Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jun 24 2024, 08:54 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jun 24 2024, 06:26 PM)
Wanna ask, if I buy Astro First movie today can I wait till weekend only watch?

The expiration is how to calculates ya?

By right, the moment you receive the message that the movie purchase is successful, that's where 48 hours countdown begin.

Astro First never have such thing as "Rent now, watch later".
Wait till weekend only watch? Just straightaway make that transaction on the day you want to watch.

Why ya? What movie you plan to rent?
joshhd
post Jun 24 2024, 08:55 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Jun 24 2024, 02:56 PM)
This is also true to MotoGP, delayed about >10 secs

10 seconds....? You compared with SPOTV to which source?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 24 2024, 08:56 PM
joshhd
post Jun 24 2024, 11:02 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Jun 24 2024, 09:54 PM)
I'm on Super Pack Lite 4 Sports. No movie packs included.

You can still subscribe to Disney+ Hotstar Premium 3 months add-on at RM54.90 (incl. tax), and you will be billed RM18.30 monthly.
You will be getting the Premium tier too (not the Basic tier).

You can subscribe it via My Astro https://myastro.astro.com.my/
joshhd
post Jun 25 2024, 04:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jun 24 2024, 08:30 PM)
Hbo go will ceased on December 2024. Will be change to MAX beginning January 2025.
QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 24 2024, 11:05 PM)
This applies to which other countries, besides Malaysia?
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jun 24 2024, 11:47 PM)
Source please?
QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jun 25 2024, 06:46 AM)
astro staff😊
QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jun 25 2024, 06:47 AM)
Max Asia. not same Max Usa.

Meanwhile on "Unifi TV Ver 2" thread, someone revealed that HBO GO is (confirm?) changing to Max on Jan 2025.
And when asked about the source, he claimed it is from "Astro staff"... hmm.gif

Reference: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109974845
joshhd
post Jun 26 2024, 10:31 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 26 2024, 08:15 PM)
Assthrow new target  -->  Bangla workers???

Mamak becomes crowded because of football season
https://www.facebook.com/Astro/posts/pfbid0...dL7dGjgroqaD18l
joshhd
post Jun 26 2024, 10:32 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 26 2024, 11:20 AM)
Assthrow share price drops further after Q1 FY25 announcement.

Astro Malaysia shares fall to five-week low after 1Q results
https://www.facebook.com/theedgemalaysia/po...N1oHFAfNf1Te9bl
Shares in Astro have declined 22% so far this year, as the company grappled with intense competition from so-called over-the-top media services, such as Netflix, which eroded its subscriber base. Further, subdued consumer and business sentiment have also dragged on advertising expenditure growth.
While Astro subscribers have risen 20% in the last two months and new Chinese subscribers have returned after a four-year hiatus, “we are wary that consumer sentiment may weaken further as the government rationalises more subsidies”, said Maybank Investment Bank.

Could a slew of “sell” call be tell-tale sign that Astro Malaysia’s ‘sunset biz’ is beyond reconciliation?
https://www.facebook.com/focusmalaysia.my/p...HkB1dJV61wk82Xl
AMID sequential decline in subscription revenue which is only poised to accelerate, Maybank IB Research has downgraded Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd to “sell” (while retaining its target price at 29 sen) despite the once distinguished satellite TV operator managed to churn out 7% rise in net earnings for its 1Q FY1/2025 ended April 30, 2024.
The research house further offered three reasons for its cautious stance in Astro:

• Intense competition from OTT (over-the-top) streaming platforms (for international content) and FTA (free-to-air) TV (for vernacular content);
• Inflated cost base that includes legacy expenses (eg on-going payment of transponder lease costs to MEASAT Satellite); and
• Competition from digital music streaming platforms that leverage on AI to offer personalised content and targeted commercials.
“Astro remains committed to its strategic initiatives to reverse and stabilise the prolonged decline in pay-TV subscription revenue,” opined the research house.

