6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

biloxee
post Jul 13 2018, 11:53 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(StuartLee2015 @ Jul 13 2018, 11:46 PM)
The data rate for the model you recommended is like this.
802.11a : 6,9,12,18,24,36,48,54 Mbps
802.11b : 1, 2, 5.5, 11 Mbps
802.11g : 6,9,12,18,24,36,48,54 Mbps
802.11n TurboQAM : up to 150 Mbps
802.11ac : up to 150 Mbps

I don't quite get the Ac part, 150Mbps?
Don't look at the Asus MY page for the specs, it is incorrect.
https://www.asus.com/Networking/RT-AC1300UHP/specifications/

RT-AC1300UHP is
802.11n: up to 400 Mbps
802.11ac: up to 867 Mbps

400+867=1267Mbps, rounded up to 1300. Hence, Asus calls it a 1300 class router.

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 12:04 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2018, 11:59 PM)
i have been using asus rtac1300uhp router + asus usb-ac55 wifi adaptor for 7 months now.

both stay cool, no heating issues, max speed 100mbps.... totally satisfied with both.
whether they can handle >400mbps wifi... yet to see... i promise to report when i know. biggrin.gif
Use iperf to test?
https://iperf.fr/iperf-download.php

Connect 1 pc to the gigabit ethernet port of the router and use a laptop connected to the router on 5Ghz...
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 12:28 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 14 2018, 12:14 AM)
like to test... can u explain a bit more?

i dun have laptop... and only 1 pc far from router...
Basically, the program is a network bandwidth measurement tool to see how fast one's WIFI network actually is or how fast one can transfer data from 1 PC to another on your LAN for eg.

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 12:38 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 14 2018, 12:21 AM)
Gals/Guys!
Restart your router quick!

Guess what I got?!?!?

*test on LAN if possible.
Nothing new...
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 01:13 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Jul 14 2018, 12:48 AM)

so far only wondering are midstream and lower are supporting 2x2 spatial card?
2x2 Wifi cards are still the norm.

Even the new Dell XPS 15still comes with it, so theoretically 867Mbps max on 5Ghz Wifi AC...

All my iDevices are also still 2x2 spatial streams only...

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 11:52 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(neooren @ Jul 14 2018, 10:01 AM)
From my mi a1 and redmi note 5, tplink ac1200 router. 5ghz speed is 433mbps. Theoretical or actual?
Test with iPerf?

Seems like I need to upgrade all my 2x2 spatial stream devices as well to really enjoy the speed upgrade?

Tested with TPLink C1200 on 5Ghz (max 867Mbps) while it is streaming to my android box on 2.4Ghz.
Couldn't kill the streaming to test, else kena maki.

Laptop

iPhone 8

iPad # (~2 yrs old)

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 02:27 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Jul 14 2018, 02:02 PM)
Let us know if you succeed with that. I don't see why those paying RM2xx or RM3xx should not complain and try to get their prices reduced. But we should not have to do this. TM should really standardize prices especially during this time when they are going to upgrade speeds or have new packages.

Don't you all find it amazing that they can suddenly offer 10X speeds? Its not like they suddenly found extra capacity? Why didn't users get just 2X speeds a year or two ago? I think most users would have been happy if every year there was small speed increases.

Even the RM79 basic plan with 60GB. No doubt this will be useful for light users. My guess is that they know average users will use more than 60GB. So they won't get this package. Really reminds me of the Streamyx RM38 1M package with 1GB quota.

Unfortunately we dont have statistics. Why not the RM79 have 90GB or even 120GB quota? Because then it may be suitable for many more average users. Many may downgrade to this package then. They don't want that.

Or the RM79 should have an option to add RM20 for extra 30-60GB data and maintain speed. Or why not also have a second basic package at RM99 with more quota. would be affordable for many more average users.

If they really focus on how to help users rather than maintaining price, there would be many ways to do so.
But we don't know what happens after the 60Gb quota is reached. Will TM throttle the speed from 30Mbps to 10Mbps?
At 10Mbps, the connection would be okay and useable for the light users, no?

Email, Web Surfing, Facebook, Instagram, some Youtube at 10 Mbps should not be a problem. Assuming it is 10Mbps of course...

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jul 14 2018, 02:18 PM)
However, I couldn't wait until 18 July. So I bought a new AC router for myself just now. Asus RT-AC1300UHP. The one that everybody recommended in this thread. rclxms.gif

Bought it at Viewnet Plaza lowyat. RM469 (Original price is RM539). It's good bargain! Not sure when that price will last. Since everyone gonna upgrade their routers very soon, who knows, the price may go back to RM539 soon. So if anyone prefer to buy the router in retail stores, you can go there and buy it now before it's too late! thumbup.gif
Not for me. That router's specs is identical to the free TP-Link C1200 TM gives away.
If I were to upgrade, I'd get an AC1900 class router that does 1300 Mbps on 5Ghz at the very least...

