132 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V1, Combo RM 160 Per Month *Updated Info*

alextee1881
post May 17 2007, 09:46 PM

Tell Me Why
707 posts

QUOTE(ddddashhhh @ May 17 2007, 08:40 PM)
bump, and i was told once by the tm staff tat copper line will not copped up with more than 1mb speed....haha....really funny, lucky i never listen to those baboon.

BTW, thats mean 4mb is good with our old copper line? wow thats is good to hear, at least, i would no need to change my 15 years old copper line..hoho
I got the same reply from their cust svc as well...seriously the price is very expensive... mad.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 17 2007, 10:00 PM

4,454 posts

All i can say is...

archonixm
post May 17 2007, 10:24 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ May 17 2007, 09:46 PM)
I got the same reply from their cust svc as well...seriously the price is very expensive... mad.gif
U should listen, 4mbps is only for the lucky one, look at ur SNR first, if its under 20 dun bother to subscribe. 4mb is only for those under 2km from the exchange. 4km is like the maximum and at the brink of disconnection. Abit problem then u will dc often.
v i n c
post May 17 2007, 10:33 PM

496 posts

How u guys know its trottled? So fast got ppl use already?

aBs-
post May 17 2007, 10:41 PM

1,165 posts

i want 100/100 Mbit
karhoe
post May 17 2007, 11:03 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ May 17 2007, 10:24 PM)
U should listen, 4mbps is only for the lucky one, look at ur SNR first, if its under 20 dun bother to subscribe. 4mb is only for those under 2km from the exchange. 4km is like the maximum and at the brink of disconnection. Abit problem then u will dc often.
I thought they are using new technology instead of the current DSLAM? Something to do with the metro-e thingy + ADSL2+ . Someone please enlighten me
UFO
post May 17 2007, 11:09 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(anfernee @ May 17 2007, 04:46 PM)
All 4Mbps package will be connected through a IP DSLAM which supports ADSL2+ and these IPDSLAMs are all connected through the advertised METRO-e network which is suppose to be faster than our normal ATM network which most of the normal DSLAMS are connected to.  What I'm saying is the bandwidth is much higher as  the METRO-e network is up to 1Gbps compared to the normal ATM speed which is up to 155Mbps.  So let's see if the 4Mbps package is really faster and smoother than our normal package.
Will appreaciate if any user who upgrade/subscribe to this promotion 4mbps package update us in term of speed & performance with BT or without BT before the end of promotion period... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by UFO: May 17 2007, 11:10 PM
HeHeHunter
post May 17 2007, 11:11 PM

664 posts

What to say...

M'sia ISP = Proton?
Sing ISP = Ferrari
ray86
post May 17 2007, 11:16 PM

255 posts

hehe.. im really near the exchange when 2mbps.. but rm 198 is expensive..

really really expensive
JackX
post May 17 2007, 11:18 PM

2,732 posts

QUOTE(mcShit @ May 17 2007, 07:31 PM)
Datuk K.Yik said to provide cheaper broadband packages and they call rm198 cheap meh.. rm128 i don't mind seriously..

ei.. i'm paying rm88 a month and i'm only getting 1.5Mbps wor.. how come some 2.0Mbps! knn rly
@ Taiwan my house equipped with 10mb line (fibre optic) only NT699 ~ RM70+/-
Bitorrent speed around 900kb/s, download from Http can probably hit 1mb/s

Here they introduce 4mb and we're not even sure if its best effort tongue.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 17 2007, 11:21 PM

4,454 posts

Can i come stay at your house Jack biggrin.gif

MaGNiFiCo
post May 17 2007, 11:24 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

aiyer too expensive ler.. india already started to give away 2mb free wireless connection
ZeroWrath
post May 17 2007, 11:27 PM

130 posts

Oh well. TMnut will still be TMnut.
raptar_eric
post May 17 2007, 11:38 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

it makes diff for those who play online games?? hmmm
MarcoYee
post May 17 2007, 11:46 PM

163 posts

huh....4m for online gaming?
open 10 bot to bot the game?
meaningless lah...
dun get cheated by tmnut...
raptar_eric
post May 17 2007, 11:49 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

btw, now rm88 package, how fast is the speed?? izzit 1.5mb or 1mb?? it states in the tmnuts website 1mb wo....but i saw some posts ppl say upgraded to 1.5??
Xybirium
post May 18 2007, 12:00 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ May 17 2007, 11:49 PM)
btw, now rm88 package, how fast is the speed?? izzit 1.5mb or 1mb?? it states in the tmnuts website 1mb wo....but i saw some posts ppl say upgraded to 1.5??
It is still 1Mb as far as I know.
Nil Einne
post May 18 2007, 12:00 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ May 17 2007, 10:36 PM)
OMFG !!!!! GUESS WHAT.

From tmpoint they said my place is outside the 3 km range from the exchange point.

Guess by how much ? I'm 4 km away from the exchange point. Just a measly 1 km !!! WTF !

Adsl 8 mbps can reach 18,000 ft (5,500 m) so how come i am not covered  vmad.gif

The chart comparison

http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/vdsl3.htm
You appear to have misunderstood the table. ADSL maximum theoretical speed is 8mbps although IIRC this speed is only ever achieved in lab conditions. Maximum distance is 5.5km (although the maximum distance depends on several factors like line quality).

ADSL (indeed all DSL) drops off over distance due to line attentuation. Take a look at this graph http://www.internode.on.net/adsl2/graph/. Make sure you read the text. This is theoretical only. In reality, in all countries no one reaches the theoretical because no one has a perfect line. Indeed, I would say 2.5mbps would be very good for a 4km line. 1 'measly' km makes a very big difference when you consider the maximum theoretical distance of 5.5km. Your line can probably achieve higher then 1mbps but Telekom I presume is only willing to subscribe people who's line can probably achieve close to 4mbps otherwise there will be no end of complaints. Indeed, I suspect they may reject customers if they find they can't achieve a desirable speed even if within distance...

As you might notice from the graph, things aren't actually getting much better for people with a resonably long line even with newer standards. The graph doesn't show but VDSL2 can achieve up to 50 mbps at 0.5 km but at 1.6 km it's about the same as ADSL2+.

From memory, some people are no longer capped at the line but instead capped at the IP level. If you're not capped at the line then you will know if you can achieve 4mbps or not. It's still unclear but if Telekom is using ADSL2+ then you might achieve a bit higher speed but if your speed is like 2mbps, don't expect it to get much better with ADSL2+...

Your only hope really is that Telekom will eventually install another exchange so you aren't so far from it....

This post has been edited by Nil Einne: May 18 2007, 12:04 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 18 2007, 12:06 AM

4,454 posts

I read that vdsl solved their distance problem by using fiber optics, and using the last mile can reach the residential.

Problem solved.

I only don't see the isps getting off their butts and implementing current working solutions.

They only need look at korea, honkong or japan :/

Nevermind vdsl, we don't even have adsl 2 ( had this tmnut adsl 2 ready modem for years.... the irony ..... why even brag adsl 2 ready modem when the isp never ever going to offer adsl 2 ? Damn assholes ). Even 4 mb isn't adsl 2 sad.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: May 18 2007, 12:07 AM
nANa1203
post May 18 2007, 12:23 AM

108 posts

haha~ i wonder is the speed really = 4.0M bps

132 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:52 PM