“However, progress has been gradual, underscoring the challenging nature of the transformation efforts. Moreover, we anticipate that persistent macro-economic challenges will hinder the near-term recovery of its crucial pay-TV subscription and advertising revenue streams.”

joshhd
post Jun 26 2024, 11:03 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 26 2024, 11:01 PM)
You didn't observe the picture?
The crowd is due to free makan and drink.
Most of the people in the event are the foreign workers.

So?
joshhd
post Jun 28 2024, 09:11 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(ctu2 @ Jun 28 2024, 03:40 PM)
Hye..Im asking for my brother who wants to terminate astro..

How and where is the easiest or maybe fastest way to terminate without getting run around by astro?

tq in advance for any advise
QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 28 2024, 04:16 PM)
Is the contract up? Anyway the fastest way is to visit the astro premium kiosk or astro exclusive partners directly and bring the decoder to complete the termination there and then.
https://support.astro.com.my/astro-near-me#premium-kiosk

Alternative you can also make calls lo...
QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Jun 28 2024, 04:50 PM)
visit their branch

don't ever call / email / whatsapp them. useless

If you want to walk-in to terminate Astro, you can only visit to Astro Exclusive Partners branch.
In the whole Malaysia, there's only 20 branches you can do that (refer image below, circled in red).
The rest like Astro Premium Kiosk, Astro Experience Store, and Astro Authorised Retailer, ALL of them cannot do termination one. Only Astro Exclusive Partners can.

CORRECTION: Just got the confirmation that AEP branches can no longer perform account termination.
QUOTE(ctu2 @ Jun 28 2024, 08:52 PM)
sorry..just to ask..astro premium kiosk can do termination transcation ke?

because they noted this on the Premium Kiosk page:

"Customer service-related transaction cannot be processed here."

That is not true. It's a mistake from their website. You can ignore that.

CORRECTION: Astro only allows calling customer service to terminate service, no more walk in at any branches.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jul 1 2024, 01:10 PM
joshhd
post Jun 28 2024, 10:19 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 28 2024, 09:46 PM)
You can try AEP but my previous request to terminate couldn't be accepted.

Which Astro Exclusive Partners (AEP) that you went to, and what is the reason it got rejected?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 28 2024, 10:20 PM
joshhd
post Jun 29 2024, 07:13 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 28 2024, 10:21 PM)
Molek branch.
All termination requests must be over the phone as advised by them.
QUOTE(wong_86 @ Jun 29 2024, 09:52 AM)
Last two week go Tmn Molek JB (Exclusive Partner), downgrade the package from Premium 2 to Sport pack plus, the staff said cannot downgrade, rclxub.gif,  they also mention cannot do the termination (need call astro CS). What a " exclusive " partner is this ...wasting my time go there...
back to home call CS, 5 minutes gaodim downgrade...

I can't confirm whether is this only happening at Molek, JB branch, or they've changed their policy on AEP nationwide (which I'm not aware of)...

How and where is the easiest or maybe fastest way to terminate without getting run around by astro?

QUOTE(ctu2 @ Jun 28 2024, 09:44 PM)
tqvm.for.your clear explanation.

Which AEP branch do u plan to walk in to do the termination?
You can call that AEP branch and ask first, or just straightaway walk in and ask, then let us know on the outcome.
joshhd
post Jun 30 2024, 10:56 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jun 30 2024, 06:17 PM)

I'm currently on the legacy Superpack 1 package (still holding on). \
Referring to the the current package offerings by Astro, correct me if I'm wrong, there's no equivalent package to replace the Superpack 1, am I right? Considering list of channels & pricing.

The one you quoted on the spoiler, is 2023 version. You can refer to the Apr 2024 version here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry109501353

there's no equivalent package to replace the Superpack 1, am I right?
There is an equivalent package for your Super Pack 1. That would be Platinum Lite Pack.

First of all, what is it that you're looking for? And why you're thinking of switching to the new packs?
joshhd
post Jun 30 2024, 11:50 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jun 30 2024, 11:28 PM)
Thanks for the compiled new version Joshhd. Oh, actually I'm quite happy with the current Superpack 1. Just wondering if any of the new packs brings more value to the money I'm currently paying for the Superpack 1.

