Any Santa Rosa notebook ? Preferbly Acer from 3.5 K to RM 4K
Pls advice
Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! Ver. 2.
May 31 2007, 10:44 PM
648 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S'ban |
Any Santa Rosa notebook ? Preferbly Acer from 3.5 K to RM 4K
Pls advice |
May 31 2007, 11:36 PM
4,496 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: K.L |
QUOTE(nicole06 @ May 31 2007, 08:14 PM) I thought NEC laptop was made in MALAYSIA which the factory are located at JURU "AUTOCITY"? o thx ... ^ ^ Added on May 31, 2007, 8:18 pm BenQ S41 VS ACER ASPIRE GEMSTONE which one worth to buy interms of preformance and money? --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Added on May 31, 2007, 8:21 pm "Happy Birthday to You"..."Happy Birthday to You"..."Happy Birth~~day to JOHN~~"..."Happy Birthday to You"... but where is my present ^ ^ haha jz kidding ^ ^ yeah .. cheers ... Added on May 31, 2007, 11:39 pm QUOTE(F33L3Lik3Hom3 @ May 31 2007, 10:44 PM) if u looking for acer .. there is a model called ACER TRAVELMATE 6292 market is selling 3999 Ringgit or if u want a more better graphics card ,wht not take the benq S41 .. also the same price .. but come with 8600 graphics card .. but is still depends on ur thinking lar ^ ^ haha ... This post has been edited by john_jay2: May 31 2007, 11:39 PM |
May 31 2007, 11:58 PM
545 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Where kiasu/kiasi lives |
Here's a bit of questions from me, hopefully you guys can help me out as I need a laptop for my brother who's going overseas soon (N.Zealand). I want to get him a laptop that can support good gaming, and allows him to work / study.
Budget: 3k to a maxed of 4k. Not sure whether I can make it cash or not, but I do have credit cards to cover up if necessary. Brands: Prefer brands like Asus. Not sure what other good brands that I should look at, but I hope to get one that could get good tech support in NZ (international coverage?). OR some laptop that you guys can assure that it won't easily die out on itself? Specs: Nothing in mind yet, just the usual goodies (wireless, graphic card, big HD, etc). --- I'm not stubborn in getting one particular laptop, so guys, please give me some ideas of laptops that met my requirements? Thank you. |
Jun 1 2007, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(ik3da @ May 31 2007, 11:58 PM) Here's a bit of questions from me, hopefully you guys can help me out as I need a laptop for my brother who's going overseas soon (N.Zealand). I want to get him a laptop that can support good gaming, and allows him to work / study. how bout benq S41 ? Budget: 3k to a maxed of 4k. Not sure whether I can make it cash or not, but I do have credit cards to cover up if necessary. Brands: Prefer brands like Asus. Not sure what other good brands that I should look at, but I hope to get one that could get good tech support in NZ (international coverage?). OR some laptop that you guys can assure that it won't easily die out on itself? Specs: Nothing in mind yet, just the usual goodies (wireless, graphic card, big HD, etc). --- I'm not stubborn in getting one particular laptop, so guys, please give me some ideas of laptops that met my requirements? Thank you. i think this model is kinda nice n suits u .. isn't it ? |
Jun 1 2007, 01:15 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jun 1 2007, 12:08 AM) You should realise benQ does not have a laptop service center in the whole of NZ. On the other hand, As much as I hate Acer, the Gemstone does change my view of the typical acer. That new gemstone with a much powerful 8600M GT is just Rm500 plus and Acer's exposure to the world market is way better than that of the benQ |
Jun 1 2007, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 1 2007, 01:15 AM) You should realise benQ does not have a laptop service center in the whole of NZ. is it , it does has a service centre over nz there .. On the other hand, As much as I hate Acer, the Gemstone does change my view of the typical acer. That new gemstone with a much powerful 8600M GT is just Rm500 plus and Acer's exposure to the world market is way better than that of the benQ but they are not selling joybook over there .. so they din put a service note on the joybook .. but they does cover warranty over there ... this is wht i hear from benq .. correct me if i am wrong .. ^ ^ |
Jun 1 2007, 03:01 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 1 2007, 01:15 AM) You should realise benQ does not have a laptop service center in the whole of NZ. The First Pre-Review of the Gemstone on the net... Sorry if the link has been posted before... On the other hand, As much as I hate Acer, the Gemstone does change my view of the typical acer. That new gemstone with a much powerful 8600M GT is just Rm500 plus and Acer's exposure to the world market is way better than that of the benQ Is it just me, or does the part about the gaming performance just scream "underclocked GPU"... Keep in mind, its a pre-review... But it seems like sad news to Gemstone hopefuls (me included)... |
Jun 1 2007, 04:14 AM
1,592 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Poland |
^ thats why, need a review from an earlier buyer. not just for that acer, but benq too.
