Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Nov 22 2023, 12:44 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 22 2023, 10:15 AM)
wtf is going on here, asstroll remove my TVb anywhere access.

My package is a legacy package that comes with Disney hotstar + Tvb anywhere. It is out of contract but I didnt change anything I pay every month same amt RM110.25.

First they silently remove my hotstar, I dont complain because I dont need hotstar, now they remove tvb anywhere silently. It was fine 2 days ago.

I tot legacy package will remain as long as I pay money?

they really want to screw people is it?

Calm down. It could be a technical glitch.

Can confirm whether you're able to login to your Astro Go?
Try unlink and link the TVBAnywhere+ account to your Astro ID, and then try login again.
joshhd
post Nov 22 2023, 12:46 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Nov 22 2023, 12:16 PM)
The Astro RM14.99 Smart TV app can now get 4k/UHD channel? I saw in Astro website that states 4k/UHD for the smart app.

4K VOD content, yes.
4K UHD linear channel, no.
joshhd
post Nov 23 2023, 11:42 AM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Nov 23 2023, 12:31 AM)
god damn i just received email my contract will auto renew for 24 months again. anyway to cancel this since i's going to be 30 days less than renewal date.

It can only be done by calling customer service 03-95433838 ya. They won't entertain your cancellation request if it is through other touchpoints like WhatsApp, email, social media,...
QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 23 2023, 01:09 AM)
No dolby atmos too.
Ultra show atmos compatible right?

Ultra Box is compatible with Dolby Atmos, yes.
You can enjoy Dolby Atmos audio through Netflix app. Netflix Premium plan (4 screens) is required.
joshhd
post Nov 23 2023, 01:25 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 23 2023, 11:55 AM)
At least they send email

How about silently renew without informing you about the extension of contract 😏

Usually it's either email or SMS.
But let's say if the email and phone number that customer provided to Astro is invalid or not up to date, and contract auto renewal already happened, then who's fault do you think is it?
QUOTE(stranger88 @ Nov 23 2023, 12:45 PM)
yeah i called them this morning, told me can switch to non contract (slightly expensive price) 1-2days before my contract renewal

Must wait until 1-2 days before contract renewal date to call them again to notify them again that you want a 0 month contract option? They really tell you that?

Which pack you're on now btw?
joshhd
post Nov 23 2023, 11:47 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 23 2023, 02:08 PM)
Is it true that Assthrow has upgraded disney+hotstar app to enable 4K?

No.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 23 2023, 02:25 PM)
Hehehe....

Anyways...

No wonder I see got pop up msg in some of the channels
Asking to update phone number

Probably Already gotten cases contract renewal without customer knowledge 😏

That's one possible scenario... hmm.gif
QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 23 2023, 02:37 PM)
Still receiving annoying reminder sms to pay the monthly bill.

That means you don't pay on time lo... sweat.gif
If they send reminder SMS, customer will complain it is annoying.
If they don't send reminder SMS, customer will complain that Astro never remind them, end up the account got suspended and then have to pay reconnection fee to resume service.

So how?
Or you can be like me, go for auto debit as Astro bill payment method. Peace of mind. biggrin.gif Debit or credit card also works actually.
But unless you really got cash flow problem where your bank savings account balance is lesser than your Astro bill amount, then it's a different story.
joshhd
post Nov 25 2023, 02:58 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 24 2023, 02:37 PM)
Auto renew 24 mth? Means you have chance only every 2 years without penalty  doh.gif

No one complain to MCMC?

Auto renew 24 mth? Means you have chance only every 2 years without penalty doh.gif
In other way, yes you could say that.
See how is their penalty charges is being calculated here: https://support.astro.com.my/question/how-a...-fee-calculated

No one complain to MCMC?
They didn't force you to take 24 months contract (except certain conditions like subscribing to Astro Fibre, or subscribe to packs that includes either Netflix or Disney+ Hotstar for the first time).
You can opt for 0 month contract if you don't want any contract, but the monthly fee will be slightly higher.
The difference in monthly fees between 0 month contract and 24 months is between RM15/month to RM25/month, depending on which pack you subscribe to.
QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 24 2023, 03:09 PM)
When people upgrade or change package on the phone, this probably not even mentioned.

