224 Pages « < 166 167 168 169 170 > » Bottom

Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jun 10 2023, 07:13 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Jun 10 2023, 06:26 AM)
I watched a LIVE show on ASTRO WARNA MEGA SPONTAN and some words are bleeped. So is it really live or delayed by few (or more) minutes for censorship purpose? Since this is Astro in house channel
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 10 2023, 08:17 AM)
Even really Live... There's always some delay for censorship... Bad word, sensitive issues or nudity....

Based on what I read on the post's author and comments from the netizens, claiming that live broadcast of locally produced shows (in this context, it's referring to Malay shows like Gegar Vaganza, Mega Spontan...) appears to starts 5 minutes earlier than TV broadcasts.
For example, on TV's on air promos, it advertises that the show suppose to start at 9:00pm. But in reality at the concert venue, they've started the event at 8:55pm instead.
That means, with the headroom of 5 minutes, the Astro's "censorshipman" will need to actively watches and listens to the original feed of the live broadcast, and then censor it quickly.
If the censorshipman didn't manage to censor a particular scene on time, and "accidentally" aired to the public, and you get to watch it, then you're just pure lucky then. But once you watch the programme repeat at a later time, that particular scene shall be censored accordingly.

Imagine, those comedians/actors on stage used some expletives or inappropriate language or context (including funny ones), the audiences at the venue get to enjoy it and laughing, but viewers at home would be clueless and be hearing sudden "mute" audio.

As long the country's censorship guidelines is there, Astro will have no choice but to comply it.
In my opinion, if you think that they're doing this censoring job till it spoils your enjoyment of watching the show, then it should be brought up to the government, particularly Home Ministry and/or Communications Ministry. There's no use of complaining this to Astro.
Because they will be conservative people out there that will lodge a complaint to the authorities if they see a particular scene isn't censored on TV broadcasts, be it accidental or intentional, and then cite the reasons such as:
- this is not Malaysian culture
- this is not the society norms
- this is threatening to the national harmony
- this is not benefiting the society, and will negatively influencing the young generations
joshhd
post Jun 10 2023, 09:23 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(kiritoffx @ Jun 10 2023, 06:46 PM)
Is there a setting to remove black box on video. Feel like watching 480p in 1080p monitor

Where you see that black box? Can show pic?
joshhd
post Jun 10 2023, 11:16 PM

7,803 posts

I stumble upon a post saying that Astro for Business is imposing RM300 connection fee.
https://www.facebook.com/pendakwahteknologi...umom52mYFuQepml
But for regular Astro like all of us, RM21.20 reconnection fee isn't something new also...
But Astro for Business however, it seems to be something new...
https://www.lowyat.net/2023/300364/astro-to...t-reconnection/

To those who don't know, Astro's reconnection fee means, once your account is suspended due to late or no payment by due date, you'll need to pay reconnection fee to resume service or reactivate back your account.
For normal residential Astro customers, the reconnection fee costs RM21.20, while Astro for Business (commercial places like restaurants, hotels...) is RM300.

They do this, is to discourage people from paying their Astro bill late, but people aren't happy about it, but if they don't implement such "punishment" to the late payers, it will eventually affect the company cash flow.
What do you guys think? Should the government get involved in this? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 10 2023, 11:19 PM
joshhd
post Jun 12 2023, 04:43 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 12 2023, 12:04 PM)
today astro technical visit my home they said PVR Decoder rosak
they change ASTRO HD BOX like Ultra
i hate i did ask i want PVR Decoder refurbished they say stoped product

i heath broke  cry.gif  cry.gif

i feel sad right now can't get PVR Decoder back
i did ask repair pvr decoder they said can't
QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 12 2023, 01:49 PM)
its ultibox i don't like

why they don't give refurbished PVR decoder ????

What's the issue with your PVR box that made the installer change it?

Astro PVR box has already been discontinued many years ago, and they no longer provide PVR box as a box replacement anymore, even for refurbished. Their target is to make all Astro customers to use either Ulti Box or Ultra Box moving forward.

