International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

limeuu
post Sep 15 2009, 04:56 PM

12,290 posts

from next year, graduate entry med schools will be in a separate stream, and applicants will need to indicate their choice, as they do now for either pms or seremban stream........
limeuu
post Sep 15 2009, 10:25 PM

12,290 posts

there will not be a postgraduate medical programme in imu........the new stream is purely because there are now 5 pms which are graduate entry, and will require completing the b med sc at imu.......so the number of students in the stream will increase significantly......

uq, anu, warwick, sydney and melb.........
limeuu
post Sep 16 2009, 08:20 AM

12,290 posts

the only reason why anyone would bother to do the b med sc extra year, is so they qualify to partner to uq.......and of course now the others as well......

if finance is an issue, they should not be in the pms stream to begin with......however should finance become a problem half way through their course, they can always opt for the seremban phase 2.......

it's the reverse that is NOT possible, ie from local to pms stream, as the pms places is very restricted......

for info......there are about 120 pms places every batch.....yet they take in 180 students into the pms stream each batch.......go calculate your chances......

Added on September 16, 2009, 8:30 am
QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Sep 16 2009, 01:02 AM)
if melbourne still affiliated with IMU? cause the last i checked, melb wasn't listed as one of the PMS choices for the m207 batch.
the graduate entry programme is under a separate stream now.....but, under the new arrangements, i really do not see anyone wanting to partner to melbourne or sydney.........or even anu........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 16 2009, 08:30 AM
limeuu
post Sep 16 2009, 08:49 AM

12,290 posts

you get a ranking when you join one of the pms..........
limeuu
post Oct 22 2009, 08:45 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Oct 22 2009, 01:22 AM)
melb U back on. need to do one year b.med science at imu before going off. they had a talk that day but i didn't go.
the old system was 2 1/2+3=5 1/2 years.....

the new system is 3 1/2 (MUST do b med sc imu, no matter if you already has another degree)+4=7 1/2 years.........

who in his right mind will do this?.......... shakehead.gif
limeuu
post Oct 25 2009, 02:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Oct 25 2009, 12:00 PM)
apparently, the last undergraduate batch for Melb U was taken in 2008.
2009's intake is the postgrad batch doing 4.5 years there.
no intake is planned for 2010 but they will resume taking in applications for 2011 which is a postgrad entry and the course duration is 4 years.

does this mean that future students opting for this have to basically become a sem1 student again when transferred to melbourne U (since the course duration is now shortened to 4 years)?
that's dumb.

and this new system actually applies to which batch (m207, m108, m208?)?

yes........

it's a graduate entry programme, so you will need a full degree first, then enter at ground floor........

let's see if anyone bother with this option.........
limeuu
post Oct 29 2009, 10:20 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Oct 29 2009, 10:00 PM)
Melbourne Uni's new graduate medical program has prerequisites at undergraduate level.
anyone enters the program needs to have completed anatomy, physiology and biochemistry subjects during undergraduate.
so, it's not actually enter at ground floor, because it assumes some knowledge and made the course more intensive.
it is ground floor.......you start at year 1, just like everybody else.........

limeuu
post Oct 31 2009, 08:11 AM

12,290 posts

imu have generally no deadline for submission of applications for the medicine programme...........

for the feb intake, they want the interview completed by end of november.........after that, it is considered late application and places only offered if there are still vacancies after the first round of offers...........otherwise, eligible applicants are then considered for the next aug intake.............
limeuu
post Nov 1 2009, 08:50 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Nov 1 2009, 01:40 AM)
The TER cut-off for Feb 2010 intake is 95.
it fluctuates a bit.......

how did the repeat sam go this time?.....
limeuu
post Nov 1 2009, 03:06 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Nov 1 2009, 10:43 AM)
Well, finals starts on Monday. smile.gif  According to trials and forecast, it'll most probably be >99, based on various comments and recent statistics.

Btw, what determines the cut-off for every year? Quality of the pool of applicants?
that is excellent......good luck....

yes.......applicants are pooled, ranked, and then cut off applied based on seats available.........a good batch, and the cut off would be 95 (eg m107) or 91 (me/dt108)..........they have a system of equitation with the different pre-u's people apply with.........
limeuu
post Nov 12 2009, 10:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(seed83 @ Nov 12 2009, 08:55 PM)
hi.. i need help from u all IMU students.. i not IMU student, but my gf she are..

now the problem is she goin oversea study next year, but IMU sent her to a university which is not in her 10 choices list.. n her exam result not bad, but even those student who worst than her can get better university than IMU sent her.. now she already appeals the letter to the office, the office lady said tat the percent very low. she jus called up the lecturer who teaching her and realised tat new lecturer din write up recognition letter to the office..swt..

so can anyone help her, any recognition staff who can help her?? pls...
thanks u all
what is 'recognition letter' and 'recognition staff'.........