If you're happy with the current Super Pack 1, then I suggest you just stick with it.
To me, their new packs offered today aren't "brings more value to the money" also.
joshhd
post Jul 1 2024, 12:04 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Jun 30 2024, 11:44 PM)
Does anyone face this problem with Disney+Hotstar : sometimes cannot get Atmos for shows which have Atmos?

I face this now and then, with both webOS (LG) and Android (Shield Pro).

For eg, short while ago, I went into Star Wars Acolyte on webOS  n Atmos was there but after exiting  I can't get Atmos again after many attempts of exiting n entering.  On Shield, couldn't get Atmos at all.

Thanks!
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 30 2024, 11:48 PM)
Disney+ Hotstar dolby atmos is a hoax for Malaysian version.
The best AQ you can get is dolby 5.1 and for PQ is dolby vision.

According to Disney+ Hotstar FAQ, now they say it supports Dolby Vision, 5.1 sound & Dolby Atmos on selected content.
https://help.hotstar.com/my/en/support/solu...-in-4K-Ultra-HD

Can elaborate what is your AV setup? Using HDMI cable only (ARC), no optical audio cable whatsoever? The HDMI Audio setting on your Shield, have you configured it as Bitstream or something?
joshhd
post Jul 1 2024, 12:59 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Jul 1 2024, 03:16 AM)
discovered Disney+Hotstar has Atmos for some shows about maybe 2 months ago. At first I couldn't get Atmos but after updating the app I was able to get it. Even watched latest Antman and Ceaator on it with Atmos.

But I noticed that it is not consistent in that sometimes I can't get Atmos (eg is what I mentioned in my earlier post about Star Wars Acolyte). "Atmos" sign came out on my CX while I was testing by goong into Acolyte, but after I exited to test using other shows I couldn't get Atmos again despite many attempts of going in-out of Acolyte.

So it is not my setup. But for what it's worth : I use LG CX, LG C1. Denon x2600 (with the CX). CX, Denon and Shield all using ethernet connection. 300mbps speed.

Most importantly, does this inconsistent Atmos audio option issue happen on other streaming apps like Netflix?
Try use the Disney+ Hotstar app on both your LG TV and Nvidia Shield and compare/observe.

If other apps like Netflix has no issue but only Disney+ Hotstar app has this issue, then it's likely that it's a bug from the app, then you'll need to contact Disney+ Hotstar customer service...
joshhd
post Jul 1 2024, 01:22 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Jun 28 2024, 04:50 PM)
visit their branch

don't ever call / email / whatsapp them. useless
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 28 2024, 10:21 PM)
Molek branch.
All termination requests must be over the phone as advised by them.
QUOTE(wong_86 @ Jun 29 2024, 09:52 AM)
Last two week go Tmn Molek JB (Exclusive Partner), downgrade the package from Premium 2 to Sport pack plus, the staff said cannot downgrade, rclxub.gif,  they also mention cannot do the termination (need call astro CS). What a " exclusive " partner is this ...wasting my time go there...
back to home call CS, 5 minutes gaodim downgrade...

NOTICE: Account termination cannot be done through walk-in at any branch.
Astro no longer allow customers to walk to their branch to do account termination, hence must only do it through contacting customer service hotline 0395433838.
I remember very clearly that they used to allow customer to do it by walking in to AEP branch, but now they don't allow it anymore.
And this really caught me off guard sweat.gif

ctu2 You can try call the customer service...
If somehow you're been asked to provide your contact number so that they can give you a callback (within 72 hours?), you must expect and be mentally prepared that nobody is going to call you back ya.

If you wondered why...? Well, there are hundreds of reasons why, which I know you can guess why. But if you want to give them chance to call you back, I won't stop you.

Anyone here previously who wanted to terminate Astro and used to request for callback, do share your experience here too, whether they really managed to call you back or not, and if yes, how long it takes, and so on...