What are the things that you don't like about your Ulti Box? List down all of it, if can.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 12 2023, 04:46 PM
joshhd
post Jun 12 2023, 10:02 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Jun 12 2023, 08:21 PM)

My parent using legacy pack....
due to limitation on multiroom(old player) + satelite dish, i though of upgrade to platinum package(195) ultrabox MAIN + 2Ultrabox multiroom(49)....

to my surprise, agent told me that multiroom only entitle for ultibox for rm49 package....not entitle for ultra box(satelite/plug & play)

is it true?
or is it different pricing if want to apply ultra box for multiroom?

You called their customer service and their agent said that?
Try talk to another agent and see if you get the same answer.

Alternatively, since you want to switch to new packs, you can also chat with a live agent by WhatsApp SWITCH to +60395433838.
joshhd
post Jun 12 2023, 11:03 PM

7,803 posts

SPOTV: Video defects are inherent from source. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Pixelation or sudden video/audio loss in live broadcasts is common, especially when the broadcast cameras are on mobile due to signal degradation, just like this cycling competition event.
Imagine at the shooting venue, the cameraman is moving at fast speeds on a car/motorcycle/helicopter, with the camera transmitting the video footage wirelessly to their receiver, the wireless signal can be blocked or affected by the surrounding trees, hills or buildings, hence resulting temporary pixelation or video/audio loss for that particular scene, which can be seen by all viewers at home.
The video switcher operator (person who changes camera scenes/angles in real-time) will need to quickly change to other camera scenes/angles.

And I think SPOTV is very thoughtful for putting up a crawler to remind viewers that whatever sudden video/audio loss they see, is not a technical issue coming from the channel operator, and I think it will be a good idea that Astro would do such practice too.
Kudos to SPOTV rclxms.gif
joshhd
post Jun 13 2023, 02:26 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 13 2023, 02:12 AM)
i don't know why my pvr decoder faulty
since Saturday morning was fine my mom told me 7pm above want watch astro but suddenly signal unavailable
i check satellite signal i shock  tuner 1 0% tuner 2 0%
smart card show 0000 0000 0000
i did smart card remove but noting show saying please insert smart card that never ask
i did turn off and turn on still smart card 0000 0000 0000
i did remove smart card and turn off and turn on still never ask insert smart card
i insert smart card also noting
always signal unavailable SCNA

astro technical checked they say satellite signal prefect
they found pvr faulty crazy
hdd no problem but not detect smart card
he did remove and reinsert still same told me faulty
he give me ultibox i told i don't like give me refurbished PVR Decoder
he said can't get and stoped already  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif   

i hate ultibox
live tv i check channel seen picture compress quality not good but pvr decoder live tv picture quality prefect uncompressed
picture quality compress
record blur hate
rewind and etc
and lag too

compare PVR Decoder inside HDD always picture quality uncompressed

sigh i am sad
i can accept refurbished pvr decoder

but refuse daam

i am unhappy ultibox its bad

very sad la
i really want back pvr refurbished

Didn't you tell the customer service that you're experiencing smart card problem (Smart Card 0000 0000 0000)?
They could have just courier / ship a new smart card to your house for free, then you just insert the new card to your PVR box.
Did they ship a new smart card to your house?

And, you could have tell the installer you insist that you want to continue using PVR box and not to upgrade to Ulti Box.
joshhd
post Jun 14 2023, 12:04 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Jun 14 2023, 11:45 AM)
hi,
May i know the output quality of multiroom? Is it better than ultibox and does it have 4K UHD on those selected sports channel? Thanks

Which Multiroom are you referring to?

There's 2 types of Multiroom. One is Multiroom (Box), another is Multiroom (Smart TV).

Multiroom (Smart TV) does not provide any UHD channels.
joshhd
post Jun 14 2023, 05:19 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Jun 14 2023, 01:21 PM)
it's multiroom (smart tv).. Because there is one post #12764, stated that available 4K UHD for movies using multiroom Smart TV.
That's why want to confirm whether available for sports also or not.. Thank for reply
QUOTE(mikhaC @ Jun 14 2023, 01:23 PM)
@joshhd This is the post

That one is..... You can stream selected On Demand content in 4K UHD quality.
But you won't be getting 4K UHD channels on Multiroom Smart TV, including Astro SuperSport UHD (CH805).

The only way to get access to Astro's 4K UHD channel is through the Ultra Box.
joshhd
post Jun 15 2023, 12:31 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Jun 14 2023, 05:47 PM)

Maybe in the future, Astro Smart TV app will also support 4K Channel?

