e-Wallet Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1, Officially launched!

xpole
post May 23 2021, 09:44 PM

Rain on me baby
1,361 posts

What happened to Wechat pay?

Last time I can see many merchants can accept it. Nowadays I can see most of the merchants are focusing on using Maybank qr pay, boost, touch n go or grab pay only
lowkelvin
post May 23 2021, 10:42 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 23 2021, 09:44 PM)

Last time I can see many merchants can accept it. Nowadays I can see most of the merchants are focusing on using Maybank qr pay, boost, touch n go or grab pay only
I think this is because WeChat Pay didn't support DuitNow QR.
Or it maybe just simple - too less user
kclamtarc
post May 24 2021, 06:06 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ May 23 2021, 09:44 PM)

In Kuching, what I can see is the other way round. More merchants are accepting Wechat Pay MY. Previously I can hardly see any Wechat Pay MY accepted except in KK Supermart, Starbucks, Petron, Boulevard supermarket, Tealive and llhaolhao. Now more accepting it, like at Nando's, Parkson, Mr DIY, Pizza Hut, Sakae Sushi, Harvey Norman...

However, need to note that these merchants accept Wechat Pay MY not because they specifically apply for it (I think la). In fact Wechat Pay MY is included as a "package" when the merchants apply with GHL, a payment service provider for cashless payment. So along with other more active players like Grab Pay, TNG, Boost, Alipay, then plus one Wechat Pay MY at the back of the package list offerd by GHL. If you ask which shop has Wechat Pay MY as a standalone sticker pasted on their payment counter, I cannot recall much. I am really curious if anyone is really using Wechat Pay MY to pay - I mean, it is no doubt a good convenient cashless method because users no need to download additional app (if they already have Wechat), but since other players are offering points and cashbacks, they are much more attractive.

Second reason why Wechat Pay MY is leaving behind would be due to the government initiative to choose TNG, Grab and Boost as the official e-wallets to give away money. Of course these three wallets enjoy higher status and popularity both between the merchants and consumers.

Third reason is the way Wechat Pay MY advertise itself. A lot of people do not even know Wechat Pay MY has been launched and can be used in Malaysia. Some shops have "微信支付", which means only Wechat Pay China wallet is available. Only when it is displayed in English as "Wechat Pay MY", then it means Malaysian wallet can be used. Don't you think this will only create confusions among the users?

Anyway, as what I have been saying, the main reason would be Malaysian Wechat Pay team not performing, to put it simple. You see, under the current covid situation, everybody is going towards online ordering, be it service or food, yet Wechat Pay Malaysian team just sits there doing nothing, such a waste to lose its privilege (as in the successful experience obtained by Wechat Pay in China) and its potential customers. Wechat Pay MY has an office in Mid Valley, but I really wonder what do their staff do everyday?

On their Facebook page, for the past 1 year they rather spent time and effort posting promotional posters on all kinds of festive greetings, but no other practical promotions or useful tips to help users learn more about Wechat Pay MY. It is just so... pathetic.

This post has been edited by kclamtarc: May 24 2021, 06:25 PM
kclamtarc
post Jul 13 2021, 04:59 PM

388 posts

Gosh. See the activeness between WeChat Pay HK vs WeChat Pay MY:

https://pay.wechat.com/zh_hk/index.shtml
https://pay.wechat.com/en_my/index.html
ClarenceT
post Jul 13 2021, 05:35 PM

13,563 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jul 13 2021, 04:59 PM)
Gosh. See the activeness between WeChat Pay HK vs WeChat Pay MY:

https://pay.wechat.com/zh_hk/index.shtml
https://pay.wechat.com/en_my/index.html
WeChat Pay MY no longer important to Tencent-Wechat.
Tencent China indirectly own ShopeePay MY.
(Tencent is a major shareholder and mentor to SEA Limited Singapore which owns Shopee/ShopeePay)
ShopeePay is getting more popular nowadays, giving RM3 cashback with minimum spending of RM15 (daily) Eg Pizza Hut, Boulevard Hypermarket, Econsave, Mydin.
kclamtarc
post Jul 13 2021, 06:38 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 13 2021, 05:35 PM)
WeChat Pay MY no longer important to Tencent-Wechat.
Tencent China indirectly own ShopeePay MY.
(Tencent is a major shareholder and mentor to SEA Limited Singapore which owns Shopee/ShopeePay)
ShopeePay is getting more popular nowadays, giving RM3 cashback with minimum spending of RM15 (daily) Eg Pizza Hut, Boulevard Hypermarket, Econsave, Mydin.
I see. But then it makes me wonder why did Tencent invest in launching its WeChat Pay MY at the first place then?
SUSxander83
post Jul 14 2021, 04:26 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jul 13 2021, 06:38 PM)
I see. But then it makes me wonder why did Tencent invest in launching its WeChat Pay MY at the first place then?
To cater to China tourists spending in Malaysia
coolguy99
post Jul 14 2021, 09:37 AM

