Debit card, Anything about it.

sharpman
post Aug 15 2007, 09:57 PM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(jocsp @ Aug 14 2007, 11:39 PM)
may i know how does the PB Visa Electron card work?

are we suppose to first put in a sum of money first and then when we use it the amount will be deducted from the amount of money that we have inserted into the card? OR we use it to pay for something first and then at the end of the month we will receive a statement showing the amount that we have used and then we pay for that amount?

i do not have an income because i am still a student and plan to get that because i do hold an account in Public Bank currently and it will be more convenient for me to do certain transaction. is it advisable to get it?

jocsp,
Refer here ==> http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/images/debit.pdf

Since you are a Public Bank account holder, you can use the Automatic Sweep feature so that any succesfull PB Visa Electron transaction made will be deducted from the savings in your saving's account smile.gif
jocsp
post Aug 15 2007, 10:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Aug 15 2007, 09:57 PM)
jocsp,

Since you are a Public Bank account holder, you can use the Automatic Sweep feature so that any succesfull PB Visa Electron transaction made will be deducted from the savings in your saving's account  smile.gif
hello sharpman,

does this mean that i can use it like a credit card when purchasing an item in the malls? will it get rejected? will there be any interest charge when i use it to purchase something? and i would also like to know whether which is a better choice between VISA and MASTERCARD.

thanks for the help. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jocsp: Aug 15 2007, 10:05 PM
athlon 11
post Aug 15 2007, 10:11 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Aug 15 2007, 09:57 PM)
jocsp,

Since you are a Public Bank account holder, you can use the Automatic Sweep feature so that any succesfull PB Visa Electron transaction made will be deducted from the savings in your saving's account  smile.gif
not very suggest if you have large amount of money in your saving account.what happen if you lost your card?

better seperate you saving account and debit card account.
jocsp
post Aug 15 2007, 10:45 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Aug 15 2007, 10:11 PM)
not very suggest if you have large amount of money in your saving account.what happen if you lost your card?

better seperate you saving account and debit card account.
hello athlon 11,

let say if i were to get one debit card, is it possible for me to open another account and put some funds into it just for the sake of the debit card so that i wont mix it up with the saving accounts? so like every time i use it it will deduct from the newly opened account rather than from my savings account?

thanks.
cawaiicollection
post Aug 16 2007, 03:11 AM

84 posts

MAYBANK & AMEX LO

Added on August 16, 2007, 3:12 amMAYBANK & AMEX LO

This post has been edited by cawaiicollection: Aug 16 2007, 03:12 AM
EightPhantomz
post Aug 16 2007, 12:21 PM

1,766 posts

For Public Bank Debit Card, its already a separate account. Not joint with savings account.
If I'm not mistaken, you can transfer from your PB savings into the account, free of charge.
jocsp
post Aug 16 2007, 06:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Aug 16 2007, 12:21 PM)
For Public Bank Debit Card, its already a separate account. Not joint with savings account.
If I'm not mistaken, you can transfer from your PB savings into the account, free of charge.
thanks for the info.
athlon 11
post Aug 16 2007, 09:50 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(jocsp @ Aug 15 2007, 10:45 PM)
hello athlon 11,

let say if i were to get one debit card, is it possible for me to open another account and put some funds into it just for the sake of the debit card so that i wont mix it up with the saving accounts? so like every time i use it it will deduct from the newly opened account rather than from my savings account?

thanks.
jocsp,

for public bank's visa electron,you have 3 ways to manage the top up.

1)if you have no public saving account,you can go to public bank top up it.

2)if you already have public bank account,you can always transfer money from your saving account to your card.

3)auto sweep if you have public saving account.every time when your card amount drop to an amount(i think is RM50),bank automatic transfer money from your saving to top up your card.i do not sugest this option if you have large amount of money in your saving account.

lastly,yes,you can apply 2 saving account.in a way,one is traditional saving account.one is Islamic saving account.
sharkware
post Aug 17 2007, 02:40 AM

57 posts

Hey guys, just want to inform you

Al-Rajhi Debit card cannot go through paypal, they say its for security reason

But the payment services other than paypal okay i guess, i payed through worldpay, and it went fine

This post has been edited by sharkware: Aug 17 2007, 02:42 AM
jocsp
post Aug 17 2007, 10:58 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(athlon 11 @ Aug 16 2007, 09:50 PM)
jocsp,

for public bank's visa electron,you have 3 ways to manage the top up.

1)if you have no public saving account,you can go to public bank top up it.

