International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

limeuu
post Feb 20 2010, 05:42 PM

12,290 posts

average in the cohort......which of course depends on the particular cohort of students........

generally that would be around 60% or B-.........

if i remember correctly, that's stpm, and abb (or av. b+) is at the minimum requirement and the actual cut off is usually higher..........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 20 2010, 07:09 PM
limeuu
post Feb 27 2010, 12:06 AM

12,290 posts

on one hand, that would seem like an excellent way of getting people to be independent and resourceful.....

on the other hand, people will complain why they are paying so much fees for so little..........

fyi, it's the standard way for many oecd unis, not the spoonfeeding msians are used to......

eg, contact hours (lectures and tutorials/practicals) per subject in oz unis is 3-5 hrs/week only, if you take the standard 4 subjects per sem, that's 12-20hr/week.........tutorials are important, you get marks for attending, and can be refused sitting for final exams if you do not attend the minimum of tutorials.........

lectures are not..........nobody cares whether you attend or not, many do not..........it can be so boring, people just sleep in lectures.........

the didactical way must stop........and dialectic way adopted.........(google if you don't understand what these terms means)......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 27 2010, 01:46 AM
limeuu
post Mar 2 2010, 12:08 AM

12,290 posts

the answer to all your questions are in the imu website...........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 2 2010, 12:08 AM
limeuu
post Mar 2 2010, 01:04 PM

12,290 posts

looks like the site is down..........

phase 1 fees about rm30k/sem.......

from me2/10 (aug intake), it will be raised to rm35k (whereas phase 2 at seremban will drop from rm40k to also 35k)........

you do not need ielts for bpharm(imu).......but if you take the twinning mpharm option, you will need both.......
limeuu
post Mar 3 2010, 04:21 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(nandayryu @ Mar 3 2010, 02:23 PM)
and IELTS isnt an  easy Exam,that's head breaking.
ielts is not hard or easy........it is a standardised assessment of a person's competency in english........there is no 'pass' or 'fail', but a band grade from 1 to 9........your 'pass' mark depends on the requirements of the body requesting the test, be it education, or migration.........

if you find it 'hard' to meet imu's requirements, then you are actually weak in english, and you either improve it, or find another course that does not require high level of english usage........
limeuu
post Mar 14 2010, 11:14 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Mar 14 2010, 09:50 PM)
Can anyone tell me IMU is associated with which college .
If I want to be a dentist can I get through it by taking foundation then go to IMU?

Reply is kindly appreciated .
the first step is to stop expecting to be spoon fed, and go to the imu website and find out......all the info to answer your questions are there.........

if you don't know the url, mr. google is you friend...........
limeuu
post Mar 15 2010, 11:41 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:46 AM)
Spoon fed? The reason I asked because I know the information on the site is outdated and path to dentist isn't listed on the site. I even checked the caches for this, so please shut up if you don't know.
since you insist on spoonfeeding......

http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-un-dentistry.html

http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-un-entry.html

http://www.imu.edu.my/partner-dental.html

http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-admission.html

which information there is outdated?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 15 2010, 11:42 AM
limeuu
post Mar 15 2010, 08:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Mar 15 2010, 07:12 PM)
Actually, now that you mentioned that, she might just be perfect for imu.
how do you know it's a she.......... biggrin.gif
limeuu
post Mar 16 2010, 08:44 PM

12,290 posts

i think the pms list fees are indicative.......some are obviously the same over several years, suggesting they have not been updated.........the fees on the respective uni's websites should be the correct ones........
limeuu
post Mar 19 2010, 09:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Mar 19 2010, 08:24 PM)
Nope. When you enter in 2008, there is NO guarantee that you'll last through the 2.5 years, hence you're only regarded as potential student for PMS. And you dont know which PMS you'll be matched to...

PMS matching only happens in sem 5, only then the uni knows who are you. Thus, you are supposed to pay the current fees. 1 more thing, its common thing in developed country to increase the fees half way through, so becareful. UCSI did that as well.
i think you missed a word.........

few unis lock in their fees nowadays, thus you will have to pay whatever is the current fees prevalent year to year, and they usually go up by 5-10% a year pegged to inflation.........so you will need to factor that in, in your calculations on your potential expenses..........
limeuu
post Mar 27 2010, 06:34 PM

12,290 posts

they will NOT bother with the spm..........

they may look at your pre-u........

they will certainly rank you based on your eos2, 3 and summatives..........

about the last minute inclusion of the 2 melb u places, this and 2/08 would be the last batches eligible to feed into the last undergraduate entry batch for melbourne u.......high fees notwithstanding, i am sure some will be gunning to get that 2 places..........eg jpa/mara scholars........smile.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 27 2010, 10:11 PM
limeuu
post Mar 27 2010, 10:14 PM

12,290 posts

i don't think it will be much of an issue.........melb traditionally only take the top students from imu......these are the usual effortless a's students, they should blend in nicely and up to speed in a short time.......
limeuu
post Mar 27 2010, 10:47 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Mar 27 2010, 10:14 PM)
I'm just a layman, knowing nuts about the field of medicine and medical education. I just read a scary article - A doctor too many hot off the press yesterday.

