Fake engine oil from lazada/shopee

zeng
post May 17 2018, 12:00 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ May 17 2018, 11:01 AM)
I had similar experience. I bought Castrol Magnetec 10W-40 Semi from another seller in Lazada.

One fine day while doing housekeeping, I noticed the bottle cracked and oil was leaking from the bottom. Then, I quickly transferred it to another empty bottle. I noticed the oil is less thicker (like diluted) than original one.

Now, I dare not buy from Lazada no matter how cheap it is. I can't imagine how much the repair cost if engine is damaged by fake oil.

I wrote a letter to BP Malaysia asking them to authenticate the item. I shared with them the Lazada URL. Below is their reply.
It would be nice if you could furnish Castrol the balance of oil for UOA or whatever scicitific test and publish its findings over here.
So is the same as TS here, instead of speculation where something scientific can be had.

This post has been edited by zeng: May 17 2018, 12:04 PM
zeng
post May 23 2018, 08:43 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(swine @ May 23 2018, 11:29 AM)
the price of EO this seller sell is too good to be true..
somemore put 100% authentic..

https://www.lazada.com.my/shop/owl-station/
When Giant do sell Shell Ultra for RM99.90 on promotion which I believe isn't a fake oil , I doubt OWL's Shell Ultra at RM103 would not be genuine ..... unless an VOA is done to demonstrate otherwise.
zeng
post Jun 12 2018, 03:44 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jun 12 2018, 03:22 PM)
Last week Giant Bdr Puteri sell RM115, Feb 18 stock.
Yep, Giant used to have promo RM99.90 per 4 L of SHU 5W40 fullsyn ACEA specs every 2 or 3 months.
zeng
post Jun 12 2018, 10:16 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(SKY233 @ Jun 12 2018, 05:24 PM)
I very much doubt Giant would get involve with non-genuine imitation Shell products, if it does you can be sure Shell Malaysia would give them hell.
Before that happens, you can be assured the group purchaser(s) of Giant would get fired 'quick'.
On top of that, I'd faith in importers (from Malaysia) and exporters (from Europe) that is vetted, screened and finally selected by Giant group (mind you, it's foreign owned IIRC)
Looking at the picture provided above, I've no doubt whatsoever this Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 is original and genuine.
I would be happy to see evidence saying otherwise, but no personal speculation please but facts and evidence.

This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 12 2018, 10:17 PM
zeng
post Jul 3 2018, 07:43 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Jul 3 2018, 01:11 AM)
Gonna try tmr n will post again. Just checking if anyone knows its fake or not
Any inclination on your part to escalate this matter to Shell Malaysia as a public service ?
zeng
post Aug 14 2018, 05:45 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Aug 14 2018, 04:48 PM)
Wow...

Just notice got this thread. Owl Station sell the Shell Helix HX7 5W-30 4L damn cheap @ RM69 compare to other...

Worry it is fake or genuine ?
How is this Shell oils by owl are determined as fake ?
Any facts to support so ?
zeng
post Aug 14 2018, 08:10 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Jul 4 2018, 03:03 AM)
I do actually. I want to check with a small bottle to see if this is the right colour or if it's a fake. If fake will call shell and ask them to test accordingly. If they don't comply I will find other methods
So, is this Shell oil fake ?

zeng
post Jan 22 2019, 04:47 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(ykj @ Jan 22 2019, 02:27 PM)
Was browsing for EO and reading posted questions at Lazada sellers. This Lazada seller mentioned by TS, replied in one of the question saying TS and this thread is spreading false news. I am getting confused
IMO, most of the 'accusations' here are unsubstantiated and unsupported by the simplest of all in an Oil Analysis.
I wouldn't be surprised if formal complaints are lodged with authorities (which, most or all of complainers here don't) , it's likely a buang kes.
Other than Tesco/Giant/Aeon Big, the 'made in Hong Kong' Shell oils online here are genuine IMO , and don't bother with the 'genuine' and ridiculously high-priced Made In Malaysia Shell oils .

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 22 2019, 04:49 PM
zeng
post May 27 2019, 11:57 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ May 27 2019, 09:54 PM)
Jusco engine oils as of 27 May. Do notice that some are even 0w-20!

