5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 25 2019, 06:24 PM

306 posts

My 40" Sharp LCD TV, i think 6 or 7 years old at least....suddenly got horizontal crack on the screen.

Now shopping for cheap 50" to 55" TV...Lazada got sales tomorrow. Already add to cart get ready to check out. lol.

Hmm...can buy cheap Hisense TV? I am not fussy.
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 26 2019, 09:06 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 25 2019, 11:33 PM)
there are a couple of hisense threads, find them.

but if u wish to buy sharp again, ua6800x and al1x are the popular current models.

read more if interested.
Yeah, this LC50UA6800X is one of the models i am looking at, price is reasonable, under RM2K can get, most importantly, it has Android TV. I much prefer Android TV over those propriatery OS...coz i subscribe to ahem...ahem...IPTV services which only runs on Android and Windows. This will also frees me of using my HTPC box currently and let my son use it, since his PC is dead. Only thing for this Sharp model is size is 5" smaller compared to LG, Hisense, Haier etc at the same price. Lol.

There's one LG model RRP at RM2399 55UK6300PTE now going for maybe RM 20XX. Seems like loaded with functions and a magic remote, but too bad no Android OS.

Update:
Oh..the al1x is the newer version with Android 8, compared to the UA6800x which is Android 7, other than that, the specs seems similar.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 26 2019, 09:40 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 26 2019, 10:05 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2019, 10:00 AM)
astrogo, sure can.

u must hv missed doing one of 2 things - installing puffin browser or set orientation app; read post #2 for details.
androidtv is useful; even if u already have android box, it comes in very handy for android apps.

both ua6800x and al1x are android8.
Eh, both are Android 8? Is it because got firmware upgrade for UA6800x?

Sharp website says Android 7

https://my.sharp/products/tvav/lc50ua6800x?v=1101

If not the Android, then what is the difference between the two? The specs seems the same. But pricewise, AL1X much higher.
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 26 2019, 01:30 PM

306 posts

Just went to Harvey Norman to have a look. Seems like all the brands are fine....except Hisense....lol.

Anyway, i think i am going 95% with the Sharp LC50UA6800X. Got everything i want. There are only 2 brands with Android TV , which is Sony and Sharp.

Now its a matter of choosing from Lazada tomorrow....

Bring on the Sales!!!

PS: Some points of interest. SHARP actually sold their South America factory to Hisense and licensed them produce SHARP TVs there....sometime ago, there was some dispute and Sharp wants to sue them for making crappy TVs spoiling their reputation....but it is now settled i think.

Inb4 Sharp is Foxconn Taiwan brand.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 26 2019, 01:34 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 26 2019, 04:27 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2019, 01:37 PM)
make sure u buy ua6800x and not ua6500x! biggrin.gif

yes, that news is correct... sharp tv sold to foxconn 3 years ago, i believe.
Ya. That one don't have Android right, price not much difference also. biggrin.gif

Anyway, now i am thinking about my setup.

Currently i use a Yamaha RX-V475 AV receiver. It has HDMI ARC. This UA6800X has ARC right? So it means i only need to have 1 HDMI from TV to the receiver...do i need a new cable like HDMI 2.1 or something? I don't think so right?

Another question, if it is ARC...can i listen to the Android TV NETFLIX Dolby Digital Plus decoding in my RX-V475 AV receiver? My current setup everything goes to the RX-V475 (HTPC, PS4, Nintendos, Xbox etc) and then to TV.

