5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Kelvin's S3is Shots

CompMac
post Aug 5 2007, 08:28 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Better angles can be taken with the flowers. The best out of the crop is #3. Try to use super macro if you have this function to get the best bokeh.
TSkelvinyam
post Aug 5 2007, 10:37 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 5 2007, 08:01 PM)
let me see...if you set it lower means you get wider DOF right...so for close ups...if you set it lower then the background wont be so blurred? shallow means blurrier or less blur?
Smaller aperture (large F number), wider DOF, less blur; larger aperture, narrow/shallow DOF, more blur.

QUOTE(CompMac @ Aug 5 2007, 08:28 PM)
Better angles can be taken with the flowers. The best out of the crop is #3. Try to use super macro if you have this function to get the best bokeh.
Better angles, can be more specific?
orenzai
post Aug 5 2007, 11:17 PM

3,114 posts

yep i get that part...but for taking close ups you used f3 which is a low aperture and it blurred the background... since it also did the job of blurring, what would be the difference if you used higher aperture? same results?
CompMac
post Aug 5 2007, 11:56 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Aug 5 2007, 10:37 PM)
Better angles, can be more specific?
Don't take from the bottom of the flower. Flowers are the most beautiful viewed from the top or the side at an angle.
TSkelvinyam
post Aug 6 2007, 07:17 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 5 2007, 11:17 PM)
yep i get that part...but for taking close ups you used f3 which is a low aperture and it blurred the background... since it also did the job of blurring, what would be the difference if you used higher aperture? same results?
Higher aperture means larger F number? It will make it less blur. Still blur, but just a little less blur.

QUOTE(CompMac @ Aug 5 2007, 11:56 PM)
Don't take from the bottom of the flower. Flowers are the most beautiful viewed from the top or the side at an angle.
OK I got it.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 01:45 PM

3,114 posts

yeah higher aperture means larger f stop hmm.gif don really understand...since higher means shallow/narrow DOF then why make it less blur? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by orenzai: Aug 6 2007, 01:45 PM
zio
post Aug 6 2007, 02:08 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Less blur because you got more depth of field. Means more things are in focus in the background.

Large fstop number means wider DOF, not shallow/narrow.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 02:11 PM

3,114 posts

rclxub.gif OMG..so i have gotten it all wrong all this time...so if i use f8 lidat then use to shoot landscape lah?lolz...lucky someone explain to me...
TSkelvinyam
post Aug 6 2007, 02:37 PM

1,766 posts

To make you confuse further, there's always an optimum aperture which is usually the center of the whole range. For lens (SLR), it's usually F8. For S3IS, I've yet to find out, since I can hardly notice any difference in term of photo quality, other than DOF.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 02:40 PM

3,114 posts

optimum aperture means the sharpest photo taken? no le..i read the article say that lower f stop=bigger aperture=wider DOF ler...
zio
post Aug 6 2007, 03:09 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Lower fstop = bigger aperture = lesser depth of field.

Thats why bokeh shots always use low fstop.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 03:13 PM

3,114 posts

doh.gif i see..so for landscape is set to high f stop?
zio
post Aug 6 2007, 03:24 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I will assume so, since for landscape, you want to retain as much detail as you possibly can.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 03:30 PM

3,114 posts

thanks for explaining dude..if not i wont know at all notworthy.gif
CompMac
post Aug 6 2007, 05:46 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Aug 6 2007, 02:37 PM)
To make you confuse further, there's always an optimum aperture which is usually the center of the whole range. For lens (SLR), it's usually F8. For S3IS, I've yet to find out, since I can hardly notice any difference in term of photo quality, other than DOF.
It is known as the hyper-focal point. Usually prosumers and P&S is at f5.6.

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 6 2007, 02:40 PM)
optimum aperture means the sharpest photo taken? no le..i read the article say that lower f stop=bigger aperture=wider DOF ler...
Smaller f number = wider aperture = shallower DOF = blurrier background and vice versa.
orenzai
post Aug 6 2007, 06:12 PM

3,114 posts

thanks for the explanation...real help... notworthy.gif
Jvn11
post Aug 8 2007, 12:16 AM

257 posts

Whats the aperture range for your s3is? i thought it was only f2.7-f3.5? how do you get f8?
ac98
post Aug 8 2007, 12:43 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Wahhh ... so many sifus explaining here! tongue.gif
CompMac
post Aug 8 2007, 04:43 AM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Jvn11 @ Aug 8 2007, 12:16 AM)
Whats the aperture range for your s3is? i thought it was only f2.7-f3.5? how do you get f8?
The aperture range given represents the widest aperture achievable by the camera at wide angle for the former and telephoto for the latter.

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 8 2007, 12:43 AM)
Wahhh ... so many sifus explaining here! tongue.gif
Seems like you have caught the sarcasm bug. laugh.gif
aceejay
post Aug 8 2007, 05:34 AM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

finally !! canon powershot club in here haha..
just bought the S5 series ..noob here btw tongue.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0187sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:38 AM