Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jun 18 2024, 01:27 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jun 17 2024, 10:30 AM)
Thank you for your reply. I believe the PVR box is superior compared to the newer boxes from Astro. With it, I could record programs locally (without Internet connection). I believe for the newer boxes, an Internet connection is needed to both record and watch the recorded programs, right? With the PVR box, I could stream and download on demand content by connecting to the Internet, while I could only stream but not download the content on the newer boxes. Being able to download for watching later is useful when the Intrnet connection is not fast or stable.

I believe the PVR box is superior compared to the newer boxes from Astro.
Actually, new Astro boxes like Ulti/Ultra Box are more superior than previous boxes because it supports more features, including streaming apps like Netflix. However, Astro's business direction nowadays is no longer the "built in hard disk inside Astro box, which allow local recordings and download On Demand content". Instead, they are now all cloud recording based, and On Demand streaming instead.

Anyway, it's okay if you're not ready to go for Ulti/Ultra Box. But remember to take good care of your PVR box, cuz once it's faulty, you won't be getting a PVR box replacement for that. Instead, you'll be getting Ulti Box instead.

"Faulty" as in the built in hard disk fails inside the PVR box (which you're unable to record/pause/rewind/download anymore) or some other technical errors.

The hard disk used in PVR box are those CCTV grade ones (means robust type that is designed for 24/7 continuous usage, like CCTV recording systems) rather than the normal consumer grade, so usually won't get faulty that easily. But if it's after many years of usage, then hard to say also, cuz there'll be wear and tear...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 18 2024, 01:31 AM
joshhd
post Jun 18 2024, 01:27 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Jun 18 2024, 11:51 AM)
no mood to watch this kind of PQ mad.gif not ask you provide 4k, at least 1080p will do.

It is in Full HD 🌚
But the video bitrate that SPOTV use to distribute the feed to pay TV providers including Astro this time, is kind of questionable. hmm.gif
QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 18 2024, 12:49 PM)
I am sure they are employees in Astro who are watching Euro 2024 and they should know to report or speak to the people in charge  biggrin.gif

Nah, I'm pretty sure the employees there don't even bother to care. I bet all of the employees are be like "Oh, as long got picture and sound come out, then it's ok. Nothing urgent."
Therefore, they'd rather focus more on bringing revenue to the company. sweat.gif
QUOTE(wong_86 @ Jun 18 2024, 12:54 PM)
Yes, I did, only Facebook, but I saw many bad comment about this.. lol

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 18 2024, 12:33 PM)
Did you complaint to assthrow?
No complaint meaning no issue from customers.

Bad comment does not mean official complaint.
More official complaints is better. They can keep track on how many complaints they receive about this matter.

However, you'll need to be prepared as I doubt that the agents are trained to attend enquiries related to picture quality like this. I'm pretty sure the agent will give you troubleshooting steps as if they're treating your issue like you're facing SCNA issue, or perhaps eventually propose to send technician to your house to check. 🤣
joshhd
post Jun 18 2024, 09:56 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 18 2024, 04:38 PM)
Tell them to give you the case ID number.
Then no way to avoid to resolve it.

I disagree with this point. The agent can just Close your case without even telling you, and leave your issue unresolved.
They have their KPI to maintain... They wouldn't want the higher ups to question them why is this case taking so long to resolve, you see... 🤷‍♂️
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 18 2024, 04:40 PM)
Assthrow is a very poison minded place to work.
So everything they do can offend whoever is more powerful.
Better is customers who complaint and officially get a case ID.
QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jun 18 2024, 04:45 PM)
Not just case ID, straight ask for a manager to take charge of the case, be adamant about it, make sure you actually talk to the manager directly. If you have a case ID but no manager is also useless, they will kick the ball left and right and act dumb lmao.

But if you're referring to the SPOTV Stadia channel's unsatisfactory HD picture quality issue, then perhaps contact SPOTV directly instead?
You can also tell them that the picture quality you see on SPOTVNOW is also bad, even on 1080p quality.

If you go through Astro, you'll have to be prepared with their irrelevant troubleshooting steps, like check your satellite signal reading, check your Internet connection, or even send technician to your house and check. It's going to the pain process if you yourself already know what went wrong here.
joshhd
post Jun 18 2024, 10:49 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 18 2024, 10:38 PM)
Do you think we will let them close the case ID easily?
The CS promises to have close follow up on it and they ackowledged the issue is from Spotv feed.
I didn't get them to ask me to follow their stupig SOP because I had evidence of the pic and recordings.
Hence, this stupig SOP is skipped.