This post has been edited by biloxee: Jul 14 2018, 02:35 PM
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 02:42 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Mali @ Jul 14 2018, 02:33 PM)
throttle to 1Mbps after u git 60gb
Sos?
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 03:29 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Jul 14 2018, 02:44 PM)
I think someone said 1Mbps in an earlier post. Not sure where that info came from.

Do you really think it would be at 10M? That would mean you can pretty much use the connection for average usage as you mention. I don't think TM will allow that. The whole idea of this sort of limit is to make sure the majority of the people won't find it of much use in the long run.  Why do you think last time mobile or other similar connections were throttled to 64K or 128K? Because it would be of not much use.
I don't know for sure if it would be throttled to 10Mbps. Anyway, this basic 30Mbps package is for the poorer folks so not everyone will qualify.
If kids from less fortunate families can still utilize the internet in a meaningful way even after the 60Gb quota has been used, well good for them.

I mean, and I don't mean to generalize but better for them to be playing computer games than roaming the streets on modified bicycles at night?

Also, there are Streamyx users who were paying RM88/89 for 4M/8M who have got upgrade to 10M Unifi Lite. But not sure whether copper or fibre. Either way, they still pay the same RM88/89, not the usual RM129. So, why is it that TM can give some users 10M for RM88/89 with no quota, but the new basic package supposedly for B40 users is at RM79 30M with 60GB quota?

I think it is a government backed initiative to assist the less privileged with decent broadband speeds.
I think the current Pakatan government views internet access as a basic human right. So if one is less privileged, it doesn't mean one has to put up with "dirty/cloudy" water or terribly slow internet access.

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 05:02 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Jul 14 2018, 04:16 PM)
I repeat what I posted many pages ago. If the new basic package is for B40, why should they be subject to quota? Their children can also learn a lot from the internet which may use more than 60GB. Also, I too don't mean to generalize, but the lower bracket of B40 category would probably be in areas that are not covered by Unifi anyway, so how is a new basic package going to help them?
PPR residences are covered by Unifi, no? PDRM/Bomba barracks? Single child families renting a room in home coevered by Unifi?

This B40 category is too wide range to use for such purpose. Less than RM4500. Maybe I see this wrong, but if you earning RM4000 maybe you are in Unifi area already and can afford it. But if you're earning RM1000, I don't think you are in a Unifi area?
I'm sure the initiative will help some people, derserving or undeserving. And, it will not or should I say cannot please everyone.

To me this is not about the government or B40. This is about whether TM is really being sincere with the new basic package. Give us some stats on how many B40 in what range of salary it will help.
Perhaps you should ask TM or the Minister.

I think most users don't see the big picture. Got 10X speed upgrade all happy because we tend to think of ourself only.

As I said, why not have 10M with no quota for RM79. Won't that help those people? That can be achieved both with existing copper and fibre. All this while, the non-Unifi areas, and again in general, maybe a lot of those areas are where B40 are located, even if there is Streamyx, it is 1M or 2M. And the price has been RM110-120? How has that been helpful? Those prices should have been way lower from a few years ago to help all those people.
It's a business decision. Whether it be no quota, or 90Gb or 50Gb. As you know TM is a GLC and perhaps 60Gb or 2Gb per day was agreed upon basaed on whatever data we are not privy to except for TM and MCMC KKMM. At the end of the day, it won't please everyone and it is better to have a diamond with flaws than a pebble with none...

In the past? Perhaps there wasn't enough political will...

How many of us actually ever expected 10X? We thought 2X already was good. I know there are heavy users who want 800M or 1G or 10G. But in general, I think even if it was just 100-500M speeds, most would have been happy for now at least. If TM can suddenly afford to give 300-800M, they should have had enough capacity and why not give some of that to the basic package instead of restricting with quota?

I don't know, it is their business decision. But perhaps TM just wants to assist but not give a free ride...

This post has been edited by biloxee: Jul 14 2018, 05:09 PM
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 06:00 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 14 2018, 05:19 PM)
LOL, I was thought at least 97% didn't read at all or some read little only...
To be honest, I never saw a specific quota being mentioned on the Residential App Form.

#11 says we can be subject to a download and upload cap amongst other things and to refer to the FUP available online. Does the online FUP mention a specific quota? I've never seen it. Streamyx's FUP has no specific mention of a quota...
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 06:08 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Jul 14 2018, 06:01 PM)
My area finally got Unifi, currently on streamyx, planning to sign up for the Edu pack then wait for the speed upgrade.