As what I know, and as mentioned before, it is mandatory for their agents to mention the contract auto renewal rule before the customer agrees to proceed subscribing it.
If the customer has solid evidence of Astro not informing the customer about contract auto renewal upon subscribing, customer can file a complaint all the way to MCMC or even the consumer tribunal.
QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 24 2023, 08:00 PM)
There is no strong consumer protection laws in Malaysia.
How can assthrow reserves the rights to change its terms & conditions in the agreement?
When customer late payment, equipment faulty and etc.. customers need to pay all the incidental charges.
When there is outage of services, assthrow only conveniently release apology without any fair competitions to deter the recurring.

Unfortunately Astro reserves the rights to change whatever service T&C as they see fit.
If you don't agree, the best thing you can do is terminate Astro for good. Or you can convert to NJOI.
Otherwise, there are other choices out there like Unifi TV, Netflix or other streaming services.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 25 2023, 03:05 PM
joshhd
post Nov 27 2023, 11:09 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Nov 27 2023, 08:09 PM)
Astro Fibre 500Mbps now at RM90/mth for 24 months.

...provided if you bundle it with your Astro TV plan. And you must be on the new Astro packs, hence contract auto renewal applies together with both Astro TV and Astro Fibre.
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 27 2023, 08:16 PM)
after 24mth?

and, i think in the last few pages, people posted their ASTRO fibre is getting another automated mandatory 2yr contract renewal. "mandatory", as i'm not sure can opt out or not.
So I would be alert to such practice; if you missed the window to terminate, will be another 2yrs for another opportunity. also not sure if contracts for fibre and astro pack will be aligned same due date or not. headache whoah to terminate if they aren't.

What I know is, if you bundle Astro Fibre together with Astro TV plan, then contract auto renewal applies. The contract start & end date will be the same for both of your Astro TV and Fibre subscription.
However, if you opt for standalone Astro Fibre, then the contract auto renewal rule does not apply.
joshhd
post Nov 28 2023, 04:58 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 28 2023, 03:00 PM)
I am a long time customer. One day got a called from one guy claimed to be from Astro saying that my package was already obsolete and need to "migrate" to new package. So, he picked the package close to what I had and told me that the contract will be renewed for another 2 years. Well, I said okay since two years will quickly passed since my account was way way more than that and I have no reason to cancel the account even though many called it Assteruk. As far as I remember, there is no mentioned about auto-renewal,

When you guys mentioned about it in this forum, I went to check online my status and it is indeed under auto-renew and it is going to expire in Jan next year. Now because of this, I plan to cancel my Astro subscription. Still have time for 1 month notice.

I have my old Unifi box that is no longer work (1st generation box I believe). I understand taht you can use Andriod box and just download apps to get UnifiTV. I tried with my PC but it looks like the picture quality is bad. I can subscribe to streaming service (not sure how good the picture would be) and probably just get NJOY box.

I want to cancel subscription because I felt like cheated. After being loyal customer more than 10 years ago this practice is annoying.  sad.gif

If you don't want contract, you can call customer service 30 days before contract renewal date, tell them to change your contract plan into 0 month contract (so that no more contract auto renewal). But the monthly fees thereafter will be slightly higher, from RM15 to RM25/month, depending on which pack you've subscribed to.