Did you lodge the complaint on this issue?

They acknowledged the issue is from SPOTV feed? sweat.gif
What picture evidence and recordings you've showed them? Can post it here too?

Who else here have also filed a complaint to Astro about this? What's their response?
joshhd
post Jun 20 2024, 01:16 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Jun 20 2024, 02:02 AM)
joshhd hey josh i wonder are there any chance that njoi will remove tvb channel from their rm28 family pack in the future?
cuz i am thinking to buy another decoder haha
i sked i buy then they remove then shit lor
based on your previous reading astro wont have this issue right as they will retain legacy packages
thank you in advance!

From what I see, it's unlikely.

Even if it does (probably many many years later?), they will have other Starter Packs where you can subscribe to get access to TVB channels, so I wouldn't worry about that.

For NJOI related questions, do post on this thread instead: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3119762

QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Jun 20 2024, 03:19 AM)
Thank you for your info
However, when I click buy now for Astro aod channel right, it shows that it is part of the entertainment+ plan RM28
We have yet to subscribe sooka cuz this week was so hectic haha

If I'm not mistaken, TVB channels are considered "Premium" channels, which you'll need to subscribe to Premium plan to watch those channels.
Entertainment tier, I don't think it's eligible for TVB channels including Astro AOD.

I might be wrong... If anyone here subscribed to Entertainment tier of Sooka plan, do confirm on this.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 20 2024, 01:22 PM
joshhd
post Jun 20 2024, 01:21 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 20 2024, 12:43 PM)
Assthrow share price dropped 10% since the launch of Suck Kah stick.

Did you ever buy Astro stocks?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 20 2024, 01:21 PM
joshhd
post Jun 20 2024, 11:11 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Jun 20 2024, 09:27 PM)
Thank you u guys 🙏🙏🙏
My plan:
Wah pack aunty house -> sooka tv stick with 12 mths premium rm52++ for maybank cc holder
Wah pack godmother house -> ask for retention offer haha
Wah pack grandparents house -> change to my name (never used b4) for primary pack 30% discount 2 years, coincidentally my grandparents moving to new condo haha so new address/ or maybe ask for Retention package 1 year then only change to my name? Hmm
Wah pack own house -> njoi rm28
Sekian harap maklum haha

Why not might as well everything ask for retention offer instead of going through changing account ownership or Sooka all those things?
It's pretty troublesome, don't you think?

Transferring ownership does not literally makes you a "new customer" sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 20 2024, 11:14 PM
joshhd
post Jun 20 2024, 11:37 PM

7,800 posts

Euro 2024 game hit by ‘transmission interruptions’, Singapore fans miss out on action
https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/football...s-out-on-action
The disruption lasted for about 30 minutes, with viewers on all three platforms missing the first goal of the game in the 22nd minute by Germany midfielder Jamal Musiala.

A similar disruption occurred near the end of the second half and transmission resumed more than five minutes later.

Germany won 2-0 and the hosts and Group A leaders are through to the knockout stages after two victories in as many games.

Angry and frustrated users took to social media to complain about the broadcasters’ services, with hundreds of comments posted on their Facebook and Instagram pages.
Responding to queries from ST, StarHub said in a statement that “this issue originated from the source feed and affected all providers in Singapore and the region”.

“We have contacted the channel partner, requested immediate action and enhanced measures to meet quality standards. We expect them to address this issue promptly and prevent future disruptions.

“We apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank our viewers for their understanding and patience.”
SPOTV chief executive Lee Choong Khay said: “The interruption was caused by an issue with our transmission partner’s backup system. Due to some technical errors, there was a delay in switching over to the backup system when the primary transmission failed.

“This delay was also due to the failure to activate the contingency plans that were in place.”

Lee added that SPOTV has since “tightened processes” to ensure that such incidents do not happen again.
===
StarHub user Gilbert Teo, a 33-year-old account director, told The Straits Times: “Very disappointing and it shows that the telcos are irresponsible.

“We pay quite a high price for Euros compared to other countries for sub-par services.”

Another user, Pauline Huang, posted: “Omg! Paid so much yet transmission interrupted! Picture quality is not good also, please do something about it!”