'better' uni is subjective and relative......which continent was she aiming for, and which uni did she get?...........

there has been some instances of changes and swappings, but very few........
limeuu
post Dec 17 2009, 12:26 PM

12,290 posts

wait for 2nd round offers.....
limeuu
post Dec 18 2009, 09:00 AM

12,290 posts

wonder which is the preferred pathway now, imu-pms or monash msia.........and wonder if any of the first batch just graduating from monash msia got any jobs in oz..........by 2012, it is possible some international students graduating from oz unis may not even get housejob offers........
limeuu
post Dec 18 2009, 01:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(celion @ Dec 18 2009, 11:50 AM)
why would that happen by 2012? excess graduate?
btw if monash msia graduate unable to practice in oz, no point to study monash anymore
more grads than housemanship places........

monash msia grads NEVER has any right to work in oz, just have a recognised degree that's all.........that is why people who knows the facts will choose imu over monash..........and why i ask what's the preference now.........
limeuu
post Dec 27 2009, 02:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Dec 20 2009, 12:22 PM)
Hi all, wanna ask IMU ppl here something.

I was at a education fair just now(I kepo nth to do) and I noticed that AIMST, PIDC, Manipal and those Russian/Indonesian school which are offering Medicine needs something called the NO OBJECTION CERTIFICATE(NOC) given out by the MOHE. And to get this thing, one of the requirements is that one must get 5 B4's or better in the SPM science subjects. What is this?

I'm asking cause I really screwed up my SPM but I made it through my pre-u... Does IMU seniors be it local or PMS ambil barang ni? I would want to jump off the building if I had to retake my SPM.
yes, you need this noc........this was in response to the situation some years back, when these unis, mostly russian and indian and indonesian med schools, were taking in VERY weak students, as long as you can pay the fees..........

however, it does not apply to local courses, but applies to the overseas ones, and may apply for some of those twinning ones too, eg mmmc..........

it is a weak response to a bad situation......lots of people just bypass the step, and seriously in the present standard of spm, 5 b4's is too low a cut off.......nobody below the top 10 percentile should consider medicine, and effectively means NOBODY who does not have at least 5A's should consider medicine......

in any case, the restriction should not be at spm level anyway, but at the pre-u level......unfortunately there is so many pathways after spm, it was not possible to control that level.......and also, many of the med schools take in students straight from spm, bypassing any pre-u except for their inhouse foundation.........

but this is after all bolehland.........everything boleh........ rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by limeuu: Dec 27 2009, 02:56 PM
limeuu
post Dec 29 2009, 12:21 AM

12,290 posts

the situation in oz is more of a administrative lag...........over the last 10 years, there is an acute shortage of doctors, and the gov responded by increasing intake in existing med schools, as well as starting new med schools in responce to the needs..........in total, there was about a 50% increase in production, similar to what uk did in the 90's..........

however, the number of houseman jobs did not keep up with this increase........and it will be corrected in the next few years as more places are created, as well as dispersing some housemanship training to the regional hospitals..........

the situation in msia is however out of hand, as in addition to the increased in production locally of about doubled within the last 5 and next 5 years, there is also a huge surge in those returning from overseas, particularly russia..........absorbing the housemans is not an issue in bolehland, as they are just assigned to hospitals, no matter how many there are already.........but it is estimated that by 2012 or soon after, all existing mo posts will be filled, and there may be a problem of accommodating all the post ho doctors passing out..........

we may yet get dr. taxi drivers, like some countries.........
limeuu
post Jan 25 2010, 04:11 PM

12,290 posts

you can apply with your AS and forecast results, and have you interviews earlier........you may then get a conditional offer at the end of december, specifying what the cut off is, say abb........and when your result is released, and you get that or higher, you are then confirmed a place........if you fail to meet the minimum required, then your conditional offer is void.......
limeuu
post Jan 25 2010, 10:40 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(airborne_1944 @ Jan 25 2010, 10:22 PM)
Are the chances of getting in lower the later i go for interview?
no........
limeuu
post Feb 18 2010, 07:10 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Feb 18 2010, 12:11 PM)
Oh, that university with the 2-hour teaching, the anatomy by system instead of by region, no plastinated models, and vietnamese or bangladeshi lecturers? Hmm. . . let's see, the latest intake there's about 220 students and after about 20 people leave at the end of each exam that's about, oh gosh i don't know if there'll be any left
Or you prefer being spoon fed 8 hrs a day, rote learning, and need to answer questions verbatim from the text books?........... biggrin.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1147877/+300

Added on February 18, 2010, 7:16 pmthey take in about 230/batch.........about 50-60 are for the local stream........leaving 170 for pms.........

there are about 120+ pms places/batch (including graduate entry schools).........

which means about 50 will drop out along the way.......some will just decide it's not for them, some will get offers elsewhere (too late for replacement), some will flunk eos2 (about 20% or 40-50) and need to repeat a sem, or just flunk out.........

and IF there are still more people left at the end than pms places.......they will just flunk the bottom bits in eos3 to tailor the final numbers to the available places...........

and yes, people really do flunk out........the intake criteria is NOT strict........so expect some stragglers who scrape in just over the cut offs to struggle.........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 18 2010, 07:16 PM
limeuu
post Feb 18 2010, 10:52 PM

12,290 posts

good medical schools have few drop outs........they choose their students very carefully.........

bad medical schools ALSO have few drop outs.......they take in students liberally.......they will pass everyone......no matter how bad........

imu is unique in the sense that they have somewhat bad med school intake policy but also have to maintain standards so the pms (which are all GOOD med schools) will accept the students......hence the need for the attrition rate........

not to mention how the few semester fees of the drop outs will do wonders for the financial bottom line.........

25 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:30 AM