"Maybe"... sweat.gif
But right now for Smart TV app, 4K UHD quality is available only for On Demand content.
joshhd
post Jun 15 2023, 01:22 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jun 14 2023, 02:24 PM)
It’s official on Astro’s YouTube channel. TVB Magic will commence broadcast on Ch 124, from Jun 19, 2023, 6:30pm on Astro TV, Astro GO, On Demand, and NJOI.

QUOTE(michaelkkl @ Jun 14 2023, 07:22 PM)
Hmm interesting, Astro and TVBI cooperate to launch new channel but without TVB logo🤔

...but with TVB branding.
And, it's going to be another "exclusive channel on Astro".

Meanwhile, I found the Cantonese version as well:
https://www.facebook.com/TVBJadePower/posts...WCxWpfQ9Y9aemfl
https://www.facebook.com/TVBJadePower/posts...Sv2qmkZhqsB92Wl
joshhd
post Jun 17 2023, 05:24 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Squirtle @ Jun 17 2023, 02:40 PM)
An update... Im calling them to terminate astro while i have remaining contract 16 months...

The CS told me pay to pay 3k for penalty... What the heck Astro? Better continue subscribe until end of contract save me 900 ringgit, much cheaper...

No wonder people hate Astro so much... I am gonna complain to Mcmc...

Also i have a question what will happen if we just ignore to pay astro? Any legal action to me? Thanks

What I see here is, it appears you didn't read or familiarise yourself on the service terms and conditions before you agree to sign up Astro and proceed with the 24 months contract, and now you complain that penalty is very expensive since you got 16 months remaining before your 24 months contract ends.

If you do not agree with such terms, you shouldn't have subscribe to Astro in the first place.

If you choose not to pay your Astro bills and just ignore, your IC number will automatically submitted to CTOS, and your credit score will be affected, resulting you much harder to apply or approve any kind of bank loans (housing loans, car loans...) in the future. If no action taken by you in the next few months, you shall eventually receive a legal letter from Astro, demanding you for payment.
joshhd
post Jun 17 2023, 05:34 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 17 2023, 03:21 PM)
I just noticed your post about this

I have a different view. It's annoying. If you follow the sports religiously, you WILL know that live feed will have issues. So whenever something small happen and this ticker appears, it's infuriating, especially when watching MotoGP. Yes, I know the feed is not perfect, but that ticker is obscuring stuffs that I want to see.

So I rather have what Bein and Astro does. Only rely on ticker messages like this when a MAJOR issue appears, such as when there is a loss of audio feed, or the feed is lost altogether. Not whenever something small happens

I agree with you on the part about crawler message appears when there's major feed issue.

But as for minor issue like brief pixelation or audio/video blackout, some viewers may not aware that the "Video defects" they see are actually "not viewer's fault", and they may put the blame on pay TV operator, and in return, the customer service of the pay TV operator will put the blame back to the viewer, saying that there's something wrong somewhere with either your set-top-box, or satellite dish, or something else.

As a result, this would create bad customer experience.
Got Inform is better than no inform at all. Either way, nobody likes "video defects" no matter how big or small.
joshhd
post Jun 19 2023, 05:42 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Squirtle @ Jun 17 2023, 02:40 PM)
An update... Im calling them to terminate astro while i have remaining contract 16 months...

The CS told me pay to pay 3k for penalty... What the heck Astro? Better continue subscribe until end of contract save me 900 ringgit, much cheaper...

No wonder people hate Astro so much... I am gonna complain to Mcmc...

Also i have a question what will happen if we just ignore to pay astro? Any legal action to me? Thanks
QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 17 2023, 05:24 PM)
What I see here is, it appears you didn't read or familiarise yourself on the service terms and conditions before you agree to sign up Astro and proceed with the 24 months contract, and now you complain that penalty is very expensive since you got 16 months remaining before your 24 months contract ends.

If you do not agree with such terms, you shouldn't have subscribe to Astro in the first place.

If you choose not to pay your Astro bills and just ignore, your IC number will automatically submitted to CTOS, and your credit score will be affected, resulting you much harder to apply or approve any kind of bank loans (housing loans, car loans...) in the future. If no action taken by you in the next few months, you shall eventually receive a legal letter from Astro, demanding you for payment.