Which pack you're on now though?
joshhd
post Nov 29 2023, 09:05 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 29 2023, 08:22 AM)
Wow! Got such option? This is more like squeezing money from customer. Get extra secured money either terminate or not terminate.  doh.gif

I just checked it is Premium Pack 1 but my Auto monthly charge is 165. Looks like I have Add-On. I guess the guy adjusted it to be somewhat similar to the package I had before. I do not remember what it was because as you know being paid automatically each month let you forget  rclxub.gif

Wow! Got such option?
Hmm, didn't read my previous posts... 😐
0 month contract and 12 month contract options has been there since Day 1 sweat.gif
Refer this:
Source: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry108101700

Looks like I have Add-On.
If not sure what add-ons you have, can check it by logging in to https://myastro.astro.com.my/ or use My Astro app.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 29 2023, 09:07 PM
joshhd
post Nov 30 2023, 05:28 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Nov 30 2023, 03:44 PM)
Kerajaan P. Pinang sell shares of astro because falling subscribe numbers and values.

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 30 2023, 04:47 PM)
🫢 best. news. yet. 👍
QUOTE(pokemon @ Nov 30 2023, 04:50 PM)
How come only Chinese daily report?
Salah DAP for astro share price decline
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Nov 30 2023, 04:53 PM)
my fault for stopping RM210 subscription since November 2023.

Article here: https://www.kwongwah.com.my/20231130/%E6%9B...astro%E8%82%A1/
Feel free to Google Translate.

So it is all customers fault for terminating Astro.
"If there's not too many customers terminating Astro, then this wouldn't have happen."
joshhd
post Dec 1 2023, 12:32 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 1 2023, 11:55 AM)
hmm wonder those on Arena Bola pack is (un)able to enjoy it...
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Dec 1 2023, 12:24 PM)
I presume they can only watch the 1080p version on Arena/Arena Bola.

That match will shown on adhoc channel Astro SuperSport UHD 806, not literally "Astro Arena Bola UHD" also...

So... 🤔🤷
Astro can take this opportunity to upsell Sports Pack / Ultra Box to those who want to watch Liga Malaysia match in 4K UHD.
joshhd
post Dec 1 2023, 12:35 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Dec 1 2023, 09:08 AM)
Why Sooka is so generous while Astro is so stingy?

Not sure why, but I also notice that postpaid subscriptions will always be expensive compared to prepaid subscriptions.

Even all our Malaysian mobile telcos plans are like that too.

But for Sooka, I think they wanna make up their mess and gain back trust, since they experienced numerous times of service outages whenever there's big sports match.
joshhd
post Dec 1 2023, 06:21 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Dec 1 2023, 01:02 PM)
They couldn’t anyway. Since it’s a pack add-on, you need to upgrade to Sports Pack to watch in 4K with Arena Bola already being included.

Speaking of which, it has been 7-8 times since I tried to purchase Liga Malaysia Pack add-on to my Primary Pack (no contract). Nothing changed.

So my instinct is clear from the start: I need to go to Sports Pack instead to watch Ch 803-804, since those are also airing major regional football leagues (AFC Cup, AFC Champions League). Or I just go to sooka.

My friend, you don't need Sports Pack for the sake of watching CH803/804 (although Astro will be happier if you upgrade to Sports Pack instead 🙃)
Primary Pack customers (regardless of contract period) is eligible to subscribe Liga Malaysia add-on.
What you've been experienced, is clearly a technical glitch on their end. doh.gif

I suggest you engage with their CS agent about this issue instead. You can go to Astro Facebook page, message them (it'll be a chatbot at first).
You type "live agent", then it'll route to live agent.
Let the agent manually process it on their end instead.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 1 2023, 06:37 PM
joshhd
post Dec 1 2023, 06:31 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Dec 1 2023, 05:15 PM)
Spealing of which, SOOKA VIP TV package price is reduced to RM49.90/ month and can be watched on 3 concurrent devices.

Lol, Sooka is getting cheaper, but Astro packages aren't getting cheaper. What logic??? 🙃

If they want to be generous, at least should provide option to customer to opt-out contract auto renewal upon subscribing to the pack.
Meaning, once the initial 24 mths contract ends, monthly fee will automatically bump up to the 0 month contract rate. End of story.
No more "automatically tying my leg for another 24 mths" nonsense.
No more "the only way is to manually call customer service 30 days before contract ends just to change to 0 mth contract" nonsense.

