Nvidia Shield TV 2017

AVFAN
post Feb 20 2018, 03:52 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Feb 20 2018, 01:31 PM)
anyone manage to install and running RSS player in Nvidia Shield TV 2017. Not found in Playstore but manage to download apk (https://apkpure.com/rss-player/pis.android.rss.rssplayer) and installed it. But not manage to open the app and nvidia shield will mention it stopped working.
I believe rss player is one those apps not allowed on androidtv.

The same is seen with my androidtv tv.

Rss player will work on generic android devices... icdrama works very well on it, incl 1080p streams.
rhonot
post Mar 2 2018, 01:29 AM

hi..
just bought new nvidia shield 16gb ver.1k from shopee..but facing problem with myiptv/huat888 iptv app.after install any version of it apk..it still doesnt show mac address instead it show anti hacker and then pop up link not found.some say mac have been clone.but my thought is app not compatible with it os.android 7..or perhaps it is a new feature from os to hide the mac..anyone have the same situation or any solution to it.can i use the mac add from device hardware information to subscribe to the myiptv hosting anyway??.thanks in advance.

ICDeadPeople
post Mar 8 2018, 07:55 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(rhonot @ Mar 2 2018, 01:29 AM)
hi..
just bought new nvidia shield 16gb ver.1k from shopee..but facing problem with myiptv/huat888 iptv app.after install any version of it apk..it still doesnt show mac address instead it show anti hacker and then pop up link not found.some say mac have been clone.but my thought is app not compatible with it os.android 7..or perhaps it is a new feature from os to hide the mac..anyone have the same situation or any solution to it.can i use the mac add from device hardware information to subscribe to the myiptv hosting anyway??.thanks in advance.
Bought nvidia shield last year for myiptv too. Aparently its not compatible. End up cancelling myiptv and get better one.
alucard89
post Mar 29 2018, 10:31 PM

4,454 posts

Not sure what happened, seems like with latest update
My amazon video app can't connect anymore when vpn's on shakehead.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2018, 10:47 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(yclam5729 @ Apr 5 2018, 09:28 AM)
Anyone can give some idea why my AOTG 8.1.93 version can't install properly in Nvidia Shield TV which is Android version 7.0? Anyone with other box in Android 7.0 OS install AOTG without issue? I have installed successful once, after exit can never open without crash. Even I clear cache, uninstall and reinstall also doesn't help. I try other 2 previous version of AOTG also the same, please share if you have any idea what's happening.
as this is more of an androidtv os issue and not generic android os, better i post here.

androidtv os is found in a minority of devices - nvidia shield, mibox int'l, sony 4ktv and sharp 4ktv.
i think there is little discussion on the android for sony 4ktv, but quite a bit for mibox and sharp 4ktv.
they should work the same, face similar issues.

i am using a sharp 4ktv android os, have seen some of these issues, perhaps i can help a bit.

lately, there hv been 2 issues faced by users.

1. possibly due to updated firmware/security patch, some apps couldn't be installed.
the "install" button is washed out, cannot be clicked on for some apps.
however, there is a workaround - use of x-plore app from playstore and using a simple trick, on/off of remote, to resume installation.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LuEYd1fpstU&feature=youtu.be

2. some apps after installation keep crashing, incl astrogo.
still, mibox users are able to use this 8.1.93 but need mouse; remote will cause crash.
https://m.apkpure.com/astro-go/com.astro.astro
read last few pages for details:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+2360#bottom

3. U also need to install and set to default the indic keyboard as the leanback keyboard is incompatible; need also to install a rotation lock app to get landscape rather than potrait.

for my tv, i failed to get 8.1.93 to work, from wherever.
the good news is there is one version i got it to work - 8.0.4.2.
try this version, see if it works.

do ask astrogo questions at the mibox thread as that thread is very active.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 11 2018, 12:08 PM
maiffa71
post Apr 5 2018, 10:56 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 8 2018, 07:55 PM)
Bought nvidia shield last year for myiptv too. Aparently its not compatible. End up cancelling myiptv and get better one.
Use HaoHD IPTV bro. Its almost the same as myiptv interms of channel and price. But this one is compatible with nvidia shield.
I get from this seller.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4410212
Alwin007
post Apr 20 2018, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Feb 10 2018, 03:38 PM)
Totally frustrated with nvidia shield that i jist bought,problem with the external storage and quasar. Using quasar to download into internal storage, everythings fine, but when set path to external storage,cannot download with speeing decrease problem until below 10k, path mist set inside kodi subfolder in android folder (android tv restriction,each app must only can write to own app folder in android folder). So last try,format and merge my external storage into internal storage (android 7.0 feature, format external become adoptable storage). Try quasar, first movie download, successfully, download second movie speed reducing problem appear again, try to delete torrent from quasar,cannot and kodi/quasar hang..then shutdown nvidia shield and restart again, damn kodi cannot open, totally hang, not only kodi cannot open, all the external app i install manually from playslore also hang (es file explorer, vlc player, mx player). Try again factory reset and set external storage to become adoptable storage,same sympton, can download first movie,sexond cannot and corrupt other app as well. Tey again with kodi installed after i merge the external storage,also same problem (try both kodi install first then format external storage OR install kodi first into internal storage and then format and merge external storage)...
Really frustrating and wanna give up liao, anyone interested on nvidia shield 2017 basic mode 16gb (without game controller) that i bought from amazon, can pm me. My purpose jist purely for quasar so i cannot resolve it,want to give up and eiher buy himedia q10 pro or nvidia shield pro 500gb
Hi, actually I am thinking to let go my HIMEDIA Q10 pro which I just bought few months ago. I am mostly watch streaming movie and prefer to have some games function which Nvidia Shield fit me well.
(My Himedia Q10 pro is working perfectly fine as new.)
Is it possible for us to have a swap ?

