132 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V1, Combo RM 160 Per Month *Updated Info*

Kidicarus
post May 18 2007, 09:59 AM

727 posts

My main concern with my connection atm is not whether i'm getting the advertising bandwidth, but whether I can get decent latency on my connection as I use my connection for gaming. I would love to have a 4Mb connection to catch up with my Swedish friends with 100Mb connections, but it just seems like giving it to blackmail if i get enticed for this offer.

Well, if anyone does get the new 4mb connection within the promotion period, I would be most grateful if you would run some pings/tracerts for me so that i can make a decision on whether to give in to blackmail or not.
Sylpheed
post May 18 2007, 10:21 AM

687 posts

Too expensive.. even if i were to ignore the fact that TMnet is throttling the one and only reason for a high speed connection. The price itself is too expensive. I doubt people will pay that much for that price. With or without the promo..

next thing you know is that htey say, you can watch video streaming!! oh but youtube and what not are all throttled to 1kb/s...

This post has been edited by Sylpheed: May 18 2007, 10:22 AM
Espionage
post May 18 2007, 10:31 AM

539 posts

talk so much for what
just wait someone use it and comment...
all u guys giving review without having the service yet....good future futurist.
AurorA|CS
post May 18 2007, 10:54 AM

127 posts

Tak Malu
Tak Maju
Tak Mungkin
Tiada Mutu

These are what TM stand for.

This post has been edited by AurorA|CS: May 18 2007, 10:55 AM
Suk
post May 18 2007, 11:05 AM

2,330 posts

IF UNTHROTTLE THEN I WILL TRY. @ 198 ONLY
xpresside
post May 18 2007, 11:19 AM

1,982 posts

in australia i paid aud109 for adsl 1.5mbps with bandwidth cap doh.gif

Added on May 18, 2007, 11:24 am
QUOTE(JackX @ May 17 2007, 11:18 PM)
@ Taiwan my house equipped with 10mb line (fibre optic) only NT699 ~ RM70+/-
Bitorrent speed around 900kb/s, download from Http can probably hit 1mb/s

Here they introduce 4mb and we're not even sure if its best effort  tongue.gif
can get that speed from US servers?or local?

This post has been edited by xpresside: May 18 2007, 11:24 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 18 2007, 11:34 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Espionage @ May 18 2007, 10:31 AM)
talk so much for what
all u guys giving review without having the service yet....good future futurist.
as i said in another thread.

we all know the price is a con, but in terms of performance nobody know until they try.

But it's safe to assume that it's still throttled torrent ...
xpresside
post May 18 2007, 11:38 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ May 18 2007, 11:34 AM)
as i said in another thread.

we all know the price is a con, but in terms of performance nobody know until they try.

juz now called customer service
say existing customer no need to pay activation fee and installation fee..
rclxub.gif to upgrade to 4mbps
v i n c
post May 18 2007, 11:39 AM

496 posts

with the extra money, i rather go subsribe maxis line. streamyx down can straight use maxis.

This post has been edited by v i n c: May 18 2007, 11:40 AM
JinXXX
post May 18 2007, 11:43 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ May 18 2007, 11:38 AM)
juz now called customer service
say existing customer no need to pay activation fee and installation fee..
rclxub.gif to upgrade to 4mbps
i think they installation fee.. they will charge cause their engineer will come and check to see if the line quality is acceptable or not...
alphasp
post May 18 2007, 12:19 PM

39 posts

btw how much upload speed for this package..??
tm nut web didn state about upload speed?
Hornet
post May 18 2007, 12:20 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(Espionage @ May 18 2007, 10:31 AM)
talk so much for what
Right, 4Mbps, its alot. 500kBps speed, thats holy cow. RM267 per month, even holier. We should stay positive with a fair weather smile about it.

Now lets see. What site can you surf with 4Mbps line that will utilize that RM267 that you pay? Download lecture notes at 500kbps, sounds fun.

Logic would say that practically, RM267 is overkill. Would you pay RM3200 every year to surf lowyat.net? Or perhaps download the latest driver for your video card. Well, I could do the same with RM792 every year, and use the rest of the money to get a GeFroce 8800 card, every year biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Hornet: May 18 2007, 12:21 PM
sunny~days
post May 18 2007, 12:35 PM

38 posts

i called tmnet 1300-88-1500 <<< call this to inquire, check line distance*

the package come with a 1 time installation fee of RM88 where the technical guy come and install the modem + test the line speed, if it's ok then they will charge u the installation fee else they going to waive the fee if the speed can't be reach.

the line would be 4MB download and 512k UPLOAD with "BEST EFFORT BASIS", if your unhappy with the speed after installation u can ask them to rebate back the payment and downgrade back to 1.5MB

when u upgrade no question will be ask wink.gif
when u downgrade u better have damn good answer for it tongue.gif

the package is lifetime package paying only rm198 until promotion end you pay the actual price... too bad for the guys outside the kl and selangor places
the modem, if spoil you can change it etc lightning strike, failure

the line speed is not confirm better ping, but the operator hint it would be faster than the existing 1.5mb line in speed term, not juz the limit term of 4MB

thinking about upgrading but need some guinea pig to confirm izzit worth it to upgrade or not whistling.gif

rockdaman
post May 18 2007, 12:46 PM

357 posts

Lets forget about the offer by TM-net and wait for WIMAX!!!! Never ever depends on TM~~~~~!!!!
rayfoo
post May 18 2007, 12:48 PM

2,562 posts

already submitted my application yday, waiting for them to do installation , so chill guys smile.gif
JinXXX
post May 18 2007, 12:50 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ May 18 2007, 12:48 PM)
already submitted my application yday, waiting for them to do installation , so chill guys smile.gif
hey provide some feedback...

if can do a trace to various popular websites
then when you got your new line do the same..

we want to see does it uses the same back bone or the new so called metro... ethernet backbone.. tongue.gif
styx
post May 18 2007, 01:53 PM

57 posts

Offerings of 4Mbps & 2Mbps is subject to distance limitation of maximum of 3km from exchange

what exactly does this mean? exchange?

so judging by your feedback from customer service, tmnet itself isnt even sure if the lines are capable of achieving 4mbps?
RoxyMunky
post May 18 2007, 01:56 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(ddddashhhh @ May 17 2007, 08:01 AM)
AND THE BEST OF ALL,

EVERYONE, READ THE small WORDING JUST BESIDE TM LOGO :

Speed of service is at BEST EFFORT. GET IT EVERYONE?????
bro, even leased line also got that "BEST EFFORT" statement lar....
KingRichard
post May 18 2007, 01:57 PM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ May 18 2007, 11:34 AM)

no lar, intially they won't throttle bit torrent, until 80% of bandwidth get sucked by users of the new package

RoxyMunky
post May 18 2007, 02:02 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(styx @ May 18 2007, 01:53 PM)
Offerings of 4Mbps & 2Mbps is subject to distance limitation of maximum of 3km from exchange
what exactly does this mean? exchange?

so judging by your feedback from customer service, tmnet itself isnt even sure if the lines are capable of achieving 4mbps?
Exchange server... means the gateway to the INTERNET... icon_rolleyes.gif

132 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:01 AM