Singtel customer Philbert Lee said on social media: “Game just start then hang, after that no sound no scoreboard, then after a while whole game can’t watch... Refund the money!”

Fasha Samsudin commented on Starhub’s Facebook page: “Half an hour of live gameplay gone. One goal missed. This is 2024. Stop saying source problem. Refund all your paying customers. Disgraceful.”

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 20 2024, 11:39 PM
joshhd
post Jun 21 2024, 01:13 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Jun 21 2024, 01:05 AM)
My aunt does
Every weekend the Chinese singing competition
Coming soon July 20 haha
Yes for sooka stick rm52++
I asked their cs
Haha u have a point haha
But for my house getting njoi 😛
Thank you for the all the advice tho
Astro should have paid u for your good service 👍

But for my house getting njoi 😛
You mean buying new NJOI box? Or you convert existing Astro subscription into NJOI (need to pay hefty conversion fee)?

Thank you for the all the advice tho
Astro should have paid u for your good service 👍

That is impossible. An Astro fan like me, is causing Astro company to lose money for giving such brutally honest advices to you. lol.gif

Well, it's not that Astro's way of doing business is very honest also la whistling.gif
joshhd
post Jun 21 2024, 11:59 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Hashman @ Jun 21 2024, 09:43 PM)
Astro TV app is awful. I'm using a 1gbps connection at home and it still buffers. Using the new 2024 sharp 65 4K Google TV... connected to the router via a wire

Rest assured. It's coming from them, not you, so you're not the only one.
It has always been a known issue for not only Astro's Smart TV app, but also their Plug & Play service.
Intermittent buffering & video quality fluctuations, is already a known thing.
Doesn't matter if you subscribe to 1Gbps or 30Mbps Internet speed, the issue will still be there.
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 21 2024, 10:12 PM)
Meaning you are using Assthrow smart tv app @ RM14.99 per mth?
Heard it has 4K channel too.
QUOTE(Hashman @ Jun 21 2024, 10:51 PM)
Yes I am. The 4K channels don't work in full 4K.
Yes. Now you can watch CH549 and CH805 on their Smart TV app.
But the streaming performance you get there, will be similar like their Plug & Play service, where "intermittent buffering & video quality fluctuations" is a very normal thing.
Imagine watching Astro SuperSport UHD CH805, it fluctuates from 4K HDR to Full HD, and then from Full HD to 4K HDR, and then repeat...
Mmm, "that is how adaptive bitrate streaming works", so it's very normal smile.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 22 2024, 12:19 AM
joshhd
post Jun 22 2024, 12:16 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(lala_cai @ Jun 21 2024, 11:11 PM)
Sifus, want to check on the multiroom for smarttv.

Since my parents is on the legacy Super Pack Lite 3 (Sports) and to add the multiroom I need to change to the latest package.
The nearest package I saw from the joshhd post is sports pack + News & Documentaries addon which works to about the same amount.

But the turn off is when I talk to the agent over the phone that she mentioned that the multiroom RM14.90 price is only for the first 3 months. Can anybody confirm on this?

Since my parents is on the legacy Super Pack Lite 3 (Sports) and to add the multiroom I need to change to the latest package.
Correct. Astro no longer allow legacy pack customers to add on any kinds of Multiroom, until you switch to the new packs.

The nearest package I saw from the joshhd post is sports pack + News & Documentaries addon which works to about the same amount.
If compare Super Pack Lite 3 (Sports) versus Sports Pack + News & Documentaries addon, price is similar but you will lose these channels:

Moonbug Kids (CH618), 2 Korean channels tvN (CH395) & K+ (CH396), HITS Movies (CH401) and 2 Indian movie channels (CH241/251)

the multiroom RM14.90 price is only for the first 3 months. Can anybody confirm on this?
Their original price is RM29.99.
I remember previously they used to extend that promo price of RM14.99 so many times, until I can't keep track anymore sweat.gif
Anyone here still subscribed to Multiroom Smart TV can confirm?

But even if it's only 3 months, pay the original price of RM29.99 / month is still cheaper than you get a new Multiroom (Box) or even new Astro subscription, so.... sweat.gif
joshhd
post Jun 22 2024, 06:36 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(lala_cai @ Jun 22 2024, 05:40 PM)
very strange this astro. called up astro and they have very funny restriction here and there

1. Sports pack alone seems like have some rebate for 24 months, but if you add-on, no more rebates.
2. Sports pack + news will not have free ultra box upgrade. Have to call their technical department and request to change and will have charges.
3. If maintain the legacy Super Pack Lite 3 (Sports), have free ultra box upgrade with no contract.

dunno whether the agent is new or blur.
in the end maintain the legacy pack first and upgrade to ultra box.
later only change the package.