2)if you already have public bank account,you can always transfer money from your saving account to your card.

3)auto sweep if you have public saving account.every time when your card amount drop to an amount(i think is RM50),bank automatic transfer money from your saving to top up your card.i do not sugest this option if you have large amount of money in your saving account.

lastly,yes,you can apply 2 saving account.in a way,one is traditional saving account.one is Islamic saving account.
very informative indeed.

thanks for answering. smile.gif
PACINO
post Aug 17 2007, 12:02 PM

693 posts

Has anyone tried their debit cards or visa electrons on other hotels around malaysia?

Has anyone has experiences where they did not accept your card transaction?
I would like to apply a debit card, but i am afraid hotels would not accept these transactions. I have read forumers stating genting does not accept, but what about others? Like 5 stars hotels n etc around KL n PJ area?

I only would apply debit cards for those purposes , so that i would be able to book rooms, or whatsoever that needs a card for bookings. Normally i would pay things with cash.

athlon 11
post Aug 17 2007, 09:52 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(jocsp @ Aug 17 2007, 10:58 AM)
very informative indeed.

thanks for answering.  smile.gif
Your are wellcome.this is the forum's spirit smile.gif
cutun1217
post Aug 18 2007, 06:39 PM

200 posts

can we use the debit card to verify paypal account?
PACINO
post Aug 20 2007, 05:36 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(PACINO @ Aug 17 2007, 12:02 PM)
Has anyone tried their debit cards or visa electrons on other hotels around malaysia?

Has anyone has experiences where they did not accept your card transaction?
I would like to apply a debit card, but i am afraid hotels would not accept these transactions. I have read forumers stating genting does not accept, but what about others? Like 5 stars hotels n etc around KL n PJ area?

I only would apply debit cards for those purposes , so that i would be able to book rooms, or whatsoever that needs a card for bookings. Normally i would pay things with cash.
can anyone help me with the points i put above?

pls share if u have any knowledge in this matter...Thanks for sharing.
kelvintan_mobile
post Sep 20 2007, 11:59 PM

221 posts

hi

saw from the thread that u guys commented about the card. i wish to get the card . after reading the official website i dint get to see that annual fees is waived if used more than rm1200 . where did u guys see that ? also i suppose theres interest rate right for money accumulated in the card acc . 0.5% , thats wat i saw la , thx for helping me

Best regards
Kelvintan
mengfui
post Sep 22 2007, 12:03 PM

1,777 posts

EonBank Freedom Mol Debit card..no monthly fees..online secured shopping.. thumbup.gif
SleeplessEyes
post Oct 4 2007, 11:41 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(influenza04 @ May 18 2007, 01:41 PM)
looks like a debit card, but too many things make me dun wan get this card :
1) can overdraw money
2) its not free for life. every 2 years need to renew membership. rm25
3) i dont always shop at ikea
4) their points also expire after 2 years.
5) conclusion - not getting it.

asking me y? coz of the overdraw thing ler. dont wanna owe the bank any money. later overdraw too much. become like credit card d. no money to pay  cry.gif

http://www.alliancebank.com.my/Personal_Ba...ayment_card.htm
Sounds OK for me.I like (2) and (3),cause I am a IKEA fan. biggrin.gif
And...Every 2 years pay RM 25, thats cheaper than others, even cheaper than PB...and I love the card design (excuse me for being attracted to the card design)
But do they have CC statement also?

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Oct 4 2007, 11:44 AM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 10 2007, 12:11 AM

52,874 posts

Recently I saw a TV commercial on Debit Mastercard. Would like be the same as Mastercard Electronic?
he-sham
post Nov 10 2007, 02:25 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

I still waiting for my Affinbank debit MasterCard...i applied last week..deposited rm50 to newly open Affinbank saving account...

The sale representatative said it will be sent to my address after 14 business days...

It'll deduct direct from saving account (which i just open before i applied debit mastercard)...

anyway, that account just for debit mastercard use.....so can topup any amount using cash deposit machine of AffinBank and internet transaction through Maybank2u and cimbclicks...

i also got AffinBank Bankcard, which mean if i need to withdraw my money, maximum i'll be charged is rm1 (for meps) & free for affinbank ATM.... no need to use the debit mastercard to withdraw (unless oversea la)...

main benefits of Affinbank debit mastercard are:
1) get back 0.5% from the amout of any transaction using the card
2) Travel insurance...

someone_stupid
post Nov 14 2007, 06:47 PM

1,205 posts

wat abt the eon bank EMV or something like tat? when can apply that?

132 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2203sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:36 PM