Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jun 23 2023, 12:13 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 23 2023, 08:31 AM)
I think auto renew contract will take place whenever you change package. This is should not be allowed and unfair to those who has been customers for more than 2 years. However, the argument would be that it involves contract between Astro and service provider which is related to number of subscribers on particular channel I think.  hmm.gif

The reason why they impose contract auto renewal rule, is to continue tying your legs, and they don't want you to suka suka terminate Astro anytime you want, as it is making them financially insecure and volatile.
To them, if you don't want ongoing contract, then choose the 0 month contract option, which you'll pay a bit more every month.
If still not happy, then don't subscribe Astro at all in the first place. It's as simple as that.

If you want to suka suka subscribe and cancel anytime, then you should subscribe to Sooka.
That one, you can suka suka stop anytime. No contract.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 23 2023, 12:14 PM
joshhd
post Jun 23 2023, 12:17 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 23 2023, 12:14 PM)
Not as simple as that. 24 mth contract at sign up is fine. Auto renewal is wrong.

They'll notify you on the 23rd month that your contract will auto renew. If you don't want, then tell them to change to 0 month contract option.
That way, it's considered as no contract auto renewal.

To you, it's wrong. But to them, they find that it is the right way for their pay TV business to sustain in the long run.
joshhd
post Jun 23 2023, 12:57 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ Jun 23 2023, 12:33 PM)
You are right for them to ensure survival but I am a strong proponent of not auto renewing because people may miss the message and suddenly find themselves tied again financially for another 24 mths. I strongly do not think this is the right way of doing business.

They can argue that they did sent out reminder SMS to notify you 1 month before the contract auto renewal kicks in.
If you said you "overlooked it" or "forgot" or "I didn't receive SMS because mobile number in system is not updated", then it's not their problem anymore. Imagine giving that excuse in court.

Ethically it doesn't look right, but this tactic makes business sense.
You could say this is considered as one of their dark patterns too. Read this to know more what is it about:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107310871
joshhd
post Jun 23 2023, 10:06 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 23 2023, 09:41 PM)
Well so much for "Malay" subtitles

They thought Bahasa Melayu and Bahasa Indonesia is the "same thing" sweat.gif

Got budget to hire Bahasa Indonesia subtitlers but no budget to hire Bahasa Melayu subtitlers. 😆

Even so, at least they've should've take the initiative to use translation tools like Google Translate to translate from Bahasa Indonesia to Bahasa Melayu... Instead, they straightaway use Bahasa Indonesia subtitles for Malaysian audiences 🙃

Btw, where's their English subtitles? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 23 2023, 10:09 PM
joshhd
post Jun 24 2023, 04:35 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 24 2023, 12:23 PM)
My parents house's currently subscribed to a RM128.20 package. Is it possible to change the subscription to Platinum for just one month and then switch back to the RM128.20 package?
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 24 2023, 02:05 PM)
The 128.20 is old legacy package???

Anyway
Once u out, hard to go back...

Platinum u can try the non contract one... But still... Hard to simply change like that... Unless higher package

Change the subscription to Platinum for just one month and then switch back to your old package? sweat.gif

Could you share with us why you want to do that?
joshhd
post Jun 25 2023, 12:23 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 24 2023, 02:05 PM)
The 128.20 is old legacy package???

Anyway
Once u out, hard to go back...

Platinum u can try the non contract one... But still... Hard to simply change like that... Unless higher package
QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 24 2023, 09:26 PM)
Yes legacy package
QUOTE(brandonkl @ Jun 24 2023, 09:27 PM)
Because I will be back staying in my parents house for 3 weeks. So I want to watch the channels when I am staying with parents for that 3 weeks.

Once you switch to the new packs, you won't be able to move back to legacy packs anymore. It's a one way ticket, not round trip ticket.

Once you switch to Platinum Pack, you'll be upgraded to Ultra Box if you haven't yet, and saying no is not an option. Platinum Pack has Netflix and Disney+ Hotstar apps. And since it is your first time take up new Astro pack that has either or both apps mentioned for your Astro account, therefore you can only choose either 12 months contract or 24 months contract option. 0 month contract option is not eligible for you.

