[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

irsyadfy
post Feb 16 2019, 10:41 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 15 2019, 11:54 AM)
lol

at the very least switch and stabilizer lubing plus putting sound dampening stuff between case and pcb should be good enough. they're practical and not costly haha

to feel the before-and-after changes, simply type for few weeks to get to know the scratchiness of switches, the noise, etc. then lube them up.

although this require some work, i will still do it. always lol
agree much on that.

if the kibod switches is hot swap, lubing is a must !
horns
post Feb 16 2019, 11:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 16 2019, 10:41 PM)
agree much on that.

if the kibod switches is hot swap, lubing is a must !
definitely. rugi big time if it's not done tbh

just now i went and tested tecware phantom elite. this time, various switches (linear, tactile and clicky) from kailh box (kailh box red, brown, white) and gateron (i think i saw red, black, brown, and blue) are installed on the demonstration unit at that shop.

from my brief tests, tecware phantom elite is relatively better than old models. it's too bad i couldn't test its space bars and mods. (no caps installed)

.. and there is ducky one. well, its mods and space bar need serious and proper fixes (it's really in bad shape, a lot of wire rattles)
zaaba
post Feb 19 2019, 09:21 PM

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 16 2019, 11:41 PM)
definitely. rugi big time if it's not done tbh

just now i went and tested tecware phantom elite. this time, various switches (linear, tactile and clicky) from kailh box (kailh box red, brown, white) and gateron (i think i saw red, black, brown, and blue) are installed on the demonstration unit at that shop.

from my brief tests, tecware phantom elite is relatively better than old models. it's too bad i couldn't test its space bars and mods. (no caps installed)

.. and there is ducky one. well, its mods and space bar need serious and proper fixes (it's really in bad shape, a lot of wire rattles)
Where did you do the testing of the switches? Did the shop sell loose switches too?
Akatsuki0895
post Feb 19 2019, 10:19 PM

362 posts

anyone know where can i get Drevo BladeMaster TE in msia?
sifus, what do you think of this keyboard? is it worth getting for $89?
notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Akatsuki0895: Feb 19 2019, 10:22 PM
horns
post Feb 20 2019, 02:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zaaba @ Feb 19 2019, 09:21 PM)
Where did you do the testing of the switches? Did the shop sell loose switches too?
gadgetzone in digital mall. the demonstration unit is like this:

i didn't ask if they sell switches. i was in a hurry

QUOTE(Akatsuki0895 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:19 PM)
anyone know where can i get Drevo BladeMaster TE in msia?
sifus, what do you think of this keyboard? is it worth getting for $89?
notworthy.gif
i think you can only import it. it's a kickstarter project.

if you liked its features, then go ahead. however from the videos at youtube, it's not that well-tuned i think.

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 20 2019, 11:56 AM

Akatsuki0895
post Feb 20 2019, 03:05 AM

362 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 20 2019, 02:29 AM)
gadgetzone in digital mall. the demonstration unit is like this:

i didn't ask if they sell switches. i was in a hurry
i think you can only import it. it's a kickstarter project.

if you liked its features, then go ahead. however from the videos at youtube, it's not that well-tuned i think.
i am actually asking on behalf of my friend ..
i myself not really into other switches other than cherry mx.
what do u think of gateron switches compared to cherry mx in terms of reliability and durability?
and do you mind elaborating on the keyboard not being that well-tuned? not an mkb expert sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Akatsuki0895: Feb 20 2019, 03:17 AM
horns
post Feb 20 2019, 12:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Akatsuki0895 @ Feb 20 2019, 03:05 AM)
i am actually asking on behalf of my friend ..
i myself not really into other switches other than cherry mx.
what do u think of gateron switches compared to cherry mx in terms of reliability and durability?
and do you mind elaborating on the keyboard not being that well-tuned? not an mkb expert  sweat.gif
oh it's for your friend.

not quite sure about reliability and durability of gateron switches compared to cherry mx. it might depend on things like switch type and usage. well, they're affordable, so you can replace them when they have gone bad.

from the videos i watched, space bar and modifiers have wire rattles, hence make bad typing noise. good stabilizers have minimal to no wire rattles, hence are relatively quiet and have nicer typing feels. although they can probably be fixed by modding them, i like boards that have them tuned.
Akatsuki0895
post Feb 20 2019, 05:50 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 20 2019, 12:42 PM)
oh it's for your friend.

not quite sure about reliability and durability of gateron switches compared to cherry mx. it might depend on things like switch type and usage. well, they're affordable, so you can replace them when they have gone bad.

