[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

TSquovadis123
post Mar 15 2018, 10:01 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 15 2018, 09:19 PM)
haha yes i think manufacturers should back their products with appropriate warranty offers. like samsung, they're the first one who offered 10-year warranty for one of their performance ssds, then others followed. only a few are actually capable of doing that.

well, as long as they don't cut corners and build things accordingly, things can be very good for everyone in the chain. shits do happen but still if everyone is doing their part, i really think issues can be dealt with fairly effectively.

this is not the same as custom mkbs, where warranty of each part is actually quite limited. (but luckily everything is kind of repairable or replaceable)
Many can't follow that, you giant then manufacturer scared you go to find other sub-con. But, for smaller brands, bully you more than offer u better warranty.
Every side also don't want to make loss. I worked in manufacturing last time, we need to control the good yield, so our side can earn profit through the hardwork.
Any assembly failure will bear by both brands and manufacturer. You help me, I help you when there is profit.
horns
post Mar 15 2018, 11:00 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 15 2018, 10:01 PM)
Many can't follow that, you giant then manufacturer scared you go to find other sub-con. But, for smaller brands, bully you more than offer u better warranty.
Every side also don't want to make loss. I worked in manufacturing last time, we need to control the good yield, so our side can earn profit through the hardwork.
Any assembly failure will bear by both brands and manufacturer. You help me, I help you when there is profit.
true, the reality is not so nice. this is because there are humans with shallow minds involved in different levels of the chain. however, long-term collaborations can never be built just based on profits (e.g. you rise but the rest fall, so what kind of collaborations are you expecting to achieve? eventually there is no one there to collaborate with you; and that's when you start to fall). also, small brands now don't mean still small brands tomorrow.

the truth is, multi-win scenarios in business can always be achieved, as long as everyone is looking at the bigger picture. in that case, no one will lose. btw maximizing profits is the last thing that you should consider in business collaborations.

edit:

now leaving business aside hehe if you wanna make personalized pbt dye-subbed space bars, you can try this one, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=37810649913

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 16 2018, 10:51 AM
zorbyss.
post Mar 16 2018, 11:26 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 15 2018, 05:56 PM)
Haram

it's not possible to desolder the switches without desoldering the LEDs right?
TSquovadis123
post Mar 16 2018, 11:29 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 16 2018, 11:26 AM)
it's not possible to desolder the switches without desoldering the LEDs right?
Yes. You need desolder the LEDs 1st, only can desolder switches.
Songchien
post Mar 16 2018, 07:00 PM

351 posts

Interesting. Logitech revealed new rgb mechanical keyboard with TACTILE romer G switches.
horns
post Mar 16 2018, 07:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Songchien @ Mar 16 2018, 07:00 PM)
Interesting. Logitech revealed new rgb mechanical keyboard with TACTILE romer G switches.
uh? i always thought romer-g is tactile (like brown). the new one is linear i believe. the real question is still if romer-g have switched to cherry mx compatible stems.
G_KeN
post Mar 16 2018, 08:35 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

romer-g

the tactile version was pretty meh. also, no support for mx keycaps.
horns
post Mar 17 2018, 12:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

finally have some time to look at this CTRL tkl at md for some time, https://www.massdrop.com/buy/massdrop-ctrl-...anical-keyboard

edit: it's a no-brainer to me; has almost all i want in a board. joined.

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 17 2018, 01:31 PM
watermineral
post Mar 17 2018, 04:11 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 17 2018, 12:37 PM)
finally have some time to look at this CTRL tkl at md for some time, https://www.massdrop.com/buy/massdrop-ctrl-...anical-keyboard

edit: it's a no-brainer to me; has almost all i want in a board. joined.
Looks really good how much it cost..?
horns
post Mar 17 2018, 04:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(watermineral @ Mar 17 2018, 04:11 PM)
Looks really good how much it cost..?
usd200 for a full kit. i got the serialized barebones option (no switches, no caps), which is usd50 less, because i wanna use kailh box red/black that i stocked up just few days ago. also, the stock oem profile double-shot pbt caps are kind of thin.

