Debit card, Anything about it.

he-sham
post Nov 10 2007, 02:25 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

I still waiting for my Affinbank debit MasterCard...i applied last week..deposited rm50 to newly open Affinbank saving account...

The sale representatative said it will be sent to my address after 14 business days...

It'll deduct direct from saving account (which i just open before i applied debit mastercard)...

anyway, that account just for debit mastercard use.....so can topup any amount using cash deposit machine of AffinBank and internet transaction through Maybank2u and cimbclicks...

i also got AffinBank Bankcard, which mean if i need to withdraw my money, maximum i'll be charged is rm1 (for meps) & free for affinbank ATM.... no need to use the debit mastercard to withdraw (unless oversea la)...

main benefits of Affinbank debit mastercard are:
1) get back 0.5% from the amout of any transaction using the card
2) Travel insurance...

he-sham
post Nov 20 2007, 09:48 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

first expirienced using my Affin Bank Debit MasterCard....i used it to pay petrol....transaction accept....BUT ! it deduct preset value of RM150 eventhough i filled up only RM30...

i'm shock when i checked my balance short of RM120...but after I called their helpline, they said it's like that when u fill up petrol....they will deduct fixed RM150 first....AFTER 1 WEEK only they will credit back the balance.... what the hell ?? why took so long ?? siapa mau isi minyak RM150 ?? even mercedez i think reasonable amnount is rm100 maximum.....

bad first expirienced with Affin bank debit mastercard....but i think most debit cards are like that....at least my money stilll there.....but still dissapointed with the time taken to credit back my money...
he-sham
post Dec 22 2007, 07:29 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(adrianqcs @ Dec 18 2007, 12:30 PM)
for tunemoney anyone tried at the petrol kiosk? they held my RM150 for 2 weeks already
affinbank held my debit mastercard rm150 for around 3 days for petrol kiosk (shell)...learned from that, now i always pay at the cashier using my debit mastercard...and now always petronas becoz super car contest brows.gif ..

meanwhile yesterday i opened Standard Chartered eSaver account which entitled me to another debit mastercard...waiting for them to send the card to my address....only need to deposit rm10 to open an account...huhu... guess what ?? Standard Chartered eSaver Debit MasterCard got 7% cash rebate into eSaver account on petrol transaction (any station, no matter shell,petronas & others) using the card... thumbup.gif
the debit mastercard also act as ATM card but no meps/bankcard network...it got HOUSe network which can withdraw money from HSBC/OCBC/UOB/Standard chartered bank.......annual fee just rm8.. (basically just for normal account mantainence and atm card fee)....

This post has been edited by he-sham: Dec 22 2007, 07:42 PM
he-sham
post Jan 4 2008, 05:24 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(levinx @ Dec 31 2007, 03:04 PM)
Please dun be confused by these cards with MEPS functions. All these cards are FREE or minimum charges if withdraw thru own bank ATM. If withdraw thru others ATM (although bear with MEPS logo) will treated as VISA INTERLINK and MASTERCARD CIRRUS cash advance and subjected to high service fees.. like minimum RM10.

Whereby Malaysia has it own MEPS card (Bankcard lah).. your local bank ATM are MEPS lah.. can be debit purchase goods at several shops like The Stores & Jusco lah.. Enter PIN instead of just signature like the Visa & Mastercard Debit.

but affinbank saving account u can have 2 cards:
1) Affin Bank ATM Bankcard
2) Affin Bank Debit MasterCard

both link to the same saving account..

so no worry to withdraw cash from other local bank atm machine with MEPS (bankcard) as its only normal minimal charge of RM1...

unless to withdraw cash in oversea, must use the debit mastercard one la through Mastercard cirrus... wink.gif

This post has been edited by he-sham: Jan 4 2008, 05:31 AM
he-sham
post Jan 5 2008, 02:19 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(Jovian @ Jan 5 2008, 02:18 AM)
poor advertisement i guess. didn't state how we can apply for that card. at first it thought it's maybank one >.<"
just go to the respective banks and apply la...
as the name is debit card, no online application....instead, u must go to the bank to open a saving account..
he-sham
post Feb 5 2008, 05:13 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

anyone using public bank visa electron & have saving acount with public bank, can u tell me how Automatic Sweep features link the saving account to the card account ?? is it automatic ?? if no money from card account they will take from saving account ?? i dont quite understand...
he-sham
post Feb 26 2008, 06:16 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

i just got my 7% cash rebate for petrol purchased using Standard Chartered Debit MasterCard.. the rebate is for the month of January where i spent Rm100 for petrol.....all of them swiped at the counter of petronas...not at the pump !! rclxms.gif

26/02/2008 PYT OF CASH REBATE JAN 08 MYR 7.00

This post has been edited by he-sham: Feb 26 2008, 06:17 PM
he-sham
post Feb 27 2008, 04:15 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Feb 26 2008, 08:39 PM)
they got send statement ar?