Which legacy pack are you on now? What are the must-have channels for your parents? And what channels do you want to watch?
joshhd
post Jun 25 2023, 01:35 AM

7,803 posts

Indonesia Pay-TV Operator to challenge Astro in Malaysia
https://forum.malaysiainternet.my/thread-153.html
PT MNC Vision Networks Tbk (IPTV) is ready to expand its customer-based television business and content distribution services using Direct to Home (DTH) in Malaysia this year. This move is driven by the significant market potential observed in the neighboring country.

Ade Tjendra, CEO of PT MNC Vision Networks Tbk, explained that IPTV has signed a cooperation agreement with Ansat Broadcast Sdn Bhd (Ansat Broadcast), signaling the readiness for market expansion in Malaysia this year.

"This year, we are ensuring that we will expand our business to Malaysia, not only in Indonesia but also in Malaysia, as we see a great potential market there," said Ade during the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (RUPST) at the MNC Conference Hall on Tuesday (June 20, 2023).

He highlighted that the television content landscape in Malaysia is still relatively limited, which is why IPTV finds it attractive to develop its business in the country. Additionally, due to cultural similarities between Malaysia and Indonesia, it would be easier to adapt the required content.

"We are developing our satellite DTH business in Malaysia because there is only one operator there, Astro Malaysia Holdings Berhad. This is an opportunity we see, so we want to enter that market," revealed Ade.

Currently, a Term Sheet has been signed by Hary Tanoesoedibjo, Executive Chairman of MNC Group, representing MNC Group, and Tan Sri Dato' Seri Vincent Tan Chee Yioun, Founder and Executive Chairman of Berjaya Corporation Berhad (BCorp), representing Ansat Broadcast.

"We have a partner there, Berjaya Group, so this year we will launch our DTH Satellite product because we already have the license. We will compete with Astro by leveraging our local content strength, and we also want to combine it with our OTT business," Ade stated.

However, Ade emphasized that the company does not plan to allocate capital expenditure (Capex) or investment spending for the year 2023 regarding the expansion into the Malaysian market. This is because IPTV will utilize the existing satellite footprint.

"We don't need Capex because we will utilize our existing satellite's footprint. It's essentially a geographic expansion without additional Capex, expanding our market coverage from Java to Sumatra, for example," explained Ade.
Syarikat satelit TV Indonesia IPTV lebarkan sayap ke Malaysia tahun ini
https://www.astroawani.com/berita-bisnes/sy...ahun-ini-424996
Perbelanjaan modal pula tidak diperlukan kerana syarikat memanfaatkan liputan satelit sedia ada yang merangkumi kawasan sekitar pulau Sumatera, katanya.

joshhd
post Jun 25 2023, 01:46 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 25 2023, 01:35 AM)
Indonesia Pay-TV Operator to challenge Astro in Malaysia
https://forum.malaysiainternet.my/thread-153.html
Syarikat satelit TV Indonesia IPTV lebarkan sayap ke Malaysia tahun ini
https://www.astroawani.com/berita-bisnes/sy...ahun-ini-424996

Based on the article, it seems to suggest that they plan to use its existing Measat 3a satellite footprint meant for Indonesia to launch its satellite pay TV service in Malaysia.

MNC Vision also operates its Indonesian pay TV service in Measat 3a satellite under Indonesia beam. Currently it is under the branding of "K-Vision", and almost all channels is in SD quality.

As for the signal reception, of course, its satellite signal isn't as excellent as Malaysia beam (Astro) to be received in Malaysia, but it's sufficient enough to cover entire Peninsular Malaysia, but a bigger dish size may be needed for reception in Sarawak and Sabah states.

Anyway, as I said before, I'll take news like these as a pinch of salt until it is officially launch to the public. Otherwise, who knows it'll just be another Sirius TV, then it'll just be a waste of time and hope... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 25 2023, 02:01 AM
joshhd
post Jun 25 2023, 10:29 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jun 25 2023, 08:00 AM)
They called me last month asking me to upgrade to Ultra box and giving similar monthly discount RM40
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 25 2023, 10:12 AM)
Same package with RM40 monthly discount?

Seems like retention offer to me. They do this so that you'll stay with Astro.
They had to do this to reduce the number of customers terminating its services as much as possible. If you read the news, you'll know la.