yes, low-profile, plain, and simple. its price is also not as high as i expected. i like it biggrin.gif

switch hot-swapping is a practical feature. it will eventually be adopted by the mkb community.
horns
post Mar 18 2018, 12:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is a test: about a week ago, i purposely over-lubed the switch of esc key (gateron black). all contact points (housing and slider are painted painted with ridiculous thick layers of Super Lube; the spring has been replaced with a 67g, painted with dupont multi-use lubricating oil with teflon, found at acehardware; yes i mixed these two different lubricants).

at first, the result and effect was very bad: there was no scratchy feel, but it's very mushy and 'sticky'. however, after a week of usage, these lousy effects were gone today. (well, not entirely yet, but they have become unnoticeable, if you don't pay attention to it). now the side effects: lube mixtures spreading all over inside the switch, up to the switch stems. cherry mx style mechanical switches are susceptible to dust, which can result in key chattering. over-lubing increases the chance for dust to stick to your board and switches.

conclusions: like all sifus said, less is more, don't over-apply lubes on switches. doing so will create a lot of mess hehe

now i am waiting to see if there are bad side effects due to random lube mixtures. it will take some time.

zorbyss.
post Mar 18 2018, 03:13 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2018, 12:13 PM)
this is a test: about a week ago, i purposely over-lubed the switch of esc key (gateron black). all contact points (housing and slider are painted painted with ridiculous thick layers of Super Lube; the spring has been replaced with a 67g, painted with dupont multi-use lubricating oil with teflon, found at acehardware; yes i mixed these two different lubricants).

at first, the result and effect was very bad: there was no scratchy feel, but it's very mushy and 'sticky'. however, after a week of usage, these lousy effects were gone today. (well, not entirely yet, but they have become unnoticeable, if you don't pay attention to it). now the side effects: lube mixtures spreading all over inside the switch, up to the switch stems. cherry mx style mechanical switches are susceptible to dust, which can result in key chattering. over-lubing increases the chance for dust to stick to your board and switches.

conclusions: like all sifus said, less is more, don't over-apply lubes on switches. doing so will create a lot of mess hehe

now i am waiting to see if there are bad side effects due to random lube mixtures. it will take some time.
nice info. thanks.
just bought a rapid-i from quavadis123, thinking to gateronized it (Black) and paint it beige and put on enjoypbt to make it look vintage (model m looks)
anyway, may i know what's your take on linear switches? what are the best heavy linear switch you'd recommend?
I have a few testers (kailh, cherry, gateron, outemu, greetech), will probably spend some time with'em tonight.
TSquovadis123
post Mar 18 2018, 04:33 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 18 2018, 03:13 PM)
nice info. thanks.
just bought a rapid-i from quavadis123, thinking to gateronized it (Black) and paint it beige and put on enjoypbt to make it look vintage (model m looks)
anyway, may i know what's your take on linear switches? what are the best heavy linear switch you'd recommend?
I have a few testers (kailh, cherry, gateron, outemu, greetech), will probably spend some time with'em tonight.
These rapid-i at RM 100, I learnt that experienced enthusiasts made decision very fast.
And new players take long time decisions, and many tends to become kaki airplane.
This kind of symptom is always there in the community, experienced players always have big advantage because they understand what they are buying.

Still, the current mkb community, i can see is much lower amount of knowledge, they join the group for the sake of having many groups in their profile.
Can conclude, the community is running the reverse gear compared to nearby countries community.

The passion, attitude, culture. purchasing power are the downfall of our current group. doh.gif
It's super sad, people telling you last time mkb club is much more better because less toxic and less sohai and cb kia. lol.
horns
post Mar 18 2018, 05:08 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 18 2018, 03:13 PM)
nice info. thanks.

oh nice smile.gif for those who like creative work there are always extra miles for you guys to make the boards look even better.

i like linear switches, and lubed red is my favorite. heavier switches give us stiffer and solid feels, which is very nice. however if they're too stiff, your fingers will feel tired after typing on them for a while. to me gateron yellow is just nice; i don't feel tired when i type on them for long hours.

the 'best heavy' switches really depends on personal experience. it's for you to find out. you should try out gateron yellow/black first, which are 50g; cherry mx black is 60g; kailh box heavy yellow is 70g; and cherry mx linear grey is 80g (a rare switch; it's for space bar for boards that come with cherry mx black).

for cherry mx style switches, you can also swap springs to get what you want. (meaning you get springs of different weights and try them out) note that this might not be the case of kailh box, because springs in kailh box was reported to be narrower. it might not work well if you used springs from cherry mx style switches.
horns
post Mar 18 2018, 07:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 18 2018, 04:33 PM)
These rapid-i at RM 100, I learnt that experienced enthusiasts made decision very fast.
And new players take long time decisions, and many tends to become kaki airplane.
This kind of symptom is always there in the community, experienced players always have big advantage because they understand what they are buying.