from the videos i watched, space bar and modifiers have wire rattles, hence make bad typing noise. good stabilizers have minimal to no wire rattles, hence are relatively quiet and have nicer typing feels. although they can probably be fixed by modding them, i like boards that have them tuned.
my friend's budget is less than rm 400 and he is finding for a tkl mkb ( preferable with rgb backlit)... what keyboard models/keyboard brands would sifu suggest?
dont have to be a gaming keyboard but just want a quality mkb. notworthy.gif
horns
post Feb 21 2019, 03:38 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Akatsuki0895 @ Feb 20 2019, 05:50 PM)
my friend's budget is less than rm 400 and he is finding for a tkl mkb ( preferable with rgb backlit)... what keyboard models/keyboard brands would sifu suggest?
dont have to be a gaming keyboard but just want a quality mkb.  notworthy.gif
in reality, we don't have many options in local market. for that budget i suggest looking for options from varmilo, filco, durgod, or ikbc at taobao/tmall/aliexpress. however, these brands have no local presence here. (think warranty if your friend is concerned about it) also, with that price range, they are mostly without rgb backlit. (some are non-backlit)

the above is about typical soldered oem boards. your friend can also opt for modular boards, like tecware phantom elite. switches are hot swappable, so mods and tuning can be done, and you get to install switches of your choice, without soldering/desoldering processes. tecware phantom elite is better than its older models because it uses kailh switch sockets. however currently it only has full-size option. there is no tkl yet

finally, please suggest to your friend to at least find out what he wants for switch types, and ask him to try out first-hand before purchase. this is the least he should do.

offinz
post Feb 22 2019, 12:53 PM

43 posts

which kailh switch is closest to a mx red? kailh reds?
Akatsuki0895
post Feb 22 2019, 01:38 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 21 2019, 03:38 AM)
in reality, we don't have many options in local market. for that budget i suggest looking for options from varmilo, filco, durgod, or ikbc at taobao/tmall/aliexpress. however, these brands have no local presence here. (think warranty if your friend is concerned about it) also, with that price range, they are mostly without rgb backlit. (some are non-backlit)

the above is about typical soldered oem boards. your friend can also opt for modular boards, like tecware phantom elite. switches are hot swappable, so mods and tuning can be done, and you get to install switches of your choice, without soldering/desoldering processes. tecware phantom elite is better than its older models because it uses kailh switch sockets. however currently it only has full-size option. there is no tkl yet

finally, please suggest to your friend to at least find out what he wants for switch types, and ask him to try out first-hand before purchase. this is the least he should do.
thanks for the tips... will let my fren know about it icon_rolleyes.gif
horns
post Feb 22 2019, 02:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(offinz @ Feb 22 2019, 12:53 PM)
which kailh switch is closest to a mx red? kailh reds?
it should be kailh red. kailh box has shorter travel distance.
TSquovadis123
post Feb 25 2019, 09:05 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Tomtom. @ Feb 15 2019, 07:23 PM)
i just wanted to ask,

Is there any keyboard distributor here? i am looking for one. pls do pm me
You can look for Ban Leong distributor, they have CM and Razer brand.
offinz
post Feb 27 2019, 09:39 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 22 2019, 02:03 PM)
it should be kailh red. kailh box has shorter travel distance.
what about mx silent reds?
horns
post Feb 28 2019, 01:27 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(offinz @ Feb 27 2019, 09:39 PM)
what about mx silent reds?
mx silent red has a slightly shorter travel distance also, due to its dampening bumps.

however you might not be able to feel the difference, in terms of travel distance.
smokey
post Feb 28 2019, 10:42 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

any1 here with tecware phantom elite?
i am using gatheron switches..some of them dont sit tight in the hole...this makes the keys dont align horizontally as one or two keys will be more tilted than others

is this the switch problem or the metal board problem?
TSquovadis123
post Mar 1 2019, 12:14 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Feb 28 2019, 10:42 PM)
any1 here with tecware phantom elite?
i am using gatheron switches..some of them dont sit tight in the hole...this makes the keys dont align horizontally as one or two keys will be more tilted than others

is this the switch problem or the metal board problem?
Not plate cutting (u remove switch will see cutting still same), switch (you check got bent pins or not).

It's the socket on the PCB. Reported in since they launched, they have QC issue like this.. <--

So, the simple fix is, disassemble the board, and reseat the socket properly.

The socket looks like this

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Mar 1 2019, 12:15 AM
smokey
post Mar 1 2019, 07:54 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 1 2019, 12:14 AM)
Not plate cutting (u remove switch will see cutting still same), switch (you check got bent pins or not).

It's the socket on the PCB. Reported in since they launched, they have QC issue like this.. <--

So, the simple fix is, disassemble the board, and reseat the socket properly.

The socket looks like this

U mean need to check the 2 pins hole on the pcb?
horns
post Mar 1 2019, 10:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Mar 1 2019, 07:54 AM)
U mean need to check the 2 pins hole on the pcb?
he means the sockets not being seated properly on the pcb (the black pieces that have 2-pin holes in the picture) this is manufacturing defect. if this happened, the shop should be able to arrange replacement of the board for you.

however it's better to check if this is caused by switches first. switch installation is simple, but bent pins will be common if you're not patient enough.
trumpet
post Mar 1 2019, 10:23 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 1 2019, 10:20 AM)
he means the sockets not being seated properly on the pcb (the black pieces that have 2-pin holes in the picture) this is manufacturing defect. if this happened, the shop should be able to arrange replacement of the board for you.

however it's better to check if this is caused by switches first. switch installation is simple, but bent pins will be common if you're not patient enough.
usually how much will it cost to arrange replacement?

125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:40 PM