Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

AVFAN
post Sep 3 2019, 11:43 AM

24,454 posts

for the adventurous... a new live USA tv app... a legit and free app... XUMO... live USA tv, vod, some in HD.

not top but 2nd or 3rd grade channels, some are quite OK.

it is open to all in USA, incl AndroidTV. but here, u need VPN to get it.

https://9to5google.com/2019/08/21/xumo-android-tv-app/
https://apkpure.com/xumo-free-streaming-tv-...s/com.xumo.xumo
set VPN to USA; if not, it will not work.
https://apkpure.com/turbo-vpn-free-proxy-se....proxy.turbovpn

need mouse to navigate, works well on AndroidTV, not so well on regular android.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 3 2019, 09:41 PM
kayrool
post Sep 3 2019, 09:00 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 2 2019, 11:43 PM)
Hi, I'm not going to go into specific models but would just like to offer my understanding. Either HDMI 2.0 or HDMI 2.0a is fine where HDR support is concerned. However, i would advise you go for a TV equipped by default with HDMI 2.0a ports for added peace of mind. There's talks about future fw being able to upgrade a port from HDMI 2.0 to 2.0a but ........ better get from the start than hope for fw update that might break things.

Lastly, since you asked about signals pass-through from other devices. I strongly suggest you concern yourself with HDMI 2.0a inputs with HDCP 2.2 support. The latter is crucial as more and more legit content are being protected. Example, you have a device or service that’s HDCP 2.2-compliant and is trying to send protected 4K signals to a non-HDCP-2.2 4K TV. The non-HDCP-2.2 4K TV would most likely show a blank screen. To make matters worse, non-HDCP-2.2 devices can’t simply be upgraded to support HDCP 2.2, because specific hardware is required. So for for future-proofing, ensure HDCP 2.2-compliance.

I've checked the Sharp website and it doesn't seem to state if the 4TC50AL1X is HDCP 2.2-compliant or not. So perhaps other owners in here could help check behind their TVs, if it's listed there, beside the ports.. Thanks.
I hope so both HDMI 2.0 and 2.0a support HDR. Or maybe HDR through HDMI 2.0 is supported on certain models/brands and not supported on others. For 4TC50AL1X and 4TC50AH1X I hope the owners here can help to clarify it.

Thank you also for bringing up HDCP 2.2. I find it very important to have it if we do use protected bluray content. Hope again others could clarify on this.its either written beside the ports or in the manual..
FaezFarhan
post Sep 3 2019, 10:24 PM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

Which model is good now from Sharp? 49” under RM4k?
kayrool
post Sep 4 2019, 01:40 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 3 2019, 11:43 AM)
it is unclear if the ah1x hdmi 2.0 can handle hdr10 as there are tv's that can, with the right firmware.

but the fact that it has only 2xhdmi 2.0 whereas al1x (and ua6800x) have 2xhdmi2.0 + 2xhdmi 2.0a says something.

i know the hdmi2.0 in my ua6800x cannot do HDR properly.

ah1x, i would think either it won't work with HDR (washed out video, weird colors) or it will work but "less" dynamic range... and maybe limited to 8bit, chroma 420??

the info says "HDR" - this may be referring to HDR in youtube and netflix only, not input from other devices via hdmi.

to be sure, i would think u should go for al1x unless an actual user can confirm.
Hi thank you for your reply.

Yeah , the extra 2.0a ports given should say something about HDR passthrough capabilities.

I think you might be right regarding HDR as referring to in-built youtube and netflix only. Same goes to HDR10.

kayrool
post Sep 4 2019, 01:50 PM

27 posts

Email-ed sharp Malaysia regarding this issue a few days ago but still haven't received any reply. So I went to sharp Indonesia website and do a live chat with them. they said that HDMI 2.0 on both 4TC50AL1X and 4TC50AH1X can passthrough HDR from external sources. So I asked why HDMI 2.0a provided then in 4TC50AL1X. They cant give a certain answer. For HDCP, they said 4TC50AL1X support HDCP 1.4. weird. I tried to google info on HDCP 1.4 but theres none.
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2019, 06:54 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(kayrool @ Sep 4 2019, 01:50 PM)
Email-ed sharp Malaysia regarding this issue a few days ago but still haven't received any reply. So I went to sharp Indonesia website and do a live chat with them. they said that HDMI 2.0 on both 4TC50AL1X and 4TC50AH1X can passthrough HDR from external sources. So I asked why HDMI 2.0a provided then in 4TC50AL1X. They cant give a certain answer. For HDCP, they said 4TC50AL1X support HDCP 1.4. weird. I tried to google info on HDCP 1.4 but theres none.
this is the problem... hdcp is a global std but HDR is not.

"hdr" is an open thingy.... everybody is free to claim what they can do or not do... there is no common regulated std adopted yet.