6,817 posts

There is no apparent reason for Malaysian to use WechatPay anymore as we have our own local wallet which is more widely accepted.
Nom-el
post Jul 14 2021, 10:53 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Jul 13 2021, 06:38 PM)
QUOTE(xander83 @ Jul 14 2021, 04:26 AM)
To cater to China tourists spending in Malaysia
WeChat Pay MY cannot be used by China tourists. doh.gif
Sherman Kong
post Aug 5 2021, 12:29 PM

164 posts

hi guys, any method that i could change my identity in wechat pay? i used someone else identity to register wechat pay few years ago. Forgotten the password and could not retrieve it back. Funds been sitting there for few years as well. Thanks!
avinlim
post Sep 6 2021, 11:18 AM

Captain Malaysia
2,954 posts

Cannot reload on wechat pay since september. "System Busy"
kclamtarc
post Sep 6 2021, 11:20 AM

388 posts

i encountered too 2 days ago. but managed to in the afternoon.
coolguy99
post Sep 6 2021, 11:25 AM

6,817 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Sep 6 2021, 11:18 AM)
Cannot reload on wechat pay since september. "System Busy"
What do you use wechat pay for? Don't think it is widely accepted in our country..I stopped using it when there isn't any promo
Darrowshire
post Nov 10 2021, 03:10 PM

59 posts

Hi guys,

When I tried to receive fund in RMB from someone, a window pops up and says "According to local law requirements, you need to complete your identity information by adding a Mainland China Type-1 bank card in order to continue using Wechat Pay. To confirm your bank card type, call your bank's customer service."

Anyone knows the workaround for this? Do I really need to add a china bank card in order to receive RMB?
Any type of help is much appreciated. biggrin.gif

ClarenceT
post Nov 10 2021, 03:18 PM

13,563 posts

QUOTE(Darrowshire @ Nov 10 2021, 03:10 PM)
Hi guys,

When I tried to receive fund in RMB from someone, a window pops up and says "According to local law requirements, you need to complete your identity information by adding a Mainland China Type-1 bank card in order to continue using Wechat Pay. To confirm your bank card type, call your bank's customer service."

Anyone knows the workaround for this? Do I really need to add a china bank card in order to receive RMB?
Any type of help is much appreciated.  biggrin.gif 

Ya you need a debit card issued in China to use WechatPay China wallet (RMB). You are currently using WechatPay Malaysia wallet (Ringgit).

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 10 2021, 03:19 PM
Darrowshire
post Nov 10 2021, 03:51 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 10 2021, 03:18 PM)
Ya you need a debit card issued in China to use WechatPay China wallet (RMB). You are currently using WechatPay Malaysia wallet (Ringgit).
Thanks for your reply. So WechatPay China and WechatPay Malaysia are not compatible. The fund cannot be transferred between them.
Just curious, does Angbao work in between them? Like WechatPay China send Angpao in RMB, can WechatPay Malaysia user accept it?
ClarenceT
post Nov 10 2021, 04:40 PM

13,563 posts

QUOTE(Darrowshire @ Nov 10 2021, 03:51 PM)
Thanks for your reply. So WechatPay China and WechatPay Malaysia are not compatible. The fund cannot be transferred between them.
Just curious, does Angbao work in between them? Like WechatPay China send Angpao in RMB, can WechatPay Malaysia user accept it?
Wechatpay CN and Wechatpay MY are regulated by Chinese Govt and Bank Negara respectively. They are technically separated. Angpao in RMB - > Wechatpay CN. Angpao in RM - > Wechatpay MY.

Similarly, Alipay (Zi Fu Bao) China, both TNG wallet (owned by Alipay and CIMB) and Lazada Wallet (Alipay Malaysia) are not "compatible" with Zi Fu Bao CN.

This post has been edited by ClarenceT: Nov 10 2021, 04:41 PM
kclamtarc
post Nov 10 2021, 04:56 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Darrowshire @ Nov 10 2021, 03:51 PM)
If WechatPay China can send RMB Angpao to WechatPay Malaysia wallet, and WechatPay Malaysia can send RM Angpao to WechatPay China wallet,
then WechatPay Malaysia will come to live. Now this Malaysian edition of the wallet can considered almost dead.
Darrowshire
post Nov 10 2021, 10:42 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Nov 10 2021, 04:56 PM)
If WechatPay China can send RMB Angpao to WechatPay Malaysia wallet, and WechatPay Malaysia can send RM Angpao to WechatPay China wallet,
then WechatPay Malaysia will come to live. Now this Malaysian edition of the wallet can considered almost dead.
Haha, I see. I didnt know Malaysia WechatPay is dead. XD
Darrowshire
post Nov 10 2021, 10:43 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 10 2021, 04:40 PM)
Wechatpay CN and Wechatpay MY are regulated by Chinese Govt and Bank Negara respectively. They are technically separated. Angpao in RMB - > Wechatpay CN. Angpao in RM - > Wechatpay MY.

Similarly, Alipay (Zi Fu Bao) China, both TNG wallet (owned by Alipay and CIMB) and Lazada Wallet (Alipay Malaysia) are not "compatible" with Zi Fu Bao CN.
Thanks a lot for the clarification! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

177 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 >Top

0.0199sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:54 PM