Still, the current mkb community, i can see is much lower amount of knowledge, they join the group for the sake of having many groups in their profile.
Can conclude, the community is running the reverse gear compared to nearby countries community.

The passion, attitude, culture. purchasing power are the downfall of our current group.  doh.gif
It's super sad, people telling you last time mkb club is much more better because less toxic and less sohai and cb kia. lol.
experienced users always have advantages.

uh? joining groups just for the sake of having many groups in a profile? is it a new trend of measuring e-penis? in this case, i have a puny one haha!

relax bro. it's a community, people come and go. those who like the hobby will stay.
zorbyss.
post Mar 19 2018, 10:46 AM

here you go.
1,513 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 18 2018, 04:33 PM)

The passion, attitude, culture. purchasing power are the downfall of our current group.  doh.gif
Chill bro. Ppl come and go in any community. I can understand how some ppl wander around the gaming peripheral space and suddenly stumble across the MKB community.
You can't really label them as "enthusiast". They just want a nice gamer-y looking keyboard with blings( which they think it's nice) and bugger off. This is where the affordable chinese boards come in. Aula ada LED at RM150, Filco x da. Bodo la. *beli Aula*
They don't have the passion to study more and venture deeper. Altering switches, solder/desolder, spending huge bucks on caps (c'mon, to normal ppl, RM500 for a set of plastic caps? They laugh).
Afterall, MKB is still a really niche passion. Not everyone willing to spend so much on something they deem valueless. One man's trash is another man's treasure.

Buying power can be one of the largest showstopper for some ppl but I think it's more of value proposition. Looking at these rapid-i for Rm100 for example, to some ppl, these are "fishy" stuff. "Why so cheap ah? Spoilt ah? Cannot use ah? Condition how ah? Need repair ah? LED how ah? I will consider bro." then FFK. Like you said, ppl like us will know what to do with it the moment we see it on sale. Desolder and selling the switches alone worth almost the price paid. At least, to me, I get 87 Cherry housing rclxms.gif I still have the PCB and the casing (gonna repaint it).

I'm pretty sure the ones who bought them will mostly revamp the entire board instead of using it as it is.

But still, I wouldn't call myself an experienced enthusiast. I'm just loving what I'm doing. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2018, 05:08 PM)
oh nice smile.gif for those who like creative work there are always extra miles for you guys to make the boards look even better.

i like linear switches, and lubed red is my favorite. heavier switches give us stiffer and solid feels, which is very nice. however if they're too stiff, your fingers will feel tired after typing on them for a while. to me gateron yellow is just nice; i don't feel tired when i type on them for long hours.

the 'best heavy' switches really depends on personal experience. it's for you to find out. you should try out gateron yellow/black first, which are 50g; cherry mx black is 60g; kailh box heavy yellow is 70g; and cherry mx linear grey is 80g (a rare switch; it's for space bar for boards that come with cherry mx black).

for cherry mx style switches, you can also swap springs to get what you want. (meaning you get springs of different weights and try them out) note that this might not be the case of kailh box, because springs in kailh box was reported to be narrower. it might not work well if you used springs from cherry mx style switches.
Just spent some time around the linear ones within my tester collection. Gats yellow are nice. And like the others have said, Gats are a little wobbly but smoother than Cherry. I'm not sure the wobbliness will affect much at typing/gaming as I've not tried a fully gateronized board myself.
Reds are too light for me. Accidental presses by resting fingers on it sweat.gif
To me Cherry Black are scratchy but not as wobbly.
I'm experimenting putting Gat black/yellow slider into Cherry house and see if I can achieve the best of both world.
Probably some lube will help hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zorbyss.: Mar 19 2018, 10:47 AM
horns
post Mar 19 2018, 02:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 19 2018, 10:46 AM)
Chill bro. Ppl come and go in any community. I can understand how some ppl wander around the gaming peripheral space and suddenly stumble across the MKB community.
You can't really label them as "enthusiast". They just want a nice gamer-y looking keyboard with blings( which they think it's nice) and bugger off. This is where the affordable chinese boards come in. Aula ada LED at RM150, Filco x da. Bodo la. *beli Aula*
They don't have the passion to study more and venture deeper. Altering switches, solder/desolder, spending huge bucks on caps (c'mon, to normal ppl, RM500 for a set of plastic caps? They laugh).
Afterall, MKB is still a really niche passion. Not everyone willing to spend so much on something they deem valueless. One man's trash is another man's treasure.

