Fake engine oil from lazada/shopee

chemistry
post May 22 2019, 12:51 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(paih_85 @ May 21 2019, 09:49 PM)
nak tanya seller liqui moly (Paulhew - shopee) tu jual ori atau fake. haritu i ade beli top tec 4100. yang pelik kenapa packaging dia xde batch no & sticker blkg bila koyak cuma selapis x mcm dlm video dibawah.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG9E4rHJ-8A
Bring to Liqui Moly Malaysia, let them check for you. Alternatively, you can visit other shops that sell this product, check their bottle see if got batch number.
Good luck .

LIQUI MOLY ASIA PACIFIC SDN BHD
No. 57-G, Jalan PJU 1A/41B,
Pusat Dagangan NZX,
Petaling Jaya,
Selangor 47301, Malaysia
Phone: +603-7887 6393
Working hour:
Monday to Friday: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday, Sunday & Public Holiday: Closed

advTech
post May 22 2019, 10:47 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(drewandcutascar @ Sep 22 2018, 05:35 PM)
As a part shop owner and online seller that deals with engine oil of various brands, allow me to shed some light on the industry. EO sold in supermarkets/hypermarkets are usually direct import stock from EU or sourced out from Petronas Malaysia itself. Do take note that their packaging would differ from what we can purchase from petrol stations or reputable part shops. Here is why:

Many do not know that most EO sold in our domestic market are actually packed locally under the authorizations of the respective principles such as BP (Castrol), JXTG (Eneos) or Pennzoil (technically owned by Royal Dutch Shell). There are exceptions where authorized distributors import higher end ranges from mainly Singapore (Mobil 1), Hong Kong (Shell) and or Thailand (Castrol).

These products' packaging may vary to what is found in hypermarkets but rest assured they are deemed genuine oil as well. For example, we would never see the same EO lineup between the official Pennzoil USA and Pennzoil Malaysia sites. UMW is the authorized manufacturer & distributor for Pennzoil in Malaysia, refining and packaging are done locally, hence explaining the lack of the Ultra Platinum range in our domestic market. It's usually either due to higher cost or incompatible formulation for various regions.

As for Castrol, Mobil and Elf, these brands are being sold in our country through regional distributors: Northern (Perlis Kedah Penang Perak), Central (Selangor N9 Malacca) and Southern (Johor Pahang) etc. To me it is a pain in the ass because a Central regional distributor cannot deal with a Perak retailer/wholesaler due to a "No Cross-border" industry policy, vice versa. In short, these are the few companies holding distributorships of major brands monopolizing their "arranged areas".

By this point I'm sure many are spitting and questioning "What about the ones being sold on Lazada, Shopee and other platforms?"

The truth is, most distributors prohibit vendors to market their products online apart from their own official channels. Liqui Moly is actually prohibited to be sold online. Castrol distributors take a 'one eye open one eye close' approach. Which all leads us to this uncertain gray area where most online vendors operate. Some sellers in the online market are actually the distributors themselves, some are major authorized dealers like Vanli, some are small fry like myself and some are what we call bad apples of the industry. As per the ongoing scandals on fake oil, the operations are usually more rampant in KL and Klang Valley areas due to high demand and competitive pricing, but this has now affected other parts of Malaysia because some vendors purchase 'cheap' supplies from hot areas and reselling them at a huge price slash.

Through a few discussions with my own distributors (based in Ipoh, that puts me in the North), we concluded that the lube industry in Malaysia is a vague, competitive wild wild west in expense of the innocent consumers. It is good that KPDNKK are taking complaints, and actions against the bad apples. As a vendor myself, I do acknowledge the accountability that sellers should hold to buyers - to provide genuine quality at a fair price. Though we all know that is not always the case in this flawed system, I urge that consumers to not cheap out on what they put into their vehicles. It is true that most want the best bang for the buck, but very often this demand pushes for the supply of cheap, low quality shady products which exist in our very surrounding.

To ensure your peace of mind, the primary solution is to get services done in your vehicles' respective SC. If the unreasonably high cost is a concern, EO sold in Tesco/Aeon/Giant are definitely legit, do take note that EU formulations and additives might not be the best for our tropical climate but rest assured, they are safe to use. If you have a favorite part/online shop where you frequent, don't feel shy to ask them questions on the product you're buying into, it is your right and their job to enlighten you. IF, the price is too good to be true, it is definitely too good to be true. Shop wisely, carefully but not cheaply! Cheers all smile.gif
Thanks very much for this. I learned a lot from this!  rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by advTech: May 22 2019, 11:46 PM
Thrust
post May 23 2019, 06:56 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I can't seem to find Owl Station the cheap engine oil seller on Lazada.

