as well

After that you might want to watch this as well

For quick navigating you need to make use of the quick settings bar. Press the button below the power button (with a settings icon), then press the dpad until you reach the quick settings option. From here you can actually rearrange the icons. This is how I arrange mine. With this I can instantly change picture mode just with a click of the remote. But for me its useless since I stick to FMM all the time

For individual image settings according to source, should be under Expert Settings - Apply Picture Settings - choose Current Source

For motion processing, in Samsung you always need to enable Custom mode in the Clarity settings then tweak it from there. You can max out the Blur reduction, Judder reduction it depends. You can slowly increase it until you feel the SOE is too obvious. Usually this value is around the range of 3 - 5. Since OLED have a rapid response time the value might even be lower, some even left it at 0 i saw

Honestly I heard a lot of negative feedback about the software as well before I got my TV, but then I got used to it on the first day itself. Once you go through the settings you will realise its actually less than LG (can be good and bad) so its quicker to go through everything. I have no complaints about the usability actually, my only complaint was sometimes it lags a bit when scrolling fast

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 18 2023, 03:43 AM
ZeneticX
post Nov 24 2023, 12:20 AM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 24 2023, 12:08 AM)
got my 85” qn85c

i think future all tv should be 85” lol

the immersion is awesome

i can see a lot of motion issue also with low bit rate content. 4k content is ok
Just set Picture Clarity settings to Custom and adjust the judder reduction
ZeneticX
post Nov 24 2023, 01:52 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 24 2023, 09:06 AM)
Currently still using intelligent mode haha.

Later will play around.

At 85", watching walkaround tour in YouTube make you think you are there

I'll turn off all the Intelligent settings except for the sound ones. But you do you, as long you enjoy the image
ZeneticX
post Nov 24 2023, 03:37 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 24 2023, 01:57 PM)
I still cant get optimized setting

Did you have full setting I can refer?

Also picture setting has optimized and eye care. Seems like eye care is brighter lol.
You can refer some basic settings here first

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/q...d-qled/settings

Most important is turn off all Power Saving related settings, and all image related Intelligent settings

Then you can start tweaking your image with either Movie mode or FMM

These are my current settings but you can tweak per your liking

SDR content
Movie or FMM mode
Brightness 33
Contrast 45
Sharpness 5
Color 28
Picture Clarity - Custom - BR 10, JR 3, NR Auto
Local Dimming - Standard
Contrast Enhancer - Off
Auto HDR Remastering - Enabled (only applies during Gaming i think)
Color Tone - Warm2
Gamma - BT.1886 - 0
Shadow Detail: -1

HDR content
Movie or FMM mode
Brightness 50
Contrast 50
Sharpness 5
Color 25
Picture Clarity - Custom - BR 10, JR 3, NR Auto
Local Dimming - High
Contrast Enhancer - Low
HDR Tone Mapping - Active
Color Tone - Warm2
Gamma - ST2084: -2
Shadow Detail: -1
Color Space - Custom - BT.2020

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 24 2023, 03:38 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 25 2023, 11:41 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 25 2023, 11:20 PM)
My 85" QN85C panel picture using 30X zoom

Yes it's VA panel
ZeneticX
post Nov 26 2023, 12:04 AM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 25 2023, 11:51 PM)
After watch few days, it's really inky black like oled

I think a lot people turn away from buying qn85c because RTING say it's ads-ips panel.

Luckily Malaysia got VA panel for qn85c. I bought it after really your post and confirmation from Samsung sales person
Yes blooming is really minimal unless you purposely look for it, or very bright highlight details over black background

And this is just a mid range miniLED TV

It's a really underrated TV, shame there's no Dolby Vision
ZeneticX
post Nov 26 2023, 12:31 AM

stars for what
12,411 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Nov 26 2023, 12:22 AM)
Ya, I assume qn85c is qn90b

Each generation they just move one step lower

Also 85" version have 1200 zone means it's actually better than 500 zone in flagship 65" qn95b except no reflection coating

By the way, my protective sheet is still not peeled off haha
The main protective sheet you should peel off for full image quality

The rest you can keep but i just end up peeling all haha. Looks more premium

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0532sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:25 PM