Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

razlanhashim P
post Apr 27 2019, 07:39 PM

Probation

Just wondering if this USB modem can be plugged into the TV's USB port and the TV's wifi captured it's signal
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 28 2019, 05:01 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(razlanhashim @ Apr 27 2019, 07:39 PM)

Just wondering if this USB modem can be plugged into the TV's USB port and the TV's wifi captured it's signal
Err...why??? Just buy a wireless 4G modem, no need to plug anywhere...
euphoriaa
post May 2 2019, 05:21 PM

225 posts

6800x or Alix, please?

Seems like a dilemma.

voncrane
post May 2 2019, 05:30 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 2 2019, 05:21 PM)
6800x or Alix, please?

Seems like a dilemma.
If we simply told you to pick one without you having done any research or seen em in person.. Will you just accept and straight go buy?
euphoriaa
post May 2 2019, 05:57 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 2 2019, 05:30 PM)
If we simply told you to pick one without you having done any research or seen em in person.. Will you just accept and straight go buy?
I have read thru some of the comments, i.e. back lit vs edge lit, overall thickness etc.

From my understanding, both are very similar in specs & there is no clear winner here. So was hoping someone who had experienced both could share their thoughts and pinpoint us to the right choice.

Simple answer to your question = YES
AVFAN
post May 2 2019, 07:25 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 2 2019, 05:57 PM)
I have read thru some of the comments, i.e. back lit vs edge lit, overall thickness etc.

From my understanding, both are very similar in specs & there is no clear winner here. So was hoping someone who had experienced both could share their thoughts and pinpoint us to the right choice.

this will be rare - someone owns/uses both current models.

if anyone comment on such is worth anything, it is just 5 min of physical viewing or 2 min of paper tech specs comparison.

really, the answer to the question lies with you n yr eyes - u need to view, see for yrself and weigh one against the other.

my recollection of the posts here... there are far more users of ua6800x than al1x.

but that may change when they stop selling ua6800x.

by that time, maybe yet another model will come out!

frankly, i am happy enough with ua6800x but i like the older ue630x even more for its better picture quality... but alas, it cannot do HDR!

al1x, i am quite sure it is a fine tv... just never used it.

all said, we are talking about rm2k for 50", rm3k for 60" 4khdr tv's.... dun expect avant garde performance for such prices!! laugh.gif

voncrane
post May 3 2019, 12:30 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 2 2019, 05:57 PM)

My earlier question was actually rhetorical.. However, since you've done some homework, you would already have some idea which to choose. Personally, I'd recommend back-lit over edge-lit. But AVFAN is correct.. Unless you can find someone who has used both extensively. Logically, you are better off with the newest AL1X. Has Miracast, uses lower power, ships with Android 8 and should get more fw updates in the future. Do drop by a store to view it in person.. Observe it from different angles and especially at the rough distance you'll be using it from when installed at home. If satisfactory? Pull the trigger and don't think twice after that.
ArthurHew
post May 3 2019, 09:53 AM

149 posts

IMO, I viewed AL1X and AH1X on the same demo same time.
Very obvious AH1X have more details and sharper. Android TV selling higher price suppose have better IQ. However the IQ have different perspective on diff ppl.
Its same happen on sony 7000F vs 7500F
AVFAN
post May 3 2019, 10:34 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ArthurHew @ May 3 2019, 09:53 AM)
IMO, I viewed AL1X and AH1X on the same demo same time.
Very obvious AH1X have more details and sharper. Android TV selling higher price suppose have better IQ. However the IQ have different perspective on diff ppl.
Its same happen on sony 7000F vs 7500F
interesting... or u got it the other way round?

al1x is smart androidtv, highest model in the range.
ah1x is smart tv, non androidtv, mid model.
ah8x is non-smart., lowest model.

did u view ua6800x too during demo?

androidtv model is usually the better one all round incl PQ and audio, like ua6800x vs ua6500x.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 3 2019, 10:43 AM
SUSYH1234
post May 4 2019, 01:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 2 2019, 05:21 PM)
6800x or Alix, please?