Update--5:00pm--

Just found out this LC50UA6800X has no motion smoothing? sad.gif Now i am gravitated to the SONY model kd-49x7500F which has motion smoothing.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 26 2019, 05:05 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 08:32 AM

306 posts

Still havent buy yet...kepala pusing on Lazada....so many products and price...now tempted by this TCL. Seems cheap but got lots of rave reviews...and it is probably the only brand with local dimming at this price point...does micro dimming/local dimming makes that much of a difference ? Hmm...
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 10:43 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2019, 05:48 PM)
i can't comment on hdmi arc since i dun use it.

but i use digital output for netflix and tv apps which is same as using arc since the tv can do dd5.1 only, i.e. nothing lost.

if dd+ and dts from tv is v impt to u, u shud look at other tv's.

sony... i hv read several comments about sluggishness with the androidtv but i do not really know - this u gotta ask sony users, among other things.

i can't and won't comment on things i never actually used.

this sharp androidtv, all is good.

buy what u think is best for yr purpose and budget!
Thks for the input on the Sony lagging...browsed around and found similar comments. So it is now off my list.šŸ‘Œ
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 11:55 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 10:51 AM)
frankly, i am curious about that.

there are many devices that come fitted with androidtv (ATV) - sharp, sony, shield, mibox, roku, etc.

i find it hard to believe there is such an issue with sony; perhaps only the older earlier models..?

well, until i get to see it for myself, it's just something i read, nothing more.
take yr time to decide what to buy.

u simply dun get the most advanced features that work in a cheap tv.

lastly, consider durability, service, support and warranty issues too.

more established brands usually handle these things better.
Yes. Read some bad support issue by noob TCL support encountered by one local guy. That is why i have decided not to go for it.

Already pulled the trigger.

Sharp LC50UA6800X. After all, all my LCDs TVs have been Sharp tongue.gif , including a 32" TV which still works fine today, over 10 years i think...cost me RM3xxx back then..cry.gif but its sorta mid-high end model and has 100Hz motion smoothing.

No special Lazada birthday price. Just normal price @ RM1922 including delivery. Oh well.

Now no need to pusing kepala....wheew! Wait...now want to buy digital photo frame....here we go again... rclxub.gif

Say bro, do you know how to check the hours used in this TV? So that i can check when i receive it, just to make sure they are not giving me a display unit.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 27 2019, 12:55 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 11:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Mar 27 2019, 11:53 AM)
I pulled the trigger and got LC60UA6800X from Lazada. As I am going to use this for PS4 gaming, I hope it delivers...Priority is 4K and HDR.
Anyone play 4K games on this TV do share your input?
Congrats bro! You have PS4 Pro? Now i have excuse to change my PS4 Slim to PS4 Pro with my new LC50UA6800X.... brows.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 01:05 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 27 2019, 10:12 AM)
Done right? Hell yes!.. I think you aren't interested in getting a decent TV as much as a cheap one. So my advice. Just waltz into a shop or 2.. Only look at models within your price range and pull the trigger on/offline for the one you find most pleasing to your eyes. Then let it go.
Erm...this thread is LC50UA6800X. Its a cheap TV thread. So yeah, i am pretty sure i am in the right place. Anything under Rm 10k seems like cheap TV to me.

Besides, cheap doesnt neccessary means not decent nowadays.
And the joy of shopping is the journey, not the destination. And never look down on cheap stuff, you will just might find a bargain.

šŸ˜†
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 02:22 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 01:21 PM)
alright, 2 more ua6800x!
i suppose it is still popular since it is cheaper than newer al1x.
The Al1x seems to have similar specs other than Direct vs Edge lightning. Since both also no local dimming, not much point...and the ua6800x already looks very bright and good.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 01:21 PM)
for its price, this tv is very fine; do not compare it with those 7-8k ones...
i will say the PQ incl 4khdr is decent but is not "wow" like those 2-3 times its price.
the androidtv is good, very handy.
the only thing no good is the native usb player.
it can take ntfs, 2TB hdd but can do only aac and dd audio.. dts and higher will get no audio.
the fallback is to use vlc, mx or kodi player installed in the androidtv.
however, for those who use other box player for playback, that's not impt.