Good for you la... Eligible to enjoy RM40 discount. With the discount amount that high, I guess you're on Super Pack or something?
Did they say the discount lasts for how many months?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 25 2023, 10:31 AM
joshhd
post Jun 26 2023, 10:20 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 26 2023, 08:05 AM)
Most like that this is Gugel translation  smile.gif
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 26 2023, 10:21 AM)
From what I've watched, it seems to be natively translated. TVB just fucked up when they provided the subs I presume. The Japanese Dorama Old Rookie has proper Malay subs, so they are subbing it according to region.
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 26 2023, 11:54 AM)
Hmmm...

Don't really think so 🤔

Google translate is more weird... The writing style 😂

I think not all shows there has that "Indonesian" subtitles issue.
Also, I notice the Malay subs does not have punctuations... Because there's no comma and full stops on a sentence, I see some netizens make noise that the subtitle is making it difficult to read, like don't know where's the start and end of the sentence/dialogue.

Numbers is an issue too. For example, when the dialogue/subtitles supposed to be "2.8 juta", but TVB Magic's Malay subtitles are showing it as "2 8 juta" without the dot. Literally "2<space>8<space>juta" sweat.gif
juta = million

Anyway, no issue on Chinese subtitles.
QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 26 2023, 05:57 PM)
TVB and Assthrow have close relationship for many years.
TVB customized Assthrow rojak ch 124, exclusively.

No doubt that TVB Magic channel that we see, is Malaysia feed and it's exclusive to Astro.
joshhd
post Jun 27 2023, 01:53 PM

7,803 posts

Not happy with 4G, 5G, fibre or courier service? MCMC wants you to report it on their new Consumer Redress Portal
https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/27/not-happy...redress-portal/

How about pay TV service? Who's not happy with Astro here?

- I'm not happy that there's no option for customers to opt out contract auto renewal, and customer must contact them manually to reevaluate contract options 1 month before the end of the contract period.
- I'm not happy that they intentionally making customers difficult to terminate their service, including making only contacting customer service to be the only way to do so.
- I'm not happy that they delay many of the channel feeds from 2 minutes to 1 hour from original, to replace/remove/slot in whatever ads they like, in the name of "content control" or complying censorship guidelines. To me, this is considered content tampering.
- I'm not happy that Ulti and Ultra Box overall software is still sucks, especially when it comes to streaming apps. Compare with Google certified Android TV systems, is almost like day and night.
- ...and more.

Still, what can you do anyway? Sit down do nothing only. dry.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 27 2023, 01:56 PM
joshhd
post Jun 27 2023, 08:08 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 27 2023, 03:15 PM)
yah i also I'm not happy that Ulti and Ultra Box overall software is still sucks, especially when it comes to streaming apps. Compare with Google certified Android TV systems, is almost like day and night.

i prefer back PVR Decoder  bangwall.gif
ulti software still shit compare PVR Software are Super and super Quality no compress video quality recording like satellite quality

still no news ASTRO IPTV VLAN Multicast too bad

What you mean no news? Astro IPTV Multicast is already dead last year. What other news you want? sweat.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...#entry106195716

They supersede it with Plug & Play. The way I see it, they won't bring back Astro IPTV VLAN Multicast anymore. It's permanently discontinued.
So if you don't like what you see on Plug & Play, then use Satellite mode.
joshhd
post Jun 27 2023, 08:18 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 27 2023, 04:19 PM)
Over the years we notice MCMC has bee biased as far astroo is concerned,the only compay allowed to do business without a toll free customer care line! The earlier PKR minister took TM to task but not astro,now we have another useless one who makes too much noise over small things! How MCMC allows auto contract renewal? What nonsense! There should be no such thing as auto renewal! I sign up for 24 months and thats it after completion asstro shld get to us back for renewal not auto! mad.gif

All the things you mentioned, company are allowed to made up whatever policies they see fit.
The MCMC nor communication ministry never have such rule/law that forbids service providers from implementing contract auto renewal.

Since they didn't say it's not allowed, so it is deemed allowed in nature lor... sweat.gif

To them, it's like if you don't want it to auto renew, then call them 1 month before it auto renew to tell them to change it to 0 month contract. If you still not happy, then don't subscribe Astro at all. whistling.gif:
joshhd
post Jun 28 2023, 08:40 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 27 2023, 11:06 PM)
yah i know last year Astro IPTV Multicast they already stop it
hmm wont back again Astro IPTV VLAN Multicast

sigh lost

waste astro
and plug & play is poor quality

yah still use Satellite mode

any tips how to get back PVR Decoder
Now only you ask this... It's too late laa.
I don't think Astro will layan you for such request, since they discontinued PVR box long time ago...