i received my 1st statement ...  then dont know whether they still still send or not...

how 2 check my stan-chart e-savers spending?
its easy..go to http://www.standardchartered.com.my/

then login for Online banking...opss...but u must register first...registration must be made at the bank customer service counter at any branch of Standard Chartered Bank ...u will be given one time activation code in the same day through sms once you register....just follow the registration instruction...no charge for registration ! rclxms.gif

& u set to go online !!

u can track your spending record...balance & can even transfer money to other bank....just like maybank2u & cimbclicks....but for sure it has less features than what maybank & cimb had offered...

only the transaction inthe last one month is showed in the website...but they still give me the hardcopy account statement everymonth eventhough i already sign up for online banking...

for example, even u just come back from Carrefour buying groceries(using the card to pay), u can already check your transaction online....very fast one ! except for preauthorised such as fill up petrol at the pump....it will need at least 2 or 3 days for the transaction to be comfirmed...they will hold your money (RM150 for petrol)..huhu..that's why i always pay at the cashier counter when fllling up petrol..... nod.gif
he-sham
post Feb 27 2008, 07:08 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

This is my new Eonbank Pavilion Prepaid MasterCard... its got many privillage & discounts include all eonbank credit card privilage...especially if u always shopping at Pavilion... as example, Tomei Jewlerry got 70% off for normal price item if u pay using the card....huhu

my gf love shopping at the pavilion...that's why I signed up for the card....furthermore i'm a bargain hunter...whereever i can save, i'll utilize it....the card can be apply at Eonbank Pavilion...u can get the card after half an hour of application....u can use it immediately....but for cash withdrawal, they'll send the pin number at your postal address... rclxms.gif

initial reload is rm50....registration is rm20.....annual fee is rm20......but if u get 12 transactions over the period of one year, annual fee will be waived... rclxms.gif

link

http://www.eonbank.com.my/Individual_Banki...repaid_card.htm

This post has been edited by he-sham: Feb 27 2008, 07:12 PM
he-sham
post Feb 27 2008, 10:21 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Feb 27 2008, 10:00 PM)
that's prepaid card...

standchart can topup any amount ... just like a savings acc
MOL Freedom prepaid mastercard i not sure how much minimum to topup...

but Eonbank Pavilion Prepaid Mastercard can deposit any amount through cash deposit machine....it's just like normal saving account except it's a card account....just like PB Visa Electron...
he-sham
post Feb 28 2008, 01:35 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(influenza04 @ Feb 28 2008, 12:45 AM)
hey, are you sure that the EON Bank Pavilion Mastercard got discounts up to 70% everytime i go? all year round? for all items? if yes, i will surely get it. 70% man!!! its like...i buy a jewellery worth 10k for only 3k...isnt that a deal!!!???
70% off only for Tomei jewlerry...promotions till septempber 2008

different merchant, different promotion... not all 70%....

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Feb28 2008 01:27 AM )
eh, no one can help ah? i stuck leh... i can't verify my paypal expanded use, but they already deduct money from me. i email them, they give me rubbish and ask me to try again. i've tried removing and adding 3 times, they deduct 3 times already.

i call stanchart, they say can't be their problem since paypal already managed to deduct... mampos....
i also have the same problem...i only did once..they deduct rm3.27...i just email paypal to complain...
he-sham
post Feb 29 2008, 02:40 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(influenza04 @ Feb 29 2008, 01:53 AM)
hey, is anyone sure about the 70% discount that u get if u shop at Tomei jewellery in pavillion using the Pavillion EON bank debit card???

sure or not? or izit just for promotion? and certain items only?

pls refer to this link:

http://www.eonbank.com.my/Individual_Banki...s/fashion01.asp
he-sham
post Mar 1 2008, 04:01 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Mar 1 2008, 12:45 AM)
did they resolve it for you after your first email? what did they do?
because for me, first this guy called daniel emails me to say that i should try again.
so i try again. then cannot i email and tell them it's not working.
then this guy called jimmy emails me and tells me that they will deduct first, and hold it until the verification is done. but i explain that i can't get the verification done, so why they deduct? and if they say they can't verify, how on earth did they manage to deduct?
then some other dude replies and tells me that it is the bank's problem.
so, out of desperation, i call up the stanchart helpline to which of course i get the answer i told the paypal clowns.... if they can't verify the credit card, how did they manage to deduct the money??? by this time, i had already tried 3 times and they deducted 3 times....
so i email back and really gave them a real earful... till today no resolution.... no email reply already... haihs....
i also get the same reply..fed up already....logically, if the verification cannot be done, why they can charge preauthorization ?....i already removed the card from "Add Credit/Debit Card" in my paypal account....but the preauthorization charge still not been retract..... last email from paypal asked me to wait for another 30 days....wtf...