Is he still around or business shutdown after fake engine oil factory got raided?
Milo_O
post May 23 2019, 10:59 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ May 23 2019, 06:56 AM)
I can't seem to find Owl Station the cheap engine oil seller on Lazada.

Is he still around or business shutdown after fake engine oil factory got raided?
https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/owl-station/
WaCKy-Angel
post May 23 2019, 11:10 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ May 22 2019, 12:51 AM)
Bring to Liqui Moly Malaysia, let them check for you. Alternatively, you can visit other shops that sell this product, check their bottle see if got batch number.
Good luck .

LIQUI MOLY ASIA PACIFIC SDN BHD
No. 57-G, Jalan PJU 1A/41B,
Pusat Dagangan NZX,
Petaling Jaya,
Selangor 47301, Malaysia
Phone: +603-7887 6393
Working hour:
Monday to Friday: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday, Sunday & Public Holiday: Closed
I doubt they will entertain. Because it will backfired at themself..
Why? Because if tested genuine that means they are forced to admit there are cheap original oil being sold in the market and that means they will lose even more sales.
Unless really tested its fake oil lah.

I bet they will only say if the oil bought from official channel then it is confirm original, and if u bought from non-official channel they cannot guarantee original.

refer here why.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=findpost&pid=90349356
voscar
post May 23 2019, 02:46 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ May 23 2019, 10:59 AM)
very cheap and stated can SMS code!
TSEffy92
post May 24 2019, 10:41 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 23 2019, 02:46 PM)
very cheap and stated can SMS code!
Off course can sms code because they use recycled bottles
advTech
post May 24 2019, 10:12 PM

198 posts

Giant currently has promo for Shell, Mobil, and Total, as low as 99. Can check it out.
Valentino46
post May 25 2019, 02:19 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ May 24 2019, 10:12 PM)
Giant currently has promo for Shell, Mobil, and Total, as low as 99. Can check it out.
98 for shell helix ultra,this batch is made in german

This post has been edited by Valentino46: May 25 2019, 02:19 AM
advTech
post May 25 2019, 10:36 AM

198 posts

These are found in Giant Seri Kembangan as of last night:

Thrust
post May 25 2019, 11:43 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ May 25 2019, 10:36 AM)
These are found in Giant Seri Kembangan as of last night:

I really wonder why they don't carry any xW-30 weight oil?
advTech
post May 25 2019, 11:45 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ May 25 2019, 11:43 AM)
xw-40 is not too bad right?
Thrust
post May 25 2019, 12:00 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ May 25 2019, 11:45 AM)
xw-40 is not too bad right?
Usually newer cars are recommended by manufacturers to use xW20 or xW30 engine oil.

rcracer
post May 25 2019, 12:33 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ May 25 2019, 11:43 AM)
New cars all under warranty still

0-40 plenty of old cars to use
ayamxxx
post May 25 2019, 11:39 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 25 2019, 12:33 PM)
New cars all under warranty still

0-40 plenty of old cars to use
Any idea how to get 0-20. Other than lazada with risk.
advTech
post May 27 2019, 09:54 PM

198 posts

Jusco engine oils as of 27 May. Do notice that some are even 0w-20!

Want to ask: if the oil says for Nissan or Toyota or Perodua, does it mean it is not suitable for other brands?

Pugbunny
post May 27 2019, 10:40 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ May 27 2019, 09:54 PM)

Want to ask: if the oil says for Nissan or Toyota or Perodua, does it mean it is not suitable for other brands?
Check your car manual for the recommended EO. If it says SAE5W-40 Synthetic, u can use any EO brand as long as it carries the same grade.

I have been using different EO brands on my 7 years old car like Mobil, Total, Petronas, Estremo.
Oldskolboyz
post May 27 2019, 11:48 PM

1,422 posts

0w20 for Hybrid engine like Prius..
zeng
post May 27 2019, 11:57 PM

1,810 posts

It's suitable for other brands too.
Keyword to see is SN or SM or SL.
advTech
post May 28 2019, 08:09 AM

198 posts

great info. thanks.

Anyone can report what's on Tesco? siince we already know Giant and Jusco......

46 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:50 AM