...and when your credit score is affected, your mum will be disappointed, says TnG ewallet.
joshhd
post Jun 21 2023, 09:27 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Jun 20 2023, 03:42 PM)
Hi, can someone share the screenshots for TVB Magic? One shot when the program is on and another on promo airtime page .... thx in advance!

During ad break, this is how it looks like:
user posted image user posted image

If the programme promo is a regional drama (TV series), hardcoded Chinese and Malay subtitles will appear:
As of now on Astro, this channel has 2 subtitles options (Malay and Chinese), and 2 audio language options (labelled as "Multiple" and "Mandarin").
No English subtitles option. Both audio tracks is in Stereo, not in Dolby audio.
joshhd
post Jun 21 2023, 10:08 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 20 2023, 06:44 AM)
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 21 2023, 09:46 AM)
Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd's net profit nose dived due to higher content, broadband and staff-related costs and net financing costs due to unfavourable unrealised foreign exchange from unhedged lease of transponders.

Yippeee i am proud to say i'm a long term Astro subscriber who quit using them
QUOTE(muscaa @ Jun 21 2023, 09:13 PM)
I tried to terminate it 2 days ago and they told me that I have to call them after the contract is over on 30 June ranting.gif

https://www.facebook.com/nstonline/posts/pf...16iKUvZ4HDEQhdl

Astro is financially struggling, but netizens are happy about it.

joshhd
post Jun 21 2023, 10:18 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(M_Shahrul @ Jun 21 2023, 05:01 PM)
Question, is it EASY to terminate our Astro subscription nowadays?

I have been subscribing them for 8 years.

I am thinking another way to watch Liverpool play in case if I terminate my Astro.

Suggestion please, brothers and sisters here. Please.

Desperate times call for desperate measures
No it is not easy, as there are too many subscribers wanting to terminate Astro nowadays, so they are making it difficult for customers to get in touch with the agent to even talk about termination.

As for alternative ways to continue watch sports content:
You may consider subscribe to Sooka VIP+Sports plan (1 concurrent stream only), or Sooka VIP TV plan (2 concurrent streams) if you want to install Sooka app on your smart TV.
These are the Sooka plans available:

Once you have that either Sooka plans mentioned, it's equivalent to able to watch Astro channels from CH 801 until CH 820.
https://sooka.my/en/live-tv
joshhd
post Jun 22 2023, 12:29 AM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 21 2023, 09:47 PM)
I can only find Malay and Chinese subs for now. No English Subs.
Also checking the Astro Content site, I still can't find a single Japanese show for TVB Magic. There is one Thai show, two Korean ones and others are from TVB.

There's one Japanese TV series titled "The Old Dog, New Tricks?" will be premiering this Saturday (24/6) 9pm.
Not surprised, it's a 2022 show sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jun 22 2023, 12:29 AM
joshhd
post Jun 22 2023, 06:53 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(Squirtle @ Jun 22 2023, 01:05 AM)
If this true? Got auto contract renewal meh 😢
QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Jun 22 2023, 02:11 AM)

yup

Contract auto renewal only applicable if you're on the new Astro packs (either 12 or 24 months contract).

It's not applicable if you're on the legacy packs.

You can also check your contract details on MyAstro https://myastro.astro.com.my/
joshhd
post Jun 22 2023, 11:19 PM

7,803 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 22 2023, 10:44 PM)
need help i looking hdmi 1 input 2 output simultaneously display for astro

last time  i was use PVR now they change ulti box
i was used before PVR hdmi connected AVR and AV Cable to other TV kitchen

now i need get hdmi 1 input 2 output simultaneously display then
1x connect AVR and second connect HDMI TO AV Cable to other TV kitchen

It's called HDMI splitter.
If you want it to be able to support Ultra Box (HDCP 2.2 compliant), you may consider this model:
Example Shopee link: https://shopee.com.my/product/168243876/230...YWxFN2nJ9nSz5Qb

If you don't mind about HDCP 2.2 and just bother watching HD channels/content, then those RM10-30 HDMI splitters you see on Shopee should be ok.

But remember, don't confuse with HDMI switcher and HDMI splitter. It may look very similar in picture, but the function is totally different.

224 Pages « < 166 167 168 169 170 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:35 AM