Right now Astro has an ongoing campaign where legacy pack customers using old boxes can upgrade to Ulti Box (if monthly fee less than RM100) or Ultra Box (if monthly fee more than RM100) for free.
This campaign is not eligible if you've switched to the new packs.
So, no additional monthly fee, no installation fee, and no contract. However, for those who are on monthly fee lower than RM100 ones, and insist to proceed with satellite, then you'll need to commit 12 months of box contract.

Since you're on Super Pack Lite 3 (Sports), then you're eligible for free Ultra Box already. Therefore, what you did is the right thing. Proceed with this upgrade first, and then switch to the new packs later.

By switching to the new box, do note that the agent will create your order as Plug & Play, as it is their default installation mode nowadays. If you still want to use your satellite dish to receive channels, you need to inform the agent ya.

Although using Internet streaming (Plug & Play) means no more rain interruption like satellite, that does not mean it is the best for you, as you might encounter scenarios like intermittent fluctuating video quality (adaptive bitrate streaming) regardless of how fast your Internet is, streaming latency of up to 1 minute, loading cursor always appear when tuning channels, and the box tend to be slightly more lag compared to receiving via satellite dish.
Not everyone will particular in things like these, so if you don't mind all of these, then it's ok.

In case if you want satellite but didn't tell that agent you want satellite, and you haven't receive the box yet, try contact customer service and tell them to cancel the Plug & Play order, and then create new order as Satellite.
joshhd
post Jun 22 2024, 06:40 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 22 2024, 06:31 PM)
Monitor but no action? Or just temporarily sweep under the carpet and just wait until 15 July when Euro2024 is over?

Impossible they will sweep under the carpet... It's already on the news, so SPOTV can't run away. 😆😆
joshhd
post Jun 22 2024, 06:49 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 22 2024, 06:42 PM)
There is a limit for being patience.

Have you guys lodge any complaints for this issue and gotten the case ID?
Don't tell me you guys are so tolerant to this horrible PQ?

As a customer, we can only do that much only.

Even if filing complaint to MCMC, and then it routes to Astro, and then it routes to SPOTV, and if SPOTV say "nothing much we can do right now", then what can we do?

Refund? Provided if SPOTV themselves are willing to issue a refund to pay TV providers sweat.gif
Otherwise, I doubt that Astro/NJOI/Sooka would entertain such refund requests for something that is out of their control.
If it's just a few, then maybe ok. But if it's thousands, hmmm I doubt...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 22 2024, 06:50 PM
joshhd
post Jun 22 2024, 07:36 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 22 2024, 06:59 PM)
As a customer, we can only do that much only.

If most of the customers are sitting on the fence, Assthrow will not do anything.

Of course. What I'm trying to say is, manage your expectation.
QUOTE(Feliex @ Jun 22 2024, 07:30 PM)
Why suddenly popup SPOTV STADIA 2 ?!

Relax. It's just a popup channel from SPOTV, to air additional live matches.
joshhd
post Jun 23 2024, 02:13 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 22 2024, 09:28 PM)
It keeps blinking in and out in SPOTV Now. So I think Astro just take the clean feed. It gets annoying real quick when seeing it blinking. Celaka SPOTV if don't have money don't take Euro coverage la

Missing

There again

So SPOTV issue

Edit: Astro in comparison. Rarely see this clean without any watermark lol

They must be hired an intern to do the job sweat.gif
Actually, why not SPOTV just relay and passthrough the world feed to MY/SG pay TV providers instead of getting the clean feed and create all sorts of problems to viewers here? dry.gif

Rarely see this clean without any watermark lol
Enjoy while it lasts LOL biggrin.gif
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 23 2024, 12:04 AM)
Depends. The app is kinda wonky. And as I said, sometimes it just kicks you out giving random errors. Stream can also sometimes just cut off randomly.
Also RM30 is only if you're using CelcomDigi. Normal price is RM43, which is similar if you're on Astro without sports pack and want just Euro add on.