Anyone read it yet? What's your opinion of the fears expressed by Dr Hsu?
that is exactly what is happening........

there are a couple of errors though.....the housemanship in uk is now 2 years (foundation year 1 and 2).....

and he did not pay enough attention to those trained overseas........particularly russia and ukraine, where at it's peak, took in 1000 students a year..........they number about 1500 a year currently returning from all countries (predominantly russia/ukraine/indonesia/india.....those who goes to the developed world mostly will NOT return, even those on scholarships).......and many of them poorly trained, and even worse than the local ones......

it is expected that by 2012 or soon after, all available posts in gov hospitals will be filled.......and even with expansion of establishment strength, an absolute surplus of doctors by 2015 or so........you taxi driver may be a doctor soon, like in some countries......
limeuu
post Mar 28 2010, 06:35 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Mar 28 2010, 06:30 PM)
apparently medicine/doc is on the rise in this country
there're so many new medical school/collage in malaysia each
in the future, say 15-20 years..we'll be seeing taxi driver got medical degree
trust me
at present level of production, both locally and from mass production mills like russia, surplus of doctors is expected by 2016 latest.......

that is only half the problem........quality is poor, as the raw materials are poor.....people get into medicine not because they are bright, but because they have money........

and the training in some places is very bad, inadequate, different from msian system......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 28 2010, 06:49 PM
limeuu
post Apr 20 2010, 08:21 PM

12,290 posts

abc means average bbb, and is unlikely to get an offer.......

however, offers may not be given till june.....although for those already with results and clearly passing the cut-off (eg, people with aaa, ter>95) will have got their offers by now..........
limeuu
post Apr 22 2010, 07:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Apr 22 2010, 01:21 PM)
Medic. I apply and interviewed on April, July only get confirmation letter... 3As and 4As are very common for medic.
you did not get a conditional offer?......

many who awaits their results will receive a conditional offer early, and when the results are released, if you meet the condition, and pay the fees, you are enrolled.......
limeuu
post Apr 23 2010, 12:28 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Apr 22 2010, 10:46 PM)
Wow, if 4/3A's is the only result that can confirm you a seat in IMU's mbbs, I must say that this med school is rather hard to enter. How about 1A 2B's? Is this result be sufficient to confirm a seat in IMU?
i have said this many times.........there are so many people with 3a/4a, nobody without straight a's should be allowed into med schools......

this IS the standard in all good med schools in the oecd world..........

in the 3rd world, money can and will buy you a place..........
limeuu
post Apr 23 2010, 08:16 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Apr 23 2010, 10:38 AM)
Nope. I apply with actual results, just a few weeks after STPM release. I know very well that with my result, I'll not get a single place in IPTA med course.
i would infer from this, that you also do not have the results to have received the immediate offer from imu, and they put you into the pending list, depending on the results of the other applicants awaiting results......
limeuu
post Apr 24 2010, 12:32 PM

12,290 posts

it isn't really an increase.......there is a small increase pegged to inflation.....

however they have rationalised the fees for the 2 phases......previously, the phase 2 fees is rm10k more than phase 1..........

it is now the same, therefore phase 1 fees went up 5k and phase 2 fees came down 5k..........so the total for the local programme remains the same.....

however, for the pms stream, expect to pay a total of 25k more......since you will not have the benefit of the 25k reduction in phase 2.........
limeuu
post May 6 2010, 04:20 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 6 2010, 03:07 PM)
kinda..unless your a levels is super excellent until they say can straight take u in...

if you dun have ielts and ur results so so you will be thrown further down the pecking order...

and you need MUET as well!!!

it doesn't matter how good your a-levels is...........everybody will need ielts to ENTER imu-pms/local, dentistry and pharmacy programmes (used to be, to sit for it and get the minimum cutoff before leaving phase 1)

and muet too........it's a requirement of mohe/lan for all ipt, and applies to all msia students only.......

25 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0547sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:56 PM