Want to ask: if the oil says for Nissan or Toyota or Perodua, does it mean it is not suitable for other brands?
It's suitable for other brands too.
Keyword to see is SN or SM or SL.
zeng
post Aug 30 2019, 11:20 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(seikoho1 @ Aug 30 2019, 10:33 PM)
Tesco engine oil how?
No problem.
I had tested Total 10W40,Shell Helix Ultra 5W40,Mobil 1 0W40 etc all good from Tesco .

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 30 2019, 11:22 PM
zeng
post Sep 19 2019, 02:26 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(shuyina @ Sep 19 2019, 03:11 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/product/19534140/1382383007?smtt=0.0.9

So can i buy from him? This is original?
I personally won't doubt the oil genuinity .
zeng
post Oct 10 2019, 09:21 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 10 2019, 08:42 AM)
If tesco/ giant indeed sell fake shell helix oil, shell malaysia, kpdnkk can come and take some action. Same goes to few online lazada shoppe eo seller, kpdnkk come surprise visit n kantoi those fake oil seller.

I have bought shell helix tesco since 2012 until now. No problems whatsoever. Just this time only take risk buy mobil 1 from vanli.  As i need 5L bottles pack.
Exactly.
IMHO, the demonstrated Petronas oil is NOT fake not that I financially benefited from this seller one paulhew.

zeng
post Oct 10 2019, 11:46 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Abai @ Oct 10 2019, 11:05 AM)
But the Shell Malaysia actually advised to purchase on its official store on Lazada?

Bestter go to Offline retail stores include Shell fuel stations nationwide and
That's purely marketing to mislead and create fears among some users, unfortunately not a tint of technical facts .

Shell Malaysia has not officially stated Euro spec'ed Shell Oils (all categories) imported from EU by local importers (specifically paulhew) are fakes, let alone issue verbal non-legal threats to all local parties involved or a legal letter as a challenge, never mind Shell Malaysia (or for that matter, Petronas Malaysia) has not obtained a court jugdement naming the fake-selling traders or importers.
I'm not denying some fakes may be around, but the specific sample sold by paulhew and published above ?
Hey, nobody is stopping you (or Shell Malaysia, Petronas Malaysia) from sending above published oil samples sold by paulhew and convict this seller in any court of law!....... and place a link here .
zeng
post Oct 17 2019, 10:33 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Oct 17 2019, 09:31 PM)
My car manual advises to use 10W-30, can I use 5W-30 instead?
yes, you can .
zeng
post Oct 17 2019, 10:34 PM

1,810 posts

-double post-

This post has been edited by zeng: Oct 17 2019, 10:34 PM
zeng
post Feb 28 2020, 08:04 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Feb 28 2020, 07:27 PM)
Heck, that's cheap already plus it has lots of valid original photos. I think it's cheap, if you want it now, Giant has a promo until March RM99 per 4l bottle.
No dealing/experience with Shopee seller .
I would personally rather get from 'proven' Giant or any other hypermarkets .
zeng
post May 20 2020, 10:36 PM

1,810 posts

Baseless accusations without a shred of supporting evidence jeapordising and sobotaging government-registered businesses should be condemned by all , including the above posts .
zeng
post May 20 2020, 11:33 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 20 2020, 11:05 PM)
You mean me or Jimmacai?

Oops, not you .
I suppose you didn't issue baseless accusations, right ?

zeng
post May 21 2020, 10:07 AM

1,810 posts

Thanks for the evidence/facts provided thus far to support an argument .
This shall form the basis for elaboration from any other readers here who are keen to contribute or share further opinions or experiences on the issue at hand .

This post has been edited by zeng: May 21 2020, 10:08 AM
zeng
post Jul 12 2020, 09:08 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Jul 12 2020, 08:26 PM)
Got people complain vanli shell oil cant verify the code. Hmmmm whistling.gif

Read their 1/2/3 stars review
RM110.00  | [Mid Year Sale] Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 SN/CF Fully Synthetic Engine Oil 4L | https://s.lazada.com.my/s.bCpi2
Did the packaging falsely claim Made In Malaysia ?

If it doesn't , why bother to verify code with Shell Malaysia ?

0.7044sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:55 AM