"al1x supports hdmi 1.4" probably means it is backward compatible, that's all.

knowing these TV's as much as i do, al1x is hdcp 2.2, no worries about HDR10.

ah1x, ah8x... i hv doubts... they may be able to do "some" HDR... u may be at the mercy of the originators of the source.

seriously, unless RM300 is going hurt u bad, there is no good reason why u want to take such a risk and potentially get upset later.

ah1x/ah8x, to me, is meant for those who dun care about HDR, 4k, youtube, netlfix4k, ATV... just SD or at best 1080p will do.

moreover, we r talking about rm3k... not rm8k, 10k... that others are rushing to spend on "the latest and the best"! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 4 2019, 06:56 PM
kayrool
post Sep 4 2019, 08:41 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2019, 06:54 PM)
this is the problem... hdcp is a global std but HDR is not.

"hdr" is an open thingy.... everybody is free to claim what they can do or not do... there is no common regulated std adopted yet.

"al1x supports hdmi 1.4" probably means it is backward compatible, that's all.

knowing these TV's as much as i do, al1x is hdcp 2.2, no worries about HDR10.

ah1x, ah8x... i hv doubts... they may be able to do "some" HDR... u may be at the mercy of the originators of the source.

seriously, unless RM300 is going hurt u bad, there is no good reason why u want to take such a risk and potentially get upset later.

ah1x/ah8x, to me, is meant for those who dun care about HDR, 4k, youtube, netlfix4k, ATV... just SD or at best 1080p will do.

moreover, we r talking about rm3k... not rm8k, 10k... that others are rushing to spend on "the latest and the best"! tongue.gif
Yeah,in the end that's what i was thinking too. At this price range, even AL1x won't even touch the minimum requirements for proper HDR in term of contrast. Save the headache, just go for AL1x right.biggrin.gif Thank you sifu for the thought.
Shannise P
post Sep 4 2019, 10:01 PM

Probation

Sharp 4K Android TV LC50UE630X

Preinstalled Netflix couldn't be opened unless a latest software version is updated!!!

However, when the Netflix is going to update, a pop up window says that it cannot access the network/ it cannot access the download site...

*My network and Wifi is running well on other apps like Youtube on Android TV

I have tried to download the apk files online on my hard-disk and tried to plug in the hard-disk and installed the latest apk Netflix files on the

Android TV but nothing happen and it still need to update. Hopefully someone could help me out icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Probems facing as below:

https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX7GP.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iXPvc.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iKs8B.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX57G.md.jpg
AVFAN
post Sep 4 2019, 10:29 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Shannise @ Sep 4 2019, 10:01 PM)
Sharp 4K Android TV LC50UE630X

Preinstalled Netflix couldn't be opened unless a latest software version is updated!!!
However, when the Netflix is going to update, a pop up window says that it cannot access the network/ it cannot access the download site...
*My network and Wifi is running well on other apps like Youtube on Android TV
I have tried to download the apk files online on my hard-disk and tried to plug in the hard-disk and installed the latest apk Netflix files on the
Android TV but nothing happen and it still need to update. Hopefully someone could help me out  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Probems facing as below:
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX7GP.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX7GP.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iXPvc.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iXPvc.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iKs8B.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iKs8B.md.jpg </a>
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX57G.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/04/5iX57G.md.jpg </a>
patience... the server sometimes go down.

try again later, tmr....

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 5 2019, 10:36 AM
Shannise P
post Sep 5 2019, 02:14 AM

Probation

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 4 2019, 10:29 PM)
patience... the server sometimes go down.

try again later, tmr....

current firmware is 31100 180130.001
Hi, I have tried to update Netflix on my Android TV for few days, unfortunately, it stills can't work... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2019, 10:10 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Shannise @ Sep 5 2019, 02:14 AM)
Hi, I have tried to update Netflix on my Android TV for few days, unfortunately, it stills can't work...  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
i responded in the ue630x thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry93844821
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2019, 01:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(kayrool @ Sep 4 2019, 08:41 PM)
Yeah,in the end that's what i was thinking too. At this price range, even AL1x won't even touch the minimum requirements for proper HDR in term of contrast. Save the headache, just go for AL1x right.biggrin.gif Thank you sifu for the thought.
if u get al1x, dun forget to post some comments in al1x thread for the benefit of others.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4778611/+100#bottom
AVFAN
post Sep 9 2019, 10:28 AM

24,454 posts

perhaps a peek into next coming models...?

Sharp has gone Android at IFA 2019 and added two affordable TV ranges which will feature the Google-based smart platform and all the on-demand video apps that any user could need.

There are seven Android TVs altogether between the Sharp BL series and the Sharp BN series and the highlights for these 4K HDR TVs include having Google Assistant and Chromecast built in as well as Harman Kardon speaker systems.

