QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jul 7 2025, 07:47 PM)
3070 TDP 220W5070 TDP 250W
But you have a good quality PSU so will be just fine.
NVIDIA GeForce Community V19, RTX 5000 unveiled
Jul 8 2025, 10:06 AM
2,677 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
Jul 8 2025, 08:19 PM
10,473 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jul 7 2025, 07:47 PM) 5070 only needs 650W psu. You're ok.https://www.corsair.com/us/en/explorer/diy-...r-requirements/ https://www.corsair.com/us/en/explorer/game...u-need-to-know/ |
Jul 8 2025, 09:15 PM
1,210 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: penang |
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 8 2025, 12:22 AM) QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jul 8 2025, 10:06 AM) QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 8 2025, 08:19 PM) 5070 only needs 650W psu. You're ok. thankshttps://www.corsair.com/us/en/explorer/diy-...r-requirements/ https://www.corsair.com/us/en/explorer/game...u-need-to-know/ I'm suppose to plug the 5070 with this cable type, am I correct, EPS/ATX12V 8 pin (4+4) cable ![]() |
Jul 8 2025, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jul 8 2025, 09:15 PM) No no no! Dont do that! EPS wire is for the CPU, its usually the 8pin (& +4/8 more pin sometimes) at the top left of the mobo.Lucky you most 5070 are using 12VHPWR/12V 2x6 connectors so its no way you can get it wrong. if yours comes with an adapter (and your PSU doesnt have 12VHPWR wire natively) you should connect that adapter to the PCIE 8pin wire (the 6+2 in your image). EPS and PCIE may look similar but their keyed differently however if you forced either into the wrong socket, you will burn out either the GPU or mobo. You got lucky you dodge this bullet. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jul 8 2025, 09:52 PM |
Jul 8 2025, 10:43 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
24,335 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Jul 8 2025, 09:15 PM) Depends on your card. Most 5070 comes with 12V-2X6 connector. It should come with 12V-2X6 to at least dual 8-pin pcie adapter. Also, do not plug and unplug too many times. This connector is not as robust as 8-pin pcie. Make sure 12V-2X6 is plugged all the way in.This post has been edited by TristanX: Jul 8 2025, 10:45 PM |
Jul 8 2025, 11:11 PM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(Haw92 @ Jul 8 2025, 09:24 AM) So far working fine, no issue with it at all. Thanks that's sound like good enough for me. It will be better if it can push further with the thermal headroom, but I guess this is a Nvidia thing.Updated to the latest Nvidia and no crash found at all. undervolting the card does help with the temp as it max out around 70C during gaming despite it is SFF case. The only gripe I see is that the ventus 3x is entry card which power limit only at 100%. it seem to be hard locked bios unable to push further. |
Jul 11 2025, 10:08 AM
RTX 5050 is out and this is at the least one card that doesnt justify the call to add moar VRAMS, as said by TPU Wiz: "Throughout most of my testing it appeared to me that the biggest bottleneck wasn't the VRAM, but the GPU horsepower...
Intel Arc B580 12 GB, to test whether its added VRAM offers a big advantage in the fight against the RTX 5050. In every single game, except for Indiana Jones the VRAM made no tangible difference." https://www.techpowerup.com/review/gigabyte...ming-oc/42.html The only problem with 5050 is its starting price which the overall 50series stack is way overpriced MSRP however its still the devil that smells the sweetest, having plentiful availability now (vs Intel ARC) and lower street price to MSRP gap (vs Radeon 9000series). The only positive lining with Nvidia cards is they tend to drop prices slightly below MSRP once stabilised. Some forumers have gotten 5070 at below local MSRP. As for 5050 its not a very good card, being still a margin slower than my 3060TI imagine that, but lets hope Nvidia dont cripple it further thru reducing VRAM to 6GB (as with 3050 Version 2). Yikes! This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jul 11 2025, 10:21 AM |
Jul 15 2025, 06:37 PM
14,673 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jul 11 2025, 10:08 AM) RTX 5050 is out and this is at the least one card that doesnt justify the call to add moar VRAMS, as said by TPU Wiz: "Throughout most of my testing it appeared to me that the biggest bottleneck wasn't the VRAM, but the GPU horsepower... Even if you can ignore the VRAM problem, the biggest issue with the 5050 is that this card has largely deviated from the original design principles of x50 cards, i.e. power efficient and SFF friendly. Those qualities are particularly useful for things like upgrading PCs with proprietary components or building ultra small form factor builds, and yet this thing is less efficient than a 4060 Intel Arc B580 12 GB, to test whether its added VRAM offers a big advantage in the fight against the RTX 5050. In every single game, except for Indiana Jones the VRAM made no tangible difference." https://www.techpowerup.com/review/gigabyte...ming-oc/42.html The only problem with 5050 is its starting price which the overall 50series stack is way overpriced MSRP however its still the devil that smells the sweetest, having plentiful availability now (vs Intel ARC) and lower street price to MSRP gap (vs Radeon 9000series). The only positive lining with Nvidia cards is they tend to drop prices slightly below MSRP once stabilised. Some forumers have gotten 5070 at below local MSRP. As for 5050 its not a very good card, being still a margin slower than my 3060TI imagine that, but lets hope Nvidia dont cripple it further thru reducing VRAM to 6GB (as with 3050 Version 2). Yikes! If they had stuck with the original idea of being a slot powered (<=75W) card for SFF builds, it might have reviewed more favorably The USD249 price tag? That's terrible when you consider that you can buy a 9060 XT 16GB for ~42% the price premium, and yes, while that price premium is