horns
post Dec 12 2018, 07:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Dec 12 2018, 06:17 PM)
right right.

btw ur sets is ePBT?
didnt know they include 1u shift. tak perasan kot.

2u shift is kinda common nowadays,
but 1u i dont see it often on keysets.
maybe belum cari habis.
mkb world is massively huge.
yes it's epbt. afaik they have included 1u- and 2u-shift keys in their newer releases.

haha yes we really need to dig around to find out about them. imo some manufacturers already have tools for these two keys. so it's ok imo, because as long as they still make caps as their business, there will be new options in future.

Snoopycute98
post Dec 13 2018, 10:56 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Dec 12 2018, 07:52 AM)
yep, as below quoted reply,

switch = personal preference. i know horns loves his linears/silent linears.

no led = i have similar mindset as below too. 1 led kaput, i sure cant sleep at night.  ranting.gif
Thank you, bought ikbc c87 white blue switch at last.

I like Blue switch more after testing a key at demo.

For brown(outemu) the feeling is a bit weird, feel like the key stick to my hands.
Nt sure about cherry mx brown as i tested it with keyboard plastic cover ( shpp dun let me try without plastic as that keyboard is going to sell, nt demo)
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 13 2018, 11:10 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 13 2018, 10:56 AM)

For brown(outemu) the feeling is a bit weird, feel like the key stick to my hands.
Nt sure about cherry mx brown as i tested it with keyboard plastic cover ( shpp dun let me try without plastic as that keyboard is going to sell, nt demo)
how much u bought? last year boughtr from ultimatezone rm229 only
Snoopycute98
post Dec 13 2018, 11:55 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 13 2018, 11:10 AM)
how much u bought? last year boughtr from ultimatezone rm229 only
Around dat price with shipping from taobao..

Nowadays ultimatezone no sell le
irsyadfy
post Dec 13 2018, 01:40 PM

219 posts

enjoy your new kibod and njoy ur mkb journey !
horns
post Dec 14 2018, 05:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

tbh the mkb journey can be a very rewarding one, but it really depends on individual expectations. still, the more you know about basics the better.

in short i did these:
1. started from knowing common cherry mx switches (red, brown, blue);
2. chose red because that's what i like most;
3. tested different oem boards with red, found out all boards are not built equally, even with the same switch type; however decent oem boards will stand out from most choices;
4. got modular 60%, gk64 and started experimenting different parts: cases, plates, pcb, stabilizers, key caps, switches; used cherry mx red/silent red as reference to get rid of noises (pings, stabilizer rattles, etc.) and other stuff that i like and don't like;
5. got different lubes; started experimenting and identifying their differences;
6. experimenting with basic mods;
7. found out combinations that i prefer;
8. started to migrate from modular (gk64) to permanent builds (dz60) with those combos.

a note: nowadays, you can use modular boards as test boards. just bear in mind that they are not awesome at their stock states compared to decent oem boards; but they will become awesome after you applied relevant mods to them.
irsyadfy
post Dec 14 2018, 10:54 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 14 2018, 05:12 PM)
tbh the mkb journey can be a very rewarding one, but it really depends on individual expectations. still, the more you know about basics the better.

in short i did these:
3. tested different oem boards with red, found out all boards are not built equally, even with the same switch type; however decent oem boards will stand out from most choices;
4. got modular 60%, gk64 and started experimenting different parts: cases, plates, pcb, stabilizers, key caps, switches; used cherry mx red/silent red as reference to get rid of noises (pings, stabilizer rattles, etc.) and other stuff that i like and don't like;
5. got different lubes; started experimenting and identifying their differences;
8. started to migrate from modular (gk64) to permanent builds (dz60) with those combos.

a note: nowadays, you can use modular boards as test boards. just bear in mind that they are not awesome at their stock states compared to decent oem boards; but they will become awesome after you applied relevant mods to them.
+1
Snoopycute98
post Dec 15 2018, 02:07 PM

407 posts

in short i did these:

How good is red/silent red?
horns
post Dec 15 2018, 03:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 15 2018, 02:07 PM)
How good is red/silent red?
each have their own feels. compared to stock, lubed red/silent red are relatively better; sound dampened (especially from springs), and relatively smoother.

also, i found those with standard bottom black housings are better than those with clear housings (for rgb).