You ask your family/relative and friends who is still using PVR box, tell them to exchange with you in private la. In terms of money (package subscription), you pandai pandai manage it with your relative or friend. Don't get Astro involved in this.

Remember to take good care of the PVR box, cuz if it's faulty and can't repair in the future, their installer won't do much other than replace it with Ulti Box, and then they'll collect back the faulty PVR box.
joshhd
post Jun 29 2023, 03:20 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 29 2023, 11:46 AM)
What if the cable rosak?
One of the cable no signal.  Tested and switch with other PVR to confirm the cable malfunction.
Dont' want to switch to ultra.

So you're saying that the signal reading for Tuner 1 and Tuner 2 on your PVR box now (STB Diagnostics page), either one is showing 0%, correct?

You can tell Astro customer service that you're facing this problem, and you'll need technician to come over to check.
Hence, you'll be given 2 options to choose, either Option A: FREE but account must remain active for 12 months, or Option B: pay RM65 to the installer.

As they arrange a technician to come over to your house, Astro company will be paying RM40 as a wages installer, even if you (customer) opted for FREE but must remain active for 12 months option. Read more here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107165538
So what does this got to do with you, you ask? Oh yes, trust me, it does. Read more below. Imagine this:

Scenario A
Once the installer came, they check check check.... And then they might say "Oh, your PVR box too old already, nowadays everyone is upgrading... We'll help you change to new Ulti Box, for free. biggrin.gif"
Let's say you agree and successfully change to Ulti Box, and the Astro installer complete the job and leave your house.
Astro installer no need to sweat by climbing up to the rooftop to do whatever stuff.
If you choose Option A, Astro company will pay RM40 wages to the installer. If you choose Option B, Astro company will ask installer to pay them RM25 for the job.

Scenario B
The installer came, they check check check.... You tell them or they found out that one of the 2 satellite cables from your Astro dish (Dual LNB) is faulty, while the other 1 still working fine.
Beware, some installer may want to "take shortcut"... Since Ulti or Ultra Box only need 1 satellite cable to work, and your 1 cable still working fine, the installer be like "Aiyaa boss, tukar Ulti Box saja lah...", and then back to "Scenario A" as mentioned earlier.

But you make noise that you don't want to upgrade and want PVR box. The installer had no choice but to be like: "Haihh, so unlucky laa, met a customer like that... No choice la... sweat.gif "
Or maybe so happen you met a hardworking installer that straightaway begin troubleshooting by checking both ends of the cabling, and climb up to the rooftop to check further...

Then, they found out that the connector and/or the cable is faulty. To replace it or lay new cable, they will charge you accordingly.
Or, since 1 cable of yours still working, maybe they can change to DCSS LNB to you, but still you'll need a 2 way F cable splitter to connect INPUT 1 and INPUT 2 ports at the back of your PVR box. They will charge you for the cable splitter for sure. In case you're curious, this is how the current Astro DCSS LNB look like:

Once done changing to DCSS LNB and some settings change on your PVR box, now you see signal readings on Tuner 1 and Tuner 2 on your PVR box (STB Diagnostics page).
You can now record 2 channels simultaneously on your PVR box without issues now.
Issue solved, hence the installer completes the job and leave your house.
If you choose Option A, Astro company will pay RM40 wages to the installer. If you choose Option B, Astro company will ask installer to pay them RM25 for the job.

-------

So if you are that Astro installer, what will you do?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 29 2023, 03:29 PM
joshhd
post Jun 30 2023, 12:42 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 29 2023, 10:00 PM)
TQ for your detailed reply.
I have 2 PVR at home.  So there are 4 cables from the LNB ( 2 cables for each PVR)
Can I buy SatCR adaptor for the working cable to connect to PVR?
Cheaper cost right?

Can I buy SatCR adaptor for the working cable to connect to PVR?
Technically yes. SatCR will still work.