the most probability overheating come for laptop which has small lcd resolution, the slimness and so on. take a look at acer aspire 14.1" with ati x1600. it's kinda ridiculous to use powerful card for slim, portable notebook. from your link: Verdict of Acer Aspire 5920 (Codename : Gemstone) "It's not the most portable of laptops but the Acer Aspire 5920 is powerful, looks smart and offers a decent collection of features for the price. The new Intel Santa Rosa technology looks to be working well, and the impressive audio quality and generous hard drive help make this a particularly strong entertainment notebook." ~ pcadvisor.co.uk it's not portable due: 1. battery, not last long, due to screen reso, gpu. 2. bulky, screen reso with 15.4" , 3kg. i assume and hope that aspire have improve the cooling system. well, review does proof. |
Jun 1 2007, 09:39 AM
117 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: NUS-Puchong |
hey john, i got a little pening going thru all those forum pages..if its possible can PM the price n specs of the Benq S41.
i wonder why no1 recommend this before...specs is awesome..2GB..even higher than Gemstone.. anyone has done a direct comparison (specs only) between the gemstone n the benq?pls do enlighten us/me.. |
Jun 1 2007, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(themagnificentman @ Jun 1 2007, 09:39 AM) hey john, i got a little pening going thru all those forum pages..if its possible can PM the price n specs of the Benq S41. hmm . bro .. jz check my benq S41 Thread downs there .. ^ ^i wonder why no1 recommend this before...specs is awesome..2GB..even higher than Gemstone.. anyone has done a direct comparison (specs only) between the gemstone n the benq?pls do enlighten us/me.. |
Jun 1 2007, 03:54 PM
37 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
which 1 is better? acer aspire 5920 or benq s41, any idea?
Jun 1 2007, 04:55 PM
3,541 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Moiteser @ Jun 1 2007, 03:54 PM) Overall spec are almost the same but Acer gemstone win in graphic cos better GPU ma and price also higher. BenQ win in smaller LCD size(14.1") while acer (15.4").In design, benq s41 is solid built(like metal) while acer is "IN" & beauty(better look than HP pavilion lo & the logo also 3D 1) |
Jun 1 2007, 05:15 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
In reply to themagnificentman,
Errrmmmm... where does it state that it has 2gb of RAM? The S41 comes with 1gig standard with the maximum of 2. |
Jun 1 2007, 06:50 PM
4,670 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
I'm abandoning my idea of getting an S41 or F3Sc for now and going with a desktop and cheaper laptop.
So let' see. The rig i customized earlier was RM2.5k. A Dell 640m costs RM2.4k. I have an extra 540+ to spend of my own money so i can top that up. And do i need a laptop now for college or do i get it when i go for my final year overseas? P/S Doing my degree now, full course for year 1 starts in August. Need those of you doing engineering currently in uni for your advice. |
Jun 1 2007, 08:08 PM
117 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: NUS-Puchong |
haha i tot of tat too..gettting a cheaper laptop and a desktop..but since ur using laptop almost all the time..better get a decent laptop..n get some 2nd hand decent desktop..
tats wat i tot la.. blacktrix: oh i was googling..then found a website with BENQ s41..tot it comes with 2GB cos it is stated there..n how i jump for joy..sweat..sob.. |
Jun 1 2007, 08:31 PM
472 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: JOhor Bahru |
QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Jun 1 2007, 06:50 PM) I'm abandoning my idea of getting an S41 or F3Sc for now and going with a desktop and cheaper laptop. oh..i went to singapore NUS saw lots of ECE student usign Sony lappie..hehe..So let' see. The rig i customized earlier was RM2.5k. A Dell 640m costs RM2.4k. I have an extra 540+ to spend of my own money so i can top that up. And do i need a laptop now for college or do i get it when i go for my final year overseas? P/S Doing my degree now, full course for year 1 starts in August. Need those of you doing engineering currently in uni for your advice. anyway,how do u choose from a 13.3" to 15.4" screen? |
Jun 1 2007, 09:34 PM
4,670 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Jun 1 2007, 11:29 PM
Jun 2 2007, 01:14 AM
15 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: kuantan, pahang |
what other laptop i can get other than DELL InspironTM 6400 ???
i nid a intel duo 2 core processor ,wifi, 2gb ram budjet is below RM 3000 ... any recommended ? |
Jun 2 2007, 01:21 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(Moiteser @ Jun 1 2007, 03:54 PM) Like tplcaik said, from specs... The 5920 has better graphics (even though underclocked, still quite faster then the S41), but nobody knows if the thermal management (the vents and fans) are better then in current Acers... Plus there's the issue with the build quality, nobody knows how well it's built yet...The S41 should have good thermal management (like the previous model), and a faster processor, but the GPU is a bit crappier then the Gemstone... So, your call... Both are not really out yet so nobody really knows which one is better... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 2 2007, 01:22 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:05 AM |