kaiserreich
post Dec 15 2018, 03:54 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

in short i did these:

opposite of rewarding.
It drains money like mad laugh.gif
Snoopycute98
post Dec 16 2018, 12:03 AM

407 posts

Why are some keyboard costs up to RM1k++ ?
Like, its just a keyboard lol.. I understand the aesthetic and design ( Like the varmilo I really like when I saw it from taobao) , but some are really overpriced leh, I'm newbie to this, correct me pls all senpai~~
horns
post Dec 16 2018, 01:25 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Dec 15 2018, 03:54 PM)
opposite of rewarding.
It drains money like mad  laugh.gif
it's a hobby. just learn and do it at your own pace. you will at least gain better ideas about good and bad boards.

there is no need to over do it also. practically speaking, building a decent 60% custom with good typing feels is actually not expensive. it's when you must buy all those rare and limited parts, such as key cap sets or cases, that make the total costs bloated.

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 16 2018, 12:03 AM)
Why are some keyboard costs up to RM1k++ ?
Like, its just a keyboard lol.. I understand the aesthetic and design ( Like the varmilo I really like when I saw it from taobao) , but some are really overpriced leh, I'm newbie to this, correct me pls all senpai~~
like any hobbies, there are rare/limited/exclusive items for those who like to use or collect them. that's all.

again, mkb modding is a hobby. we explore options that suit us the most. if you treated it as a keyboard, then there is nothing for you except for, like our friend puts it, draining money. in that case, don't bother finding out anything. just go to a shop, get any board and be done with it, because it's really just a keyboard hehe

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 16 2018, 01:38 AM
Snoopycute98
post Dec 16 2018, 11:24 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 16 2018, 01:25 AM)

like any hobbies, there are rare/limited/exclusive items for those who like to use or collect them. that's all.

again, mkb modding is a hobby. we explore options that suit us the most. if you treated it as a keyboard, then there is nothing for you except for, like our friend puts it, draining money. in that case, don't bother finding out anything. just go to a shop, get any board and be done with it, because it's really just a keyboard hehe
True, thanks for this explanation, same goes with all hobbies that requires lots of money. ie : PC. photography, etc.
sinxlv99
post Dec 16 2018, 11:35 AM

Anybody tried the RK61 mechanical Bluetooth keyboard before? will it last ? Any suggestions?

This post has been edited by sinxlv99: Dec 16 2018, 11:37 AM
AkmalWarrior
post Dec 17 2018, 09:18 AM

37 posts

Does anyone know where I can find Cherry compatible PBT keycaps around KL?
The current ABS one on my keyboard started to shine.
irsyadfy
post Dec 17 2018, 09:49 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(AkmalWarrior @ Dec 17 2018, 09:18 AM)
Does anyone know where I can find Cherry compatible PBT keycaps around KL?
The current ABS one on my keyboard started to shine.
i have a ducky PBT side printed if you are interested.
can PM.

hew hew
celee
post Dec 17 2018, 09:48 PM

94 posts

Where can I get Ducky keyboard in Klang Valley other than ultimategaming shop? Im interested in Ducky one 2 skyline.

Edit: Just find out UltimateShop not selling ducky anymore

This post has been edited by celee: Dec 17 2018, 09:54 PM
horns
post Dec 18 2018, 01:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Dec 16 2018, 11:24 AM)
True, thanks for this explanation, same goes with all hobbies that requires lots of money. ie : PC. photography, etc.
no problem. it just depends on which route, and how far you wanna go. i prefer good typing experience only.

QUOTE(celee @ Dec 17 2018, 09:48 PM)
Where can I get Ducky keyboard in Klang Valley other than ultimategaming shop? Im interested in Ducky one 2 skyline.

if you're really interested, you can still get it from tmall or taobao or aliexpress.

alternatively just get a base model of va87m from varmilo's tmall.
nazeeman
post Dec 19 2018, 12:36 AM

huh?
1,061 posts

QUOTE(celee @ Dec 17 2018, 09:48 PM)

you also can view/buy from singapore shop Xtreme Solutions. they have a lot of ducky board.
TiF
post Dec 19 2018, 11:29 AM

1,192 posts

Where do you bought your ikbc c87 from?

I am currently looking for a TKL keyboard for work can can be easily carry around in my laptop bag.

125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:57 AM