Cheaper cost right?
It will be much cheaper if you opt for DCSS LNB instead, since Astro DCSS LNB is much more widely available today, so it'll be much cheaper too.
SatCR LNB supports maximum 4 tuners (equivalent to 2 PVR boxes), but Astro DCSS LNB supports unlimited number of tuners (as many Astro box as you want), all you need is just a splitter to split the cable connection to the respective Astro boxes.
Technically, DCSS is newer technology compared to SatCR, that's why...

You can discuss with the installer if you want to go for this route. I hope you won't get those installer that is hoping for "shortcut way to solve problem" ones sweat.gif
joshhd
post Jul 3 2023, 10:54 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 2 2023, 01:43 PM)
Many saying Ultibox PQ is not good compared with the old Zapper HD box???

. software not stable too??
QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Jul 3 2023, 07:28 PM)
for me.. my opinion may be bit on the majority side...

old box where no new current high display + HDR/DV comes in
so when people enjoy older box with the older TV generation.. they will say pic matches what TV is supposed to view of

The new box comes at a newer + more higher reso with multiple codecs to view off.. for sure Astro pic will see as not as good as others or even built youtube video..
tech-wise as per advice by Josh.. ya.. they might lower down the bandwidth just to save cost....
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 3 2023, 08:45 PM)
Hmm....
UltiBox is the basic types... HD is the maximum... Ultrabox is much better... Even HD looks good (probably upscaling thingy)...

If talking about much older box... The Silver types... Then that one even worse.... Not even support HD...

As for bandwidth usage...  It's well known astro try to maximize the transponder usage....

Personally, when watching a same HD channel via satellite, I'm seeing the same exact picture quality between HD/PVR box versus the Ulti/Ultra Box.

Anyone here can put a side by side comparison of older HD box versus Ulti/Ultra box on how's the poorer picture quality look like?
joshhd
post Jul 4 2023, 09:10 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jul 4 2023, 12:17 AM)
The newest addition to sooka Live TV channels: CarbonTV, eSports TV (ESTV), and K-Popcorn. All are free to watch without sign-in.

Here are the channels' descriptions:

Source: https://support.sooka.my/hc/en-us/articles/...nnels-on-sooka-

Looks like it's an online-only channel, and they make it an Sooka exclusive channel? sweat.gif
I doubt it'll achieve high viewership laa... Plus, there's no multilingual subtitles...
joshhd
post Jul 8 2023, 12:29 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(M_Shahrul @ Jul 5 2023, 09:20 PM)
What kind of f**king company would do the auto-renew contract one... Bloody hell!!!  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif 

Why would the government allow that? Just f*** off Astro!!!

Didn't the agent tell you that the contract will be auto renewed?
How did you sign up Sports Pack last year? Through what platform? Is it through human agent or self-serve?
QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Jul 6 2023, 10:26 PM)
Fortunately mine don't have this auto renewal term ohmy.gif

That means you are on legacy pack lo...
QUOTE(muscaa @ Jul 7 2023, 04:19 PM)
No my case is different. I got offer from them 2 years ago for a monthly discount. Hence this time around the 2-year discount contract is over. They did not want to continue that discount contract with me so I am now still using Astro without contract. They will terminate the service for me once the current bill cycle is over.🫢

They will terminate the service for me once the current bill cycle is over.🫢
Sounds like you're on legacy pack...

So after they say they no longer can offer you any discount although you've been enjoying discounts for the past 24 months, you tell them to terminate Astro, therefore they say they'll proceed to terminate your Astro service by the end of your bill cycle day.

Is that what you mean?
joshhd
post Jul 8 2023, 12:33 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(8080733 @ Jul 7 2023, 04:45 PM)

Looking to change to either ULTRA BOX or ULTI BOX.
Based on the previous comments , its ULTRA BOX > ULTI BOX , right ?

You can't really choose whether you want Ulti Box or Ultra Box. It mainly depends on your package subscription one...
What pack you're on first? If not sure, check at https://myastro.astro.com.my/ or check your Astro bill.
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jul 7 2023, 07:24 PM)
As @joshhd always explained before, it's about (in)availability of 4K.

Yeah. Generally, the main difference between the two is, Ultra Box supports 4K UHD, while Ulti Box supports up to Full HD only.
The features are still the same.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jul 8 2023, 12:36 AM

224 Pages « < 167 168 169 170 171 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:27 PM