juzmafia
post May 24 2018, 10:21 PM

562 posts

Nvidia Shield TV receive Oreo update >> https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/10...ce-upgrade-7-0/

Tips:-
CODE
>Hold Home button to see All Apps
>Hold Back button to bring up Settings, including Sleep Now
>Double press Home button to bring up Recent Apps
>Hold Select button (or A button on gamepad) on content to add to Play Next.
>Hold Select button (or A button on gamepad) on apps to move or remove.
>While on a Channel row, navigate all the way left to move or remove it.
https://www.androidpolice.com/2018/05/24/nv...-rolling-today/

SUSjdgobio
post May 25 2018, 09:51 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ May 24 2018, 10:21 PM)
Nvidia Shield TV receive Oreo update >> https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/10...ce-upgrade-7-0/

CODE

Nice! This looks much better, I hope it works great.
Andrewtst
post May 25 2018, 11:40 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,759 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ May 24 2018, 10:21 PM)

CODE

I think I will buy this Android TV Box very soon.
Kevin_Low
post May 25 2018, 06:01 PM

1,238 posts

is nvidia shield good? better than mi box?
SUSjdgobio
post May 25 2018, 06:17 PM

1,010 posts

Unfortunately there is still no fix for auto frame-rate and colour-space switching.
arslow
post May 25 2018, 11:37 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 25 2018, 06:17 PM)
Unfortunately there is still no fix for auto frame-rate and colour-space switching.
Auto resolution switch also dont have yet right

I guess we have to move to apple tv 4k for those.....sigh

Then for full kodi experience need to get an amlogic device flashed with libreelec....

One device for all doesnt exist....
Andrewtst
post May 26 2018, 04:34 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,759 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 25 2018, 06:17 PM)
QUOTE(arslow @ May 25 2018, 11:37 PM)

Then for full kodi experience need to get an amlogic device flashed with libreelec....

I think I going to skip then. Haha!

Tomorrow going to check out Apple TV 4K.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 26 2018, 04:34 AM
SUSjdgobio
post May 26 2018, 08:54 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ May 25 2018, 11:37 PM)

Resolution does switch automatically. It's just the frame rate & colour-space that needs to be switched manually.
Apple TV 4K can't even do audio passthrough, so no point getting that.

Overall, the Shield is still better than any other box except for this problem.
Andrewtst
post May 26 2018, 01:46 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,759 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 26 2018, 08:54 AM)
Resolution does switch automatically. It's just the frame rate & colour-space that needs to be switched manually.
Apple TV 4K can't even do audio passthrough, so no point getting that.

Overall, the Shield is still better than any other box except for this problem.
So every box got their own issue.

Anyway I decide get Apple TV 4K box already, hope I can get at shop. Reason I got done movie purchase at iTunes and their movie price is much cheaper, got 4K HDR movie as well, also I still got Mi Box.
Slash21
post May 26 2018, 02:48 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 5 2018, 10:47 AM)
2. some apps after installation keep crashing, incl astrogo.
still, mibox users are able to use this 8.1.93 but need mouse; remote will cause crash.
https://m.apkpure.com/astro-go/com.astro.astro
read last few pages for details:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+2360#bottom

for my tv, i failed to get 8.1.93 to work, from wherever.
the good news is there is one version i got it to work - 8.0.4.2.
try this version, see if it works.

do ask astrogo questions at the mibox thread as that thread is very active.
Hi, I tried installing the 8.0.4.2 onto my nvidia shield but it crashes. Do you have a version working currently?

AVFAN
post May 26 2018, 04:24 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ May 26 2018, 02:48 PM)
Hi, I tried installing the 8.0.4.2 onto my nvidia shield but it crashes. Do you have a version working currently?

ok, i am not using androidtv on shield but on an androidtv tv.

astrogo 8.0.4.2 was the only version that worked on my tv for a long time; other/later versions do not work.

today (or yesterday), 8.0.4.2 also stopped working, likely got phased out by astro support.

the good news is i was able to install the latest 8.1.98 and got it to work.

app is not in playstore; also can't get it to work using normal sideload.

what i did:

install a browser (i use brave), but think chrome or other browser will work too.

search for astrogo apk, find in apkpure or other.

download, open, log in, all good.

i hope that works for shield' androidtv as well.

SUSjdgobio
post May 27 2018, 12:29 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 26 2018, 01:46 PM)
So every box got their own issue.

Anyway I decide get Apple TV 4K box already, hope I can get at shop. Reason I got done movie purchase at iTunes and their movie price is much cheaper, got 4K HDR movie as well, also I still got Mi Box.
I think you can get at all Apple / Machines stores. Good choice, since you use itunes. Also, since its still relatively new maybe it will get better in the future and fix audio passthrough and its other kinks.
Personally I would never be caught stuck with anything within Apple's locked-down ecosystem. Case in point: Steamlink app was blocked by Apple at the last minute, so it can't stream PC games.
I hope there are more choices but at the moment we are stuck with many imperfect ones.
Andrewtst
post May 27 2018, 12:35 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,759 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ May 27 2018, 12:29 PM)
I think you can get at all Apple / Machines stores. Good choice, since you use itunes. Also, since its still relatively new maybe it will get better in the future and fix audio passthrough and its other kinks.
Personally I would never be caught stuck with anything within Apple's locked-down ecosystem. Case in point: Steamlink app was blocked by Apple at the last minute, so it can't stream PC games.
I hope there are more choices but at the moment we are stuck with many imperfect ones.
I already buy and I post at another thread. smile.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=89067916

Yup sound pass thru should be fix, a lot user need it even though no need for me as I use TV speaker. Haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 27 2018, 12:36 PM

61 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:45 AM