Correction: It's not "Euro add-on". It's Sports addon, which is meant for non-Sports Pack customers to subscribe it, and those who subscribe it will get access to all Sports channels (CH805-820) just like the usual Sports Pack customers, which inclusive of Euro 2024.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 23 2024, 02:19 AM
joshhd
post Jun 23 2024, 02:16 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 22 2024, 09:53 PM)
Yeah. I opened both Astro and SpOTV Now earlier, but now SPOTV Now also error saying "This video is unavailable in your current selected region". SMH.

You tried toggle between WiFi and mobile data? Still same?
Or use someone else's phone that uses different telco than yours, turn on the mobile hotspot, connect it, then see if issue persists?

And try clear app cache also?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 23 2024, 02:17 AM
joshhd
post Jun 23 2024, 11:00 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 23 2024, 06:40 AM)
I had to manually kill the app and then relaunch it. Thing is that is not something that an average user would likely do, especially on Android TV where the menu is kinda hidden, especially on Android TV 12+, where you have to dig into the settings menu to get to it.

Apps that are not properly optimised is like that one lor...
Have to "Force stop", "Clear cache", launch again, then repeat when s**t happens again.
joshhd
post Jun 24 2024, 01:29 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2024, 11:44 AM)
Spotv is managed by ex-assthrow ppl.
What can you expect from assthrow by-product?
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2024, 12:03 PM)
Spotv CEO was byproduct from assthrow.
Maybe you didn't get what I meant.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 24 2024, 12:05 PM)
Ooh that CK guy...

Ahhh they mentioned 20 years experience
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2024, 12:08 PM)
That's right... 20 years experience from assthrow can become similar garbage CEO.

That CK guy is just the CEO of the company.
It doesn't mean that he would go and hands-on do those broadcast engineering stuff, as he'll be too busy to bother those "technical stuff" until complaints comes in.

Now that the CEO acknowledged, and this issue is not something that just happen only on day 1. It's been happening and persists till today, and it shows no obvious signs of solving the issue. Also not to forget, their terrible editing of the highlights video on YouTube and they broadcast the repeat matches on SPOTV Stadia channel in 25fps rather than 50fps.
So, what does that mean?

The root cause of the issue is definitely coming from their broadcasting team, plus some other teams that involve in distributing Euro 2024 content. Maybe they opted for a lousy backend solution that caused all these mess, and/or they hired an intern to do the job. Also, no official announcement released from SPOTV about all of the Euro 2024 issues coming from SPOTV itself, other than news articles of Singapore customers complaining and some online discussions, so it means that they don't intend to be transparent to their customers, and they're doing their own damage control. Like what pokemon pointed out, that CEO used to work under Astro many years ago, so it is possible that he just continue or allow that not-transparent culture to SPOTV Asia.

From what I see, I doubt they'll have enough time to find a proper solution for this, because they could've done so long time ago, and EURO 2024 is already ongoing. I have a feeling that whatever broadcast problems going on, whether it's big or small issues, it will likely continue as-is until Euro 2024 ends on 15 July, and all we as a customer can do is just complain.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 24 2024, 01:45 PM
joshhd
post Jun 24 2024, 01:34 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jun 24 2024, 12:08 PM)
Guys, I watched the international feed from the other website to compare la, as you all know sports live, the internet will be delayed a lot as always. But this time is different, Internation feed is already GOAL,, but Astro SPOTV still delay... holy shit lo.

They have a term for it. It's called World Feed, not "International feed".
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2024, 12:09 PM)
Assthrow need to do censorship?
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 24 2024, 12:11 PM)
Huh?

How come lorh..

SPOTV should be live telecast one...
Please don't tell me Astro or SPOTV have delay feed for ads or censorship purposes (since Malaysia very strict on these stuff)....
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2024, 12:34 PM)
Live sport matches need censorship?
QUOTE(Feliex @ Jun 24 2024, 01:07 PM)
Last Friday, ukraine vs slovakia 21/Jun, me and my friend testing ... lol

My instinct tells me that it's either:

Astro receives SPOTV Stadia channel through Internet as a backhaul rather than satellite.

OR

SPOTV receives the clean feed via Internet rather than satellite, before it is transmitted as SPOTV Stadia channel, which to be distributed to MY/SG pay TV providers.

OR

Both of the above simultaneously.

So it is possible that this contributed to the broadcast latency/delay when comparing with other country's pay TV provider's channel that takes the World Feed of Euro 2024 via satellite.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 24 2024, 01:40 PM

224 Pages « < 196 197 198 199 200 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:43 AM