there are several modes u can use, each settable for every hdmi input - std, movie, game, pc, dynamic, etc.
try all of them and see which one works best for yr input(s).
for each mode, u can play around with the variables of backlit, contrast, sharpness, etc.. and other advanced settings like temp, gamma...
and some other things to play with... OPC, film mode, active contrast...
for me, 1080p comes out best with movie, little adjustment.
4kdr comes out best with own adjusted dynamic.
spend time to read the e-manual, play around for a few days.

i think u need a service tool to access actual uptime.
under settings/about/status, u see uptime but it returns to zero when u restart android or cut power totally to tv.

a few starter tips for u when u receive/install the tv:

.. pair the remote with the tv.
.. get ready wifi id/pw, key in, check 5ghz working (u can use ethernet port but is capped at 100mbps whereas wifi 5ghz can do 2xx).
.. get ready gmail id/pw key into tv for youtube.
.. when u play 4khdr, it will flash at top left corner or u can press display button on remote.
.. if interested, read post #2 bottom part for other info on some android apps installation.

I don't watch movies from local storage most of the time, so won't use the USB player at all...everything is Streaming...Netflix, MyIPTV, wife watch crap korean dramas from some websites, play Spotify. That's what my HTPC is used for...but i will probably missed PopcornTime since i don't think there is an Android version of it. Just wondering if the browser is good enough to allow to watch the korean dramas.

there are several modes u can use, each settable for every hdmi input - std, movie, game, pc, dynamic, etc.
try all of them and see which one works best for yr input(s).
This is great! My current Sharp only can set 1 mode regardless of which HDMI. So default i just set to "Game mode" because lazy to switch everytime and wife don't understand what it is either.... rolleyes.gif

I will probably use LAN port, since my internet only 100Mbps and i already have a cable ready with existing HTPC.

Say, this TV can stream 4K HDR Netflix right? Because most android boxes can only stream around 480p, not even 720p, which is why i am using my HTPC to watch Netflix(@720p to 1080p). My Netflix account is UHD....can't wait to try it out! smile.gif

Another thing is i use Logitech k400 plus keyboard with my current Windows HTPC....do you know if this will work with the Sharp? This is a great keyboard with build in touchpad, perfect for browsing from couch. I have tons of Android airmouse with keyboard, but i don't use them. Nothing beats the K400.

PS: Does Android TV have Chrome in it's apps store? It would help because all my bookmarks are synced on Chrome.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 27 2019, 02:32 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 04:29 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 03:47 PM)
I don't watch movies from local storage most of the time, so won't use the USB player at all...

the best stuff does not come online. in time, when u want to watch the best stuff and see how well the tv delivers it, u will get a separate box player, get yr hands on the real good files.

everything is Streaming...Netflix, MyIPTV, wife watch crap korean dramas from some websites, play Spotify. That's what my HTPC is used for...but i will probably missed PopcornTime since i don't think there is an Android version of it. Just wondering if the browser is good enough to allow to watch the korean dramas.

ATV has certain restrictions unlike generic android in phones, tablets and most android boxes. only certains apps are found in the tv playstore - these, u can install direct, they appear in the UI for access.
the rest, u need to sideload, i.e. put app in usb drive, install via another app already installed like X-plore or es file explorer (both in playstore).
these sideloaded apps will not appear in the UI but u can install sidelauncher app which will show in UI for u to access all sideloaded apps.
for browsers, there is recommended puffin browser but chrome and others are not in playstore.
explanation is ATV has certain levels of security; unapproved apps are not found in playstore; sideloading requires yr permission - there is a place u tick to do that.
if u have used android before, it's much the same, not difficult.
watching dramas on websites... personally, i find this is a crude method, may have security risks thru the ads, pop-ups.
i would suggest using some app... chinese/korean dramas... u can use adrama (playstore) or sideload rss androidtv (see post #2 lower part for link).
spotify is OK, in playstore.
popcorntime - should work, just sideload the right app but be mindful about file size, saved files etc. - u do not want to exhaust storage space

Say, this TV can stream 4K HDR Netflix right? Because most android boxes can only stream around 480p, not even 720p, which is why i am using my HTPC to watch Netflix(@720p to 1080p). My Netflix account is UHD....can't wait to try it out! smile.gif

the specs say so. however, i remember somebody said it shows 4k but not HDR. i can't confirm since i am not using netflix 4k.