a tough pill to swallow it's hard not to acknowledge the fact that the Radeon card is nearly 80% faster than that card: https://youtu.be/B93XAEHlGvI?t=773 Heck even an Intel B580 is better, despite the somewhat dodgy availability and driver problems Not to mention the Radeon offers much better 1% lows and better resale value in the future, as 8GB VRAM is increasingly untenable in the era of modern PC gaming QUOTE "Throughout most of my testing it appeared to me that the biggest bottleneck wasn't the VRAM, but the GPU horsepower... While it's true, bear in mind that even if a game can run properly on 8GB VRAM there's always some kind of compromises like texture pop-ins, stutters and reduced texture quality, which can negatively impact the visual performance of the game itself. This is already proven by the likes of Hardware Unboxed/PCGH QUOTE The only problem with 5050 is its starting price which the overall 50series stack is way overpriced MSRP however its still the devil that smells the sweetest, having plentiful availability now (vs Intel ARC) and lower street price to MSRP gap (vs Radeon 9000series). The only positive lining with Nvidia cards is they tend to drop prices slightly below MSRP once stabilised. Some forumers have gotten 5070 at below local MSRP. Yes, that's true, but do note that the RX9000 series are starting to drop quite quickly too - a 9070 can now be had for under RM3K, and quite a few 9070 XTs are starting to approach the RM3K mark There used to be a RX9060XT 16GB that retailed for RM1.5K, but too bad offer has expired Still somewhat overpriced but is definitely much better compared to what we had a few months ago |
Jul 15 2025, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 15 2025, 06:37 PM) Even if you can ignore the VRAM problem, the biggest issue with the 5050 is that this card has largely deviated from the original design principles of x50 cards, i.e. power efficient and SFF friendly. Those qualities are particularly useful for things like upgrading PCs with proprietary components or building ultra small form factor builds, and yet this thing is less efficient than a 4060 Erm I think xx50 has not been slot or SFF friendly since 1050TI days lor. It was a budget card but I dont think was specifically meant for it, tho sure there will be AIBs that will come out with low profile/ single fan Solo/ low TDP slot powered, heck maybe even a passive cooled only, versions but by large the reference design is a standard GPU config as these should be MSRP cards only. If they had stuck with the original idea of being a slot powered (<=75W) card for SFF builds, it might have reviewed more favorably The USD249 price tag? That's terrible when you consider that you can buy a 9060 XT 16GB for ~42% the price premium, and yes, while that price premium is a tough pill to swallow it's hard not to acknowledge the fact that the Radeon card is nearly 80% faster than that card: https://youtu.be/B93XAEHlGvI?t=773 Heck even an Intel B580 is better, despite the somewhat dodgy availability and driver problems Not to mention the Radeon offers much better 1% lows and better resale value in the future, as 8GB VRAM is increasingly untenable in the era of modern PC gaming While it's true, bear in mind that even if a game can run properly on 8GB VRAM there's always some kind of compromises like texture pop-ins, stutters and reduced texture quality, which can negatively impact the visual performance of the game itself. This is already proven by the likes of Hardware Unboxed/PCGH Yes, that's true, but do note that the RX9000 series are starting to drop quite quickly too - a 9070 can now be had for under RM3K, and quite a few 9070 XTs are starting to approach the RM3K mark There used to be a RX9060XT 16GB that retailed for RM1.5K, but too bad offer has expired Still somewhat overpriced but is definitely much better compared to what we had a few months ago Forget the OC version or blinged overspec cooler ones with higher than MSRP prices makes buying 5060 a better deal. And yes as I said, pricing is sux but you have to pay Nvidia tax to use Nvidia features. It still falls back that the others have better value proposition if you can find them at equivalent prices. Popping in objects from distance I think its game related, I see this in Halo and yet its not overload my 8GB VRAM, but then I didnt see this in SM2 which again didnt overload VRAM (uses <6GB) so I believe its how the game is made. Then again apart SM2 I havent played recent titles as I worked thru my backlog; Doom E, rebooted CODs MW1, MW2, Vanguard, BO1, BO2, BO3, so maybe once I hit any today AAA release (Doom DA) maybe my opinion might change or the game will have been optimised for 8GB VRAM, who knows, but so far Im enjoying my games running at NATIVE RESO W/O DLSS yo. |
Jul 21 2025, 12:09 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
has the price stabilize..whats the cheapest 5080 now?
Jul 21 2025, 01:28 PM
2,207 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: stankonia |
Jul 21 2025, 02:26 PM
Jul 21 2025, 02:28 PM
Jul 21 2025, 03:01 PM
2,529 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Jul 21 2025, 03:20 PM
Jul 25 2025, 11:23 PM
685 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Another casualty of RTX 5090:
https://www.dsogaming.com/articles/our-nvid...ble-has-melted/ QUOTE One of our readers noticed a “line” or “gap” in this image. That was as much as the cable could go in on our specific RTX 5090 Founder’s Edition. You can also clearly spot this “line” or “gap” at the connector in the video at the 0:12 mark. In the video, we had the RTX 5090 running for over 20 minutes at 100% usage. No burn, no smoke issues. Temps were fine (below 78 Celsius with auto fan), and power draw was correct. |
Jul 27 2025, 12:23 AM
1,067 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Jul 27 2025, 08:47 AM
2,529 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Jul 28 2025, 10:00 PM
Jul 29 2025, 10:00 PM
1,067 posts Joined: May 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0281sec