Just now i just sent the latest email to PayPal customer service:

I not satisfy with PayPal customer service replied about why my Standard Chartered Debit MasterCard cannot been used for verification of my PayPal account.

It's clearly stated in your website that "Debit Cards (also called check cards, ATM cards, or banking cards) are accepted if they have a Visa or MasterCard logo. ".

So, I want to know why my Standard Chartered Debit MasterCard cannot been used because my card have all the criteria (Mastercard logo). Yet, preauthorization charge already been made to my card since the day I tried to verify my account (19th January 2008) until now I already removed the card (since verification cannot been proceed because my card was unacceptable with no reason given), the preauthorization still not been reversed. I called the bank customer service, they said it is down to  merchant (PayPal) to reverse the preauthorization charge.

For me your service is not user friendly and I have been through a hard time just to verify my PayPal account.

Thank you

i hope with my pushing questions, they will answer all our doubts.....i have a feeling their customer service also dont quite know why they cannot accept the card...that's why before this we got crap answers....the paypal guys who gonna answer my questions better come up with some reasonable excuses.... mad.gif

This post has been edited by he-sham: Mar 1 2008, 04:31 AM
he-sham
post Mar 3 2008, 04:57 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

Reply from Paypal about my complain which I posted earlier in my previous post..

wthell so long...can someone understand it for me....too lazy to do so many steps.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by he-sham: Mar 3 2008, 04:58 PM
he-sham
post Mar 14 2008, 03:39 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

i think from now on, all saving account from local bank, they will give visa or mastercard...

i just got my COMBI Debit MasterCard from eonbank...... can withdraw through MEPS/bankcard ATM network only charge normal rm1......eonbank atm free.....cirrus/mastercard network (oversea) charge rm10...

This post has been edited by he-sham: Mar 14 2008, 03:41 AM
he-sham
post Mar 16 2008, 04:14 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

so many debit/prepaid cards available now...

for summarize let me list...

MasterCard
1) Standard Chartered Debit MasterCard
2) AffinBank Debit MasterCard
3) EONBank COMBI Debit MasterCard
4) EONBank Pavillion Prepaid MasterCard
5) EonBank Unembossed Prepaid MasterCard
6) EonBank MOLFreedom Prepaid MasterCard
7) AMBank NexG Prepaid MasterCard
8) RHBBank PlusOne e-Cash Prepaid MasterCard
9) i-Synergy MasterCard Electronic (dont know still exists or not)

VISA
1) Maybank VISA Debit Bankcard
2) Public Bank VISA Electron
3) Al-Rajhi i-debit VISA atm card
4) TUNEMoney prepaid VISA
5) BSN VISA Electron
6) Standard Chartered VISA Electron
7) UOBBank VISA Electron

MAESTRO
1) Alliance Bank International MAESTRO Debit Card

its looklike only CIMB bank dont have debit card product...plus their ATM card sux & has no e-debit capability....unlike maybank atm bankcard(yellow/black or kawanku atm card), CIMB ATM card cant be used to pay at petrol station either at the pump or cashier....

edited: add rhbbank prepaid mastercard....hehe

This post has been edited by he-sham: Mar 16 2008, 03:07 PM
he-sham
post Mar 16 2008, 03:58 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 16 2008, 03:51 PM)
lol, for Paypal currently I'm using PBVE. Now I wonder why Paypal do not accept Maybank Visa Debit. rclxub.gif
who said maybank visa debit cant verify paypal ?? u already try ??

from the list above i think most VISA (PBVE,Tunemoney,alrajhi) able to verify paypal...

...mastercard cannot....anyone succesfully apply by mastercard pls share your expirienced....
he-sham
post Mar 17 2008, 03:40 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

can i have both maybank visa debit & old maybankcard ?

becoz old maybankcard dont need to have minimum account balance of rm150 to fill for petrol at the pump...they'll ask u to enter pin number & select the amount... but i still want maybank visa debit...huhu...
he-sham
post Mar 18 2008, 05:07 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(garanzia @ Mar 17 2008, 10:16 PM)
my home branch is in setiawangsa, but i change to debit card at sime darby maybank. the officer say its free...
then we all should go to sime darby branch to get free exchange to maybak visa debit....sime darby building near jalan sultan ismail/jalan raja laut ??
he-sham
post Mar 18 2008, 07:44 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

can i have both old maybankard atm together with maybank debit visa in one saving account ?

btw, i just got the 7% rebate for february credited into my standard chartered debit mastercard account !!! rclxm9.gif

18/03/2008 7% PETROL CASH REBATE FEB MYR 14.70

I hope they'll make this promotion permanent ! rclxms.gif

0.0249sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:16 PM