The major difference between the two ranges is that the later-arriving BN series will come with Dolby Vision HDR, alongside HLG and HDR10, and will be Dolby Atmos compatible too.

https://www.whathifi.com/news/ifa-2019-shar...le-4k-tv-ranges

ruzaini88
post Sep 13 2019, 10:52 AM

245 posts

https://my.sharp/products/tvav/4tc60bk1x?v=1348

New model!

anyone knows more about this?

Looks like they dropped Eilex audio feature.
voncrane
post Sep 13 2019, 01:03 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Sep 13 2019, 10:52 AM)

New model!

According to the specs page.. My concerns would be clarifying that the following are indeed present or absent cuz it says;
YouTube HDR...Nil
Netflix HDR.....Nil
USB HDR........Nil
HDMI HDR......Nil (This is a tad confusing as it sports HDMI2.0a ports) hmm.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 13 2019, 03:07 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 13 2019, 01:03 PM)
According to the specs page.. My concerns would be clarifying that the following are indeed present or absent cuz it says;
YouTube HDR...Nil
Netflix HDR.....Nil
USB HDR........Nil
HDMI HDR......Nil (This is a tad confusing as it sports HDMI2.0a ports)  hmm.gif
quite sure that is an error made by some sleepy head.
QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Sep 13 2019, 10:52 AM)
New model!
compare side by side - bk1x, al1x, 6800x.
https://my.sharp/compare/product

a quick glance, i spot these differences for bk1x vs the older 2:

.. android 9.0 vs android 8.0
.. 3 hdmi 2.0a vs 4 hdmi (2x2.0, 2x2.0a)
.. BT 5.0 vs 4.0
.. HDR/HDR10/HLG vs "HDR"

the only major difference to me is support for HLG.
but since HLG is mainly for live broadcast streams like BBC/BBCiplayer, it may not be that useful locally.
however, i would expect the "HDR10" performance is improved for contrast and color depth.

one thing i am curious... HLG ext input will need hdmi 2.0b.
since 3xhdmi are all 2.0a, it is unclear if it will support HLG files playback or reduce to HDR.
that, will have to hear from a user.
as usual, i expect the price for new model to be higher by rm300-500 than its 1 year old predecessor(s).

BTW, i thought u already bought a new samsung... still shopping?
ruzaini88
post Sep 13 2019, 03:33 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 13 2019, 03:07 PM)
quite sure that is an error made by some sleepy head.

compare side by side - bk1x, al1x, 6800x.
https://my.sharp/compare/product

a quick glance, i spot these differences for bk1x vs the older 2:

.. android 9.0 vs android 8.0
.. 3 hdmi 2.0a vs 4 hdmi (2x2.0, 2x2.0a)
.. BT 5.0 vs 4.0
.. HDR/HDR10/HLG vs "HDR"

the only major difference to me is support for HLG.
but since HLG is mainly for live broadcast streams like BBC/BBCiplayer, it may not be that useful locally.
however, i would expect the "HDR10" performance is improved for contrast and color depth.

one thing i am curious... HLG ext input will need hdmi 2.0b.
since 3xhdmi are all 2.0a, it is unclear if it will support HLG files playback or reduce to HDR.
that, will have to hear from a user.
as usual, i expect the price for new model to be higher by rm300-500 than its 1 year old predecessor(s).

BTW, i thought u already bought a new samsung... still shopping?
Waa your memory power is so good. smile.gif
Yes I bought a 65" NU8000 few months ago, but this is to replace my parents old tv.
I just step in to my own new house few months ago.

My current setup is Pana 43" IPS FHD TV + Yamaha YAS207 .
Really looking to buy a 55-60" 4K TV for my house.
I drop idea to buy 55U7A due to PQ is too bad. U7A here in malaysia not same as in europe!

vicng93
post Sep 19 2019, 11:51 AM

184 posts

Hey guys, does anyone know how to disable Bluetooth detection for Sharp Android TVs? Some neighbours keep on trying to pair with the TV and there's no way to disable it in the settings menu...
voncrane
post Sep 19 2019, 12:49 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(vicng93 @ Sep 19 2019, 11:51 AM)
Hey guys, does anyone know how to disable Bluetooth detection for Sharp Android TVs? Some neighbours keep on trying to pair with the TV and there's no way to disable it in the settings menu...
Ha... I used to get this with on a Samsung TV... So if it isn't under the Network menu.. I suggest you actually accept the incoming connection, then scroll through the content. I guess the phone's display will keep changing as the owner watches on too and they noticed it.. Shouldn't happen again. With any luck, it won't even pair successfully in the first place and if it does, content be SFW. Good Luck. smile.gif
sidqi
post Sep 29 2019, 05:25 PM

83 posts

any idea which Astro on the go version suitable for this tv? mine already cannot login, thanks

123 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:12 PM