Mind sharing why you're thinking of terminating Astro?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jul 1 2024, 01:26 PM
joshhd
post Jul 2 2024, 12:20 AM

7,799 posts

Anyone notice that 8TV channel now on Astro are so blurry?
Last time it wasn't like this.... sweat.gif
*image not mine, it's taken from Astro Malaysia Info Fans

Yes, 8TV channel is still in SD quality, but if you compare with other SD channels like TV3 (CH103) or CCM (CH321), the SD quality is still better than 8TV.
joshhd
post Jul 2 2024, 11:29 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 2 2024, 12:20 AM)
Anyone notice that 8TV channel now on Astro are so blurry?
Last time it wasn't like this....  sweat.gif
*image not mine, it's taken from Astro Malaysia Info Fans

Yes, 8TV channel is still in SD quality, but if you compare with other SD channels like TV3 (CH103) or CCM (CH321), the SD quality is still better than 8TV.
QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Jul 2 2024, 08:52 AM)

Yes, it's like 360p feed on 4k tv, blur like without my glass
QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Jul 2 2024, 05:33 PM)
If this is the case, then TV3, TV9 and Didik TV will also be off air on Astro.
The picture quality is so blurry (that doesn't look like proper 576i transmission). Astro sabotaging their viewers (and the No.2 most watched channel in the country) so their viewers (Astro or NJOI) might choose or pay for Astro channels with better quality? Misusing their position to sabotage their main, much superior competitor or foul play?

Hmm okay. Let's see... sweat.gif
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have forwarded this matter to the relevant team, and they have noted on the quality issue with this third-party channel. We will keep you informed of any updates or feedback as soon as they become available. Thank you for your understanding.
Tbh I'm grateful that this time they're not that "smart" to propose the solution of arranging a technician to come over to my house to replace a new Ultra Box, just because of this blurry 8TV channel issue. thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jul 2 2024, 11:30 PM
joshhd
post Jul 2 2024, 11:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jul 2 2024, 08:06 PM)
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jul 2 2024, 09:18 PM)
Goodbye for this time for real?

This Awesome TV channel on Astro, I think they broke the record of making the most numbers of U-turns of all time in the history of Astro dry.gif dry.gif
Now they say it will cease, few days later suddenly tak jadi cease, then many weeks later, repeat same thing again. dry.gif

Until they really cease the channel and no U-turns after that, then only I'll believe this.
So for now, I'll assume that I did not see this at all. shakehead.gif
joshhd
post Jul 4 2024, 12:40 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jul 2 2024, 08:06 PM)

Nope, I still see that Awesome TV, is still up and running as usual.
It's another false alarm then.
joshhd
post Jul 4 2024, 12:42 AM

7,799 posts

Tracker of Awesome TV channel cessation "attempts"

Astro
18 Jan 2021 - Launch on Astro

04 Oct 2023 - Crawler discovered on channel that it will cease on 18 Oct 2023
16 Oct 2023 - Announced that it will NOT be suspended on 18 Oct 2023
18 Oct 2023 - Scheduled to cease but did not happen
18 Mar 2024 - Crawler discovered on channel that it will cease on 31 Mar 2024
31 Mar 2024 - Scheduled to cease but did not happen
02 July 2024 - Crawler discovered on channel that it will cease on 4 July 2024. No announcement made by either parties.
04 July 2024 - Scheduled to cease but did not happen

MYTV Broadcasting
28 July 2020 - Launch on MYTV Broadcasting

19 Oct 2023 - Announced that will be suspended on 2 Nov 2023
20 Oct 2023 - Awesome TV says they should’ve been allowed to broadcast until August 2025
02 Nov 2023 - Scheduled to cease but did not happen & announced that will NOT be suspended until further notice on the same day
16 Mar 2024 - Announced that will be suspended on 19 Mar 2024
18 Mar 2024 - Announced that it will NOT be suspended on 19 Mar 2024
19 Mar 2024 - Scheduled to cease but did not happen
24 May 2024 - Announced that will be suspended on 26 May 2024
26 May 2024 - For the 1st time, it was successfully suspended from broadcast on MYTV Broadcasting
29 May 2024 - Resumed broadcast from suspension at 6:05pm

224 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0437sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:01 AM