Question, what is the time taken to switch from Streamyx to Unifi? How many hours of downtime? Do I need to take whole day annual leave? I know there are lots of variables here but my property is landed not high rise.
I requested TM to cancel Streamyx on the day of the Unifi installation at TM Point.
So the day the guy came to install, he called TM to cancel Streamyx and proceeded with the Unifi install.
I also followed up @100 after the installation to confirm that my Streamyx was cancelled...

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 14 2018, 06:06 PM)
No FUP specifically for Unifi that I know of. If you ask Unifi for their FUP, they just send you to the same Streamyx one that you posted. At least that was the case in 2015/2016 when I asked them.
Yea, I've never seen one for Unifi either...
Oh well, they can still throttle and/or make your life miserable at night.

This post has been edited by biloxee: Jul 14 2018, 06:21 PM
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 08:37 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Jul 14 2018, 08:17 PM)
Here mine

8:23PM
My IP start with 175.XXX.XXX.XX
Edited i changed image because i test on wrong server
QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 14 2018, 08:20 PM)
Here mine
[attachmentid=9915599]

8:19PM
My IP start with 147.158.XXX.XX
Maybe they have not started yet?
I just hope later at 10pm I can watch the World Cup properly.

175.*

This post has been edited by biloxee: Jul 14 2018, 08:40 PM
biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 08:52 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Jul 14 2018, 08:43 PM)
telin server host is so slow and ping very high compared to other hong kong server lol

Telin is still ok for me at the moment. In previous days, it can be below 5Mbps download at about 10-ish pm.

You're on 30Mbps plan, right?

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 09:48 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Jul 14 2018, 08:55 PM)
yes i on Unifi Advance 30Mbps right now
Slowed down already. Could you test with Telin, HK now?

biloxee
post Jul 14 2018, 10:04 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jul 14 2018, 09:54 PM)
what's so special about Telin, Hong Kong?

*on 10Mbps/5Mbps DL/UL UnifiLite
Around this time the past cpl of nights, access to certain websites deteroitates and so does the speedtest to Telin, HK.

9:07pm is still ok to Telin, HK...

QUOTE(Doraku @ Jul 14 2018, 09:58 PM)
same issue but it only happend to telin server
[attachmentid=9915665]
Thanks...
biloxee
post Jul 16 2018, 01:41 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Jul 16 2018, 01:32 AM)
Yes there is a penalty for downgrading regardless if your in contract or not. This is coming from a supervisor mind you, not from the receptionist or low level staff. I'm guessing you want to lower the price for your subscription then ask for a discount. Say your a loyal customer for X years and want to get better pricing because it's unfair. Be nice and considerate, don't be an asshole and they will try to help you as best as they can. Before you do anything, ask to speak with the supervisor or manager. Only they can give you discount, everyone at the front desk can't do shit so don't bother negotiating with them.
Logically, why would there be a penalty for a subscriber who is not under contract to downgrade? shakehead.gif
Gullible much?...

biloxee
post Jul 16 2018, 10:12 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Jul 16 2018, 06:30 PM)
oic, download king ho...

Trust me after you'll get SICKED with 100Mbps connection very soon, mostly Malaysians will throw away download habits later...
Streaming better and faster, also didn't BREAK THE LAWS...

Beside HDD and SSD, do you know got Hybrid drive which can running 140MB/s and 2TB also..
[attachmentid=9918472]
Different strokes for different folks. Some people will say streaming quality sucks. Video with artifacts and poor quality audio.
Or why not both?

I use an old 250Gb SSD to grab fast and then transfer it to good old WD Black HDDs for archiving and sharing over my LAN...
biloxee
post Jul 17 2018, 09:38 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jul 17 2018, 04:17 PM)
How To Buy A Wireless Router

>800Mbps = 4 spatial stream
500Mbps-700Mbps = 3 spatial stream
<400Mbps = 2 spatial stream
3 stream routers continue to provide the best price performance
Tri-band routers don't provide additional coverage or throughput
Choose a "mesh" system if you have a lot of devices and a large area to cover.
It really doesn't pay to be an early adopter. (Wireless AD)
To get 800Mbps on WIFI is not cheap.
In general yes, but things are changing all the time.

For eg., Intel's Wireless-AC 9260 card for laptops only uses 2x2 spatial streams but a wider 160Mhz channel bandwidth to achieve a max speed of 1733.3Mbps as opposed to the current majority of wireless cards on portable devices that only support 2x2 spatial streams at 80Mhz channel bandwidth with a max speed of 866.7Mbps.

biloxee
post Jul 18 2018, 09:42 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 18 2018, 09:40 AM)
I think it is an image? If you noticed on my image, there is a small x icon which I believe an image failed to load.
The image is " ✓ "...

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.4930sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:52 AM