Of course, they'll have to send SMS or email to notify customers before the bill raises to the 0 mth contract rate la.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 1 2023, 06:34 PM
joshhd
post Dec 3 2023, 06:53 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 3 2023, 01:16 PM)
Do all Astro customers automatically get their Internet package upgraded now?

https://www.astroiptv.com.my/astro-fibre/

Nope. Plus, the website you provided, is ownself created by Astro sales agent.
QUOTE(xxxgkssixxx @ Dec 3 2023, 06:39 PM)
Does Primary Pack allow add-ons (Eg. Asian Favourites) or just stuck with the same channels offered during the whole contract period?

Primary Pack is the only new Astro pack where they don't allow subscribing to the 3 Asian Favourites, which are Indonesian, Chinese, Indian Favourites.
You must be on a higher package to subscribe to Asian Favourites.
joshhd
post Dec 3 2023, 09:44 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Dec 3 2023, 07:58 PM)
Many Assthrow fans club are saying assthrow is going to axe more linear channels and push the customers for streaming.
Is it true?

I thought this is already happening since many years ago? Astro has ceased many linear channels over the years...
joshhd
post Dec 4 2023, 08:43 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Dec 3 2023, 11:09 PM)
At least there are some replacements of the axed linear channels many years ago.
They are not interested to replace the axed channels and a shortchanged to customers now.

Same goes to any pay TV providers out there, they are not obligated to provide channel replacements in the event of any channel cessation, and Astro is no exception to this.
QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Dec 4 2023, 01:50 AM)
Why I can’t download sooka app on Sony android tv?it says the version is not compatible with my tv

What's your Android TV version?
According to https://support.sooka.my/hc/en-us/articles/...-sooka-support-
it needs to be "version 8.0 and above"
joshhd
post Dec 4 2023, 08:51 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(choonsern @ Dec 4 2023, 04:17 PM)
hi wanna ask if now wanna apply astro, all must use the wifi-box? cannot use satelite box?
coz still wanna press the remote control for old ppl

No, it is not compulsory that you must use Plug & Play to sign up Astro.
Plug & Play is now the default installation method for all new Astro installations nowadays, but if you want the Satellite one, you must tell the agent that you want the Satellite one, not the Plug & Play one.
If you keep quiet and don't say anything about that, they'll likely give you the Plug & Play one, so be careful lah.

If you sign up online through Astro website, select "Standard" as your "Choose your installation method", not "Plug & Play".

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 4 2023, 08:51 PM
joshhd
post Dec 4 2023, 09:51 PM

7,801 posts

https://www.facebook.com/AstroArenaSukan/po...ojxd1cXwcS7pYml

Malaysia Cup 2023 Final match (Johor vs Terengganu) will be available live in 4K UHD and Dolby Atmos blink.gif
Source: https://stadiumastro.com/bola-sepak/astro-t...by-atmos-251467

Match kick-off date is 8 Dec 2023 night around 8-9pm, on ad-hoc channel 806 (Astro SuperSport UHD 806)

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 4 2023, 10:02 PM
joshhd
post Dec 4 2023, 09:58 PM

7,801 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 4 2023, 09:51 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/AstroArenaSukan/po...ojxd1cXwcS7pYml

Malaysia Cup 2023 Final match (Johor vs Terengganu) will be available live in 4K UHD and Dolby Atmos  blink.gif
Source: https://stadiumastro.com/bola-sepak/astro-t...by-atmos-251467

Match kick-off date is 8 Dec 2023 night around 8-9pm, on ad-hoc channel 806 (Astro SuperSport UHD 806)

Although I do wonder:
  • No HDR?
  • Will English audio commentary be available then? Or both Malay and English will be available on that adhoc channel?
  • Dolby Atmos commentary audio for which audio language track? English only? Malay only? Or both? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Dec 4 2023, 10:02 PM

224 Pages « < 176 177 178 179 180 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:40 AM