Another thing is i use Logitech k400 plus keyboard with my current Windows HTPC....do you know if this will work with the Sharp? This is a great keyboard with build in touchpad, perfect for browsing from couch. I have tons of Android airmouse with keyboard, but i don't use them. Nothing beats the K400.

if it works like a mouse, just insert the receiver into one of the USB's, should work.

PS: Does Android TV have Chrome in it's apps store? It would help because all my bookmarks are synced on Chrome.

as said, chrome is NOT in playstore. but u can sideload it.

a word of caution:
ATV has certain restrictions and security stops to protect the TV; try not to use too many apps or unknown/dubious apps that may pose high risks.
if u brick the tv, u will have to call service, may hv to replace the motherboard.

What the....sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif ...i am only planning to install the MyIPTV, VPN Unlimited and Chrome app which is non ATV source, nothing else....i am not the type who install tons of junk apps or try to root phones and do weird stuff....

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 27 2019, 04:35 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 04:53 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 04:41 PM)
just a caution.... becos i have known such issues.

myiptv is an ahem illegit app... but never used, no idea if ATV will accept but based on other similar apps, shud b ok.

VPN... i hv never used VPN on the tv but should be OK.

chrome sideloaded... used before, OK.
Thks for the warning anyway, maybe if i can access myiptv via browser, then i don't need to install the APK...will try that first. Hope i can get the TV by Saturday....haha.
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 05:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 05:06 PM)
about browser, i suggest u first use the recommended PUFFIN browser.
it takes a bit to get used to but i find it quite good.
this browser is approved by ATV, u will be prompted to install.

if that doesn't work well with what u do, u can sideload chrome.
or brave browser which i used b4, fine.
Noted and thanks bro. notworthy.gif

Now you make me really impatient!!!!
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 27 2019, 06:06 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 05:21 PM)
biggrin.gif have fun.

as a side note, i normally test apps with my other box first.

if they are good, troublefree and suitable, i will install on the TV too.

it is handy to switch on just the tv and get the stuff u want.

there are apps that work well on generic android box but less suitable for ATV and vice versa.
Tested Puffin on my phone. Can login to myiptv. biggrin.gif This is a cloud browser, so i think should be able to process any websites without worry of Android limitations!! flex.gif Go home test with my Android box... laugh.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 28 2019, 11:37 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2019, 05:21 PM)
biggrin.gif have fun.

as a side note, i normally test apps with my other box first.

if they are good, troublefree and suitable, i will install on the TV too.

it is handy to switch on just the tv and get the stuff u want.

there are apps that work well on generic android box but less suitable for ATV and vice versa.
Been reading the user manual...LOL.

HDMI IN 1 and 2 terminals are all
capable of receiving 4K60P
4:4:4 signals.
To receive 4K60P 4:4:4 signals, on the
Devices menu, set the HDMI type to
"Full". (See page 4-9)
Why is it HDMI 1 and 2 are special? Means the rest cannot receive 4K60P? Then what the rest HDMI can do? So in this case, if i connect say a PS4 Pro for 4k60P to go to the AV receiver, the AV receiver must go to either HDMI 1 or HDMI 2?
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 28 2019, 03:01 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 28 2019, 01:41 PM)
hdmi 1,2 are 2.0a, 3, 4 are 2.0.

all can do 60fps.

2.0a handles hdr.

latest is 2.0b (likely for dolby vision), 2.1 is coming.
Yeah, just done some research...this 4KHDR...effectively nuke my entire ecosystem...

1. HTPC only using AMD Radeon HD5450 (works fine with 1080p), max resolution is 2560 x 1600. Can't even play Netflix 4K ...much less 4K HDR!