Seems like a dilemma.
me too, n sony 65" 75x as well, but most probably i will pick the latest model, i would presume latest model might be more updated in term of feature n function, n perhaps more saving in electricity consumption. my samsung plasma not working since 2 months back, then i realise my electric bill come down by rm50. i still find it unbelievable tv could consume so much electricity.
Terence573
post May 4 2019, 04:10 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(YH1234 @ May 4 2019, 02:20 PM)
me too, n sony 65" 75x as well, but most probably i will pick the latest model, i would presume latest model might be more updated in term of feature n function, n perhaps more saving in electricity consumption. my samsung plasma not working since 2 months back, then i realise my electric bill come down by rm50. i still find it unbelievable tv could consume so much electricity.
Yes plasma very hot n very power consuming....ive one and using the power meter the power consumption can reach above 200w (with power saving off )

kkm
post May 4 2019, 04:30 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 4 2019, 04:10 PM)
Yes plasma very hot n very power consuming....ive one and using the power meter the power consumption can reach above 200w (with power saving off )
I'm surprised you guys still running plasma TVs! That's like really old tech.
Terence573
post May 4 2019, 05:02 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ May 4 2019, 05:30 PM)
I'm surprised you guys still running plasma TVs! That's like really old tech.
From what I read plasma actually can do 'black level' better than any conventional led with dimmings /falds?

but then again me poor fag so there's that haha.

voncrane
post May 4 2019, 07:30 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 4 2019, 05:02 PM)
From what I read plasma actually can do 'black level' better than any conventional led with dimmings /falds?

You are correct... At the expense of burn-ins and high power consumption..
AVFAN
post May 4 2019, 10:09 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 4 2019, 05:02 PM)

mid range led 4khdr tv's incl the tv of this thread can do v good blacks.

if that kind of black is not is as black as obsolete plasma black, i must hv missed something called black in my whole life. biggrin.gif
Terence573
post May 4 2019, 10:13 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

then again bak to topic.....60inch al1x at rm2980 is it a steal?
kkm
post May 5 2019, 06:54 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 4 2019, 10:13 PM)
then again bak to topic.....60inch al1x at rm2980 is it a steal?
If coupled with the free rm300 Petronas card, definitely! But that promo was supposed to be up to end-April...
ArthurHew
post May 6 2019, 02:46 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 3 2019, 10:34 AM)
interesting... or u got it the other way round?

al1x is smart androidtv, highest model in the range.
ah1x is smart tv, non androidtv, mid model.
ah8x is non-smart., lowest model.

did u view ua6800x too during demo?

androidtv model is usually the better one all round incl PQ and audio, like ua6800x vs ua6500x.
Didnt manage to view 6800X. They didnt demo it.

Yeah suppose AndroidTV better, however it's really look better on Non-Android on AB test. Details is more and sharper edge.
For android version, details is lesser.
I did checked the setting. Both are running same setting.
lawrencehots P
post May 6 2019, 03:58 PM

Probation

Hi guys, I recently got UA6800X but encountered most of the time not able to find my router 5G, 2.4G no issue. Initial setup time can connect to 5G, 1 hour later after TV software update then encounter unable to find 5G.
Other devices able to connect to router 5G.

1. Does this model support 5G? I suppose it does, if not
initially should not connect.
2. Anyone else have this issue after recent OTA updates
for this TV?
3. Any recommendations to solve this issue?

Thanks for reading my issue, have a nice day!
AVFAN
post May 6 2019, 04:07 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehots @ May 6 2019, 03:58 PM)
Hi guys, I recently got UA6800X but encountered most of the time not able to find my router 5G, 2.4G no issue. Initial setup time can connect to 5G, 1 hour later after TV software update then encounter unable to find 5G.
Other devices able to connect to router 5G.

1. Does this model support 5G? I suppose it does, if not
     initially should not connect.
2. Anyone else have this issue after recent OTA updates
     for this TV?
3. Any recommendations to solve this issue?

Thanks for reading my issue, have a nice day!
5ghz works.

try this... settings/about/restart.

also, restart yr router.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 6 2019, 06:48 PM

123 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:38 AM