Buying power can be one of the largest showstopper for some ppl but I think it's more of value proposition. Looking at these rapid-i for Rm100 for example, to some ppl, these are "fishy" stuff. "Why so cheap ah? Spoilt ah? Cannot use ah? Condition how ah? Need repair ah? LED how ah? I will consider bro." then FFK. Like you said, ppl like us will know what to do with it the moment we see it on sale. Desolder and selling the switches alone worth almost the price paid. At least, to me, I get 87 Cherry housing rclxms.gif I still have the PCB and the casing (gonna repaint it).

I'm pretty sure the ones who bought them will mostly revamp the entire board instead of using it as it is.

But still, I wouldn't call myself an experienced enthusiast. I'm just loving what I'm doing.  biggrin.gif

Just spent some time around the linear ones within my tester collection. Gats yellow are nice. And like the others have said, Gats are a little wobbly but smoother than Cherry. I'm not sure the wobbliness will affect much at typing/gaming as I've not tried a fully gateronized board myself.
Reds are too light for me. Accidental presses by resting fingers on it  sweat.gif
To me Cherry Black are scratchy but not as wobbly.
I'm experimenting putting Gat black/yellow slider into Cherry house and see if I can achieve the best of both world.
Probably some lube will help hmm.gif
true, the obvious weakness of gateron normal switches is its wobbly stems. however, i'm fine with them when i type. i have a board with gateron red and one with yellow. currently kailh box switches have the least wobble stems, and they're pre-lubed.

do spend time lubing switches. it brings significant improvements on typing experience. scratchy effects will be gone after it's done.

please share with us the results of your experiments. it will be useful for all of us who wanna do the similar smile.gif

--

your points are spot-on about our current mkb community.

mkb is a general and over-simplified marketing term now, nothing related to what a true mkb community is after. hence, most users have a very shallow knowledge of mkbs, established based on marketing, and over-glorified yet crappy prebuilts. (.. and most of them thought they're very good already) however, some of these users will eventually realize the obvious differences, and start to appreciate true values of the actual mkb community.

still, i'm pretty optimistic about our mkb community smile.gif

--

my black 5-degree case just arrived. hopefully i can spend this weekend installing my spare gk64 pcb into it haha!

iwubpreve
post Mar 19 2018, 09:44 PM

1,829 posts

guys, any tecware phantom user here? just wanna ask is this keyboard rgb lighting seems not bright enough??
antaras
post Mar 20 2018, 12:31 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2018, 12:13 PM)
... painted with dupont multi-use lubricating oil with teflon, found at acehardware...
Bro, this dupont oil, is it the aerosol spray can or the blue bottle with red cap? I had been looking for the Super Lube 51004(oil) in a few Ace Hardware stores and apparently they don't carry them anymore. Trying to look for alternatives but not sure which one to get. Krytox is kinda too pricy and hassle since have to get oversea.
horns
post Mar 20 2018, 01:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Mar 20 2018, 12:31 PM)
Bro, this dupont oil, is it the aerosol spray can or the blue bottle with red cap? I had been looking for the Super Lube 51004(oil)  in a few Ace Hardware stores and apparently they don't carry them anymore. Trying to look for alternatives but not sure which one to get. Krytox is kinda too pricy and hassle since have to get oversea.
it's the one with blue bottle with red cap, http://www.performancelubricantsusa.com/pr...e-lubricant.php note that this blue-bottle oil is not really plastic-safe; i use it for other purposes. i just tested it with one switch only, just for fun.

the plastic-safe one comes with silicon, but i haven't found it in oil form yet, http://www.performancelubricantsusa.com/pr...e-lubricant.php

i couldn't find Super Lube 51004 oil also. (what a turn-off :/) however i think there should be other affordable alternatives that we can use. (i usually refer to product sheets for clues)

.. and krytox is ridiculously expensive in Malaysia. yes it's available here, but they're not cheap.

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:29 PM