2. Yamaha RX-V475 - HDMI 1.4, max support 4k@30p, No HDR. Means can't use it to passthrough from HTPC, PS4 etc if i want 4K HDR.

3. ARC only returns 2 channels compressed like you mentioned earliar...(likely only DD5.1)..supposely the new e-ARC (HDMI 2.1) will only have feature to return higher quality uncompressed channels.

So means my PS4 will have to direct connect to the TV to get HDR, while the AVR can remains connected to the HDMI 2 port since it's not capable of HDR anyway, as does my PC and everything else. And the only avenue to playback 4K is through the Android TV apps itself like Netflix and Youtube (unless i spend more money to upgrade other components). :x

So now i will either have to trade off between getting 4K/HDR from Netflix and PS4, but trade off the sound to lower quality, or get the better quality sound (by passing through AVR using PC and PS4, but downgrade on the visual, no 4K and no HDR).

Haha. 1st world problem.

SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 28 2019, 03:04 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Mar 28 2019, 02:50 PM)
Anyone able to install "Toggle"(Spore web TV) on UA6800X? BTW I just got my Sharp RM100 Petronas voucher having recently bought a 45" unit.
How did you get the voucher? Is it you need to register online? This was what the Harvey Norman guy told me. My new TV supposely also comes with RM100 Petro voucher...hope the seller don't tipu me....lots of cases the buyers didn't get vouchers from what i have read on the feedbacks by various sellers.

As for your "Toogle" app, if it's not in the Android TV store, you will have to sideload it like what bro AVFAN mentioned earliar.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 28 2019, 03:19 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 28 2019, 04:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 28 2019, 03:30 PM)
yr situation is a common one. u just need to save $$$ and buy new, one by one!

given what u have, my view is u should keep it simple and elegant.

ps4 (4k), htpc, astro, hyppbox - connect to hdmi (1,2,3,4 doesn't matter since none of yr devices are HDR).

get a toslink digital cable, connect tv to AVR - u will get max dd5.1 - that's the max the tv can output and max spdif can do.

i see no use using hdmi arc as that will mean another hdmi cable, cost more than the toslink cable.

the next device u need to upgrade is the AVR - get one that is 4k hdr with atmos and dtsx - this will last u a long time.

then, get a good android box player hdmi2.0a or b, 4khdr60fps, atmos, dtsx for playback.

when u get there, i can help u find the real good stuff to max out yr tv and home theater. tongue.gif

toggle is not in tv playstore, u need to sideload.
haha. I gave up liao. Frankly, i want to get rid of 5.1 system. If i upgrade next time, i sure want sound bar. No more clunky speakers and cables!

For the HDMI ARC, it simply means i can use back the single HDMI connection from my AVR to the TV and it passes sound back using that same connection, so there is no extra cables. Although i have TOSLINK cables lying around, i would prefer not to have another cable...the amount of cables behind the TV rack is a nightmare....

Oh, i didn't know android box now can support 4K@60p HDR and even atmos, dtsx? My Android box is like 3 years old or so. Netflix SD only, can't even do 720p.

Netflix PC requirements for UHD and 4k:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/23931

Basically, a minimum of 1050 TI is needed.

Makes me wonder now if the LC50UA6800X is really capable of NETFLIX 4K HDR with such high requirements! Specs at Sharp website says NETFLIX HDR only....maybe 1080p with HDR? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 28 2019, 04:15 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Mar 28 2019, 10:54 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Mar 28 2019, 08:45 PM)
Go to sharp tv redemptionĀ  website

https://my.sharp/aquostvredemption/
Thanks. How long does it takes for the voucher to arrive?

This means my TV only RM1822 if got back RM100 petrol... rclxms.gif

Cheap and Good. whistling.gif tongue.gif

btw, the Lazada seller i bought from seems like out of stock now. Yesterday when i bought around noon, still got 6 units left.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Mar 28 2019, 10:57 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0711sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:17 AM